tartofmidlothian Posted January 18 Posted January 18 I think Critchley deserves a lot of praise for this month - five unbeaten, three wins in there, through to the next round of the cup and 360 minutes of football with only an absolute wondergoal scored against us. He seems a good guy and a smart coach too, he represents us well in the media. Must admit I had my doubts he was the guy to stick a rocket up the arse of our bunch of confidence-shot underachievers, but now I see that's not what he's here for. He's milking the best performances he can out of every player who has something to give, but what he's really here to do is fine-tune a Jamestown-assembled squad into something hopefully very impressive. We can all see what McKinlay meant about his player improvement stats, even if he doesn't quite have the raw talent to work with yet. Think that's me on board the Critchley train for now, anyone else? Quote
Mikey1874 Posted January 18 Posted January 18 He's talked about a lot needing improved. So we'll need to see that. Quote
Tynecastle Valhalla Posted January 18 Posted January 18 He’s been average at best. Dundee Utd result is a good one but he’s had some shockers tbh. Some strange lineups and subs too. but he’s getting players in so let’s see how it goes. Seems like a likeable chap which does help. i still think he’s a number two rather than a manager but of course wish him every success. Quote
Victorian Posted January 18 Posted January 18 So near to a much, much better run. The Petrocub, Ross County and Aberdeen draws must have had him screaming. We're very close to consolidating the limited progress that's been made. Just another couple of wins and we could be in a better place. But still dangerous. Quote
Australis Posted January 18 Posted January 18 I like how we have played since he arrived. It's getting the players he recommends to Jamestown to find for him linking up and doing what he asks. The glaring thing for me IMO, is players not getting behind defences and getting to the by-lines to make crosses. And no natural link up between the midfield and forwards. I hope that's what he addresses quickly. Quote
buzzbomb1958 Posted January 18 Posted January 18 Let the man do his job , he took over a clown show and had to try ever squad player to decide if they were pish or not he seems to have been recognising the problem areas and the crap who are not needed he will come good Quote
zeke1874 Posted January 18 Posted January 18 He's a likeable character and comes across as a good guy and proper fitba man in interviews. But that week of killie, petrocub and hibs was horrendous. Really want him to succeed cos we canny keep changing coaches but he really needs to go on a run and get us into the top 6 in the short term. Also for his standing with the fans he really needs a landmark take notice win, vs old firm or a proper cuffing of hibs. In fairness tho he's still pretty new into the job and still working with players he'll probs want to replace so the jury's out etc. Defo been better last 5 matches tho. Mon the Critchley and Mon the Gorgie!! Quote
Mirror Posted January 18 Posted January 18 Praise yes but we're still in 11th and as others have pointed out - some terrible results like Killie and our last euro conf game. And the odd subs. Quote
martoon Posted January 18 Posted January 18 All in all, I'm happy enough with Neil. The Hibs defeat was a f#@£!*& sickener, they always are, but I think he's done enough to be given time. Get rid of the deadwood this month, get others in and let's see where we stand come the FT whistle on Scottish Cup final day. 😁 All the very best to Neil and the club. Quote
Cruyff Posted January 18 Posted January 18 I like him but I'm still on the fence. We've improved slightly not significantly. Quote
Bill Sikes Posted January 18 Posted January 18 He's doing brilliantly, we don't have a squad capable of playing twice a week at even an average level. Now he's getting time to actually coach the players we are clearly seeing huge improvement. I like the way he looks ahead, the past is gone. Always talking about a plan going forwards so hopefully he's not using us as a stepping stone. Quote
Rudi Hates Hibees Posted January 18 Posted January 18 He’s done ok so far. A couple of absolute shocking results in there though. He needs to bed his new players in quick and start climbing the table. Quote
Lone Striker Posted January 18 Posted January 18 21 minutes ago, buzzbomb1958 said: Let the man do his job , he took over a clown show and had to try ever squad player to decide if they were pish or not he seems to have been recognising the problem areas and the crap who are not needed he will come good This.👍 He's managed to get some decent results & performances out of a squad which was ridiculously poorly prepared by Naismith to play 2 games a week, albeit still inconsistent. It's clear from these last 2 weeks that he's aware of what's needed - pretty much similar to what fans on here have been saying too. I reckon within 18 months (maybe less), most of that squad will be gone - hopefully replaced with guys with better pace & skill and a stronger mentality, Quote
Jambof3tornado Posted January 18 Posted January 18 11 minutes ago, Cruyff said: I like him but I'm still on the fence. We've improved slightly not significantly. 4th in the form table.....thats a significant improvement surely? Yet to hear an interview where I've thought he was talking crap. I wanted him to throw players under the bus but his way was better man management. It cannot be mentioned enough how utterly keek our squad was and how reliant on shanks goals we'd become over 2 years. I do think we need to stay up this season,top 6 and a cup final would be impressive given where we were, that allows Critchley more time. I think we need to get a victory over hibs too to get the doubting fans on board. Quote
