BackOfTheNet Posted Wednesday at 23:33 Share Posted Wednesday at 23:33 The whole point of getting a new coach was for us to get a tune out of the players we do have. Throwing money at new players doesn’t solve everything like people think it does. Thelin at Aberdeen, Clarke at Kilmarnock, coaches can get better results from the same players. Critchley needs to earn his money here, and start getting a tune out of what players we do have. Otherwise I’m not sure I’ll be comfortable spending money on players he’s doing to coach like he has been if things haven’t improved between now and January. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
neilnunb Posted Wednesday at 23:40 Share Posted Wednesday at 23:40 Rowles was talking about wanting to play in Japan at some point. I'm more than happy to pay for his flight in January. One way. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gordon_1874 Posted Wednesday at 23:42 Share Posted Wednesday at 23:42 We've got the small matter of 13 games to deal with before January. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
flem Posted Wednesday at 23:44 Share Posted Wednesday at 23:44 1 hour ago, DB-14 said: McKay and Grant should be fired into the sun. 👍 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cruyff Posted yesterday at 00:09 Share Posted yesterday at 00:09 Desperately need wingers, a CM that can ping it about and at least one "dynamic" striker. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bongo 1874 Posted yesterday at 00:11 Share Posted yesterday at 00:11 These are the same players that let Naismith/Neilson down. We have a squad of about 18/20 players that are decent in my opinion. We need better players it's that simple, do I think Critchley is the end goal of us reaching our full potential? No but he's important part of the process for us to be regularly getting 3rd place long-term anything more than that is a bonus. He has improved us and I'm not his biggest fan. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Howdy Doody Jambo Posted yesterday at 00:23 Share Posted yesterday at 00:23 NC best bet could be introducing a few more players from the academy just to get us to January The midfield just looks shit and no attacking threat no aggression, no imagination or creativity, no leadership, no players arguing with each other or with the opposition Something stinks in the dressing room that is still lingering from the sackings of Neilson and Naismith Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jimw44 Posted yesterday at 00:32 Share Posted yesterday at 00:32 I would try musa and wilson up front. Try a high press and attack with pace. It might not work but it can't be any worse than what we are seeing at the moment Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
CAI Posted yesterday at 01:15 Share Posted yesterday at 01:15 Two strikers and two defenders minimum!!! I think Shankland has a spot in the team even if we do recruit but we need cover and competition. Vargas can get to **** Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
gregzy2k7 Posted yesterday at 04:43 Share Posted yesterday at 04:43 6 hours ago, Clerry Jambo said: Just hope we can keep in touch with some teams above us. Need a dominant defender, can’t defend set pieces. 2 strikers as shanks and Vargas unfortunately don’t seem to be the answer Wish Critchley all the best of luck he needs it Needing more than one, Kye Rowles and Frankie Kent, especially Kent are as soft as chocolate flavoured iced cream. Totally outmatched and outmuscled for both goals that we lost last night. Without wanting to batter every player in our team, It's looking more and more like the only competent player in our back 4 is James Penrice. Agree on the strikers, We also need a winger or two as well. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bad Religion Posted yesterday at 04:52 Share Posted yesterday at 04:52 Another squad overhaul required. 2 months after the last one. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Clerry Jambo Posted yesterday at 07:28 Author Share Posted yesterday at 07:28 8 hours ago, mr fox said: Agree with most but to criticise shankland !! No we are not creating enough chances shankland is a super player he needs someone better than Vargas and more ammunition. Shanks can be criticised he’s been off it this season, hopefully a goal gets him started cause we need him big time. Vargas isn’t getting us enough goals which leaves you with a young lad who I dont think touched the baw when he came on last night. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gundermann Posted yesterday at 08:05 Share Posted yesterday at 08:05 8 hours ago, neilnunb said: Rowles was talking about wanting to play in Japan at some point. I'm more than happy to pay for his flight in January. One way. Somewhere where he finds himself a giant amongst men? He's improved recently and I'd probably keep him but he really needs bulk up and grow a pair. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gundermann Posted yesterday at 08:09 Share Posted yesterday at 08:09 3 hours ago, Bad Religion said: Another squad overhaul required. 2 months after the last one. I know... I don't think we need that many though. Need to lose one or two but some need a rocket up their rears. Hopefully the integration of some of the young guys from the B Team will put pressure on the Billy Big Baws who just saunter around or some of the perma-injured/ sick like Halkett, Beni and Hoff. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
