Liquid water found on Mars

Lovecraft

2 minutes ago, Lovecraft said:

Chances of life there has just rocketed.

Yup. Pretty sure we'll discover it in our lifetime.

Cannae see it myself. It has been a desert for billions of years. Maybe find evidence of life (fossils) from eons ago but living organisms?  Nae chance. 

Victorian
9 minutes ago, Canscot said:

Cannae see it myself. It has been a desert for billions of years. Maybe find evidence of life (fossils) from eons ago but living organisms?  Nae chance. 

Think it's more about bacteria and such in the liquid water 10km under the surface.

Edited by Victorian

11 minutes ago, Canscot said:

If there's actually liquid water on the planet then the chances are probably more than 50% that there is some form of life I'd imagine. 

7 minutes ago, hughesie27 said:

If there's actually liquid water on the planet then the chances are probably more than 50% that there is some form of life I'd imagine. 

20k underground?

4 minutes ago, Canscot said:

20k underground?

Yep. Especially because of that. 

Edited by hughesie27

Like the article says. Even Elon Musk would have trouble drilling down that far. 
I doubt man has drilled that deep here on earth. But If I still happen to be here when/if it happens? I will salute your optimism👍

1 hour ago, Canscot said:

Like the article says. Even Elon Musk would have trouble drilling down that far. 
I doubt man has drilled that deep here on earth. But If I still happen to be here when/if it happens? I will salute your optimism👍

According to Wiki, the deepest land drilling rigs can drill down to almost 2km on Earth.     Maybe once that oil runs out, they'll have to invent new machines to drill deeper in search of more.

1 hour ago, Victorian said:

By coincidence,  Total Recall has just come on TV.

Musk = Cohaagen?

Screenshot_20240812_223250_Firefox.thumb.jpg.9b5810cd80642cf12bb4ca7178ee5f4e.jpg

It's highly unlikely that one of the rovers will just stumble across a fossil of a microbe from 2 billion years ago.

It'd take decades of actual human activity on mars to find that sort of thing.

Forget about drilling down into the deep aquifers, that's not happening.

Mars does have an atmosphere and it does have liquid water on the surface, so we need to be looking in the places where the ice caps melt and liquid water runs over the surface every year.

If carlsberg did rivals...
3 hours ago, Lovecraft said:

Chances of life there has just rocketed.

I'd be amazed if there wasn't life on others planets to some degree. You get people who point out "such and such a planet couldn't sustain human life." Er it wouldn't be human!

There's plenty of environments on Earth that don't sustain human life, but life in there in abundance.

54 minutes ago, Cade said:

There's plenty of environments on Earth that don't sustain human life, but life in there in abundance.

Leith.

Der Kaiser
11 hours ago, Victorian said:

By coincidence,  Total Recall has just come on TV.

Musk = Cohaagen?

Two weeks......

PortyJambo
10 hours ago, manaliveits105 said:

There is bound to  be an Irish pub 

And/or a Wetherspoons toilet

10 hours ago, manaliveits105 said:

There is bound to  be an Irish pub 

Its Keith Richards piss

AlimOzturk

So they have detected its presence but haven’t actually found any to analyse due to the depths it is at. 

We are never drilling that far on another planet so we are just as far away from

finding life as we were before. 

1 hour ago, AlimOzturk said:

So they have detected its presence but haven’t actually found any to analyse due to the depths it is at. 

We are never drilling that far on another planet so we are just as far away from

Our AI robot overlords will achieve it within a couple of hundred years.

redjambo

I'd rather we didn't find life, to be honest. We'll only endanger it or otherwise feck it up.

Dick Dastardly
8 minutes ago, redjambo said:

I'd rather we didn't find life, to be honest. We'll only endanger it or otherwise feck it up.

Someone would definitely try eating it, that's for sure.

29 minutes ago, redjambo said:

Exactly! The Human species is hellbent on turning Planet Earth into the Mars of the future anyway.

Jamstomorrow
20 hours ago, RS86 said:

Screenshot_20240812_223250_Firefox.thumb.jpg.9b5810cd80642cf12bb4ca7178ee5f4e.jpg

Reminds me of me at full time against Dundee last Saturday!