Pasquale for King Posted January 18 Posted January 18 30 minutes ago, zeke1874 said: He's a likeable character and comes across as a good guy and proper fitba man in interviews. But that week of killie, petrocub and hibs was horrendous. Really want him to succeed cos we canny keep changing coaches but he really needs to go on a run and get us into the top 6 in the short term. Also for his standing with the fans he really needs a landmark take notice win, vs old firm or a proper cuffing of hibs. In fairness tho he's still pretty new into the job and still working with players he'll probs want to replace so the jury's out etc. Defo been better last 5 matches tho. Mon the Critchley and Mon the Gorgie!! Spot on, hopefully at least another two chances to beat Hibs this season. Quote
Rocky jamboa Posted January 18 Posted January 18 He's made a difference since he came in and has worked out pretty quickly who isn't good enough - mckay and Oda nowhere near the team, Forrest hardly used and rowles shipped out. Be interesting to see how he does with a few of his signings in to play the way he wants. As others have said, a few concerns around some of his subs and not changing things in certain game - i.e. hibs game, when we were being overrun in midfield. However, on the whole, I'm quite encouraged by him and feel he could be good for us but still has a lot to prove. Quote
PaddysBar Posted January 18 Posted January 18 Comes across as a great guy and his reputation as a coach is very high. Just needs a better squad to work with imo. Quote
JJ1984 Posted January 18 Posted January 18 Crap so far, people are trying to fool themselves if they are saying he's been good. We are second bottom and just lost to the shite at home, not good enough and no excuse. Quote
FERRY HEARTS Posted January 18 Posted January 18 Jury is still out for me aswell , Descent although expected win last night once we got going , I canny get my head around the substitutions at times , but seems modern day players are quite happy to be bit part players ( contributing 20-70 minutes ) I’m gettin older and game changing , So il just stay on the Jambo Rollercoaster for the ride , Aw the best Critch Quote
JJ1984 Posted January 18 Posted January 18 2 minutes ago, PaddysBar said: Comes across as a great guy and his reputation as a coach is very high. Just needs a better squad to work with imo. Off who? I know his history and background, I've never seen anyone go on about how good he is though. Quote
hereford_hearts Posted January 18 Posted January 18 The most important thing about his tenure here is what to call him. Is it Critchy, Critcho, Critchars or something else? Quote
Cruyff Posted January 18 Posted January 18 12 minutes ago, Jambof3tornado said: 4th in the form table.....thats a significant improvement surely? Yet to hear an interview where I've thought he was talking crap. I wanted him to throw players under the bus but his way was better man management. It cannot be mentioned enough how utterly keek our squad was and how reliant on shanks goals we'd become over 2 years. I do think we need to stay up this season,top 6 and a cup final would be impressive given where we were, that allows Critchley more time. I think we need to get a victory over hibs too to get the doubting fans on board. Over what, 5 games? Geez a break. That's no barometer whatsoever. We've improved but significantly, nah. Quote
Handofgod2015 Posted January 18 Posted January 18 30 minutes ago, Bill Sikes said: He's doing brilliantly, we don't have a squad capable of playing twice a week at even an average level. Now he's getting time to actually coach the players we are clearly seeing huge improvement. I like the way he looks ahead, the past is gone. Always talking about a plan going forwards so hopefully he's not using us as a stepping stone. Thank **** some of our fans have at least half a brain. We had shite players playing week in week out when he came in and he's had to Polish a turd. No manager could have changed the imbalance in the squad without signings Quote
JJ1984 Posted January 18 Posted January 18 3 minutes ago, Handofgod2015 said: Thank **** some of our fans have at least half a brain. We had shite players playing week in week out when he came in and he's had to Polish a turd. No manager could have changed the imbalance in the squad without signings We have the same group of players that finished third last year, still better than most in our league. Hardly taking over Clyde. Quote
copa-mundial Posted January 18 Posted January 18 I can't help but like the guy. Yes he inherited a very poor unbalanced side. He's tried with what little time he's had between a very hectic fixture schedule. There's been some good results and performances, and there's also been some shockers. We all know which games. I don't need to remind anyone. He's openly admitted the squad needs improving. We have brought in a few new faces, and a few have also departed. With the new signings and having week to week games. It will hopefully let NC put his full coaching to the fore, instead of it being rushed like previous. 10 games to go before the split. Not much separates 3rd to 11th. Top 6 is still very much salvageable. It would be reasonable considering the hellish start to the season, and how long we have spent in the bottom 6. No doubts he will be judged with each passing game. Quote
