edinburgh not safe

we better all watch our backs in edinburgh nowadays! there's an ex death row scotsman on the loose, everytime he's in the papers he seems to want to have a go at somebody

Too right it's not, after seeing one of my mates put in an ambulance due to drunken yobs last night, I'll agree with you.

Let's club together and buy him a ticket for Darkheed. ;)

Sean - hope your mate's ok.

Too right it's not, after seeing one of my mates put in an ambulance due to drunken yobs last night, I'll agree with you.

oh dear! hope your mates ok? me and the misses were down porty last night for a stroll accross the beach and there was a lot of drunks hanging about

I'd worry more about the people who don't make the news tbh.

A few years ago my gf was standing at a bus stop when some guy exposed himself. Later that night the police came round to the house with 3 or 4 huge photo albums that only contained the pervs in the surrounding area, not the whole of Edinburgh. There were literately 1000's of mug shots. When you combine those with other types of dodgy characters, then the chances are there will be at least one unsavoury character in your street.

I'd worry more about the people who don't make the news tbh.

A few years ago my gf was standing at a bus stop when some guy exposed himself. Later that night the police came round to the house with 3 or 4 huge photo albums that only contained the pervs in the surrounding area, not the whole of Edinburgh. There were literately 1000's of mug shots. When you combine those with other types of dodgy characters, then the chances are there will be at least one unsavoury character in your street.

that type that done that to your gf should have them chopped off mate

Typical sort of comment from somebody who has never been south of North Berwick.

Listen sonny or girlie, this world is full of dodgy characters, learn to live life and avoid them.:)

Aye Edinburghs getting bad with stabbings and cars getting stolen.

As for ritchie ,being banged up for so long must be hard to adjust to normal society.

Hope your mates okay JS , take it he was out-numbered.

Cowards.:mad:

She probably enjoyed it and only reported it because there was another female there. Nah, only joking, I think. ;)

Typical sort of comment from somebody who has never been south of North Berwick.

Listen sonny or girlie, this world is full of dodgy characters, learn to live life and avoid them.:)

eh? what you slavering about?

Aye Edinburghs getting bad with stabbings and cars getting stolen.

As for ritchie ,being banged up for so long must be hard to adjust to normal society.

Hope your mates okay JS , take it he was out-numbered.

Cowards.:mad:

yeah being serious it must be hard to adjust after that many years locked up! think he's probably surrounded himself with the wrong type, but he doesn't do himself any favours with the violent quotes he comes out with in the press

doesn't do himself any favours by acting like a complete **** like he was last night!

the youth today are totally (the ones that cause bother) out of hand, you can blame it on a host of things like unemployment,bad upbringing and boredom ,no excuse i know but booze is a very big part to play in stabbings and muggings .i think the ones that are caught ,instead of a fine or community service what about chucking them in the ARMY and lets see how big and tough they are then.:cool:

doesn't do himself any favours by acting like a complete **** like he was last night!

what was he upto last night?

the youth today are totally (the ones that cause bother) out of hand, you can blame it on a host of things like unemployment,bad upbringing and boredom ,no excuse i know but booze is a very big part to play in stabbings and muggings .i think the ones that are caught ,instead of a fine or community service what about chucking them in the ARMY and lets see how big and tough they are then.:cool:

Aye, and we all know there wasn't any of that about in the 70's and 80's. Every generation has had its fair share of stabbings, muggings etc, so using the old "youth of today" argument is pointless. It's only ever churned out by those adults that have conveniently forgotten how bad their own generation of teens were.

Then you have the people that churn out the 'good ole days' nonsense, which usually refer to the 40's, 50's and 60's, during which millions died, Fascism was rife, woman were treated like second class citizens and commies and westerners lived under the constant threat of having a nuke pointed at their heads. Great days indeed.

Don't fear youth society, embrace it and you'll soon realise they are no different to what we were as unruly teens.

coppercrutch

Bit extreme no.................:eek:

So every time a bird flashes her tits they should be cut off too.......

