150th whisky

Gundermann

Sooks

Not really a whisky drinker . Is this likely to be valuable in the future 

jimmy the jambo

I wonder what the true value is for a bottle like this and the mark up hearts are making,maybe for once,it would be great for the club to price something without the need to fleece fans ? 

Seaside jambo
1 minute ago, Sooks said:

Yes . These bottles will not loose in value , but may take a few years before they gain in any value 

Sooks
Just now, jimmy the jambo said:

I wonder what the true value is for a bottle like this and the mark up hearts are making,maybe for once,it would be great for the club to price something without the need to fleece fans ? 

Is that not a little harsh though ? I dont know much about whisky so I may be totally wrong , but is it not likely to go up in value the longer you keep it , and is it not also going to be limited to just 250 meaning it will be rare in the future ? I might be totally wrong 

Sooks
2 minutes ago, Seaside jambo said:

Yes . These bottles will not loose in value , but may take a few years before they gain in any value 

Thanks mate 

7 minutes ago, jimmy the jambo said:

"for once" 😂

BlueRiver
10 minutes ago, Sooks said:

As a piece of Hearts memorabilia more than anything I'd say. 

Sooks
1 minute ago, BlueRiver said:

As a piece of Hearts memorabilia more than anything I'd say. 

So in say ten years time , worth maybe £150 ? Sort of thing 

Posted (edited)
9 minutes ago, Sooks said:

Is that not a little harsh though ? I dont know much about whisky so I may be totally wrong , but is it not likely to go up in value the longer you keep it , and is it not also going to be limited to just 250 meaning it will be rare in the future ? I might be totally wrong 

The issue though is who will be interested in buying a bottle in saying 20 years time?  The contents are not that valuable so it would more than likely only be Hearts fans who would want one for the labelling.  The limited run does definitely make a difference assuming they keep it to one run but if these go fast they may do one or two more and that in turn reduces the value.

Edited by joondalupjambo

BlueRiver
Just now, Sooks said:

It's hard to say really. If folk buy it to drink it and that 250 dwindles further, the right collector look to pay a fair bit for it. Potentially upwards of 150. 

I just can't see much demand for a club branded bottle from the wider whisky community though. 

May one-six

Only one problem - do the makers of the whisky sponsor Hibs? Looks like it

Saint Jambo
6 minutes ago, May one-six said:

Only one problem - do the makers of the whisky sponsor Hibs? Looks like it

They are described as the official spirit partner of both clubs. They don't sponsor Hibs anymore than they sponsor Hearts as far as I can see.

leginten
20 minutes ago, jimmy the jambo said:

It’s maybe about £30 overpriced for a whisky of that age from that distillery, but it is single cask and you’re paying for the rarity and the sheer glory of pouring money into Hearts’ coffers.

For anyone wanting to hoard this and make a killing a few years down the line - I don’t think you’ll make much.

neilnunb

Had a chuckle at Robbo's comment about Gary Mackay's red card at ER. 😁

May one-six
2 minutes ago, Saint Jambo said:

They are described as the official spirit partner of both clubs. They don't sponsor Hibs anymore than they sponsor Hearts as far as I can see.

The website I see is stuffed with Hibs references. Maybe it's an old one?

4 minutes ago, neilnunb said:

Had a chuckle at Robbo's comment about Gary Mackay's red card at ER. 😁

Gary told that story at the Robbo and Mackay night couple months back

There is business potential. Spoke to my Dad he says it's too much so that's fine

neilnunb
12 minutes ago, Selkirkhmfc1874 said:

Gary told that story at the Robbo and Mackay night couple months back

I'm sure I had heard it before (not at that night though) but still had a laugh. 😁

Wee Mikey
39 minutes ago, Sooks said:

Buy one as a family heirloom. At Hearts' 300th anniversary your great great great great grandchildren will thank you should some bampot collector decide that it is a must have.

Check this out. An empty beer can!!!

https://www.antiquestradegazette.com/print-edition/2024/march/2636/news-digest/bottoms-up-to-a-top-beer-can-auction-price/

The good thing is that no-one is compelled to buy it. 

I still have a 'John Robertson whisky' in my drinks cabinet. Haven't opened it as yet. 

Whisky's for drinking; all for waiting for a special occasion but it's not for gawping at :smuggy:

51% Single Malt, 15 years old, ooft 🫠

Guess it'll be worth plenty in 36 years too :rudiyas:

escobri
22 minutes ago, davemclaren said:

I still have a 'John Robertson whisky' in my drinks cabinet. Haven't opened it as yet. 

My goal was scored in a pumping by St Mirren 😭

Daveandal

There will be investment value in it... but it will take time AND the return will be low. But as a bit of memorabilia. I love it.

Gundermann
1 hour ago, jimmy the jambo said:

Something like 70% of the price of a bottle of whisky goes to the treasury in London. The price of this is about right.

