No Idle Talk Posted December 14, 2024 Share Posted December 14, 2024 Sorry for the controversial thread title. I am not trying to create controversy, it's just relevant to the topic. Let’s start here…….I no longer live in Edinburgh. So I can’t go every week. Tickets for derbies are an absolute impossibility for me now. So I watch videos of derby days, the match and the fans, just to feel a part of the experience. I am sitting watching a video of the Gorgie Ultras before a derby at Easter Road and all you can hear is “Hello Hello”. I stick up for the ultras so many times and tell fans of other teams that our ultras are not into that shit. This video seems to contradict that. I have also recently watched a video of a battle in Easter Road after a derby where Hibs fans and Hearts fans clashed, and to be frank, Hearts fans were behaving like Huns. Hibs fans were no angels either but I am not interested in them. They are a pile of shite in my opinion. It just really guts me to see Hearts fans behave like Huns. I literally hate it. I know we have a section of our support who are into that garbage and want to keep it going. I also know through reading this forum that there are are a lot of Jambos who want to exterminate this and want nothing to do with it. I just want this bollocks to be consigned to the past. There are few things in life that pee me off more than a Celtic fan calling me a “wee Hun” but sometimes some of our fans play up to that stereotype. That’s the ****ing problem. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Geoff Kilpatrick Posted December 14, 2024 Share Posted December 14, 2024 We face another team on Sunday who sing Hello, Hello with gusto. No one calls Killie sectarian - they point their hatred at Ayr, and that's fair enough. The problem isn't Hello, Hello. The problem is those who utter the word "Fenian" while not even having a clue what a Fenian is. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
No Idle Talk Posted December 14, 2024 Author Share Posted December 14, 2024 1 minute ago, Geoff Kilpatrick said: We face another team on Sunday who sing Hello, Hello with gusto. No one calls Killie sectarian - they point their hatred at Ayr, and that's fair enough. The problem isn't Hello, Hello. The problem is those who utter the word "Fenian" while not even having a clue what a Fenian is. I agree with the second sentence. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Richard Dawkins Posted December 14, 2024 Share Posted December 14, 2024 Good post. Neither do the idiots in our fans base, understand where the funds and support for William of Orange mostly came from. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Brauhauser2012 Posted December 14, 2024 Share Posted December 14, 2024 3 hours ago, No Idle Talk said: Sorry for the controversial thread title. I am not trying to create controversy, it's just relevant to the topic. Let’s start here…….I no longer live in Edinburgh. So I can’t go every week. Tickets for derbies are an absolute impossibility for me now. So I watch videos of derby days, the match and the fans, just to feel a part of the experience. I am sitting watching a video of the Gorgie Ultras before a derby at Easter Road and all you can hear is “Hello Hello”. I stick up for the ultras so many times and tell fans of other teams that our ultras are not into that shit. This video seems to contradict that. I have also recently watched a video of a battle in Easter Road after a derby where Hibs fans and Hearts fans clashed, and to be frank, Hearts fans were behaving like Huns. Hibs fans were no angels either but I am not interested in them. They are a pile of shite in my opinion. It just really guts me to see Hearts fans behave like Huns. I literally hate it. I know we have a section of our support who are into that garbage and want to keep it going. I also know through reading this forum that there are are a lot of Jambos who want to exterminate this and want nothing to do with it. I just want this bollocks to be consigned to the past. There are few things in life that pee me off more than a Celtic fan calling me a “wee Hun” but sometimes some of our fans play up to that stereotype. That’s the ****ing problem. Agreed. Sang that stuff in the 80s and early 90s but really ashamed of that now. Sectarianism has no place in Scotland or in football. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Martin B Posted December 14, 2024 Share Posted December 14, 2024 Marchin’ thru Gorgie and Here We Go on this album are absolute bangers. Pity they couldn’t be played in Tynie without the cretins adding in sectarian nonsense. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
kingantti1874 Posted December 14, 2024 Share Posted December 14, 2024 (edited) Why would you bother what Celtic fans call you 🤣 politics and religion has no place in football but at hearts it’s fraction of what is was. Celtic, Rangers. Hibs, Aberdeen fans in no position to lecture or point fingers at hearts fans in any way shape or form. Their rancid beliefs and their behaviour means they should be viewed as the excrement they undoubtedly are. Hold you head high and tell them **** off 👌🏻 Edited December 14, 2024 by kingantti1874 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
