Tipping in Casinos

Era Macaroons

Ive been in France the last 2 weeks, at the end of our family holiday, my misses insisted i go off to the casino for a few hours (|I'd promised I wouldnt!! family holiday n all that)

No poker game around so sit down at blackjack table (min bet 10 euros) on my own and play 2 boxes, 10 euros each every hand, Im about 70 euros up when 1 box hits 3 black jacks in a row. (3 x 15 euros)

I smile at Croupier and say 'nice one, tres bon oui'.....her face is pure tripping her and I dont know why.....'thanks for the tip' says her superviser, and croupier starts pointing at the money hole, followed by the pit boss coming over (the place is empty so not really a big deal, hes got nowt else to do) explaining it is customory to tip the dealer for black jacks.

Hmmm I think to myself........min bet is 10, if I get a black jack i win 15, tip 5 therfor win 10.....no real benefit in getting black jack then, is there, unless your the dealer! :confused:

I tip 5 euros (4 quid) and debate this in my head...If I win I tip...If I lose , I lose! bit merde really.

If I win tip, win tip ......thats the same as winning 2 and losing 1...bit too big an edge to the casino methinks!

I decide Im not tipping her every time I get a black jack ....im playing for ME, but will tip every 3rd black jack over the two boxes to appease them!.

I play for another 20 mins and quit for a smoke break 140 euros up, i come back and theres another guy in my seat playing 1 box. I just watch , he gets the odd black jack , tips every time!! and is out of chips pretty quick, he even tips her his last 5 euro chip as he cant make the minimum stake.Dork.

I wonder what I would be expected to tip if i was playing 100 euros a hand, 10 euros? surley not more?

Anyway I left soon after, no way was I sitting down again and losing my bragging rights over French casinos.:mw_tease:

before i left tho.... I popped over to the 2 packed roulette tables and decided I'd put 5 euro on number 22 on both of them next spin then leave.

first guy spins , i put 5 euro cash down on 22, 'non non' he says and takes it off, no cash allowed, must buy table chips , min 40 euros.

lands on 17, I watch the other table spinning off now knowing I cant put my desired bet on....boom....22... :banghead:Au Revior.

So what is this tipping in casinos lark?

Is this a continental thing?

rich mans thing?

mugs thing?

any similar tales would be of interest

Not quite related but I really, really resent having to tip the dealers in cash poker games.

Pretty sure you aren't actually allowed to tip the croupiers in the Circus casino at Fountainbridge.

a lot of brit dealers go abroad, because its actually against the law for a dealer to accept a tip here. they would lose their gaming licence if caught.

i disagree with it in part. i was a dealer years ago, and the wages were ****, but the host & hostesses, who just wandered around bringing out a sarnie and cup of tea were on the same wages as us and got some really healthy tips of a night.

Just back from the US and spent 5 days in Vegas, played a lot of Blackjack and no one ever tipped the dealer.

Only place I say tips were on the roulette table (occasionally) and the dealer in Texas Hold em poker got tipped by the winner on each hand played.

Era Macaroons
Not quite related but I really, really resent having to tip the dealers in cash poker games.

Pretty sure you aren't actually allowed to tip the croupiers in the Circus casino at Fountainbridge.

Arent the cash games in Circus just dealt by a punter? (i.e not staff) who would get nothing if it wasnt for the tips, they can accrue quite an amount if dealing for a while.

I think your right that you CANT tip British croupiers, bit wierd being ASKED TO in France!

Era Macaroons
a lot of brit dealers go abroad, because its actually against the law for a dealer to accept a tip here. they would lose their gaming licence if caught.

i disagree with it in part. i was a dealer years ago, and the wages were ****, but the host & hostesses, who just wandered around bringing out a sarnie and cup of tea were on the same wages as us and got some really healthy tips of a night.

I would have thought youd be on more than the trolly dollys!, no wonder the Brits go abroad

Era Macaroons
balls to them. If you lose do they give YOU free chips? Nope.

My sentiments exactly

Just back from the US and spent 5 days in Vegas, played a lot of Blackjack and no one ever tipped the dealer.

In my limited experience of Vegas (only been 5 times) I'd say that was unusual

Ive been in France the last 2 weeks, at the end of our family holiday, my misses insisted i go off to the casino for a few hours (|I'd promised I wouldnt!! family holiday n all that)

No poker game around so sit down at blackjack table (min bet 10 euros) on my own and play 2 boxes, 10 euros each every hand, Im about 70 euros up when 1 box hits 3 black jacks in a row. (3 x 15 euros)

I smile at Croupier and say 'nice one, tres bon oui'.....her face is pure tripping her and I dont know why.....'thanks for the tip' says her superviser, and croupier starts pointing at the money hole, followed by the pit boss coming over (the place is empty so not really a big deal, hes got nowt else to do) explaining it is customory to tip the dealer for black jacks.