I am a crusader for equal rights for all. :)

what was he upto last night?

Just being loud, abusive to staff, trying to pick fights and letching over every woman in the bar, including those that were there with their blokes!

Aye, and we all know there wasn't any of that about in the 70's and 80's. Every generation has had its fair share of stabbings, muggings etc, so using the old "youth of today" argument is pointless. It's only ever churned out by those adults that have conveniently forgotten how bad their own generation of teens were.

Then you have the people that churn out the 'good ole days' nonsense, which usually refer to the 40's, 50's and 60's, during which millions died, Fascism was rife, woman were treated like second class citizens and commies and westerners lived under the constant threat of having a nuke pointed at their heads. Great days indeed.

Don't fear youth society, embrace it and you'll soon realise they are no different to what we were as unruly teens.

i did not say or conveniently forgotten the badness in recent generations , we have Iraq ,palistine and Afghanistan today also, just offering a thought on deter ants , would love to try and embrace a gang of youths high on drink or drugs carrying knifes , things have really got worse today , i was brought up on a rough estate and the number of youths carrying knifes and boozing or mugging people for no reason was not as bad as today , we still have the threat of being nuked today also, i just thought a stint in the Army was a good way of character building, has it been tried before.:rolleyes:

I'm sorry, stabbings were as prevalent back in the 70's and 80's as they are today. We just didn't have the media coverage back then. The fact crime figures have fallen considerably during the decades leads me to believe there was major problem back yonder. Take something as simple as going to the football for example, hooliganism isn't as widespread as it once was, people don't regularly pish on the stands/terracing thus spraying you in the process. as for Iraq and Afghanistan, there's always been conflicts i.e Beirut, so nothing changes there. However, there's a huge difference between what we see today and what happened during both WW's.

Getting shoved in some disease ridden, insect infested hell hole isn't my idea of character building.

The BBC web site refers to him as "Death Row Richey". Quite catchy really. :)

Getting shoved in some disease ridden, insect infested hell hole isn't my idea of character building.:evil:

well maybe those low life wast of spaces who go round terrifying ,stabbing and kicking the s**** out of people deserve to be shoved in some disease ridden, insect infested hell hole and the character building is done in the BASIC training , they will learn self respect and for others as well in the Army, cos in there ,there is NO hiding place.:peek_by_Andrin:

It may be worse now in Edinburgh, but there has as long as I go back been violence, paricularly Saturday and Friday nights. I personally remember the Valdor gang in the early fifties, led by Boko they would hand out the occasional doing. I also remember extremely well the Jacobites of Niddrie/ Craigmillar circa late fifties early sixties. They in particular brought about their own demise after laying a beating on a guy in a wheel chair in the Bristo area.

Stabbings although not common also occurred, as did indecent exposure, rape, and other sundry crimes. The advice has already been given, get street smart and do not go where the bad guys go, and keep your tongue between your teeth.

Or maybe giving the kids some decent facilities as to socialise in a safe and controlled environment would help them more than just tossing them aside and pretending the problem no longer exists.

Take a look around you, what's changed since you or I were youngsters? I'd say quite a lot. I was able to run around with a football in a field without having to worry about some sign post telling me that I was committing an offence by me simply being there with a football at my feet. I was able to use a BMX track without the council thinking I was endangering my life, so they didn't feel the need to close every unattended BMX track down. I was able to hang around with a group of friends in leisure centres without having the police on our backs every few hours all because some old busybody thought we were going to mug every OAP that passed our way. The list is endless tbh, so I won't bore you with a giant wall of text..

If there is a problem, it's our generation that's created it through bad/lazy parenting. After all, it's our kids that are the worst generation to have ever existed. Seriously, what does that say about our ability to parent kids?

andy1874hmfc
I'm sorry, stabbings were as prevalent back in the 70's and 80's as they are today. We just didn't have the media coverage back then. The fact crime figures have fallen considerably during the decades leads me to believe there was major problem back yonder. Take something as simple as going to the football for example, hooliganism isn't as widespread as it once was, people don't regularly pish on the stands/terracing thus spraying you in the process. as for Iraq and Afghanistan, there's always been conflicts i.e Beirut, so nothing changes there. However, there's a huge difference between what we see today and what happened during both WW's.