jamboozy Posted December 14, 2024 Share Posted December 14, 2024 While I agree with the OP , this will descend into the usual hun sympathisers sticking up for the usual hun song book and folks that would rather we didn’t arguing in a continuous loop 🔁 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gmcjambo Posted December 14, 2024 Share Posted December 14, 2024 (edited) Scottish football is embarrassing when it comes to this nonsense. The SFA has no appetite to tackle it because it’s the OF. The Clubs themselves are complicit, so when we see our own supporters sing these types of songs it just drags us down. We should surely be better than this. I don’t want anyone thinking we have some sort of loose association with religion or sectarianism the way the Ugly Sisters do. We’re a football club, and it should just be about football. I hate the OF, both clubs, and I don’t want to be like them. Edited December 14, 2024 by Gmcjambo Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
EH11 2NL Posted December 14, 2024 Share Posted December 14, 2024 I'm not condoning the song, but threads like this are pointless when 90% of a massive crowd will still sing it in a certain scenario. Right after Edwards put us 1 up against Celtic in the final the large majority there that day were belting it out. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bill Sikes Posted December 14, 2024 Share Posted December 14, 2024 There's plenty Hearts supporters with the same mentality as the bigots and that doesn't include their religious beliefs. They think like them, behave like them so it shouldn't come as a surprise they like singing like them. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sub4TiddlerMurray Posted December 14, 2024 Share Posted December 14, 2024 I used to claim that Hearts fans are not sectarian and that only a tiny minority of bashed from West Lothian are. Then I see so many Union Jacks flapping in away matches on Europe matches and my love of all things Hearts shrinks a little. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sub4TiddlerMurray Posted December 14, 2024 Share Posted December 14, 2024 For “bashed” read “bawheeds” Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sarah O Posted December 14, 2024 Share Posted December 14, 2024 3 minutes ago, Sub4TiddlerMurray said: I used to claim that Hearts fans are not sectarian and that only a tiny minority of bashed from West Lothian are. Then I see so many Union Jacks flapping in away matches on Europe matches and my love of all things Hearts shrinks a little. But wur a Britush club representin britun ken likes. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
buzzbomb1958 Posted December 14, 2024 Share Posted December 14, 2024 1 hour ago, Richard Dawkins said: Good post. Neither do the idiots in our fans base, understand where the funds and support for William of Orange mostly came from. Bang on I was talking to a zombie who sings this crap and I said you sing that crap and don’t even know the history, I had to enlighten him that Billy was brought up a Catholic and was actually paid as an agent of the Vatican to install division in Europe , so much for “ Up to their knees “ he just looked at me blankly and said he just goes along with the crowd , I said is it not a fact that you are ignorant and don’t know your history 😂😂😂😂 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sub4TiddlerMurray Posted December 14, 2024 Share Posted December 14, 2024 (edited) 4 minutes ago, Sarah O said: But wur a Britush club representin britun ken likes. There are thousands of British clubs. The only ones waving a Union Jack are unionists making that known. We’re a football club. Period. Unionist are simply making a sectarian point. Edited December 14, 2024 by Sub4TiddlerMurray Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nucky Thompson Posted December 14, 2024 Share Posted December 14, 2024 7 minutes ago, Sub4TiddlerMurray said: I used to claim that Hearts fans are not sectarian and that only a tiny minority of bashed from West Lothian are. Then I see so many Union Jacks flapping in away matches on Europe matches and my love of all things Hearts shrinks a little. The Union Jack isn't a sectarian flag. FFS the fans were brilliant in Copenhagen, mixing and drinking with the locals. obviously there was nothing to slate us for so the OP draggedup this nonsense Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
