Penalty takers!

Wallace

Nade our only striker on the park didn't take one of the penaltys. What the hell is going on?

A striker that doesn't want to score?

Why didn't our Captain step up either?

Also saw zaliukas with his boots off as soon as it went to penaltys with no indication he was going to take one at all.

Nade our only striker on the park didn't take one of the penaltys. What the hell is going on?

Also saw zaliukas with his boots off as soon as it went to penaltys with no indication he was going to take one at all.

maybe he wasn't on the list that Csaba had written. He said on Saturday he always has a few names for penalties

you shoulda seen the penalty he took at Belfast !!!! he knew he canna take em

Hopeless. Nearly every Hearts fan knew Wallace and Obua was going to miss.

Where were the strikers?

As I posted on the match thread, it was indeed a strange one for Nade not to be involved in the penalties. I remember him being very keen to take a penalty against Dunfermline at this stage last year

Hopeless. Nearly every Hearts fan knew Wallace and Obua was going to miss. Where were the strikers? Buffalo Bill .
left footed penalty takers always scare me.

Zaliukas was the nominated player not to take any penalties after Airdrie had a dude sent off.

Very surprising pen choices

left footed penalty takers always scare me.

I like Wallace but he doesn't seem to have to strength in his legs.

Obua was a cert to miss. Left footed, AND a short run up.

My 76 year old father n law could've done better.

I like Wallace but he doesn't seem to have to strength in his legs.

Obua was a cert to miss. Left footed, AND a short run up.

My 76 year old father n law could've done better.

This chap used to do pretty well with the penalties - left footed and no run up!

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Giuseppe_Signori

Laszlo seems to have signed Obua before watching a single Scottish football game. I hope that this poor game as has been reported by everyone is just a blip.

Where were the strikers?

Agreed. Five of us at the match had all made our choice of penalty takers long before extra time even started. Everyone agreed that Obua was the person most likely to miss. And Wallace? Why?

should have let some of the under 10s play, they looked like they had a couple of wee strikers there

maltese jambo

utter garbage penalties by hearts....never mind the fact that most of us knew Obua and Wallace would miss.....we also knew that hearts weren't gonna win a penalty shoot out.

Btw another p!sh performance was from Jonsson tonight

Agreed. Five of us at the match had all made our choice of penalty takers long before extra time even started. Everyone agreed that Obua was the person most likely to miss. And Wallace? Why?

Agree. I would have had, in no particular order: Stewart, Zaliukas, Nade, Audrey, Jonsson.

Where did the Wallace choice come from and, despite scoring, Karipidis?!

should have let some of the under 10s play, they looked like they had a couple of wee strikers there

Aye my wee cousin was the boy in the red boots who pinged one into the top corner in the match at the Wheatfield side. Wish he'd been left on for the 2nd half, cant have been any less effective and isn't afraid to shoot!

Zal had taken a knock and was limping a bit before the end of ET so was unlikely to be involved.

Wallace's pen was garbage and if Obua is a penalty and free kick specialist then all I can say is dearie, dearie me

Your striker should be confident taking pens but i have no problem with someone sitting out if they know they don't have the bottle. But 3 defenders in the first 5 is taking the ****.

Aye my wee cousin was the boy in the red boots who pinged one into the top corner in the match at the Wheatfield side. Wish he'd been left on for the 2nd half, cant have been any less effective and isn't afraid to shoot!

funny i texted a mate about him. saying that a wee lad in red clown boots pinged a great wee shot in.

i was impressed by a few of them actually. hope they learn well & enjoy it as much as they appear to.

good luck to the lad

Agree. I would have had, in no particular order: Stewart, Zaliukas, Nade, Audrey, Jonsson.

Where did the Wallace choice come from and, despite scoring, Karipidis?!

I picked four out of your five, but I did have Karapidis instead of Jonsson.

My five were:

Stewart

Obua

Karapidis

Chesney

Nade

I don't know how I knew Karapidis would take one, has he taken a pen before?

It certainly was weird.

Stewart

Chesney

Audrey

Nade

Obua

There you go Csaba, write that down.

But Obua missed, but also I know what you were getting at. That said, I turned to my mate and (not necessarily my choice) and went

Jonnson

Karapidis

Stewart

Nade

Obua.

So I got Nade and Wallace mixed up. Kingston and potentially Miko would have been contenders if still on the park. I suppose it's all about how cleanly your players can strike/firmly pass a ball. Hence why Jonnson and Karapidis were dead certs to take ones. For this reason I'm surprised Zaliukas was nominated as the one to miss out. Then again, in the space of 30 seconds he can be brilliant, good, average, poor, awful and downright useless.

Cesnauskis, Berra, Ksnavicuis aren't clean strikers so would never be in the first 5. By that reckoning though, why Wallace and Obua were in the top 5 I'll never know.

The more and more you see penalties being taken in shoot outs, it seems to become more and more obvious who are going to miss. Unfortunately and correctly, I had seriously bad vibes about both Wallace and Obua (and Stewart's second on Saturday). If one thing the last 2 games have proved, if you aren't capable of giving a penalty it's due respect, take a good run up and hit the ball crisply and cleanly, then don't take one.

Era Macaroons
Left footed one step penalty taker Beppe Signori

And the Back Street Boys

enjoyed that , cheers Coco.

Audrey was too busy hiding to take a penalty. He went straight to sit in the dug out as soon as the final whistle blew. He's a bottle merchant during the game so it doesn't surprise me he did the same at the end.