skinnybob72 Posted yesterday at 08:12 Share Posted yesterday at 08:12 You would be forgiven for wondering if those running the club are more concerned about how fluffy the pillows in the hotel are than how the 1st team are doing. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RustyRightPeg Posted yesterday at 08:13 Share Posted yesterday at 08:13 3 minutes ago, Gundermann said: I know... I don't think we need that many though. Need to lose one or two but some need a rocket up their rears. Hopefully the integration of some of the young guys from the B Team will put pressure on the Billy Big Baws who just saunter around or some of the perma-injured/ sick like Halkett, Beni and Hoff. Perma injured hoff? The medical department diagnosed his injury wrong and he was getting treated for the completely wrong thing…Naismith said that. Bit harsh. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gundermann Posted yesterday at 08:20 Share Posted yesterday at 08:20 2 minutes ago, RustyRightPeg said: Perma injured hoff? The medical department diagnosed his injury wrong and he was getting treated for the completely wrong thing…Naismith said that. Bit harsh. Yeah, pretty harsh but I'm scunnered with so many of our guys spending more months on a sick bed than on the park. Maybe it's just modern football but my auld dear remembers the great team of the 50s. Guys who worked in mines and factories but who also played football. These guys are in their 20s and should be fit and strong athletes. Sure, I wasn't an athlete but in my 20s I worked long hours in a physically demanding job, played football like others and did martial arts. I can't remember being off sick or injured at all bar a day or two over nigh on a whole decade. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamb04life Posted yesterday at 08:24 Share Posted yesterday at 08:24 9 hours ago, mr fox said: Agree with most but to criticise shankland !! No we are not creating enough chances shankland is a super player he needs someone better than Vargas and more ammunition. Why is Shankland immune from criticism…? he’s been rotten all season, looks unfit and doesn’t display the body language of a captain. If anybody watched Hearts for the first time last night, they’d be amazed he stayed on the park The decision not to bring in some power in the forward areas in the summer was a massive mistake. Hope NC rectifies this in January Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hashimoto Posted yesterday at 08:33 Share Posted yesterday at 08:33 8 hours ago, Bongo 1874 said: These are the same players that let Naismith/Neilson down. We have a squad of about 18/20 players that are decent in my opinion. We need better players it's that simple, do I think Critchley is the end goal of us reaching our full potential? No but he's important part of the process for us to be regularly getting 3rd place long-term anything more than that is a bonus. He has improved us and I'm not his biggest fan. That's simply not true...They are a bunch of charlatans who get coaches and managers sacked. Keep the youngsters, phase out the others. Critchley better start banging heads soon, or he'll find that they've taken over the dressing room again Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hearts007 Posted yesterday at 08:38 Share Posted yesterday at 08:38 12 minutes ago, Jamb04life said: Why is Shankland immune from criticism…? he’s been rotten all season, looks unfit and doesn’t display the body language of a captain. If anybody watched Hearts for the first time last night, they’d be amazed he stayed on the park The decision not to bring in some power in the forward areas in the summer was a massive mistake. Hope NC rectifies this in January wasting your time there pal. foxy thought shanks played great last night Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
kingantti1874 Posted yesterday at 08:40 Share Posted yesterday at 08:40 January is a real problem, I’m sure we were hoping to go into to looking for players through the analytics model who will take us to the next level. now we need players who are up for a relegation scrap, we won’t be able to attract players we wanted for the longer term until the summer at least. we need to do what Aberdeen did in January 23 solid, no nonsense loans who are up for a scrap. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Badonde Posted yesterday at 08:42 Share Posted yesterday at 08:42 Does anyone trust this board to sign the right players? also, I doubt they’ll be splashing the cash. Consistent penny pinching is costing us. We don’t spend much and have wage caps that holds us back. ****ing disgrace all round Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fraggle Posted yesterday at 08:49 Share Posted yesterday at 08:49 It's all about survival. We need to try and stay in touch with the others at the bottom until January, and hope the recruitment process works, otherwise Neilson is back for a 3rd time to do his Championship rescue act! