1874 bar

King Of The Cat Cafe

I was in the  1874 bar before the game on Saturday and it was heaving.  (Other days door staff were keeping people out because it was so busy.)

Is there any scope for an extension - or even a dedicated bar for Wheatfield Stand folk like me?  If I remember correctly there is space below the Wheatfield where the club shop used to be.

4 minutes ago, King Of The Cat Cafe said:

I was in the  1874 bar before the game on Saturday and it was heaving.  (Other days door staff were keeping people out because it was so busy.)

Is there any scope for an extension - or even a dedicated bar for Wheatfield Stand folk like me?  If I remember correctly there is space below the Wheatfield where the club shop used to be.

Big Hearts use that space. 

39 minutes ago, King Of The Cat Cafe said:

Shame that you can't get to the Wheatfield from the 1874 bar without walking all the way around.  

15 minutes ago, Korky said:

All it has going for it is proximity to the stadium. Otherwise, it’s a pretty grim and dingy space.

No ones talking about your bed sit buddy. 

Might not be everyone’s cup of tea but it’s not as you describe. 

4 minutes ago, Dazo said:

No ones talking about your bed sit buddy. 

Might not be everyone’s cup of tea but it’s not as you describe. 

He's an interloper

38 minutes ago, Chaps said:

Spaces under the wheatfield are now used as offices by the club and Big Hearts.

Not sure if there is any more space under the stand.

There's lots of office space in Edinburgh's west end fortunately. Not really sure this is a blocker. A stadium offering sort of needs to be at the stadium...offices don't 

I like the 1874 bar but the beer has been honking everytime I go. I’m sure it was Morreti they had in and it wasn’t great. 

Still drank it mind you 🤣

1 minute ago, 132goals1958 said:

Wish we could recreate the Roseberry Suite and the Ace of Hearts

What, more money going out the back door, than was coming in the front ?

Allegedly !

29 minutes ago, Korky said:

All it has going for it is proximity to the stadium. Otherwise, it’s a pretty grim and dingy space.

Seen a few of your posts. What football do you support?

11 minutes ago, Taffin said:

There's lots of office space in Edinburgh's west end fortunately. Not really sure this is a blocker. A stadium offering sort of needs to be at the stadium...offices don't 

You want us (and a registered Charity) to spend money each month paying office space rent in order to spend money converting existing office space into a bar that would likely only be full whenever we had a home game?

Also noticed that they've stopped people going outside (the doors near the Gorgie Suite entrance) with drinks despite there being barrel tables. Not sure what the issue is there.

52 minutes ago, Korky said:

It's pretty much ideal for what it needs to be - good size, football on the screens & gets money into the coffers. Only issue I have is I don't get why you're not allowed outside into the smoking area with a drink despite the tables being there

Edited by boag1874

6 minutes ago, hmfc_liam06 said:

Also noticed that they've stopped people going outside (the doors near the Gorgie Suite entrance) with drinks despite there being barrel tables. Not sure what the issue is there.

Beat me to it

1 minute ago, boag1874 said:

Beat me to it

They used to allow it. Then I tried to go outside before the 3-3 Rangers game as it was so busy and the bouncer told me to get back inside.

1 hour ago, King Of The Cat Cafe said:

I am sure someone said on here months ago the Hearts want to use the space Big Hearts use for a match day bar and have offered Big Hearts a move elsewhere but Big Hearts don't want to move, presumably as it's a good space for them. Might have misheard a detail or two

35 minutes ago, Valois No1 said:

I like the 1874 bar but the beer has been honking everytime I go. I’m sure it was Morreti they had in and it wasn’t great. 

Still drank it mind you 🤣

Decent Chalice of Cruzcampo available as well !!

39 minutes ago, hughesie27 said:

You want us (and a registered Charity) to spend money each month paying office space rent in order to spend money converting existing office space into a bar that would likely only be full whenever we had a home game?

Depends if renting an office space would cost more, or less than what we made from the hypothetical bar.

The current office isn't 'free', it costs whatever the space could be making.

A bar that's a bit more accessible to those in the Wheatfield would be a winner, but struggling to see where we could possibly implement it.

Directly underneath the concourse that connects the Gorgie and Wheatfield perhaps?

Just now, Shooter McGavin said:

A bar that's a bit more accessible to those in the Wheatfield would be a winner, but struggling to see where we could possibly implement it.

Directly underneath the concourse that connects the Gorgie and Wheatfield perhaps?

I think that's full of power plant and utility stuff. 

hearts at heart

Sit in section B of the Wheatfield. Meet my mate in the 1874 on match day and take the long walk round to the Stand. It does get busy round about two.

However the walk is compensated by the head bar woman who does pour a great pint of Morreti. 

