Grad Schemes...

A Boy Named Crow

A Boy Named Crow

...What do we think of them?

I have been on a graduate training scheme with a multinational for about 18 months now. I am studying towards the CIMA qualification. Quite honestly I'm sick of it. Not the qualfication, just the grad scheme itself. I think I've had to use my brain about three times since I joined!

I'm considering chucking it and applying for P/Q jobs in more permanent roles with other firms. What does anyone who's been here think of that for a plan? The way I see it, I'll be in a job I can be more committed to, rather than knowing anything I do won't matter because in six months I'll move on.

As it is, I feel like the dogsbody, doing all the crappy jobs the rest of them don't want to do.

(It sounds from this that I've made up my mind, but trust me, opions are being sought!)

A Boy Named Crow

Aye no doubt, I'm still right up for finishing CIMA. My main beef is really with the employer. They are really just extracting it with the quality of the jobs on the scheme. What I want to know is if this is par for the course for a scheme, I suspect it might be.

chester copperpot
Aye no doubt, I'm still right up for finishing CIMA. My main beef is really with the employer. They are really just extracting it with the quality of the jobs on the scheme. What I want to know is if this is par for the course for a scheme, I suspect it might be.

Depends what company you work for mate. Some are pretty crappy, and offer skanky 20K jobs at the end of it, which means you'll be devaluing your degree.

My works excellent. I applied for an Executive Trainee job a few years back. Didn't get it, but the guy I went for the role with is now working in London on a bumper package at 2 grades higher than me, so shows what can be done.

And before you ask, yes, he was the right man for the job. (Said through gritted teeth).

I don't have a degree but have loads of graduates working for me. Have to say it cracks me up. :)