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamb04life Posted yesterday at 08:51 Share Posted yesterday at 08:51 8 minutes ago, Hearts007 said: wasting your time there pal. foxy thought shanks played great last night I mentioned on another thread; there were two occasions last night when he could’ve been through on goal or at least got a shot away if he was able to control the ball and get his first touch right. He is slow and ponderous on the ball Yes, he has the odd nice flick, maybe wins a foul but we need a lot more from him imo Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hearts007 Posted yesterday at 08:52 Share Posted yesterday at 08:52 Just now, Jamb04life said: I mentioned on another thread; there were two occasions last night when he could’ve been through on goal or at least got a shot away if he was able to control the ball and get his first touch right. He is slow and ponderous on the ball Yes, he has the odd nice flick, maybe wins a foul but we need a lot more from him imo yup Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jambo in Bathgate Posted yesterday at 08:55 Share Posted yesterday at 08:55 Last night’s goal came from Vargas running to the bye line and crossing the ball. That was the exception we then reverted to coming into the middle and being blocked by a packed defence. One example was Forrest who had a clear way to the bye line but decided to cut inside into three opposition players. Last night second half was like watching a Naismith/ Neilson set up. I’m sure Critchley has now seen enough to make changes in January. In the meantime we need Beni wrapped in cotton wool. We have really missed him in midfield. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chuck Berry Posted yesterday at 09:16 Share Posted yesterday at 09:16 9 hours ago, BackOfTheNet said: The whole point of getting a new coach was for us to get a tune out of the players we do have. Throwing money at new players doesn’t solve everything like people think it does. Thelin at Aberdeen, Clarke at Kilmarnock, coaches can get better results from the same players. Critchley needs to earn his money here, and start getting a tune out of what players we do have. Otherwise I’m not sure I’ll be comfortable spending money on players he’s doing to coach like he has been if things haven’t improved between now and January. This. I said that last night when the Aberdeen score came through. Largely the same squad that was pish last season and now they're splitting the OF. That's what identifying and employing the right manager can do. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BackOfTheNet Posted yesterday at 09:19 Share Posted yesterday at 09:19 2 minutes ago, Chuck Berry said: This. I said that last night when the Aberdeen score came through. Largely the same squad that was pish last season and now they're splitting the OF. That's what identifying and employing the right manager can do. Yup. A quality keeper that can be a bit erratic, a CB that looked an hazard against us and a solid ageing DM aside, the rest of that team is effectively who was playing last season. Most signings start on the bench. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
EIEIO Posted yesterday at 10:27 Share Posted yesterday at 10:27 10 hours ago, Cruyff said: Desperately need wingers, a CM that can ping it about and at least one "dynamic" striker. We need a proper centre back that can win headers over and above anything else. The last 2 games has shown us that. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
gwd1957 Posted yesterday at 10:47 Share Posted yesterday at 10:47 12 hours ago, Gordon_1874 said: Millions from Europe, 18k tickets every other week. Foh money. It's time we see some of that being spent. Curtains ,bed linen , furniture ,we have to keep the Hotel looking sharp. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SectionN Posted yesterday at 11:02 Share Posted yesterday at 11:02 14 minutes ago, gwd1957 said: Curtains ,bed linen , furniture ,we have to keep the Hotel looking sharp. Shouldn’t laugh but spot on. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bongo 1874 Posted yesterday at 15:44 Share Posted yesterday at 15:44 6 hours ago, Hashimoto said: That's simply not true...They are a bunch of charlatans who get coaches and managers sacked. Keep the youngsters, phase out the others. Critchley better start banging heads soon, or he'll find that they've taken over the dressing room again 1.Gordon 2.Fulton. 3.Kent 4.Rowles 5.Kingsley 6.Salazar 7.Penrice 8.Ogeyoke 9.Taylor 10.Baningime 11.Nieuwenhof 12.Boateng 13.Devlin 14.Spittal 15.Tait 16.Dhanda 17.Oda 18.Vargas 19.Drammeh 20.Wilson 21.Forrester 4 out on loan Denholm Stone Pollock Neilson Clark probably gone Shankland probably gone Boyce Gone Forrest move on Mckay move on Grant move on Halkett move on Tell me what's wrong with that ? Top 6 can be achieved even with them 7 I think will move on. Thats currently 32 on the books. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Serge Posted yesterday at 15:56 Share Posted yesterday at 15:56 Europe is a top priority. We spend the whole season trying to qualify for next season's European competitions and then some advocate playing the youth players when these matches come around? Makes no sense to me. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