Hmmm I think to myself........min bet is 10, if I get a black jack i win 15, tip 5 therfor win 10.....no real benefit in getting black jack then, is there, unless your the dealer! :confused:

I tip 5 euros (4 quid) and debate this in my head...If I win I tip...If I lose , I lose! bit merde really.

If I win tip, win tip ......thats the same as winning 2 and losing 1...bit too big an edge to the casino methinks!

I decide Im not tipping her every time I get a black jack ....im playing for ME, but will tip every 3rd black jack over the two boxes to appease them!.

I play for another 20 mins and quit for a smoke break 140 euros up, i come back and theres another guy in my seat playing 1 box. I just watch , he gets the odd black jack , tips every time!! and is out of chips pretty quick, he even tips her his last 5 euro chip as he cant make the minimum stake.Dork.

I wonder what I would be expected to tip if i was playing 100 euros a hand, 10 euros? surley not more?

Anyway I left soon after, no way was I sitting down again and losing my bragging rights over French casinos.:mw_tease:

before i left tho.... I popped over to the 2 packed roulette tables and decided I'd put 5 euro on number 22 on both of them next spin then leave.

first guy spins , i put 5 euro cash down on 22, 'non non' he says and takes it off, no cash allowed, must buy table chips , min 40 euros.

lands on 17, I watch the other table spinning off now knowing I cant put my desired bet on....boom....22... :banghead:Au Revior.

rich mans thing?

mugs thing?

Did you not haggle over the size of the tip?:)

Anyhoo, that's the French for you. A country full of communists and peasants.:P

I have tried to tip the dealers in Circus at Fountainbridge and they wouldn't accept, claming they're not allowed.

They would accept a tip at the bar and supposedly pool them together.

Seems a strange situation with your story Era.

In my limited experience of Vegas (only been 5 times) I'd say that was unusual

In my trips to Vegas and Reno it was most usual to tip the dealer, also the drinks waitress. It doesn't have to be a huge amount, and usually if you are doing reasonably well.

Don't bother playing too often now as the tables in Vegas all seem to start at $10.00. and they are usually pretty busy. I am just not good enough at the game to go in at those prices.

Era Macaroons
Did you not haggle over the size of the tip?:)

Anyhoo, that's the French for you. A country full of communists and peasants.:P

LOL ;)

It was actually worth 5 euros to have 3 Frenchies (croupier bird/superviser bird/pit boss dude) all trying to get a tip off me!

I was haggling in my head ('gie them ferkall its just a rouse' V 'better respect their customs a little bit')

rich mans thing?

mugs thing?

But you don't tip taxi drivers, waiters, delivery men, removal men and I hope to feck you don't tip your hairdresser. The postman doesn't get a Christmas card and you pretend to be out when the cubs come bob a jobbing.

What's the difference?

It's strange in the UK though, it's a non tipping culture and therefore service is pretty gash on the whole compared to the States for example.

Era Macaroons
I have tried to tip the dealers in Circus at Fountainbridge and they wouldn't accept, claming they're not allowed.

They would accept a tip at the bar and supposedly pool them together.

Seems a strange situation with your story Era.

It was strange indeed, at first I didnt know if they were taking the hump as I was playing quite well and winning (tiny amount I know , but nontheless winning, and not tipping) I was also taking my time with decisions as no one else there. I suppose I was sipposed to lose quickly n naff off.

Era Macaroons
But you don't tip taxi drivers, waiters, delivery men, removal men and I hope to feck you don't tip your hairdresser. The postman doesn't get a Christmas card and you pretend to be out when the cubs come bob a jobbing.

What's the difference?

It's strange in the UK though, it's a non tipping culture and therefore service is pretty gash on the whole compared to the States for example.

Oh how you make me larf

Taxi drivers - Yes, I always round up to the next 50 pence;)...and at least I pay my fare too....not like some fare dodger I could mention

Delivery men - No, they are delivering a product you have already paid a premium on.

Waiters - Yes 10% of tab unless they are pants/food guff/overcharge my bill

Hairdresser - Owner chick from Flaunt does it for free and I give her a bottle o wine (consumed after not before) lol. and anyway what do you know about hairdressers?

Postman - comes round too early, tough.

Cubs - always got 5p for them to cut my grass/weed/sweep/clean car...no worries.

I reckon tips should be given for good service ...not asked for or expected

In my trips to Vegas and Reno it was most usual to tip the dealer, also the drinks waitress. It doesn't have to be a huge amount, and usually if you are doing reasonably well.

