Who not to do business with

An earlier thread mentioned problems the OP had had with a travel company, and it got me thinking that there must be a whole wad of businesses out there not to be trusted. Businesses that KBer's have dealt with and problems encountered.

Better to know the cowboys to stay away from.

I'll start

1) Dolphin Bathrooms - bathroom intalled 6 years ago and still having problems. 2 days after installation we dicovered they hadn't fixed the washhand basin in properly as the wee fella pulled on it and it almost toppled on to him. Leaks from poorly sealed tiles/bath. Took weeks to complete a basic job with 6 different sets of installers used.

Wouldn't use them again if they did the job for free.

2) Virgin Atlantic - even if you pre book your seats online, make sure when you check in that you're given the seats you ask for. On a return flight fom Florida recently, we were told that they couldn't guarantee us seats together as a family even though we'd pre booked them.

Also if you pre order kids meals make sure you ask for them right away on the plane as on 3 out of 4 occassions with us they've given them to other kids.

3) B&Q Kitchens - absolute nightmare of an installation. Messy, different sets of cowboys, sorry installers,laminate flooring not laid properly, shoddy workmanship - don't touch with a bargepole.

Reid Furniture - The worst after care service in the world, and they seriously don't give a toss about anything after they have your money. I will NEVER use them again!

Jesus, I was trying to chill out tonight too until I posted that ffs :wacko:

Reid Furniture - The worst after care service in the world, and they seriously don't give a toss about anything after they have your money. I will NEVER use them again!

Jesus, I was trying to chill out tonight too until I posted that ffs :wacko:

Independent financial advice, they always think of themselves. :rolleyes:

Joking Jocky.

Virgin Mobile - useless

Vigin Media (Broadband) - not even close to being useless.

Direct Holidays - farcical. Reminders for payment receieved after the due date because they didn't post in time. No contact numbers to speak to ANYONE. Spending ages trying to get through to pay to be told only the nominated main name can pay - well, say that on the ****ing invoice then !!!:mad:

An earlier thread mentioned problems the OP had had with a travel company, and it got me thinking that there must be a whole wad of businesses out there not to be trusted. Businesses that KBer's have dealt with and problems encountered.

Better to know the cowboys to stay away from.

I'll start

1) Dolphin Bathrooms - bathroom intalled 6 years ago and still having problems. 2 days after installation we dicovered they hadn't fixed the washhand basin in properly as the wee fella pulled on it and it almost toppled on to him. Leaks from poorly sealed tiles/bath. Took weeks to complete a basic job with 6 different sets of installers used.

Wouldn't use them again if they did the job for free.

2) Virgin Atlantic - even if you pre book your seats online, make sure when you check in that you're given the seats you ask for. On a return flight fom Florida recently, we were told that they couldn't guarantee us seats together as a family even though we'd pre booked them.

Also if you pre order kids meals make sure you ask for them right away on the plane as on 3 out of 4 occassions with us they've given them to other kids.

3) B&Q Kitchens - absolute nightmare of an installation. Messy, different sets of cowboys, sorry installers,laminate flooring not laid properly, shoddy workmanship - don't touch with a bargepole.

they made a chorus of my mums kitchen aswell

Ryanair,,,,,,,,,,,,, nuf said!!!

They've been pretty good whenever i've used them.

A real case of you get what you pay for.

Ryanair,,,,,,,,,,,,, nuf said!!!

Used them a few times and always been brilliant.

Vigin Media (Broadband) - not even close to being useless.

No Way.. I have Virgin Broadband, 20Mbps... Its blooming amazing... I will not be changing form them. Top class product.

o2! Been with them for 7 years never ever missed a payment and have always used my mobile a lot! They have just screwed me over something awful! Will have nothing more to do with them!!!!

The NHS.

They ****ed up my hernia op.

And they took pictures of my limp boaby when I was asleep.

****ers.

The NHS.

****ers.

The NHS provides excellent and free service.

Sorry to hear about your hernia though. Things will always go wrong, even with private healthcare, just your rotten luck i guess.

The NHS provides excellent and free service.

Sorry to hear about your hernia though. Things will always go wrong, even with private healthcare, just your rotten luck i guess.

Hmmm.

Must admit that the nurses were very attentive.

Whilst bad service is quite often subjective (as this thread has already proven) why not be a bit more positive and have a thread about companies / individuals who are good jambos and therefore we SHOULD do business with? Better than all this negative stuff.

The NHS.

****ers.

The NHS mucked up my appendix operation when I was 15 and were pretty close to killing me...

I think it's pretty unfair to use JKB as a platform for slandering businesses you've had a bad experience with. Every company has had dissatisfied customers.

Last night I spoke to an incredibly stupid woman who went mental at me because we wouldn't let her daughter use the gym, because she was 15.

Anyone with a brain bigger than a pea knows that all gyms, with the exception of massive ones that have specialised kids gyms, do not let children in because for one thing you can't get public liability insurance, and secondly it's not a good idea because children aged 14-15 may not have fully developed joints and can easily damage themselves lifting weights.