AlimOzturk
8 hours ago, redjambo said:

8 hours ago, All roads lead to Gorgie said:

Exactly! The Human species is hellbent on turning Planet Earth into the Mars of the future anyway.

The human race can only **** things up for the human race. If we kill ourself off (I have massive doubts about our ability to do that) the world will still keep turning for billions of years and the animals and bugs and sea life would recover.  

I keep hearing these types of things said, not on here or by you but in general.  I always back to what I heard Brian Cox say. Not quoting but he says something along the lines of that the human race is the only thing we know of, intelligence wise, the human race. Without intelligence what the **** is there? There is no meaning to life. He says that in universe of silence we might be the only intelligent life out there and that’s an incredibly important responsibility. 

I know nothing really in the grand scheme of things. But I have the ability to question my existence and I have the ability to ask the day old question of what is the meaning of life? That means a hell of a lot in a universe that looks fairly silent, vast and quite possibly so unbelievable complex that maybe it’s outwith human comprehension. 

What I believe? That life is incredibly common throughout the universe. However complex life is rare. Life at our level of intelligence even rarer. Intergalactic life? Never happened. Never will happen. 

hope this makes sense I have been at a wiskey tasting today.  

The human race can only **** things up for the human race. If we kill ourself off (I have massive doubts about our ability to do that) the world will still keep turning for billions of years and the animals and bugs and sea life would recover.  

I keep hearing these types of things said, not on here or by you but in general.  I always back to what I heard Brian Cox say. Not quoting but he says something along the lines of that the human race is the only thing we know of, intelligence wise, the human race. Without intelligence what the **** is there? There is no meaning to life. He says that in universe of silence we might be the only intelligent life out there and that’s an incredibly important responsibility. 

I know nothing really in the grand scheme of things. But I have the ability to question my existence and I have the ability to ask the day old question of what is the meaning of life? That means a hell of a lot in a universe that looks fairly silent, vast and quite possibly so unbelievable complex that maybe it’s outwith human comprehension. 

What I believe? That life is incredibly common throughout the universe. However complex life is rare. Life at our level of intelligence even rarer. Intergalactic life? Never happened. Never will happen. 

Yes you are right that the world would survive without humans but we would take a lot of other species and organisms down with us. All living things live in symbiosis with other creatures, plants and bacteria and if one side is destroyed by climate change or pollution brought about largely by human activity then it would lead to the likely extinction of much more in the chain. There would be a reset and the Earth would go back by billions of years in its evolutionary journey. It wouldn't become another Mars though as the Oceans would remain and still create the weather systems needed to bring rain and water to the landmasses. 

redjambo
2 hours ago, AlimOzturk said:

I don't think intelligence is black and white, and moreover that we are the only species on Earth that's intelligent. And look how we've treated those other intelligent species. If I were an alien species, I would most definitely keep this planet under quarantine in order to stop humans infecting other parts of the galaxy and universe.

AlimOzturk
24 minutes ago, redjambo said:

I don't think intelligence is black and white, and moreover that we are the only species on Earth that's intelligent. And look how we've treated those other intelligent species. If I were an alien species, I would most definitely keep this planet under quarantine in order to stop humans infecting other parts of the galaxy and universe.

There Is a theory called the Fermi paradox. I think it’s about the best explanation of why we haven’t and never will be visited by intelligent life. It also explains why we will never reach those

levels of intelligence because of the great filter and the time lines involved in building such a society. 

Rare earth - basically earth is a rare

thing in which the conditions and luck have been the perfect balance to allow human life and life in general to flourish. There are many different this can be ****ed up so life doesn’t exist. 

Great filter - there are filters in each stage of development. We have broken through many of these stages but there is a massive one awaiting us - will we **** ourselves up before we become a real space fearing race? 

The great silence - where is everyone? Surely we would have detected or seen someone by now? Is there advanced race of beings kut  there but just so far

away we can’t contact each other? 

Advanced beings- might be the case like you  say that we are so technically limited or intellectually inferior that they just avoid us altogether. 

We are in a battle with ourselves ultimately. We know this and yet we still continue on the path towards destruction. 