manaliveits105 Posted December 14, 2024 Share Posted December 14, 2024 1 hour ago, kingantti1874 said: Why would you bother what Celtic fans call you 🤣 politics and religion has no place in football but at hearts it’s fraction of what is was. Celtic, Rangers. Hibs, Aberdeen fans in no position to lecture or point fingers at hearts fans in any way shape or form. Their rancid beliefs and their behaviour means they should be viewed as the excrement they undoubtedly are. Hold you head high and tell them **** off 👌🏻 This Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
HoGwash Posted December 14, 2024 Share Posted December 14, 2024 23 minutes ago, Nucky Thompson said: The Union Jack isn't a sectarian flag. FFS the fans were brilliant in Copenhagen, mixing and drinking with the locals. obviously there was nothing to slate us for so the OP draggedup this nonsense I agree the fans were largely brilliant in Copenhagen and I gad a great time there but let's not pretend there wasn't plenty of sectarian singing and liberal use of fenian. I just find it depressing that some people can't support the team without bringing this into it. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
jamboinglasgow Posted December 14, 2024 Share Posted December 14, 2024 5 hours ago, Geoff Kilpatrick said: We face another team on Sunday who sing Hello, Hello with gusto. No one calls Killie sectarian - they point their hatred at Ayr, and that's fair enough. The problem isn't Hello, Hello. The problem is those who utter the word "Fenian" while not even having a clue what a Fenian is. People have defended the singing of it saying it's a great song that's why they sing it, not the sectarian wording. But if that was the case then how hard is it to change one word (and the last line) to Hibs and "we are the gorgie gorgie boys" Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gmcjambo Posted December 14, 2024 Share Posted December 14, 2024 36 minutes ago, Nucky Thompson said: The Union Jack isn't a sectarian flag. FFS the fans were brilliant in Copenhagen, mixing and drinking with the locals. obviously there was nothing to slate us for so the OP draggedup this nonsense But it is a symbol of sectarianism depending on the context in which it is being used. For example, at an OF game, accompanied with sectarian songs, bile and hatred. This is a game of football between two Scottish clubs. Let’s not kid ourselves or pretend it’s simply being used to promote, honour or respect Britain. I do wonder why Hearts fans are using the Union Jack at Tynecastle on occasion or at European trips. Maybe in Europe they feel British and that Hearts are representing Britain but in this competition but that doesn’t seem to fit the context of it being a Scottish Club, from a Scottish league when Scotland is also the national team when it comes to football. When accompanied by sectarian songs it’s not difficult to see why some would think it’s being used as a sectarian symbol. I just don’t want our club to be associated with the same values or beliefs as Rangers, or to sing sectarian songs. It’s a shame if that’s too big an ask. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
sac Posted December 14, 2024 Share Posted December 14, 2024 Copenhagen away, **** the IRA, was belted out numerous times, cringeworthy stuff. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
luckydug Posted December 14, 2024 Share Posted December 14, 2024 51 minutes ago, Nucky Thompson said: The Union Jack isn't a sectarian flag. FFS the fans were brilliant in Copenhagen, mixing and drinking with the locals. obviously there was nothing to slate us for so the OP draggedup this nonsense Rangers and Hearts fans aren't sectarian when flaunting their Union Flags in your opinion. So does that mean you think Celtic fans aren't sectarian in their flaunting of the Irish tricolour. It's all about context. If Hearts don't take a firm stance against the wannabee Huns it will cost us fans. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
MoncurMacdonaldMercer Posted December 14, 2024 Share Posted December 14, 2024 It’s a fair slur by the Celtic fans and seems to hurt the OP so job done a far as they are concerned the one I least prefer is referring to how rubbish the “wee huns” are as they stick a number of goals past us on a regular basis Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
boag1874 Posted December 14, 2024 Share Posted December 14, 2024 Ultras or no ultras it’s not dying off any time soon though it is disappointing to see it creep into their songbook when previously they actively tried to shut it down during games. I don’t sing it, I think it’s a stupid song but it’s generally always been one of the loudest songs we sing all over the stadium & it’s all age groups singing it. Whats always been obvious is that it’s more prominent when people are dissatisfied with the club, it’s almost like a really stupid & pointless protest. Last few seasons it’s not been heard much, this season it’s made more of a comeback. First couple of seasons post admin it died off a lot, then from 2017-2020 it made a comeback. That makes it near on impossible to root out, if the club push back against it as they’ve done before then the fans just push back harder & the problem just amplifies & they can’t ban everyone.. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
