Munich

Chris Evans

Just arrived back from a 3 day break. What a great city.

Architecture on a par,if not better than Edinburgh. Compact city,good for walking.Great shops and plentiful. Food at very reasonable prices. Beer strong and tasty. All topped of by a trip to the Allianz Arena to watch 1860 Munich.

Direct and cheap Easyjet from Edinburgh. Highly recommended for anyone looking for a quick,quality city break.

Is that in Munchen? With Bayern!:4_1_72:

It is mate. But 1860 were at home when i was there. Enjoyable it was too. Around 20,000 for a bundesliga b match. Good atmosphere.

not as good as berlin in my opinion!!!

Having a wee look into Berlin. After a fairly mundane trip to Hamburg,i was dubious about going back to Germany,but i was very pleasantly surprised at Munich so if Berlin is half as good then im up for going there.

I wouldn't have thought that anything would have been older than 1945 though even if it looks it.

In what city mate? Im not sure Munich took a bad hit. Some churches and galleries i was in seemed far older.

Architecture on a par,if not better than Edinburgh. Compact city,good for walking.Great shops and plentiful. Food at very reasonable prices. Beer strong and tasty. All topped of by a trip to the Allianz Arena to watch 1860 Munich.

Direct and cheap Easyjet from Edinburgh. Highly recommended for anyone looking for a quick,quality city break.

Was there 89 but went back 3 years ago absolutely brilliant.

Watched 1860 at there old stadium.

are you back on the breakfast show on Monday Tel?:P

Having a wee look into Berlin. After a fairly mundane trip to Hamburg,i was dubious about going back to Germany,but i was very pleasantly surprised at Munich so if Berlin is half as good then im up for going there.

Next time, dinnae bother with Hamburg (unless you're specifically there for the strippers / porn-shows / bobby-moores): go to Luebeck instead. Much nicer and beautifully preserved or restored, and very historical too.

beautiful place. went on an exchange at 16 and back to see the guys at 18. really want to go back.

the nudist section of the Englischer Garten is ****ing scarey tho!

I wouldn't have thought that anything would have been older than 1945 though even if it looks it.

Apparently, the main church not far from Marienplatz was used as a reference point by the Allied Air Command - it has two very large points - and was left unbombed as it was handy for pilots to get their bearings.

@Terry Wogan

Did you see the Sophie Scholl memorial by any chance?

Going there in a couple of weeks for Oktoberfest and my 40th Birthday with a few of the lads

Anyone been to Oktoberfest?

Booked a cheap hotel after trawling the net for a few hours

Heading out on the 2nd

You got tickets booked?

I honestly don't have anything bad to say about Munich at all.

I was there last year on a Stag Doo for 4 days and loved it, and although I was absolutely sozzled most of the time, thought that it was a lovely city.

I will definitely go back one day.

Hamburg is excellent, head out on a Friday night to the Reeperbahn, pub and club it until 6am then over to the fish market where you can buy whole loads of crazy stuff (big lorry loads where a geezer stands in the back of the truck with a microphone, selling armloads of belgian chocs and the like with a bartering system), grab food and move on to the oompa band tent at the end where you can drink steins full of cold beer, eat pretzels and wursts, all the while getting served by chicks in those classic german fraulein dresses? Good times :)

Hamburg at Xmas is great too, cold and snowy with outdoor stalls selling beer, gleuwein (hot mulled win), big steaks and sausages and they have proper decorations all over, markets and ice rinks.

Munich is great though too, esp in the summer, you can sit out in the bars till 3am drinking zombies and it's still nice and warm. And aye all the outdoor pools have topless bathing ;)