Contalmaison Nov 2008

Dougie Masterton

There are 9 of us going out to Contalmaison in November. We are taking out wreaths for the club and our own club the Willie Bauld memorial club. If there are other clubs who wish us to take one out then PM me with details.

• 4 weeks later...
There are 9 of us going out to Contalmaison in November. We are taking out wreaths for the club and our own club the Willie Bauld memorial club. If there are other clubs who wish us to take one out then PM me with details.

Dougie, whats the dates for flying out and back?

A certain rabble rouser on here is booking up, he will be an useful adittion to your group.

He's talking about me. Rabble rouser - pffft! I wish I could join you guys, but I'm both skint and snowed under. Good on you all: what you're doing is appreciated by us all.

Dougie Masterton
hope your no talking about me kpal:)

Your no big enough to be a rabble rouser.:):):):):)

http://www.williebauldmc.freeserve.co.uk/index.html

Will this site ever be updated?;)

Lynn:ph34r:

Thanks for taking a wreath out on behalf of "The friends of the Heartof Midlothian War memorial". I hope you got some answers to the questions you asked the other day

thats nice of you to carry them all pal ;)

A push back to the top to remind people it is not just at Haymarket we will be at the weekend

the club wreath was collected today also our one for contalmaison and one for haymarket which peter and billy will lay on behalf of us

A poet friend of mine visited the Somme last month, and I asked him to go to Contalmaison. When he got back, he sent me this:

Sair Thochts o? The Somme

Yon Thiepval?s tower;

an? Caribou;

the Diggers? granite mark;

the Windmill,

an? the wee bronze tanks;

cauld High Wood?s shattered birks;

there wander fading memories

o?er ninety lang years on,

for Scotland must na? e?er forget

the laddies wha? are gone.

The kirk at Contalmaison

wi? the cornfield crowdin? by;

a widden bench frae Wille Bauld?s

an? oor Saltire breezin? high;

The Cutting in this wee bit toun

whaur the 16th Royal Scots died;

there Reason cries the laddies? names -

but Echo answers, ?Why??

Noo, silent, bluidy

sandstone stands

as strang as were oor men.

It?s a? that Reason has tae show -

or ever will, forbye.

A poet friend of mine visited the Somme last month, and I asked him to go to Contalmaison. When he got back, he sent me this:

Yon Thiepval?s tower;

an? Caribou;

the Windmill,

The kirk at Contalmaison

but Echo answers, ?Why??

Noo, silent, bluidy

sandstone stands

or ever will, forbye.

Ron, that is quite superb.

Kudos to your friend.

Yon Thiepval?s tower;

an? Caribou;

the Windmill,

The kirk at Contalmaison

but Echo answers, ?Why??

Noo, silent, bluidy

sandstone stands

or ever will, forbye.

That's excellent Ron.

Yon Thiepval?s tower;

an? Caribou;

the Windmill,

The kirk at Contalmaison

but Echo answers, ?Why??

Noo, silent, bluidy

sandstone stands

or ever will, forbye.

i like that

Yon Thiepval?s tower;

an? Caribou;

the Windmill,

The kirk at Contalmaison

but Echo answers, ?Why??

Noo, silent, bluidy

sandstone stands

or ever will, forbye.

When you actually say that aloud, it sounds even better than it does in your head.