MoncurMacdonaldMercer Posted December 14, 2024 Share Posted December 14, 2024 1 minute ago, luckydug said: Rangers and Hearts fans aren't sectarian when flaunting their Union Flags in your opinion. So does that mean you think Celtic fans aren't sectarian in their flaunting of the Irish tricolour. It's all about context. If Hearts don't take a firm stance against the wannabee Huns it will cost us fans. why would anyone have an issue with Celtic fans carrying the Irish flag to games “flaunting” Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Martin B Posted December 14, 2024 Share Posted December 14, 2024 2 hours ago, jamboozy said: While I agree with the OP , this will descend into the usual hun sympathisers sticking up for the usual hun song book and folks that would rather we didn’t arguing in a continuous loop 🔁 Can I have tonight’s lottery numbers please? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
fabienleclerq Posted December 14, 2024 Share Posted December 14, 2024 (edited) Long winded way of saying it annoys you when celtic fans call you a hun. We could stop all that shite and they'd still call you it. Best advice, ignore celtic fans. Edited December 14, 2024 by fabienleclerq Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
crunchy frog Posted December 14, 2024 Share Posted December 14, 2024 Where i live, when i go to a boozer i frequent I'm always greeted with "oh its the mini/baby hun" I just roll my eyes and order a pint Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
jamboozy Posted December 14, 2024 Share Posted December 14, 2024 1 minute ago, Martin B said: Can I have tonight’s lottery numbers please? 😄 I wish I could pick them for myself. Just somethings are easier to foresee. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kev1998 Posted December 14, 2024 Share Posted December 14, 2024 13 minutes ago, luckydug said: Rangers and Hearts fans aren't sectarian when flaunting their Union Flags in your opinion. So does that mean you think Celtic fans aren't sectarian in their flaunting of the Irish tricolour. It's all about context. If Hearts don't take a firm stance against the wannabee Huns it will cost us fans. What part of the British Isles has a tricolour as flag?what part union standard.england,Scotland Wales and Northern Ireland.question answered. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
boag1874 Posted December 14, 2024 Share Posted December 14, 2024 6 minutes ago, luckydug said: Rangers and Hearts fans aren't sectarian when flaunting their Union Flags in your opinion. So does that mean you think Celtic fans aren't sectarian in their flaunting of the Irish tricolour. It's all about context. If Hearts don't take a firm stance against the wannabee Huns it will cost us fans. I’m an independence supporting Scottish nationalist but I can honestly say I couldn’t give a shit about union flags in our end on away trips. Most of them are maroon anyway & there’s just as many if not more maroon saltires. The idiots who whap out a random union flag they’ve just bought to wave at Celtic or Hibs fans are cringe. It also doesn’t bother me at all that Celtic wave Irish flags. They were founded by Irish immigrants & it’s been their identity since day one, who cares? They’re not unique in celebrating their Irish heritage in sport & it isn’t sectarian to do that. The issue is the songbooks. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
heartgarfunkel Posted December 14, 2024 Share Posted December 14, 2024 13 minutes ago, Kev1998 said: What part of the British Isles has a tricolour as flag?what part union standard.england,Scotland Wales and Northern Ireland.question answered. The Republic of Ireland (Eire) does. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cameronstheman Posted December 14, 2024 Share Posted December 14, 2024 Oh look another thread on this stuff, superb Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robbo-Jambo Posted December 14, 2024 Share Posted December 14, 2024 42 minutes ago, sac said: Copenhagen away, **** the IRA, was belted out numerous times, cringeworthy stuff. Absolutely embarrassing Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kev1998 Posted December 14, 2024 Share Posted December 14, 2024 8 minutes ago, heartgarfunkel said: The Republic of Ireland (Eire) does. Since when was eire part of the UK? Or the east end of Glasgow part of eire? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gmcjambo Posted December 14, 2024 Share Posted December 14, 2024 3 minutes ago, Kev1998 said: Since when was eire part of the UK? Or the east end of Glasgow part of eire? It’s not part of the UK, it’s part of the British Isles. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