Find the bar lively and banter is good. 

We are senior citizens and the walk doesn't put us off. Would recommend it as a great place to meet and have a pint pre match.

Nothing else that makes money or makes people happy will be getting built until the shambles on the pitch is sorted . . Amirite 😀

31 minutes ago, Taffin said:

Depends if renting an office space would cost more, or less than what we made from the hypothetical bar.

The current office isn't 'free', it costs whatever the space could be making.

The current office is free. However using your logic it'd also raising 1000s for the Big Hearts Charity every month by not forcing them away from the home of Hearts.

Just now, hughesie27 said:

The current office is free. However using your logic it'd also raising 1000s for the Big Hearts Charity every month by not forcing them away from the home of Hearts.

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Opportunity_cost

If it cost the club £5k for office space but we made £3k from the bar, then obviously no, it's not a good idea. But if we make £5k or more, then it's a good idea imo.

40 minutes ago, Taffin said:

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Opportunity_cost

If it cost the club £5k for office space but we made £3k from the bar, then obviously no, it's not a good idea. But if we make £5k or more, then it's a good idea imo.

I understood your initial point. It's not rocket science. You cannot avoid the cost to the Charity though which cannot be recouped from the bar.

I’ve been in the space that big Hearts 💕 use and it would be ideal for a bar. 
would be easy to convert and shared with big Hearts and turned into a bar for match days. 
C’mon Hearts give the fans another option…🇱🇻

6 hours ago, Korky said:

I dont like it either . As you say the only thing it has going for it is proximity and the fact money goes to the club 

4 hours ago, Bull's-eye said:

Nothing else that makes money or makes people happy will be getting built until the shambles on the pitch is sorted . . Amirite 😀

We are a football club . No interest in curtains and carpets . Restaurant loses us money . Why are we talking about bars while the team is so poor . Budge likes scones

19 minutes ago, Star Lizard said:

I dont like it either . As you say the only thing it has going for it is proximity and the fact money goes to the club 

I prefer real beer but it's fine for what it is. 

Just now, davemclaren said:

I prefer real beer but it's fine for what it is. 

I prefer lager and I still don’t like the place . Bar etiquette amongst the regulars is appalling . Lost count of the amount of times sold old bloke has nearly climbed in to my back pocket while apparently trying to bum me 

8 minutes ago, Star Lizard said:

I prefer lager and I still don’t like the place . Bar etiquette amongst the regulars is appalling . Lost count of the amount of times sold old bloke has nearly climbed in to my back pocket while apparently trying to bum me 

🥸

1 hour ago, Star Lizard said:

We are a football club . No interest in curtains and carpets . Restaurant loses us money . Why are we talking about bars while the team is so poor . Budge likes scones

Any source to back up the restaurant losing us money?

1 minute ago, hughesie27 said:

Any source to back up the restaurant losing us money?

Eh nah . I was not actually being serious . I was quoting what @Tour22 said a few days ago 

Just now, Star Lizard said:

Eh nah . I was not actually being serious . I was quoting what @Tour22 said a few days ago 

Ah, missed that. To my defense though he never posted it on this thread!

Just now, hughesie27 said:

Ah, missed that. To my defense though he never posted it on this thread!

Hence why I quoted him after you asked . Dont want to get a slap on the wrist for being naughty 

2 minutes ago, Finbar Saunders said:

1874 bar is piss poor, shite overpriced beer. 

I've only been in a few times. Quite like that they do Moretti to be honest. It's definitely a bit dingy though and lack of seating isn't great. 

24 minutes ago, Finbar Saunders said:

1874 bar is piss poor, shite overpriced beer. 

My gal got charged, nay ripped-off, at £7.50 for a pint of Innes & Gunn doon Dalkeith Road the other week.

Meanwhile in Asda ...

Screenshot_20241001_220233_Gallery.jpg

King Of The Cat Cafe
12 minutes ago, Wee Mikey said:

My gal got charged, nay ripped-off, at £7.50 for a pint of Innes & Gunn doon Dalkeith Road the other week.

Meanwhile in Asda ...

Screenshot_20241001_220233_Gallery.jpg

Perusing the off-licence in my local Asda one week I spotted staff from the town's largest hotel buying large amounts of stock  there.

43 minutes ago, hughesie27 said:

I've only been in a few times. Quite like that they do Moretti to be honest. It's definitely a bit dingy though and lack of seating isn't great. 

Dingy in comparison to where? Certainly not the local pubs 😅

56 minutes ago, hughesie27 said:

The lack of seating unless in at opening time is what generally puts me off.

2 hours ago, Star Lizard said:

It Wisnae me . Only been in there once 😂