Don't bother playing too often now as the tables in Vegas all seem to start at $10.00. and they are usually pretty busy. I am just not good enough at the game to go in at those prices.

Tipped the waitresses all the time, but never seen people tip the dealer in blackjack in Vegas.

Arent the cash games in Circus just dealt by a punter? (i.e not staff) who would get nothing if it wasnt for the tips, they can accrue quite an amount if dealing for a while.

I think your right that you CANT tip British croupiers, bit wierd being ASKED TO in France!

They are dealt by random punters as you say. Punters who have quit their jobs because of the tips they can make dealing these cash games. Really irritates me tbh.

They act as if they are doing you a favour but see if somebody else wanted to deal they'd tell you to bolt.

Era Macaroons
They are dealt by random punters as you say. Punters who have quit their jobs because of the tips they can make dealing these cash games. Really irritates me tbh.

They act as if they are doing you a favour but see if somebody else wanted to deal they'd tell you to bolt.

Interesting. I've not really been often enough to get a clear picture on it, although I did twig it was a 'good spot' to have....the only guaranteed winner!!

Is there a bit of a scramble to be the dealer then D?

Tipped the waitresses all the time, but never seen people tip the dealer in blackjack in Vegas.

Like I said its been a while since I played because of the cost, tipping may well have gone out because of that cost. I was a big gambler, played at $2.00 tables. You really couldn't get hurt too bad, but at $10.00 a hand, and a possible double down or split it gets way too heavy for me I would be in tears every hand I lost. I can also say I would not be tipping at 10 bucks a tip, as the tip in the past if iirc was basically equal to your stake.

Stick to slots now, no tips skill or anything other than coins in and a receipt out. Ach this auld age isnae only sucking pan drops, it even affects your gambling and tipping habits.:(

rich mans thing?

mugs thing?

Sorry I lost interest

a while bck

Era Macaroons
Sorry I lost interest

a while bck

I normally dont bother posting when I lose interest.

:bek035:GEEK ALERT

Im sure there are many other threads for your perusal and engaging comments

Interesting. I've not really been often enough to get a clear picture on it, although I did twig it was a 'good spot' to have....the only guaranteed winner!!

Is there a bit of a scramble to be the dealer then D?

There is 4 or 5 dealers that hang about, who try to organise "shifts" etc. All quite pathetic. I'd love to go with a deck of cards and a button and deal for free for a night and see their reactions!

Era Macaroons
There is 4 or 5 dealers that hang about, who try to organise "shifts" etc. All quite pathetic. I'd love to go with a deck of cards and a button and deal for free for a night and see their reactions!

Dont think youd be very popular lol

Sounds like they've got a nice little number, I just thought it was guys that were knocked out the tourney doing the dealing...I take it these 'dealers' never play then, just deal?.

I will have to review my tipping strategy further;)

Tipping should only be for better than average service, no matter what the job is the person is paids to do it to a certain standard! Only if they surpass that standard should they be tipped! Now and again I do bar shifts and I nearly always make good tips because I am a pretty good barman! I disagree with putting all the tips into a pot then sharing it out equally tho, I don't wan't money someone else has been tipped and likewise don't want to hand my tips over to someone who hasn't worked well enough to make their own!

Am i the only one that hates american service?

I dont want to be their feckin mate, leave me in peace! Im not retarded, i know my size, I know where the clothes,cd,dvds etc are! I WAS having a nice day till you came along and forced me to take the headphones out of my ear and indulge in small talk that in all honesty none of us want.

Same as waiters. Just notice when I want to order, take my order and bring me the food! No small talk about where im from, I know youve probably got a scottish/irish granny but I didnt travel hunners of miles to talk about home.

Ach im ranting.....

I usually tip 10% for a decent meal. Tip the postie? Whats that all about. Nobody really tips delivery drivers do they? Tip the hairdresser? Only if shes got big jugs. Taxi drivers? Unlikely in Edinburgh. Can barely afford the sky highprices in the first place.

Captain Lithuania

rich mans thing?

mugs thing?

You lost me half way through there! :P I don't bet :P

I usually tip 10% for a decent meal. Tip the postie? Whats that all about. Nobody really tips delivery drivers do they? Tip the hairdresser? Only if shes got big jugs. Taxi drivers? Unlikely in Edinburgh. Can barely afford the sky highprices in the first place.

I gave the boys who delivered my new suite a tenner and told them to have a drink on me. It was bloody huge and weighed a tonne, thought they deserved it.

Always tip taxi drivers and in restaurants. Don't tip hairdresser though, I'm already paying ?35.00 for less than an hours work, reckon that is plenty.

Era Macaroons
You lost me half way through there! :P I don't bet :P

The word 'Casino' in title may have indicated betting....however,

It was a small tale about gambling to win money....then being asked to tip the person I had just won it off.