Such a strange mentality. 

just to add to this - we aren’t the only intelligent life on earth. Intelligence can be measured in many different ways but in terms of giving meaning and questioning the meaning of existence. Humans are the only ones able to do this. 

Edited by AlimOzturk

12 minutes ago, AlimOzturk said:

just to add to this - we aren’t the only intelligent life on earth. Intelligence can be measured in many different ways but in terms of giving meaning and questioning the meaning of existence. Humans are the only ones able to do this. 

Take that first part - "giving meaning to existence".  Don't humans and all living creatures share the same basic meaning of why we exist ? Namely - to procreate, find stuff to eat, and try to avoid being eaten/killed.   Yes, human intelligence has provided all sorts of non-essential stuff for us to do when we're not procreating or eating - but these 3 basics are the same for all creatures, surely ?

22 minutes ago, Harry Potter said:

Thought water (H2O) was a liquid.😏.

It can exist as a solid, liquid or gas.

Never had an ice cube before?

2 minutes ago, kila said:

Fair enough 👍.

Lovecraft
8 minutes ago, kila said:

😁

Ice_sheet_thickness_from_satellite_obser

redjambo
1 hour ago, kila said:

And as plasma.

11 hours ago, AlimOzturk said:

There Is a theory called the Fermi paradox. I think it’s about the best explanation of why we haven’t and never will be visited by intelligent life. It also explains why we will never reach those

levels of intelligence because of the great filter and the time lines involved in building such a society. 

Rare earth - basically earth is a rare

thing in which the conditions and luck have been the perfect balance to allow human life and life in general to flourish. There are many different this can be ****ed up so life doesn’t exist. 

Great filter - there are filters in each stage of development. We have broken through many of these stages but there is a massive one awaiting us - will we **** ourselves up before we become a real space fearing race? 

The great silence - where is everyone? Surely we would have detected or seen someone by now? Is there advanced race of beings kut  there but just so far

away we can’t contact each other? 

Advanced beings- might be the case like you  say that we are so technically limited or intellectually inferior that they just avoid us altogether. 

We are in a battle with ourselves ultimately. We know this and yet we still continue on the path towards destruction. 

Such a strange mentality. 

That's a thought-provoking post.

I wonder if there are stages of evolution beyond what we can even begin to comprehend, and that alien life may be at such a stage. 

redjambo
11 hours ago, AlimOzturk said:

Unless you're in the habit of taking over or entering other creatures' minds, there's no way we can say this. Perhaps dolphins, elephants or crows, for example, question the meaning of existence and of their own existence. Perhaps cows are the great philosophers of the animal world? We just don't know.

On 12/08/2024 at 17:17, Cade said:

Indeed. An example being the variety of thermophillic species that live near geothermal outlets in the deep sea. Based on the generally accepted definition of organic life being carbon-based (which is all of us, plants, trees, animals, etc), the fact they are silicon-based means that they are technically inorganic life. 

redjambo
32 minutes ago, JFK-1 said:

Water can’t exist in a plasma state.

https://www.physicsforums.com/threads/can-water-exist-in-a-plasma-state.390771/

https://plasmaexperience.engr.wisc.edu/the-science/what-is-a-plasma/

I suppose you could argue that since the molecules break down and it is essentially a "Hydrogen and Oxygen plasma", that it is no longer water, but it is what happens to water when the right conditions exist. The "water plasma" demonstrates recombination into gaseous water when the right conditions come into being.

Of course, we could complicate things by adding in the Bose-Einstien condensates and other states of matter too. But perhaps we'll skip that.

Edited by redjambo

29 minutes ago, JFK-1 said:

Water can’t exist in a plasma state.

By definition it can't. Other than at, or close to, a phase change or triple point on a P-T diagram, a substance can only exist in one state at any one time (ignoring evaporation as that technically isn't a phase change).  

Water is H2O in its liquid state, heat it until it boils it becomes steam (gaseous/vapor state), but if you continue to superheat the everlasting **** out of that steam, it will eventually turn to its plasma state.

I remember reading something Patrick Moore wrote saying we shouldn’t fear hostile extra terrestrials because any violent or martial species would have killed itself off before it became advanced enough to develop interstellar travel.