AndrewB Posted yesterday at 17:18 Share Posted yesterday at 17:18 It did cross my mind this morning that maybe it’ll start snowing on Friday, then keep snowing until the January window opens, then face these fixtures with some new players. Either that or the current players need to get a grip. Hard to say which of the above two is the bigger fantasy. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Taffin Posted yesterday at 19:18 Share Posted yesterday at 19:18 There must be some free agents out there we could look at. I know it's a roll of the dice with these guys but even if we had to do a short term deal on really big money it may be worth it to take the load off others. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
soonbe110 Posted yesterday at 19:24 Share Posted yesterday at 19:24 19 hours ago, BackOfTheNet said: The whole point of getting a new coach was for us to get a tune out of the players we do have. Throwing money at new players doesn’t solve everything like people think it does. Thelin at Aberdeen, Clarke at Kilmarnock, coaches can get better results from the same players. Critchley needs to earn his money here, and start getting a tune out of what players we do have. Otherwise I’m not sure I’ll be comfortable spending money on players he’s doing to coach like he has been if things haven’t improved between now and January. Thelin brought in 7 players in the summer. Spent approx £1.75m doing so. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
soonbe110 Posted yesterday at 19:41 Share Posted yesterday at 19:41 10 hours ago, Chuck Berry said: This. I said that last night when the Aberdeen score came through. Largely the same squad that was pish last season and now they're splitting the OF. That's what identifying and employing the right manager can do. Haven’t followed them too closely but according to transfermarkt and other sites Thelin brought in 7 players this summer, spent £1.75m on transfer fees and brought in Nisbet on loan, who Millwall paid a couple of million for just 18 months ago. If true then nothing like last seasons squad, in fact very similar numbers to us just signed a better quality of player it would seem. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bongo 1874 Posted yesterday at 20:12 Share Posted yesterday at 20:12 4 hours ago, Bongo 1874 said: 1.Gordon 2.Fulton. 3.Kent 4.Rowles 5.Kingsley 6.Salazar 7.Penrice 8.Ogeyoke 9.Taylor 10.Baningime 11.Nieuwenhof 12.Boateng 13.Devlin 14.Spittal 15.Tait 16.Dhanda 17.Oda 18.Vargas 19.Drammeh 20.Wilson 21.Forrester 4 out on loan Denholm Stone Pollock Neilson Clark probably gone Shankland probably gone Boyce Gone Forrest move on Mckay move on Grant move on Halkett move on Tell me what's wrong with that ? Top 6 can be achieved even with them 7 I think will move on. Thats currently 32 on the books. That's the 21 including the loans I would want to work with. The rest can feck off. And let the analytics find us 3/4 players. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hectormasson Posted yesterday at 20:16 Share Posted yesterday at 20:16 9 hours ago, gwd1957 said: Curtains ,bed linen , furniture ,we have to keep the Hotel looking sharp. exactly how it seems sadly,😅😅😅😅 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robbo-Jambo Posted yesterday at 20:21 Share Posted yesterday at 20:21 19 hours ago, Jimw44 said: I would try musa and wilson up front. Try a high press and attack with pace. It might not work but it can't be any worse than what we are seeing at the moment Musa can't even get a place on the bench. He must be absolutely woeful in training. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Debut 4 Posted yesterday at 20:32 Share Posted yesterday at 20:32 (edited) 21 hours ago, BackOfTheNet said: The whole point of getting a new coach was for us to get a tune out of the players we do have. Throwing money at new players doesn’t solve everything like people think it does. Thelin at Aberdeen, Clarke at Kilmarnock, coaches can get better results from the same players. Critchley needs to earn his money here, and start getting a tune out of what players we do have. Otherwise I’m not sure I’ll be comfortable spending money on players he’s doing to coach like he has been if things haven’t improved between now and January. Mmmm…its also about new eyes identifying players regressing and have had their time. We have a few. Naismith couldn’t see it. Has Thelin inherited a squad waiting to be shaped into something the previous manager couldn’t? Are Hearts actually in regression and some players are now being exposed as having seen their best days and others going stale? You need something with a capacity to improve to get a tune out of them. We’re going over the same debates and points alot just now and it’s clear depth is a big problem. The rigours of Europe are taking its toll too and the squad was nowhere near built properly for what was ahead. We need players. Edited yesterday at 20:34 by Debut 4 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