I tried to explain this to her, but didn't manage to finish a single sentence without being interrupted. She finished of by asking how she would go about cancelling her membership and told me she would be loooking into taking out membership with one of our rivals tomorrow.

I have no doubt she will think that we have provided a bad service, but it's always subjective and if she were to go about posting how crap my company was on random websites I would be absolutely raging as we would have no chance to respond, and she would be talking utter pish in any case.

I'm not suggesting that the above posters are not right to be aggrieved with the companies they have had dealings with, I just don't think it's a good idea to base your opinions of a company on one other customer's bad experience and I think it's unfair to criticise people who don't have the opportunity to respond.

I think it's pretty unfair to use JKB as a platform for slandering businesses you've had a bad experience with. Every company has had dissatisfied customers.

Last night I spoke to an incredibly stupid woman who went mental at me because we wouldn't let her daughter use the gym, because she was 15.

Anyone with a brain bigger than a pea knows that all gyms, with the exception of massive ones that have specialised kids gyms, do not let children in because for one thing you can't get public liability insurance, and secondly it's not a good idea because children aged 14-15 may not have fully developed joints and can easily damage themselves lifting weights.

I tried to explain this to her, but didn't manage to finish a single sentence without being interrupted. She finished of by asking how she would go about cancelling her membership and told me she would be loooking into taking out membership with one of our rivals tomorrow.

I have no doubt she will think that we have provided a bad service, but it's always subjective and if she were to go about posting how crap my company was on random websites I would be absolutely raging as we would have no chance to respond, and she would be talking utter pish in any case.

I'm not suggesting that the above posters are not right to be aggrieved with the companies they have had dealings with, I just don't think it's a good idea to base your opinions of a company on one other customer's bad experience and I think it's unfair to criticise people who don't have the opportunity to respond.

A very fair post mate, but Reid Furnitures after sales service is still pish :)

Fair indeed BigC but the Royal "no.1 for customer service" Bank of Scotland promised me an interest free loan to repay my student overdraft, took 2 months to decline me for the already approved loan, returned all of my direct debits and passed my details onto a firm of debt collectors.

Took them about 3 more months to get it sorted. They eventually gave me the loan, paid all of the charges that other companies had hit me with and gave me ?150 compensation as well as an unreserved apology but it was not worth the hassle.

Incompetent is not the word.

BT. Wouldn't p*** on them if they were on fire![/quote

Very good advice - liquids on electrical fires are extremely dangerous. The flames will spread and there's a danger of back-current up your **** eye.

Arnold Clark

I'll second that. Never, and I mean NEVER take your car there for an MOT, unless you want to be told that it needs almost everything replaced/adjusted/welded etc!

Guest GhostHunter

Northern Rock.

Bunch of cockpots.

Offer new customers better deals than existing customers...actually, they are trying to bin exisiting customers...go figure.

I'm sure what they are currently doing is totally illegal - offering new customers a better rate of interest than exisiting customers are getting..

Oh aye...then they pass your details to an advisor for Lloyds, who conveniently give NR a hefty referral fee the minute you go, "Hello ?".

Fecking thieving *******s.

heartgarfunkel

Sky. Moved house last summer. They sent a joker in a 'Cobra' van to install Sky+. He only ran one cable in, and he attached it to a neighbour's dish. Went out to use his mobile and just ****ed off. After spending a fortune phoning the 0845/0870 robbing *******s, they sent another 'Cobra' guy out. He installed another dish (sort of), then said he was away out to his van to get another drill bit. My missus, bairn in arms, and I watched incredulously as he got in his ****ey red van and buggered off into the distance, never to return. More lengthy phonecalls and I eventually got a real Sky engineer to sort it out after three weeks. Still raging, now over to BT. At least they don't charge you for phoning them up.

Northern Rock.

Bunch of cockpots.

Offer new customers better deals than existing customers...actually, they are trying to bin exisiting customers...go figure.

I'm sure what they are currently doing is totally illegal - offering new customers a better rate of interest than exisiting customers are getting..

Oh aye...then they pass your details to an advisor for Lloyds, who conveniently give NR a hefty referral fee the minute you go, "Hello ?".

Fecking thieving *******s.

If I had a quid for every time I've heard that in the last 2 months in my job mate :confused:

John let me know the details on Reid Furniture and I will put a couple of calls in.

Cheers mate, sent you a PM.

Serj Tankian

T mobile west end of princess street branch one word to describe them retarded basic english not understood there.Now on o2.

Thistle window renovations avoid make your windows worse than before and they dont comeback to fix mistakes.

coppercrutch

For a car Service/MOT D Mains JB Cleland are excellent.

Also as for RBS I don't rate them as a company as a whole but their customer service/online banking is actually pretty decent. No doubt a good few people have bad experiences but for the volume they deal with you get a pretty good service - compared to other places.

Edinburgh Fringe

Appalling customer service last year, and by all accounts they are even worse this year.