Lady Nairne Scheme, Edinburgh

heartgarfunkel

Moved there from Craigmillar and moved out at 16 (folks bought and sold the cooncil hoose thanks to Thatcher, MOD EDIT), to 'posh' Mountcastle. Absolutely loved the place. It was like growing up in the countryside, albeit a rurality with porno mags stuffed in bushes up the Park, and roving gangs of bams chasing us 'Lady Nairne Mods' all over the shop:527: Many happy, scary memories, drove through it a few weeks ago, and there are bams living in the old row of shops.

Point of post is to ask fellow JKBer's if they have/had any friends, memories, opinions, connected with one of the capital's hidden housing schemes, home to our wee legend Robbo (boyhood Hun, NEVER a Hibby!). Many, many Jambos when I lived there 70s/80s despite proximity to the Methadone-script Bowl.

I grew up in Gilmerton Dykes in the 70's, loads of good mates, great fun and sunny summers!!

Quite a few characters,gangs etc, but never got any hassle,(fast runner)

Was paper laddie to Jim Cant,George Donaldson of Hearts fame,Alan Lawrence was in my class at school,as well as a few junkies,thieves and bank robbers!

Funny what different paths people take, a lot of my school mates are doing well,however some are alkies,drug users,one or two died.A few have been to jail.For some reason there is one street in Gilmerton Dykes that always reminds me of the great gamble of pitch & toss!!

Scott Wilson (DJ,etc,etc) ran a pirate radio station from his bedroom in burdiehouse,i used to phone in and win prizes but they never arrived:mad: cant remember what he called it,Radio Caroline or something.

Football matches used to be 18 a side and last about 4 hours,aye these were the days!!

Moved to Lady Nairne when I was about two or three I think, we were the second family to move into the area when it was built, that was back in around 1958. Left again when I was about 12, and moved to various parts of the city thereafter (convinced my mother had some g y p s y blood in her, she thought moving house regularly was fun, used to bug the s h i t out of me).

I was out for a walk one night a few years back, went up Duddingston Road, through Duddingston Village into the park and up the steps opposite Duddingston Loch. Then climbed over the wall up towards Dunsapie (used to be where Meadowfield went on a Sunday afternoon en masse, for games of football of about 30 a side, started at midday and went on until about 18:00) and came back down into Lady Nairne just to have a look round (for old times sake). It seemed much smaller than I remembered it as a kid, and the shop area looked a bit run down at that time.

heartgarfunkel
Moved to Lady Nairne when I was about two or three I think, we were the second family to move into the area when it was built, that was back in around 1958. Left again when I was about 12, and moved to various parts of the city thereafter (convinced my mother had some g y p s y blood in her, she thought moving house regularly was fun, used to bug the s h i t out of me).

I was out for a walk one night a few years back, went up Duddingston Road, through Duddingston Village into the park and up the steps opposite Duddingston Loch. Then climbed over the wall up towards Dunsapie (used to be where Meadowfield went on a Sunday afternoon en masse, for games of football of about 30 a side, started at midday and went on until about 18:00) and came back down into Lady Nairne just to have a look round (for old times sake). It seemed much smaller than I remembered it as a kid, and the shop area looked a bit run down at that time.

They were great games! Used to be the Grove versus the rest for the mass Sunday games, great days, steaming dads & uncles would join in after a session in the Willowbrae, Right Wing and hotel. Wee bairns could make money getting the ball back when it was often smacked down the hill towards Parsons Green school! What street were you in PJ1? We were in the Place, next to the police stair on the corner.

Meadows, I also developed a good turn of speed as a youth when making 'tactical retreats'!;)

They were great games! Used to be the Grove versus the rest for the mass Sunday games, great days, steaming dads & uncles would join in after a session in the Willowbrae, Right Wing and hotel. Wee bairns could make money getting the ball back when it was often smacked down the hill towards Parsons Green school! What street were you in PJ1? We were in the Place, next to the police stair on the corner.