For example when my football coupon comes up at Ladbrokes....I dont tip the cashier and was looking for others experience of this type of situation.

Hope thats clear now.

and why dont you bet? , its a sure fire way to riches/hot totty/fast cars

Captain Lithuania

It was a small tale about gambling to win money....then being asked to tip the person I had just won it off.

For example when my football coupon comes up at Ladbrokes....I dont tip the cashier and was looking for others experience of this type of situation.

Hope thats clear now.

'Cause you can loose it all in one go!! Anyway, I understand now.. Thanks!

Era Macaroons
'Cause you can loose it all in one go!! Anyway, I understand now.. Thanks!

Only if you bet it all in one go.

But in case your 14 and about to discover fruit machines, your right, DONT BET its bad.

Captain Lithuania
Only if you bet it all in one go.

But in case your 14 and about to discover fruit machines, your right, DONT BET its bad.

Where did you get 14?

Captain Lithuania
I didnt...I said 'in case'

I misread it as in your case lol, read it too fast, incase is one word btw!! ;)

You're obviously the exception to the rule then? :P

Hope thats clear now.

Damn right it is, I've never lost a bolt whilst gambling.

Hollywood here I come.

iamcraigbeattie

I find tipping a real sore point!! For example, why should i be tipping a waitress for doing their job regardless of how good the service is, at the end of the day their doing their job that they chose to do and they get paid by the restaruant for this. I work in sales and get paid my salary and commission but dont get tips for good service but again this is my choice to work in that way.

Tipping makes me :mad:

I find tipping a real sore point!! For example, why should i be tipping a waitress for doing their job regardless of how good the service is, at the end of the day their doing their job that they chose to do and they get paid by the restaruant for this. I work in sales and get paid my salary and commission but dont get tips for good service but again this is my choice to work in that way.

Tipping makes me :mad:

Isn't commission a sort of tipping in a roundabout way?

Era Macaroons
Isn't commission a sort of tipping in a roundabout way?

Im still working on the masterplan :P

As for commission , I dont think you can lump that in with tipping, commission is an agreed fee.

iamcraigbeattie

Its provided by my employer to me and not directly from the end user. The customer has no say in whats paid to me. I just dont get it :confused:

But if commission wasn't paid to the sales staff would the cost of the product be cheaper?

Just a thought.

I've never worked in a position that has commission as part of a reward system so i don't know, merely opening it up to debate!

Mac_fae_Gillie

I was a croupier,

royal chimes and martel in the late 80s.

In the UK it is illegal for any gaming staff to accept a tip.

logical as it is open to abuse.

Croupiers have sewn up trouser pockets and when leaving the table show hands to the Inspecter and do a palm brush to prove they are not strealing.

Seems mad that this french guy was expecting you 1/3 B/J as a tip,in fact assuming he worked the table for 7hours it seems near impossible to believe the honesty of them.

If he dealt 100B/Js a night getting only 5euros ave thats about ?340...no chance...

Only tipping i know of is a winning player who leaves a table gives 5% on average in most euro countrys.dealer then alerts inspecter he is taking a tip the inspecter opens a clear plastic box which the dealer puts the chips into.

These are split between dealer/chipper and inspecter.

Era Macaroons
I was a croupier,

royal chimes and martel in the late 80s.

In the UK it is illegal for any gaming staff to accept a tip.

logical as it is open to abuse.

Croupiers have sewn up trouser pockets and when leaving the table show hands to the Inspecter and do a palm brush to prove they are not strealing.

Seems mad that this french guy was expecting you 1/3 B/J as a tip,in fact assuming he worked the table for 7hours it seems near impossible to believe the honesty of them.

If he dealt 100B/Js a night getting only 5euros ave thats about ?340...no chance...

Only tipping i know of is a winning player who leaves a table gives 5% on average in most euro countrys.dealer then alerts inspecter he is taking a tip the inspecter opens a clear plastic box which the dealer puts the chips into.

These are split between dealer/chipper and inspecter.

Thanks Mac, nice to have a croupiers input on this.

I think they were 'at it' , a bit as well, happily applying a little 'tip us' pressure rather than this really being a custom/the norm.

A lot of folk using this casino would have been wealthy tourists (French Riviera) , more easily led into excessive tipping than hardened casino types.

But if commission wasn't paid to the sales staff would the cost of the product be cheaper?

Just a thought.

I've never worked in a position that has commission as part of a reward system so i don't know, merely opening it up to debate!

I don't think so.

Commission gives an incentive to increase turnover.

Increased turnover gives you the financial ability to undercut the competition.

There is nothing wrong with tipping someone who has visibly grafted for it, I just don't like it when it is expected because someone does a certain job.