Purple

Ked

Isn't really a colour in physics it's just invented by our brains?

Not particularly interesting in itself .

But for the fact of our amazing brains.

Purple a colour invented by us to interpret something that isn't there..

Der Kaiser
22 minutes ago, Ked said:

What mauved you to post this?

(Sorry)

9 minutes ago, Morgan said:

Deep.

Not really mate at first.

But the reality of my brain and I've not got a fekin clue how it does it.

I know it's simple but that alone .

I can't explain it properly but it's as mind blowing as the universe.

15 minutes ago, Morgan said:

Deep.

Chapeau, Morgan, chapeau.

A purple wan, anaw...

purple-traditional-top-hat-5-wool-felt-2

Just now, Der Kaiser said:

What mauved you to post this?

(Sorry)

😃

Just gave a bit colour to a slow night.

U been on the whacky baccy ?

Hibs have had a few purple strips haven't they? Just goes to show they don't really exist 😀

Day@theraces

So the best colour isn't really a colour.

40 minutes ago, JudyJudyJudy said:

U been on the whacky baccy ?

Mostly am  

Although use edibles more and more.

Try them Judy think they'd do you some good mate.

Just now, Day@theraces said:

So the best colour isn't really a colour.

No.I mean yes.

It's your brain explaining the lack of green .

1 minute ago, Ked said:

Mostly am  

Stop smoking it a few years ago due to health scare . I used to bake it in cakes 🍰 😝 had some right laughs on it actually 😎and surreal conversations 

4 minutes ago, JudyJudyJudy said:

Stop smoking it a few years ago due to health scare . I used to bake it in cakes 🍰 😝 had some right laughs on it actually 😎and surreal conversations 

It's good for you mate.

Day@theraces
7 minutes ago, Ked said:

No.I mean yes.

It's your brain explaining the lack of green .

So it's the brains way of ignoring the worst colour. I like my brain now.

4 minutes ago, Ked said:

It's good for you mate.

Yes I do believe it’s good for you as it helps you think outside the box . Esp if you are with the right company . However smoking it with tobacco is not good . 

Posted (edited)
8 hours ago, Ked said:

I'm thinking there's a woosh moment for you here Ked. 

Edited by Seymour M Hersh

Debut 4

So, my grip isn’t the difference between pink and purple afterall 😕

9 hours ago, Ked said:

Put the word deep before Purple, you will see Morgan wasn't being to deep afterall.

Surely the fact that all colours exist on a spectrum and that one colour is just the blending of two neighbouring colours means that all colours are the same - either real of products of our imagination?

11 hours ago, Ked said:

Always wanted a purple car, love the colour.

1 hour ago, Taffin said:

Aren't all colours we see just in our brains?

Some colours actually exist.

Purple doesn't.

Here have you seen the experiment with photons?

3 hours ago, Seymour M Hersh said:

I'm thinking there's a woosh moment for you here Ked. 

2 hours ago, John Findlay said:

Put the word deep before Purple, you will see Morgan wasn't being to deep afterall.

Aw aye 😆

Taffin
5 minutes ago, Ked said:

Some colours actually exist.

Purple doesn't.

Here have you seen the experiment with photons?

Exist to/for who? Doesn't our brain just present certain absences and presence of light to us as things we've called colours?

Do all things in the universe see the same colours?

I haven't seen the experiment, no.

superjack
11 hours ago, JudyJudyJudy said:

11 hours ago, Ked said:

Mostly am  

Although I've stopped the baccie, I still smoke it but through a water bong. I still miss sharing a joint with mates though. If the edibles were readily available up here though I would switch to them.

redjambo
1 hour ago, I P Knightley said:

Surely the fact that all colours exist on a spectrum and that one colour is just the blending of two neighbouring colours means that all colours are the same - either real of products of our imagination?

Agreed. There are no special colours, except maroon. However, all colours don't exist on the spectrum. Purple doesn't, but neither do a whole host of other colours that are a blend of spectrum colours, greyscale colours, or mixes thereof. If someone is going to argue that purple is special in some way, then so are pink, black, brown, white and grey for example. Personally, it doesn't shock me that the brain creates different colours to distinguish mixes - the brain creates all sorts of shit to help us navigate and comprehend our sensory inputs. It's bloody good at it too. "Colour" is merely our brain's interpretation of part of the EM spectrum, and it could easily be argued that colours as such don't exist at all outside our brain, they're purely an internal construct, taking into account EM radiation, light levels, experience and contextual information.

redjambo
1 hour ago, Taffin said:

Aren't all colours we see just in our brains?

I would argue that yes, they are.

Lovecraft

I'm colour blind.  I can't see purple.  Looks blue to me.

It makes you wonder if we all see colours the same and I am not just thinking of those who are colour blind. I was in an electrical shop recently and looking at an animation on all the tv screens at the same time they were all slightly different, some were towards the blue spectrum and others had more a aquamarine look in the background especially. Maybe that is the same with human eyes but I hope Maroon still looks as good to everyone as it does to me:sweeet:

48 minutes ago, Taffin said:

Exist to/for who? Doesn't our brain just present certain absences and presence of light to us as things we've called colours?

36 minutes ago, redjambo said:

Agreed. There are no special colours, except maroon. However, all colours don't exist on the spectrum. Purple doesn't, but neither do a whole host of other colours that are a blend of spectrum colours, greyscale colours, or mixes thereof. If someone is going to argue that purple is special in some way, then so are pink, black, brown, white and grey for example. Personally, it doesn't shock me that the brain creates different colours to distinguish mixes - the brain creates all sorts of shit to help us navigate and comprehend our sensory inputs. It's bloody good at it too. "Colour" is merely our brain's interpretation of part of the EM spectrum, and it could easily be argued that colours as such don't exist at all outside our brain, they're purely an internal construct, taking into account EM radiation, light levels, experience and contextual information.

