Summer 24 Transfers - Beni signs 2 year deal

Juho_Makela_Goal_Machine

AllyjamboDerbyshire
10 minutes ago, Chimp said:

If Shanks was faster he wouldn't be here, if Kent was brilliant on the ball he wouldn't be here... and so on. Could basically do that for loads of players.  Where does it end?

By accepting it's true and not suggesting that players aren't good enough for Hearts just because there's an ability they fall short on. It is, in fact, a fact, and it appears a great many people, who constantly pick up on good players' shortfalls as a reason to get rid of them, are unaware of that fact. In your reply you've backed that obvious fact up by pointing to a couple of our best players who, like all our players, have a missing ability that keeps them from (near) perfection, though some have more missing abilities than others. If you want a cliche that all of football should dump (especially Hibs managers) is the one constantly used to excuse a team or player not performing well, and that's 'he/the team lack consistency', or 'we just need to show some more consistency', when a player or team constantly playing badly is just as consistent as one that constantly plays well.

• Replies 5.5k

• RustyRightPeg

• Batistuta87

• kingantti1874

Chaps

Talks are already underway over a new deal with Kingsley. Can’t see it being too much of a problem.

He is now our Mr Dependable. Can fill in various position and always guarenteed a 7/10 performance from him.

Chimp
13 minutes ago, AllyjamboDerbyshire said:

By accepting it's true and not suggesting that players aren't good enough for Hearts just because there's an ability they fall short on. It is, in fact, a fact, and it appears a great many people, who constantly pick up on good players' shortfalls as a reason to get rid of them, are unaware of that fact. In your reply you've backed that obvious fact up by pointing to a couple of our best players who, like all our players, have a missing ability that keeps them from (near) perfection, though some have more missing abilities than others. If you want a cliche that all of football should dump (especially Hibs managers) is the one constantly used to excuse a team or player not performing well, and that's 'he/the team lack consistency', or 'we just need to show some more consistency', when a player or team constantly playing badly is just as consistent as one that constantly plays well.

You're missing my point though. I'm actually a fan of Rowles, I'm not one who wants rid of him. I think you're going off on a bit of a tangent with managers etc. I'm simply saying that it's getting a bit tiresome seeing "if (insert player) was better at (insert aspect of game)" then they wouldn't be at Hearts which is just a lazy shout sometimes. If Rowles was a bit more aggressive who's to say he wouldn't be here? It's not as simple as that.

Chimp
14 minutes ago, Chaps said:

Talks are already underway over a new deal with Kingsley. Can’t see it being too much of a problem.

He is now our Mr Dependable. Can fill in various position and always guarenteed a 7/10 performance from him.

Where did you hear this?

If true that's superb news. Such a classy player and we're always a stronger side with him in it.

Aussie Jambo
19 minutes ago, Chaps said:

I hope so. His free kicks can be very pleasing. He’s definitely dependable. Reminds me a bit like Gary MacKay. 

AllyjamboDerbyshire
1 minute ago, Chimp said:

You're missing my point though. I'm actually a fan of Rowles, I'm not one who wants rid of him. I think you're going off on a bit of a tangent with managers etc. I'm simply saying that it's getting a bit tiresome seeing "if (insert player) was better at (insert aspect of game)" then they wouldn't be at Hearts which is just a lazy shout sometimes. If Rowles was a bit more aggressive who's to say he wouldn't be here? It's not as simple as that.

Not suggesting you have been anything other than a fan of Rowles, just making the point that there are other, much less factual, cliches in football. The use of the cliche you are berating, however, is not only factual it's quite a useful and non-long winded way of reminding doubters of some good players, like Rowles, of how 'over the top' their criticisms are. Maybe, one day, if they're as fed up with the use of that cliche as you are, they'll think a bit more before being as unjustifiably critical of our better players on Kickback and that'll be one cliche we never need to see again😉

My tangent wasn't in the direction of managers, however, but with cliches. I thought you might enjoy the dig at Hibs managers, though, who successively do seem to have used it a lot when defending themselves and their team's poor results.