Getting shoved in some disease ridden, insect infested hell hole isn't my idea of character building.

Why be sorry?;)

I find, although Ritchie's a jambo, he's also a bit of a dick, and I dont like him. He's got the attitude that the world now owe's him, where's he should be just getting on with his life.

Fair play to him getting mad with it every weekend though, that stuff I do condone. :)

I find, although Ritchie's a jambo, he's also a bit of a dick, and I dont like him. He's got the attitude that the world now owe's him, where's he should be just getting on with his life.

Fair play to him getting mad with it every weekend though, that stuff I do condone. :)

Is he a JAMBO ?

oh dear! hope your mates ok? me and the misses were down porty last night for a stroll accross the beach and there was a lot of drunks hanging about

Portobello is always like that, has been for years. It's were the underagers go to get drunk and make idiots of themselves.

Thanks for the concerns, my mates alright. He's just got a few nice staples in his head now.

Portobello is always like that, has been for years. It's were the underagers go to get drunk and make idiots of themselves.

Thanks for the concerns, my mates alright. He's just got a few nice staples in his head now.

Dont like hearing about my jambo mates getting a doing.:mad:

CornhillHearts

No he is not a jambo although my mate insists he was upset on Saturday night because Mole and Makela were the forward line that day, I can therefore fully understand his actions!

Robbos Right Peg
Or maybe giving the kids some decent facilities as to socialise in a safe and controlled environment would help them more than just tossing them aside and pretending the problem no longer exists.

Take a look around you, what's changed since you or I were youngsters? I'd say quite a lot. I was able to run around with a football in a field without having to worry about some sign post telling me that I was committing an offence by me simply being there with a football at my feet. I was able to use a BMX track without the council thinking I was endangering my life, so they didn't feel the need to close every unattended BMX track down. I was able to hang around with a group of friends in leisure centres without having the police on our backs every few hours all because some old busybody thought we were going to mug every OAP that passed our way. The list is endless tbh, so I won't bore you with a giant wall of text..

If there is a problem, it's our generation that's created it through bad/lazy parenting. After all, it's our kids that are the worst generation to have ever existed. Seriously, what does that say about our ability to parent kids?

Unattended BMX tracks........... nae wonder G-Star hoodies stab or rob the odd passing granny. What about skateboard parks who cares about them anymore I didn't realise that it had got that bad and the youth of the day were so hard done by.

But then I grew up in a generation when I was taught to show some sort of respect to others. If I forgot and didn't I would get a good thrashing........... and probably deserved it. Didnae happen often mind

Walter Kidd

Richey is a car crash waiting to happen. Instead of condemning, we as a society should be helping him re adjust to normal life.

If anyone knows where he is getting his gear can they pm me? :)

He should emigrate.

Unattended BMX tracks........... nae wonder G-Star hoodies stab or rob the odd passing granny. What about skateboard parks who cares about them anymore I didn't realise that it had got that bad and the youth of the day were so hard done by.

But then I grew up in a generation when I was taught to show some sort of respect to others. If I forgot and didn't I would get a good thrashing........... and probably deserved it. Didnae happen often mind

Like I said, maybe it's because parents are **** at bringing kids up nowadays. Strange how it's mostly the 35-50 yr olds that do all the moaning about how bad today's youth is, yet it's their kids that are running amok.

Maybe the thrashings of yesteryear in some way damaged our generations parenting skills?

You say decent facilities BJ but all most of us needed was a big green field to kick a ball about.

IMO, there is far less respect for the older generations amongst the youth of today. I`m not saying all youths btw, but it seems t it is more in the balance.

But where does the problem lie or what is the cause? IMO, the breakdown of law, bad parenting and lack of rule given to teachers at school.

There`s been plenty talk of how to stop stabbings etc...but everyone seems to be missing the point of how it`s all came about?