DesertDawg Posted January 18 Posted January 18 1 hour ago, Tynecastle Valhalla said: He’s been average at best. Dundee Utd result is a good one but he’s had some shockers tbh. Some strange lineups and subs too. but he’s getting players in so let’s see how it goes. Seems like a likeable chap which does help. i still think he’s a number two rather than a manager but of course wish him every success. 👍 That's the way I've seen it from way out here in Arizona too. Don't forget that we don't really know his relationships with The Jamestown people, the Hearts' board and the current squad. Let's see how he does in the rest of the season. We'd all be thrilled if he managed to get us a Euro play-off place. Quote
heartmussel Posted January 18 Posted January 18 23 minutes ago, PaddysBar said: Comes across as a great guy and his reputation as a coach is very high. Just needs a better squad to work with imo. That’s where I’m at, I may even make a return to Parkhead and Ibrox now that we seem to have a more forward thinking set up. Quote
Morgan Posted January 18 Posted January 18 He’s improved us, no doubt. Three, close to a win games, have put a small cloud over his time here. I don’t think he makes substitutions early enough, that would be my major gripe. We’ll be fine. 👍❤️ Quote
Carter Posted January 18 Posted January 18 Been a bit one dimensional imo. Without Penrice we'd be bang in trouble for an outlet. That's not on Critchley specifically though. Naismith left behind a mess but he should never have been in that role in the first place, let alone unsupervised last summer. That speaks to a bigger problem with decision makers I'm afraid. Quote
JamboGee92 Posted January 18 Posted January 18 Not convinced by him tbh, but he deserves a chance with some of his own players. Quote
jambo_74 Posted January 18 Posted January 18 22 minutes ago, JJ1984 said: We have the same group of players that finished third last year, still better than most in our league. Hardly taking over Clyde. That same squad that got us third had us bottom of the league and cost the manager that got us third his job. Quote
Tazio Posted January 18 Posted January 18 39 minutes ago, JJ1984 said: Crap so far, people are trying to fool themselves if they are saying he's been good. We are second bottom and just lost to the shite at home, not good enough and no excuse. Nonsense. He’s steadied the ship and performances are improving and will continue to improve as the squad strengthens this month. We would be further up the league but this seems to be a season of completely unpredictable results all through the league every week. Quote
dumpson Posted January 18 Posted January 18 Wasn’t impressed when he was announced but will give him time. We sat near to the dug outs at Brechin and he was going completely nuts even at 1-4 so his expectations are obviously high which is a good sign. Quote
Voice of reason Posted January 18 Posted January 18 43 minutes ago, JJ1984 said: Off who? I know his history and background, I've never seen anyone go on about how good he is though. Really? Very highly rated at the Liverpool Academy, hero worshipped at Blackpool and then Aston Villa paid over £1m quid to take him off them to be their assistant. He then had a couple of rough years but that’s the only reason Hearts could afford him. Basically, he’s always been regarded as an excellent coach - the only question mark is really around whether he’s a hard enough character to be the Head Coach. I thought this article was interesting from 2022: https://www.blackpoolgazette.co.uk/sport/football/blackpool-fc/neil-critchleys-surprise-blackpool-departure-to-link-up-with-aston-villa-feels-like-a-bad-break-up-3720147 I get you personally don’t rate him, and that’s fine. We all see things differently. However, I don’t think it’s fair to say he’s never been rated by anyone ever. A big premier league club don’t spend over a million quid on an assistant coach if he’s not considered good. We’ve managed to get him at a low ebb, which is a trait of good analytics. I think he’s done fine in really difficult circumstances and we’ve clearly improved in my mind. Let’s see how he does with some of his own players now. Quote
Bring Back Paulo Sergio Posted January 18 Posted January 18 1 minute ago, dumpson said: Wasn’t impressed when he was announced but will give him time. We sat near to the dug outs at Brechin and he was going completely nuts even at 1-4 so his expectations are obviously high which is a good sign. That's reassuring. Considered moving over there before kickoff would have been nice to see most of the pitch. Quote
Dr Ian Malcolm Posted January 18 Posted January 18 Yet to be convinced he’s the guy. It will take more than narrow wins over Motherwell and Dundee Utd. More than one properly dreadful result and they all came in quick succession. By Scottish Premiership standards, this is not a ‘terrible squad’ and he’s got more than enough at his disposal to have us in the top six. We’re still 11th. He was hired on the basis that he’d improve the players he inherited. Not a huge amount of evidence he’s done much of that. Seems a nice guy but that’s irrelevant. Quote
