Mckinlay

Posted

Why have they not put the full interview out? We have to wait until 8am tomorrow!

The weakness showed suggesting if the 2nd half had been better SN may have held on to his job regardless of another defeat. Concerning lack of understanding at what’s been playing out. 

Glad the recruitment of a new head coach has been outsourced!

• Replies 569

• MoncurMacdonaldMercer

• JimmyCant

• Bill Sikes

Posted
Just now, gorgieshuffle said:

Why have they not put the full interview out? We have to wait until 8am tomorrow!

The weakness showed suggesting if the 2nd half had been better SN may have held on to his job regardless of another defeat. Concerning lack of understanding at what’s been playing out. 

Probably still editing it.

Go for it 1308
Posted
1 minute ago, gorgieshuffle said:

Ffs

Posted

Good to hear him say that we're looking outwith the building for next appointment 

Posted

Finding it difficult to get too bothered about this . They made the right decision , we move on 

Posted
7 minutes ago, gorgieshuffle said:

I think he's been honest in that had the 2nd half been a battling display things might be different but clearly it wasn't.

Wonder if there's a legal need for the whole interview to be held back til tomorrow......Bloom info/deal signed 1st????

Posted
Just now, Star Lizard said:

Finding it difficult to get too bothered about this . They made the right decision , we move on 

Although it confirms that a draw against St Mirren really would have been the worst of all worlds result.

Posted

Definitely odd to give a little something but nothing of substance. This shouldn’t be a matter that requires a teaser, it’s hardly a development they should be putting out content about in bits and pieces. Why not just wait till tomorrow which ensures questions such as these don’t even happen?! Strange decision. 

Posted
Just now, David McCaig said:

Although it confirms that a draw against St Mirren really would have been the worst of all worlds result.

Yeah spose . Glad that never happened right enough . I would appreciate never having to prefer a loss to a draw ever again though 

Posted

Hearts quite literally can do nothing right for some.

Posted
1 minute ago, Luckies1874 said:

Definitely odd to give a little something but nothing of substance. This shouldn’t be a matter that requires a teaser, it’s hardly a development they should be putting out content about in bits and pieces. Why not just wait till tomorrow which ensures questions such as these don’t even happen?! Strange decision. 

It’s a bit obvious is it not? 

The update will be about the Bloom deal. 

Posted
Just now, hughesie27 said:

Posted

Just listened to the interview 

Fair update of where we are tbh.

Posted

The club has never been so well ran yet folk are desperate to find fault.  

He sacked him, it was the correct decision, move on.

Posted

It’s an update to try and prevent pant wetting which has in turn caused pant wetting :rofl:

Posted
3 minutes ago, Selkirkhmfc1874 said:

Good to hear him say that we're looking outwith the building for next appointment 

True. Very brave and imaginative. About time!

2 minutes ago, Star Lizard said:

Fair enough, however sounds like only just!

1 minute ago, Jambof3tornado said:

I think he's been honest in that had the 2nd half been a battling display things might be different but clearly it wasn't.

Wonder if there's a legal need for the whole interview to be held back til tomorrow......Bloom info/deal signed 1st????

A battling 2nd half performance would have missed a bigger picture. 
Possibly it’ll be released alongside further information. Just wait then, the support is looking for some information/answers. Don’t see the point in putting out a teaser clip. 

1 minute ago, David McCaig said:

Correct imo 

Posted (edited)
4 minutes ago, Finlay James said:

The club has never been so well ran yet folk are desperate to find fault.  

He sacked him, it was the correct decision, move on.

Not one post on this thread has questioned the sacking!! People are understandably curious as to why the full interview is being withheld until tomorrow. No major criticism simply a questioning of why this might be the case. Has to be a reason for it otherwise they’d just have done it this evening. Similarly why not wait till tomorrow at 8am and release it all?! Some people really are incredibly sensitive wee souls. 

Edited by Luckies1874
Posted

He explained the decision quite eliquently, his patience run out and he quite correctly wanted to give it as much time as possible, quite rightly so.

As the club haven't made any official statement regarding Bloom, why expect them to now.

Disappointed that he didn't bring up the board room power struggle, the type of cakes they shared over the meeting and no mention of a raffle for Ann Budges tear stained hanky.

Board oot.

Posted (edited)
5 minutes ago, Luckies1874 said:

Not one post on this thread has questioned the sacking!! People are understandably curious as to why the full interview is being withheld until tomorrow. No major criticism simply a questioning of why this might be the case. Has to be a reason for it otherwise they’d just have done it this evening. Similarly why not wait till tomorrow at 8am and release it all?! Some people really are incredibly sensitive wee souls. 

I imagine it's been withheld because they are going to announce the Bloom info at the same time and don't want to do it at 7pm at night. Just a guess though.

Edited by hughesie27
Penrices left boot
Posted

Sacked after 6 league games is decisive.

Should we employ our next 2 managers and just sack one in advance ?

Posted

Its good that there was an update, but saying that he wouldn’t have thought Naismiths time was up if they had shown something in the 2nd half on Saturday shows a lack of understanding about the job. 
The questions were obviously spoken about before recording it so he had time to prepare the appropriate answers. 
Great to hear we are looking externally for the next manager though. 
Might be an idea to put it up on the Hearts website too 😆.

Posted
Just now, Bazzas right boot said:

Take a break mate. You bring plenty of value to threads but your posts over the last couple of days have become tiresome AF. We get it, you don’t think the Hearts support are worthy and we should all just take it or leave it. 

Posted

He does the truffle shuffle in the full version.

My sources told me so.