I went to Wester Hailes secondary from 1986 to 1990 and i think i started to witness the breakdown of discipline in schools because of the human rights pesh.

It maybe started earlier i don`t know? but some of the things i witnessed where unreal and im surprised some of us escaped with an education.

Robbos Right Peg
Like I said, maybe it's because parents are **** at bringing kids up nowadays. Strange how it's mostly the 35-50 yr olds that do all the moaning about how bad today's youth is, yet it's their kids that are running amok.

Maybe the thrashings of yesteryear in some way damaged our generations parenting skills?

Parents are certainly ****e at bringing up kids so bring back the birch easy. But then you have the PC brigade who dont have a scooby:mad:

As well as sheeite parenting the law is sheeite too.

Former Mayor of New York, Guiliano , declared a zero tolerance attitude to crime. More or less saying "we`re in charge, not the Pc Brigade".

He targeted crime in the subways which he believed led to bigger crimes and he cut crime in the city massively. Can`t remember the figures because i read about it some time ago but i remember being gobsmacked considering the size of NYC.

I've had a few close calls recently, seems to be more people out looking for trouble these days.

I used to leave my shoes loose but now I tie my laces on a night out incase I need to give someone a good kick in (in defense of course ;)) im not the violent type, i'll avoid it i can, but edinburgh has more than its fair share of ars*h*les at the moment. :mad:

Debut 4, I think the view of youth is very different between those who are older and those who are still young. I think as we age, we tend to forget what it's like to be young. The outrageous viewpoints, our desire to shock etc. Then like the rest of us, they end having to get jobs and lose their passion. We all become mature, but as well somewhat dull.

My parents thought my generation was going wayward, as were their parents before them.

I don't pretend to understand today's youth culture, but I know enough young-uns to not fear it. On the outside many youths appear to be arrogant and aggressive, but if one actually interacts with them they'll really see that alot of it is based on a certain level of insecurity, it's not until we're in our 20s that we have the confidence to be ourselves. I really believe that.

A world without youthful exhuberence would be a sad world.

No he is a murderer.

Take it you have served 20 years in a USA ming hole.

Doubt it got to laugh you are mr perfect.

Bet you have no points on your car licence.:hobofish::hobofish:

Debut 4, I think the view of youth is very different between those who are older and those who are still young. I think as we age, we tend to forget what it's like to be young. The outrageous viewpoints, our desire to shock etc. Then like the rest of us, they end having to get jobs and lose their passion. We all become mature, but as well somewhat dull.

My parents thought my generation was going wayward, as were their parents before them.

I don't pretend to understand today's youth culture, but I know enough young-uns to not fear it. On the outside many youths appear to be arrogant and aggressive, but if one actually interacts with them they'll really see that alot of it is based on a certain level of insecurity, it's not until we're in our 20s that we have the confidence to be ourselves. I really believe that.

A world without youthful exhuberence would be a sad world.

I agree with alot you say BJAC.

But, i stand by the belief that there just doesn`t seem to be the sense of community in housing estates like there used to be.

There`s a fear been created over the last two decades and i don`t know why? You couldn`t move for kids and even older adults coming out for a kick about showing you how it should be done!

I really have fond memories of my childhood of long summer nights, being out from 10 in the morning till 10 at night with loads of us playing football, rounders, etc...you pass most big green areas now or go through housing areas and not a soul can be seen at times, and that`s at weekends.

sorry miller jambo but i have to agree with him.

what not a lot of people know is ritchie (whilst no one knows whether he did start the fire that ultimately killed a little girl)was actually supposed to be baby sitting the child and was found passed out blind drunk in a bush.

Front page of the Sun today, took a kicking off someone outside his flat!

This really will all end in tears!

:confused:

You are probably right he should have served his time in one one of Her Majesty's holiday camps.

your a shizbag mate, see when u actually speak to him he's sound as ****, he's just a big of a erse.

Front page of the Sun today, took a kicking off someone outside his flat!

This really will all end in tears!

:confused:

it wasnae me honest:)