HmfcLions Posted December 14, 2024 Share Posted December 14, 2024 The Gorgie ultras flag weirdo from the ER derby was openly posting about being at Ibrox the other night because he was banned from travelling abroad to watch us. Utter weirdo 😂 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Star Lizard Posted December 14, 2024 Share Posted December 14, 2024 (edited) 9 minutes ago, Kev1998 said: Since when was eire part of the UK? Or the east end of Glasgow part of eire? The British Isles are Great Britain and Ireland ( and a whole bunch smaller islands too ) Edited December 14, 2024 by Star Lizard Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
coatbridgejambo Posted December 14, 2024 Share Posted December 14, 2024 When it comes to the old firm the flags aren't the problem,it's the songs openly supporting terrorist groups. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jean Louis Valois Posted December 14, 2024 Share Posted December 14, 2024 Seems to be more and more Hearts fans who lap up the little cousins chat nowadays, Pretty pathetic in my opinion. Can't remember seeing Hearts union Jack flags or merchandise back in the day. Seems to be a thing now, silly wee laddies desperate to impress Rangers fans. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kev1998 Posted December 14, 2024 Share Posted December 14, 2024 6 minutes ago, Star Lizard said: The British Isles are Great Britain and Ireland ( and a whole bunch smaller islands too ) OK Mr lizard technically you've got me.uk then.which part? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boab Posted December 14, 2024 Share Posted December 14, 2024 2 minutes ago, Jean Louis Valois said: Seems to be more and more Hearts fans who lap up the little cousins chat nowadays, Pretty pathetic in my opinion. Can't remember seeing Hearts union Jack flags or merchandise back in the day. Seems to be a thing now, silly wee laddies desperate to impress Rangers fans. Depends when “ the day “ was ! Plenty of this stuff going on 40-50 years ago. With wee peaks and troughs of activity. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cameronstheman Posted December 14, 2024 Share Posted December 14, 2024 2 minutes ago, Jean Louis Valois said: Seems to be more and more Hearts fans who lap up the little cousins chat nowadays, Pretty pathetic in my opinion. Can't remember seeing Hearts union Jack flags or merchandise back in the day. Seems to be a thing now, silly wee laddies desperate to impress Rangers fans. Well you must have poor eyesight I'm just glad I don't get in to a state about such triviality and nor do most Hearts fans, just seems the case on here at times and lets face it, many who travel with Hearts don't come near here and wont care a jot what a few think Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kev1998 Posted December 14, 2024 Share Posted December 14, 2024 4 minutes ago, Jean Louis Valois said: Seems to be more and more Hearts fans who lap up the little cousins chat nowadays, Pretty pathetic in my opinion. Can't remember seeing Hearts union Jack flags or merchandise back in the day. Seems to be a thing now, silly wee laddies desperate to impress Rangers fans. When did you start supporting hearts ...last week?"back in the day" no union flags or merchandise. Have a word. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Star Lizard Posted December 14, 2024 Share Posted December 14, 2024 The Seventies . When Hearts were shit and society was shitter . That is when it came in . A blip in our clubs history that arseholes try and claim is part of the fabric from which our club is woven . They passed it on to a few younger arseholes but they still have time to grow up . Expect most of it to die out when the tragic old ***** that reminisce about pish running down the terraces and fat old jakies with KKK tattoos finally **** off from mortality Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ray Gin Posted December 14, 2024 Share Posted December 14, 2024 The ultra's creepy groomers are bigots and they pass their nonsense down on to the daft wee laddies. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jean Louis Valois Posted December 14, 2024 Share Posted December 14, 2024 13 minutes ago, Kev1998 said: When did you start supporting hearts ...last week?"back in the day" no union flags or merchandise. Have a word. Well from the year in your name I've been supporting Hearts from before you were born, But thanks for your advice I'll "have a word". Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Star Lizard Posted December 14, 2024 Share Posted December 14, 2024 9 minutes ago, Ray Gin said: The ultra's creepy groomers are bigots and they pass their nonsense down on to the daft wee laddies. Nailed it Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kev1998 Posted December 14, 2024 Share Posted December 14, 2024 1 minute ago, Jean Louis Valois said: Well from the year in your name I've been supporting Hearts from before you were born, But thanks for your advice I'll "have a word". The 1998 refers to the Scottish cup win Mr Johnny come lately Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...