I am in the know.

Posted
13 minutes ago, hughesie27 said:

The worst of all worlds comment wasn't a criticism of the board, I think most of had said in advance that there was no way he would have been sacked if we'd drawn.

Naismith was in a death spiral and even a win against Ross County would have just delayed the inevitable.

Personally, I would have sacked the Manager after the Dundee United game but the Board have probably acted at the right time whereby they can't be accused of being hair trigger and I think even Naismith acknowledges he had a fair crack of the whip to try and turn things around.

Posted

Last thing Andrew McKinlay said is there'd be an update short term and long term soon. Almost feel like this snippet is a teaser as the big news is coming tomorrow...

Posted
12 minutes ago, Luckies1874 said:

Exactly right, you’ve hit the nail on the tip.

Posted

No problem with him. I think we all know what he means. If we came out peppering their goal, them making saves and blocks etc.

Not even a shot until 80 odd mins quite rightly made up his mind.

Posted
Just now, David McCaig said:

The worst of all worlds comment wasn't a criticism of the board, I think most of had said in advance that there was no way he would have been sacked if we'd drawn.

Naismith was in a death spiral and even a win against Ross County would have just delayed the inevitable.

Personally, I would have sacked the Manager after the Dundee United game but the Board have probably acted at the right time whereby they can't be accused of being hair trigger and I think even Naismith acknowledges he had a fair crack of the whip to try and turn things around.

Yeah, I think sack him after Dundee United would be seen as too soon for some, he had only had 4 league games at that point and an international break to work on the players so the club would have wanted to give him the most time to turn things. I think the comment about if we lost 2-1 but showed something second half we might have kept them maybe me to demonstrate how complete the reasons for getting rid of him was (and may be a comment on how the players were not even prepared to raise the game to save the manager.)

9 minutes ago, hughesie27 said:

I imagine it's been withheld because they are going to announce the Bloom info at the same time and don't want to do it at 7pm at night. Just a guess though.

Thats a good point, I hadn't really thought of it but that could be the case.

Posted
9 minutes ago, Bazzas right boot said:

No argument with your first statement although a section of the support believe it should have been done earlier and there is a good argument for that. 
It is done now, however his comments around the 2nd half I find concerning. We’d still be stuttering along had it been better. That coupled with previous from him makes me sceptical about his judgment. Why I’m pleased he’s not directly recruiting our next head coach. 
I find releasing the clip odd. 

Posted
23 minutes ago, hughesie27 said:

It's really mind blowing what some Hearts fans can find to moan about

Penrices left boot
Posted
11 minutes ago, Luckies1874 said:

Take a break mate. You bring plenty of value to threads but your posts over the last couple of days have become tiresome AF. We get it, you don’t think the Hearts support are worthy and we should all just take it or leave it. 

Take what or leave what?

Posted
48 minutes ago, gorgieshuffle said:

Second part probably discusses his new job at Ibrox😂😂😂😂

Posted

The whole 2nd half thing to me, is like if we'd managed to get back into the game and get a draw or somehow a win then he'd get the Ross county game.

Looks like they were trying to give SN every opportunity to save his job and likely save face in regards to the contract extensions. 

For me the sacking was several weeks too late. I base this on the results from this season and the results from Easter last season.

Posted
5 minutes ago, soonbe110 said:

Second part probably discusses his new job at Ibrox😂😂😂😂

Posted (edited)
38 minutes ago, gorgieshuffle said:

Fair enough, however sounds like only just!

True . I think my overriding feelings are just relief and guarded optimism right now 

Edited by Star Lizard
Posted
46 minutes ago, hughesie27 said:

Posted

There's never going to be a right time to sack a manager, we all see things very differently.

Id have sacked him after either Hampden debacle last season because it was clear to me then, he's not a managerial winner.

What McKinley says here is diplomatic and fair, he's punted the 3 of them, that doesn't come to mind straight after a defeat away to the Midden, this was thought about and calculated. No complaints from anyone except a few fans that lets be honest are already sharpening the knives for the next poor shmuck.

Posted
53 minutes ago, hughesie27 said:

Mental isnt it. 

Berra than you
Posted

The comments on the 2nd half for me show that it was more than just a results based decision. Was looking for a performance and it never came, so enough was enough. McKinlay isn't perfect, but never really understood the stick he gets at times.

Posted
42 minutes ago, Luckies1874 said:

Worthy of what? 

Posted

No reason at all to get upset about that short interview.

Posted

Fortunately financially sacking him will not affect us directly in the same way it could affect the others outside the OF.

We have the finances to pay him off being absolutely to the point. 

What I do like is McKinlay coming out next day with a statement. Shows every eventuality has been planned for. 

Our board has come under fire sometimes fairly and sometimes unfairly. What I do appreciate now is the business brains we have up there. The delicate negotiations going on with Bloom. The investment coming in. 

Football is 100% a business and we have a board with the acumen to deal with 21st century football.

Posted
47 minutes ago, Luckies1874 said:

He’s suffering from PTSD from Levein and Neilson being sacked, another foreign manager is his biggest nightmare.

Posted

Everything he says in the clip seems fair to me. 

Posted
1 hour ago, Jambof3tornado said:

That's the only explanation that makes sense to me.

Posted (edited)

Nothing wrong with his comments. Said we’re looking externally which will be break from recent tradition so all good. 

Been watching Brian Clough 20 Years On BBC iPlayer.

How do you achieve success Brian ?
“Well a club needs a sound board, good fans and good management”.

We’ve got the first two. Let’s get the third. Onwards and upwards.

Edited by Rannoch