When Obua went up to take the final one, you could just hear one giant groan from the crowd because it was so obvious he'd miss.

As soon as Karipidis stepped forward for the first one I was thinking WTF is going on here??? Fair play he scored it, but very strange for him to take the first one. I'd expect Nade or Stewart (despite him missing one on Sat).

Paws,

Not rying to be a smart ?rse, but if you read my post a couple up, I thought Karapidis was a cert to take one. And it showed. Wallace on the other hand should have been nowhere near. And Obua after the game he had.

blondejamtart

Yes, and even the u10 keepers would have saved Wallace and Obua's penalties! :mad:

Wallace and Obua. The walk up and the body language was all wrong.

How come we could all see that but the people that really mattered couldn't?

I hate the word 'obvious': but it was bloody obvious; as obvious as watching Henry Smith take one all those years ago at Dens Park.

It was like having to endure watching a really long film with a very predictable ending.

Wallace and Obua. The walk up and the body language was all wrong.

How come we could all see that but the people that really mattered couldn't?

I hate the word 'obvious': but it was bloody obvious; as obvious as watching Henry Smith take one all those years ago at Dens Park.

It was like having to endure watching a really long film with a very predictable ending.

Agreed. Was sat with my mate and said before both those pens - he's going to miss. It was obvious by their body language, and in Obua case, by his tiredeness and his wayward shooting throughout the match.

especially after that horrible free kick he put into row z, to much amusement among the airdrie fans.

utter garbage penalties by hearts....never mind the fact that most of us knew Obua and Wallace would miss.....we also knew that hearts weren't gonna win a penalty shoot out.

Btw another p!sh performance was from Jonsson tonight

You my friend are having a bubble. One of our very few positives from last night.

:mad:

I would like to see statistics for how often the team who takes the first penalty go on to win the shoot-out. I think it is a massive psychological advantage.

You my friend are having a bubble. One of our very few positives from last night.

Agree. I often wonder what game people have been watching when I read stuff like that about Eggert.

Definitely mate! Jonsson is not blessed with electric pace, but he found himself going past their left back on the outside a good few times, and eventually the guy resorted to fouling him.

Not bad going for a lad who has played central midfield for the last year or two.

I like Eggert in midfield, but it's comforting to know that he can play right back as young Thompson is not the answer, Robbie could be out for a while, and Karipidis seems to be preferred in the holding role.

P.S Anyone who thought Berra was hiding and should have stepped up as captain, didn't you see him limping around after that shocker of a tackle in extra time?! I would rather have someone who isn't limping hit the penalties thanks very much!!

Karipidis' & Jonsson's penalties were excellent, Stewart was confident, as for Wallace & Obua, the keeper must have been confident seeing them creeping towards him like lambs to the slaughter.

That was one thing that has really irritated the hell out of me about last night.

5 penalties and not one taken by a striker/offensive midfielder.

The likes of Nade, Chesney and Audrey should not be scared to take a pen against Airdrie at home in the CIS cup. If they are, then they shouldn't be at a club like Hearts.

Agree with the people who said that they could tell Trigger and Oboua were going to miss btw. It was easy to spot.

SoldierPalmer

IMO it says loads about our front players (I wouldn't go as far as calling any of them strikers) that they don't want to or can't take penalties - they've got no confidence and they don't know how to put the ball in the net - we need front men that would fight to take penalties.

Fair enough a new right back and a good DM would be good additions to the squad - but after watching our three home games this season we are crying out to play 4-4-2 with two 'real' strikers up front. The number of chances we created in the last three games we should have scored a barrow load of goals.

Also think when it gets to penalties - the captain should stand up, be counted and lead from the front - i.e. Beckham, John Terry, even captain pass back, etc. - IMO Berry got the captain's job too early - but I always supported him as he was given it ? but last night he we needed leaders to show the way.

rant over - still a bit pi$$ed off from last night - beaten by Airdie what a feckin embarrassment. :mad:

p.s. what was all that sectarian guff about the Airdrie ?fans? were singing last night ? think we now know who the ?wee huns? are now. Feel a text coming on to JT on Saturday.

IMO it says loads about our front players (I wouldn't go as far as calling any of them strikers) that they don't want to or can't take penalties - they've got no confidence and they don't know how to put the ball in the net - we need front men that would fight to take penalties.

Fair enough a new right back and a good DM would be good additions to the squad - but after watching our three home games this season we are crying out to play 4-4-2 with two 'real' strikers up front. The number of chances we created in the last three games we should have scored a barrow load of goals.

Also think when it gets to penalties - the captain should stand up, be counted and lead from the front - i.e. Beckham, John Terry, even captain pass back, etc. - IMO Berry got the captain's job too early - but I always supported him as he was given it ? but last night he we needed leaders to show the way.

rant over - still a bit pi$$ed off from last night - beaten by Airdie what a feckin embarrassment. :mad:

p.s. what was all that sectarian guff about the Airdrie ?fans? were singing last night ? think we now know who the ?wee huns? are now. Feel a text coming on to JT on Saturday.

Just in and skimming. As has been mentioned before Berra took a right sore one and spent the last 10 hobbling. What's Terry's success rate like? how many has Beckham missed for England in recent times? We went 24 on the trot but previous to that Pressley missed in the lines of 3 or 4 out of five.

You'd be a fool not to have Berra in your team just now,(not saying SP that is what you are advocating) and a bigger fool to have him taking a penalty, let alone one when injured.

please, their passing was rubbish & they looked short of fitness. they'll never make the grade...

(does this qualify as Kickback's earliest slating of a player?)