Craig_

£150 isn't too bad for a 15yo single cask Mannochmore independent bottling at higher (not cask) strength, especially considering the Hearts link-up. Not convinced it'll accrue much in value unless you keep it for a very long time.

Much better to keep it for a special occasion, say winning the cup next year! 

Sooks
16 minutes ago, Craig_ said:

£150 isn't too bad for a 15yo single cask Mannochmore independent bottling at higher (not cask) strength, especially considering the Hearts link-up. Not convinced it'll accrue much in value unless you keep it for a very long time.

Think I’ll do the heirloom thing with it 

PaddysBar
44 minutes ago, Craig_ said:

It’s £110 mate. 

Saint Jambo
2 hours ago, May one-six said:

The website I see is stuffed with Hibs references. Maybe it's an old one?

Mostly they seem to be doing the same thing with Hibs as they are with us. Releasing limited edition club themed spirits. Looks like they have been doing it a couple of years longer with Hibs.

But they do also seem to be a back of shirt sponsor for Hibs, so you are right about them being a Hibs sponsor.

tcjambo
2 hours ago, davemclaren said:

Same here

Sooks
8 minutes ago, Saint Jambo said:

Mostly they seem to be doing the same thing with Hibs as they are with us. Releasing limited edition club themed spirits. Looks like they have been doing it a couple of years longer with Hibs.

But they do also seem to be a back of shirt sponsor for Hibs, so you are right about them being a Hibs sponsor.

Hearts will make money from it , so good enough for me 

Bull's-eye
9 minutes ago, Sooks said:

Of course they will . . . From me.

Another weekend you wont be buying a drink  ☹️

Der Kaiser

It will be worth more when all 250 bottles are sold.......

3 hours ago, jimmy the jambo said:

I once got a £350 bottle of Highland Park 21yo for £50 from someone who worked within the company through their employee sale scheme

Saint Jambo
50 minutes ago, Sooks said:

Good enough for me too.

WDJ87
3 hours ago, Sooks said:

Probably worth more than that the second the last bottle is gone. More than 250 ppl will want one

Sooks
48 minutes ago, Bull's-eye said:

Of course they will . . . From me.

Another weekend you wont be buying a drink  ☹️

Scurrilous Hibs clown

image.png.fda2aa5fe5e9e1a48f4409492fca3238.png

Sooks
5 minutes ago, WDJ87 said:

Probably worth more than that the second the last bottle is gone. More than 250 ppl will want one

Cool . I certainly wont be opening it . Horrible stuff :lol: 

Sooks

Has anyone checked the “ Bevvy “ app to see if it is any good :lol: 

Craig_
2 hours ago, PaddysBar said:

It’s £110 mate. 

Bargain! 

46 minutes ago, Sooks said:

Scurrilous Hibs clown

image.png.fda2aa5fe5e9e1a48f4409492fca3238.png

And the boards Hibs obssesive manages to shoehorn his pet team into yet another thread that has absolutely nothing whatsoever to do with them.

Aye but hubs eh?

escobri
2 hours ago, Craig_ said:

Limited market for this, far easier ways to make money of whisky. Still purchased one though🙈 

Sooks
Posted (edited)
9 minutes ago, been here before said:

And the boards Hibs obssesive manages to shoehorn his pet team into yet another thread that has absolutely nothing whatsoever to do with them.

Aye but hubs eh?

This guy ………. I think I kinda care a bit about him

Have you ever seen a wee weedy guy that everyone picked on , and just sorta left him alone and were nice to him because you felt sorry for him

BHB …………

You are not clever

You are not funny

You miss in jokes

You are really obsessive

You are clearly a middle aged virgin 

Nobody cares what you say on here . Nobody . Not a single person 

I have promised myself not to point out your obvious disadvantages that are really clear from you posts . I am not in to slagging people for such things , despite how dweeby and sad they are 

Take care of yourself brother 

Edited by Sooks

2 minutes ago, Sooks said:

This guy ………. I think I kinda care a bit about him

Have you ever seen a wee weedy guy that everyone picked on , and just sorta left him alone and were nice to him because you felt sorry for him

BHB …………

You are not clever

You are not funny

You miss in jokes

You are really obsessive

You are clearly a middle aged virgin 

Nobody cares what you say on here . Nobody . Not a single person 

I have promised myself not to point out your obvious disadvantages that are really clear from you posts . I am not in to slagging people for such things , despite how derby and sad they are 

Take care of yourself brother 

Aye but Nick Montgomery...

Hearts 150th whisky... 

Bull's-eye
6 minutes ago, been here before said:

Aye but Nick Montgomery...

Hearts 150th whisky... 

He knows im Nick Montgomery.

1 minute ago, Bull's-eye said:

He knows im Nick Montgomery.

Anything to get them into anu thread. He's sponsored by .nugget, hibees bounce and even hibs etickets.

Either that or on a commision.