Meadows, I also developed a good turn of speed as a youth when making 'tactical retreats'!;)

I lived at 3/1 Lady Nairne Place. When I left Meadowfield the area opposite Parsons Green School was just jungle, totally wild, was quite impressed with what they had done with it the last time I was up.

Moved there from Craigmillar and moved out at 16 (folks bought and sold the cooncil hoose thanks to Thatcher, MOD EDIT), to 'posh' Mountcastle. Absolutely loved the place. It was like growing up in the countryside, albeit a rurality with porno mags stuffed in bushes up the Park, and roving gangs of bams chasing us 'Lady Nairne Mods' all over the shop:527: Many happy, scary memories, drove through it a few weeks ago, and there are bams living in the old row of shops.

Point of post is to ask fellow JKBer's if they have/had any friends, memories, opinions, connected with one of the capital's hidden housing schemes, home to our wee legend Robbo (boyhood Hun, NEVER a Hibby!). Many, many Jambos when I lived there 70s/80s despite proximity to the Methadone-script Bowl.

what's that comment all about? no need in a thread like this.

heartgarfunkel
what's that comment all about? no need in a thread like this.

You are correct, and I apologise. Will try and remove the strong comment. Not my favourite ex-female Prime Minister, but a bit strong all the same.

heartgarfunkel
I lived at 3/1 Lady Nairne Place. When I left Meadowfield the area opposite Parsons Green School was just jungle, totally wild, was quite impressed with what they had done with it the last time I was up.

Was just along the road from you in the Place, 5/1, ground floor, used to dream about having a balcony!;) Great backgreen. I sometimes feel sorry for kids not having the set out areas to muck about and grow up in - right under the noses of their folks. They've done a great job up there, as you say. Did Mr Dow have the newsagents when you were there?

I grew up in Gilmerton Dykes in the 70's, loads of good mates, great fun and sunny summers!!

Quite a few characters,gangs etc, but never got any hassle,(fast runner)

Was paper laddie to Jim Cant,George Donaldson of Hearts fame,Alan Lawrence was in my class at school,as well as a few junkies,thieves and bank robbers!

Funny what different paths people take, a lot of my school mates are doing well,however some are alkies,drug users,one or two died.A few have been to jail.For some reason there is one street in Gilmerton Dykes that always reminds me of the great gamble of pitch & toss!!

Scott Wilson (DJ,etc,etc) ran a pirate radio station from his bedroom in burdiehouse,i used to phone in and win prizes but they never arrived:mad: cant remember what he called it,Radio Caroline or something.

Football matches used to be 18 a side and last about 4 hours,aye these were the days!!

But are you a Gilmertonian....................;)

Glad to say no i'm not,the scenic west coast for me:)

Where people have letters after their name like..MBE....CBE, not ASBO!!

i stayed at Willowbrae on the main road (just up from the Esso garage)... hardly any kids at my end of the street, had a mate just up the road at Lady Nairne, used to have a great time running around and the large spaces out the back of the flats.

i can remember when all the shops were there. when the butchers shop shut, that was when they all suffered. there seems to be a church in one of them now.

i've moved away in the last year, but lived at Meadowfield opposite from fellow kickbacker redmonster's parents since 2000. great area, only one problem is the damn speedbumps and every so often some ned blasts past on his moped with the engine screaming...

Was just along the road from you in the Place, 5/1, ground floor, used to dream about having a balcony!;) Great backgreen. I sometimes feel sorry for kids not having the set out areas to muck about and grow up in - right under the noses of their folks. They've done a great job up there, as you say. Did Mr Dow have the newsagents when you were there?

I used those shops many times, many days, but never knew the names of any of the owners. Think when I was there starting from the top it was a bakers, then the fruit shop, then a knitwear/schoolwear/chemisty sort of place (was more a shop specifically for biddys), then the newsagent, with the butcher shop right at the bottom.