the posh bit Posted January 18 Posted January 18 I can't help but like him. He comes over well in interviews and there has been an improvement. I actually think the Ross County result was his worst. He must still scratch his head and wonder how that happened. We would have moved ahead of them and a wee bit pressure would have been off him and his players. The Hibs result was hard for everyone but they will win from time to time and maybe the support need to grow a pair when that happens. He inherited an absolute shocker of a situation and there has been obvious improvement. A win against Killie is really important for him. That would drag us away from the arse of the league and we can then really focus on moving up the table. A defeat will mean we are simply playing out the fixtures to avoid going down. Quote
Dallas Green Posted January 18 Posted January 18 56 minutes ago, Cruyff said: Over what, 5 games? Geez a break. That's no barometer whatsoever. We've improved but significantly, nah. 15 league games. Since he came in we have been the 4th best team in the league. Quote
MoncurMacdonaldMercer Posted January 18 Posted January 18 Being outperformed by David gray and the dross he’s got to work with Quote
JamboRaider Posted January 18 Posted January 18 47 minutes ago, DesertDawg said: 👍 That's the way I've seen it from way out here in Arizona too. Don't forget that we don't really know his relationships with The Jamestown people, the Hearts' board and the current squad. Let's see how he does in the rest of the season. We'd all be thrilled if he managed to get us a Euro play-off place. Fair comment. Just passed through your awesome state, particularly Flagstaff to Phoenix, driving from San Diego to New York. Quote
Cruyff Posted January 19 Posted January 19 40 minutes ago, Dallas Green said: 15 league games. Since he came in we have been the 4th best team in the league. The last 3 league games we've improved. Before that, some horrendous performances and results. Quote
tiger Rudi Posted January 19 Posted January 19 I like him. Certain players have shown an improvement, he's also not used some of the players most of us thought were passed their sell by date. He's continued to play one or two that we'd rather move on, but thankfully he's getting a tune out of them and until better comes in, he's doing the best with the limited resources he has. I feel we are on the cusp of something good here. Right man for the job at this time. The future might bring a higher class of coach in, but the team needs to be a more attractive option before that happens. We are on the right road. The beginnings of something special I think. Quote
The Woodsheaf Posted January 19 Posted January 19 2 hours ago, Cruyff said: Over what, 5 games? Geez a break. That's no barometer whatsoever. We've improved but significantly, nah. Have a keek at the Critchley league table thread, Mr Cruyff. It covers the 15, not 5, league games since he took charge, like literally all of them, so the best barometer available. We're fourth on the latest update. Good to know you like him and can see improvement, though. Quote
J.T.F.Robertson Posted January 19 Posted January 19 2 hours ago, JJ1984 said: Crap so far, people are trying to fool themselves if they are saying he's been good. We are second bottom and just lost to the shite at home, not good enough and no excuse. They will beat us every now and again, shit happens. Just don't understand the seethe when they do. It's shite when it happens but I don't use our results aginst them as our measuring stick. Quote
Bad Religion Posted January 19 Posted January 19 What a difference employing an actual coach makes. Only took them 10 years to realise. Quote
Cruyff Posted January 19 Posted January 19 25 minutes ago, The Woodsheaf said: Have a keek at the Critchley league table thread, Mr Cruyff. It covers the 15, not 5, league games since he took charge, like literally all of them, so the best barometer available. We're fourth on the latest update. Good to know you like him and can see improvement, though. As I've said already. The last 3 league games - an improvement definitely. 2 wins and a solid draw, 3 clean sheets. That's good going, it shows we've turned a corner but let's not get ahead of ourselves. We've witnessed a number of horrendous results and performances before then. Let's not try to re-write history because of 3 consistent results. Quote
DxB Hearts Posted January 19 Posted January 19 I like him, comes across really well and is obviously an experienced coach and manager. Can see the players taking to him. Got to remember what he took over, a squad that was ridiculously unbalanced and completely lacking confidence. We then played twice a week for a long time including some long away trips in Europe. He did say that over that period it was hard for him to do anything on the training pitch because of a lack of time. Give him a couple more players of decent quality - McCart and Elton seem to be that - plus the rest of the year to get the squad playing his way and we’ll be in a good spot. If we get anything from this year - Europe or the Scottish cup - then that’s a massive bonus but realistically it was all ****ed long before any of us knew his name. Next 5 months is building to next season. Quote
GinRummy Posted January 19 Posted January 19 Jury still out for me. Feels like we are heading in the right direction though so see where we are at the end of the season. Quote
i8hibsh Posted January 19 Posted January 19 Nice guy, really nice guy in fact. Our whole club is nice. I really wanted a ***** to come in and make us horrible. He seems to respect the opposition too much and I don't like that. Losing to Hibs happens from time to time but we played that game like a bunch of pussies. Even when we have been really shite in the past we have beaten that mob and played like warriors. Nice guys come last and nice teams win nothing. Way too early to get rid though, he deserves time. Quote