• neilnunb

• Luckies1874

Posted

I wasn't sure about the new format but the games I've watched feel a lot more open 👍👍

Posted

Upecamo is an accident waiting to happen, both games against England in the WC and Euros was the same. 
He will be lucky to finish the game. 
Villa defending well.

Posted (edited)
4 minutes ago, Pasquale for King said:

Upecamo is an accident waiting to happen, both games against England in the WC and Euros was the same. 
He will be lucky to finish the game. 
Villa defending well.

It's working for them generally by the sounds of it but neither Bayern CB for me seem well suited to playing so high up.

Edited by Taffin
Posted
21 minutes ago, Taffin said:

I wasn't sure about the new format but the games I've watched feel a lot more open 👍👍

The group stage had gone stale - you could generally predict who would go through because of the seedings. A total non event. 

Posted (edited)

Villa ahead.

Or is this offside too? 

Goal confirmed.

Edited by neilnunb
Posted

Good goal from the top scoring sub...1-0.

Posted
28 minutes ago, Taffin said:

It's working for them generally by the sounds of it but neither Bayern CB for me seem well suited to playing so high up.

Yeah they don’t turn quickly enough, as seen by the goal and the GK in no mans land. 

Posted

Atletico Madrid getting a doing at Benfica, just gone 4-0. Doesn't happen to a Simeone team very often.

Posted

Desperation subs by Vincent Kompany now.

Posted
1 minute ago, Luckies1874 said:

Atletico Madrid getting a doing at Benfica, just gone 4-0. Doesn't happen to a Simeone team very often.

Spot on. I watched the Madrid the other night, turgid stuff. 

Posted

Good to see a team full of wonderful players like Bayern still cant do much with slow possession based football whilst passing sideways and backwards. 

Posted (edited)

Great result for Villa. Can't wait until they smash the tramps at Celtic Park. 😁

Oh wait...is it at Villa Park? Even better. 

Edited by neilnunb
Posted
2 minutes ago, Pasquale for King said:

Spot on. I watched the Madrid the other night, turgid stuff. 

Can't imagine there has been very many Champions league midweeks that has seen both the Madrid teams beaten!

Posted
Just now, neilnunb said:

Great result for Villa. Can't wait until they smash the tramps at Celtic Park. 😁

It's at Villa Park, Match Day 8 so good chance they are already through unfortunately. 

Posted

Martinez wins it for Villa!  1-0.

Posted

Classic last minute save from Martinez. 

Very Gordonesque.

Posted

All 4 English sides might qualify in the top 8 the way things have started. 

Posted

And a great tribute to the 1982 team. 

Posted
Just now, Luckies1874 said:

It's at Villa Park, Match Day 8 so good chance they are already through unfortunately. 

Aye, for some reason I thought it was at CP but then checked.

It'll still be a thumping. 😁

Posted
Just now, Homme said:

Martinez is just 👌

Or alternatively Martinez is a *****. Continually plays injured card when nothing wrong with him. Hopefully he receives an injury he will never recover from.

Posted
1 minute ago, Malinga the Swinga said:

Or alternatively Martinez is a *****. Continually plays injured card when nothing wrong with him. Hopefully he receives an injury he will never recover from.

Great 'keeper, but a total roaster.

Posted

It's been a great start to this new format. After just 2 matches Bayern, PSG, Real Madrid and Atletico Madrid have all lost once and AC Milan has lost both games!

Posted

Popped a cheeky wee bet on Villa at 7/1 with about half an hour to go and forgot to check the final score. 
Nice. 

Posted
1 minute ago, Tazio said:

Popped a cheeky wee bet on Villa at 7/1 with about half an hour to go and forgot to check the final score. 
Nice. 

Nice one 👌👌

Posted

Miovski missed a penalty for Girona in their 3-2 loss to Feyenoord. 

Posted
32 minutes ago, Luckies1874 said:

Can't imagine there has been very many Champions league midweeks that has seen both the Madrid teams beaten!

Gotta love it

Posted
50 minutes ago, Malinga the Swinga said:

One of the best in the world. 

• 3 weeks later...
Posted

Real Madrid really do have amazing mental strength. 2-0 down and now 4-2 up. 
Also probably a fine coming from Vinicius Jr. wearing an Adidas strip but Nike boots, so they must sponsor him, he made a point to tugging his shorts down a few inches after he scored and took his top off, to reveal Nike branded boxers. Didn’t look remotely accidental. 

Posted

Poor performance from arsenal. Early morning flight home straight to work home to my own bed up Thursday flight to Edinburgh for hearts and late late flight home if they don't cancel it lol stuff of dreams but only if we win Thursday 

Posted

Christ but this current Barcelona team are good to watch when it all clicks with the kids they have in their 1st team. 

Posted

Not in comparison to the Rivaldo hat trick.   Still a great third goal for Raphinia.   Cracking second as well.   I'll have to find the first goal I can't remember it. 

He's never really impressed me until tonight.   Raphinia very good winger but seems to have upped his game tonight. 

Posted

The Swiss format really takes some getting used to but I'm getting into it. Just a more interesting competition to follow when it's not just the tight groups.

Also, wash my mouth out, but I'm not feeling as much desire to see the OF faceplant, probably because we're deep in Europe, but also because the coefficient is finally providing us with some real, tangible benefit. A wee Europa run isn't going to save Rangers from being dire.

Posted

Barcelona were excellent tonight.

That Pedri is an Iniesta morph 

Posted
1 minute ago, Jeff said:

Barcelona were excellent tonight.

That Pedri is an Iniesta morph 

It’s a real cliché but the youngsters really do play without fear. And in front of massive crowds every game as well every home game. It’s classic Barca style of getting the ball back as quickly as possible but with no hesitation to try tricks and flicks to get up the park. 

Posted
17 hours ago, Watt-Zeefuik said:

The Swiss format really takes some getting used to but I'm getting into it. Just a more interesting competition to follow when it's not just the tight groups.

Also, wash my mouth out, but I'm not feeling as much desire to see the OF faceplant, probably because we're deep in Europe, but also because the coefficient is finally providing us with some real, tangible benefit. A wee Europa run isn't going to save Rangers from being dire.

Yeah, I'm getting used it now too, and enjoying it a little better than the old group stage. The top teams are having to play other top teams more, and not having games home and away against minnows that really have no chance of getting out of the groups.

Of course, with 24 teams in with a chance of making the last 16, there's still not a huge amount of jeopardy as games against minnows will still result in big wins (Dortmund-Celtic for example 😉), but it's better than it used to be when you just knew who was getting out of each group, bar the odd upset now and again.

Posted

Have to agree on the new format, I think it's more fun to watch. You could argue it's removed the jeopardy of the cliche'd "group of death" but I'd personally rather see a variety of different games & more proper massive games between the heavyweights than a tightly contested group where everyone plays each other twice.

Posted

some penalty to give away :rofl: 

Posted
48 minutes ago, Mikey1874 said:

20241106_221247.jpg

Brest still sitting nicely. Of course the longer the tournament goes on you expect them to drop. 

But spend some cash, get some work done in January and who knows.

Posted
20 minutes ago, Hømme said:

Brest still sitting nicely. Of course the longer the tournament goes on you expect them to drop. 

But spend some cash, get some work done in January and who knows.

You're at it here 😂

Posted

Scotlands coefficient has shot up with Celtic winning we’re up to 13th and seemingly according to the Sun we can catch two more countries if ourselves and the bluenoses can win tomorrow