What Color Is Everything When Nobody Is Looking? https://medium.com/predict/what-color-is-everything-when-nobody-is-looking-aefaee67dcf2

49 minutes ago, Taffin said:

The photon experiment is wild.

They behave differently when observed.

13 hours ago, Ked said:

Not particularly interesting in itself .

But for the fact of our amazing brains.

Purple a colour invented by us to interpret something that isn't there..

I’m sure there’s a hibs joke somewhere in there to be found 😁

redjambo
13 minutes ago, Taffin said:

Nope, due to our differing "visual" input organs. Dogs, for example, with their differing cones and rods, can see fewer colours than humans can. Some animals can perceive radiation outwith the human visual spectrum.  It would be quite a shock for us if we were to transfer into a dog's body and see the world as they see it. With all the animal species out there with different brain and "eye" formations, I would imagine it is unlikely that we all interpret colours the same, e.g. that one species' "blue" is the same as another's. We have no idea even if your "blue" is the same as mine, and I might be very surprised to see the world as you see it (your "blue" might be my "red" for example).

redjambo
10 minutes ago, Ked said:

The photon experiment is wild.

They behave differently when observed.

It's quite a remarkable experiment, and works with both light and matter. Much of quantum mechanics is counter-intuitive but highly fascinating, especially when you realise that our world is built on probabilities and that the concept of multiple universes, for example, is an accepted theory (the Many-Worlds Interpretation in quantum mechanics), not merely an idea in the realms of science fiction.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Double-slit_experiment

Just now, redjambo said:

It's quite a remarkable experiment, and works with both light and matter. Much of quantum mechanics is counter-intuitive but highly fascinating, especially when you realise that our world is built on probabilities and that the concept of multiple universes, for example, is an accepted theory (the Many-Worlds Interpretation in quantum mechanics), not merely an idea in the realms of science fiction.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Double-slit_experiment

13 minutes ago, redjambo said:

Nope, due to our differing "visual" input organs. Dogs, for example, with their differing cones and rods, can see fewer colours than humans can. Some animals can perceive radiation outwith the human visual spectrum.  It would be quite a shock for us if we were to transfer into a dog's body and see the world as they see it. With all the animal species out there with different brain and "eye" formations, I would imagine it is unlikely that we all interpret colours the same, e.g. that one species' "blue" is the same as another's. We have no idea even if your "blue" is the same as mine, and I might be very surprised to see the world as you see it (your "blue" might be my "red" for example).

Colour exists on its own though.

It doesn't need visualised.

Purple doesn't.

Taffin
Posted (edited)
8 minutes ago, Ked said:

Purple doesn't.

To @redjambos insight about dogs though, they can't see the same colours as us. 

It feels very human-centric to say colours are absolute (purple aside it seems). If not visualised, isn't it just an object absorbing and reflecting light? What if an alien (bare with me 😂) saw totally differently and said none of our colours exist. Who's right?

I love stuff like this but have zero knowledge so I appreciate the about could be about belly rumblings 😂 

Edit: is this why making maroon light is hard?

Edited by Taffin

redjambo
Just now, Ked said:

Purple doesn't.

The EM spectrum exists, of which the visible spectrum is part. "Colour" is how the brain interprets the visible spectrum, and combinations of its the colours therein with other colours and greyscale, along with lighting, context, memory etc. Purple is not special.

*Everything* needs visualised - that's how the eye/brain mechanism works.

1 hour ago, Taffin said:

To @redjambos insight about dogs though, they can't see the same colours as us. 

It feels very human-centric to say colours are absolute (purple aside it seems). If not visualised, isn't it just an object absorbing and reflecting light? What if an alien (bare with me 😂) saw totally differently and said none of our colours exist. Who's right?

I love stuff like this but have zero knowledge so I appreciate the about could be about belly rumblings 😂 

Edit: is this why making maroon light is hard?

1 hour ago, redjambo said:

The EM spectrum exists, of which the visible spectrum is part. "Colour" is how the brain interprets the visible spectrum, and combinations of its the colours therein with other colours and greyscale, along with lighting, context, memory etc. Purple is not special.

*Everything* needs visualised - that's how the eye/brain mechanism works.

Obviously I'm arguing from a place of little knowledge.

But colour exists without us visualising it.

Except purple 

😄

As far as I can make out colour exists outside of our brain.

On its own as part of light waves.

It's it's own thing .

If carlsberg did rivals...
15 hours ago, Ked said:

Is purple not traditionally a Regal colour? Very expensive back in the day as the dye was obtained from sea snails or similar.

5 minutes ago, Ked said:

As far as I can make out colour exists outside of our brain.

On its own as part of light waves.

It's it's own thing .

Wait .

I might be wrong.

In fact I am .

I think

Lovecraft
15 minutes ago, If carlsberg did rivals... said:

Is purple not traditionally a Regal colour? Very expensive back in the day as the dye was obtained from sea snails or similar.

It was extracted from peasants.

17 minutes ago, If carlsberg did rivals... said:

Silk Cut were purple, weren't they?

1 hour ago, Lovecraft said:

It was extracted from peasants.

What, the birds? 😮

1 hour ago, Joey J J Jr Shabadoo said:

Silk Cut were purple, weren't they?

So expensive because they were purple, probably.

4 hours ago, superjack said:

Although I've stopped the baccie, I still smoke it but through a water bong. I still miss sharing a joint with mates though. If the edibles were readily available up here though I would switch to them.

👍👍 I miss a wee cake !! 🎂