hmfc1440 Posted yesterday at 21:07 Share Posted yesterday at 21:07 1 hour ago, Taffin said: There must be some free agents out there we could look at. I know it's a roll of the dice with these guys but even if we had to do a short term deal on really big money it may be worth it to take the load off others. Would take a bet on that. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
vegas-voss Posted yesterday at 21:24 Share Posted yesterday at 21:24 So in the Hearts Standard article McKinley is saying Critchley wants a smaller squad and that we are looking to bring one target in January. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
gwd1957 Posted yesterday at 21:30 Share Posted yesterday at 21:30 12 hours ago, kingantti1874 said: January is a real problem, I’m sure we were hoping to go into to looking for players through the analytics model who will take us to the next level. now we need players who are up for a relegation scrap, we won’t be able to attract players we wanted for the longer term until the summer at least. we need to do what Aberdeen did in January 23 solid, no nonsense loans who are up for a scrap. Should have kept Halliday Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BackOfTheNet Posted yesterday at 21:55 Share Posted yesterday at 21:55 2 hours ago, soonbe110 said: Thelin brought in 7 players in the summer. Spent approx £1.75m doing so. The point is most of the first XI were there last season. The consistent starters he has this season are Mitov, Nilsen, Palaversa and Molloy. Ambrose, Keskinen and Nisbet haven’t been guaranteed starters. Guys like Mackenzie, Rubezic, Devlin, McGrath, Clarkson, Sokler were there last season, as were Gueye, Duk, Morris, Shinnie etc who are playing a big Bart too. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BackOfTheNet Posted yesterday at 22:00 Share Posted yesterday at 22:00 1 hour ago, Debut 4 said: Mmmm…its also about new eyes identifying players regressing and have had their time. We have a few. Naismith couldn’t see it. Has Thelin inherited a squad waiting to be shaped into something the previous manager couldn’t? Are Hearts actually in regression and some players are now being exposed as having seen their best days and others going stale? You need something with a capacity to improve to get a tune out of them. We’re going over the same debates and points alot just now and it’s clear depth is a big problem. The rigours of Europe are taking its toll too and the squad was nowhere near built properly for what was ahead. We need players. I’m not saying we don’t need players, every manager needs players to play his way - even if he doesn’t identify individuals, but types of players he needs - we’ll need to get players. And I agree that some players are past it and I hope he identifies this. But what he should be able to do is identify player strengths and where we’re not seeing it, he’s able to bring it out. Plus potential to be realised. We have a squad more than capable of being top 3 or 4. He just needs to get them to act like it. It’s on Critchley to realise their potential, and if he doesn’t then I’m not sure throwing money at the problem will fix it. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
pettigrewsstylist Posted yesterday at 22:28 Share Posted yesterday at 22:28 On 30/10/2024 at 21:59, Famous 1874 said: They have to be starting quality. No more depth - we have enough shite depth Any quality we can afford is made of glass usually. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
pettigrewsstylist Posted yesterday at 22:34 Share Posted yesterday at 22:34 13 hours ago, Hashimoto said: That's simply not true...They are a bunch of charlatans who get coaches and managers sacked. Keep the youngsters, phase out the others. Critchley better start banging heads soon, or he'll find that they've taken over the dressing room again I suspect they are going to sacrifice him also. Tear a couple of contracts up and tell them to get a solicitor. 😄 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Debut 4 Posted yesterday at 22:34 Share Posted yesterday at 22:34 33 minutes ago, BackOfTheNet said: I’m not saying we don’t need players, every manager needs players to play his way - even if he doesn’t identify individuals, but types of players he needs - we’ll need to get players. And I agree that some players are past it and I hope he identifies this. But what he should be able to do is identify player strengths and where we’re not seeing it, he’s able to bring it out. Plus potential to be realised. We have a squad more than capable of being top 3 or 4. He just needs to get them to act like it. It’s on Critchley to realise their potential, and if he doesn’t then I’m not sure throwing money at the problem will fix it. 👍🏻 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...