Scott Leitch
15 hours ago, Bongo 1874 said:

Yes more than good enough for our league,just a case of getting them to the levels required.

Played down in England both of them.

And have shown they are capable.

I'm not saying first team starters,we need a squad mate.

Both are pish and won't be here next season thankfully 

Nisbet allegedly fallen out with Millwall and has been banished due to disciplinary issues. A few on .net saying he'd never come here when Naismith is in charge due to something that happened at Hampden in the Semi. Am I missing something?

12 minutes ago, RustyRightPeg said:

Nisbet allegedly fallen out with Millwall and has been banished due to disciplinary issues. A few on .net saying he'd never come here when Naismith is in charge due to something that happened at Hampden in the Semi. Am I missing something?

That would be funny :lol: They're wee happy moment of us losing our star striker is replaced by us then signing their former star striker! 

Rick Sanchez
4 minutes ago, OTT said:

That would be funny :lol: They're wee happy moment of us losing our star striker is replaced by us then signing their former star striker! 

I think signing a current or former Hibs favourite and him smashing them would be my next level stauner inducer.

There's not many options tbf! 

Maolida, Marcondes or a Nisbet if Naisy could get a tune out of him. I genuinely can't see Naisy taking a risk on anyone that could even possibly disrupt the squad.

johnking123

Again, Nisbet spends more time with the medical team than playing!

12 minutes ago, johnking123 said:

Again, Nisbet spends more time with the medical team than playing!

Every players been injured in their life. 

May one-six
52 minutes ago, RustyRightPeg said:

I wouldn't want Nisbet anywhere near Tynecastle. He seems like a right a-hole.

Sooks
2 hours ago, Rick Sanchez said:

If we're scouring the globe I'd like another Ricardo Fuller type.

I don't feel like I'm asking for much...

One of each of a modern day Fuller , Salvatori and Pinilla please Steve and Joe 

Batistuta87
Posted (edited)
1 hour ago, RustyRightPeg said:

Wouldn't want him here. 

Think Naismith gave him it tight for missing his penalty?

Edited by Batistuta87

Sooks
9 minutes ago, Batistuta87 said:

Wouldn't want him here. 

Me neither . I suspect he is a complete arsehole . There is this weird rumour that has been going about for a while that Naismith slagged him off for missing his penalty in that game , but that he also mocked him losing his dad . Frankly I find that latter bit completely impossible . Naismith gives up free time to work at homeless shelters and the like . He also speaks very compassionately and empathetically about other players and managers . I suspect Nisbet is a lying wee Ned ***** 

Never once said we should try and sign Nisbet. I'm asking about the Naismith connection.

Question. Why are folk so keen on Strain when our own player, Atkinson, keeps him out the Australian side?

4 hours ago, Absolute Scenes said:

A few Strange takes on Kingsley. Been one of the best players we’ve signed in modern times, versatile and the added bonus of his free kicks.
Like all defenders who play in Scotland, he has the odd moment where it costs a goal (Rangers 1st at hampden as the example) but overall he’s been a brilliant acquisition. He’s definitely strong enough to play at the back in a back 4 and would be my choice at left back ahead of Cochrane 

Only time I saw Kingsley brushed aside was when that big bassa for istanbul got the jump on him, so he had some added momentum; that boy was almost as big as Uche

41 minutes ago, Sooks said:

Me neither . I suspect he is a complete arsehole . There is this weird rumour that has been going about for a while that Naismith slagged him off for missing his penalty in that game , but that he also mocked him losing his dad . Frankly I find that latter bit completely impossible . Naismith gives up free time to work at homeless shelters and the like . He also speaks very compassionately and empathetically about other players and managers . I suspect Nisbet is a lying wee Ned ***** 

Naismith would do anything to get in an opponents head....anything.

Sooks
1 minute ago, Jambof3tornado said:

Naismith would do anything to get in an opponents head....anything.

Walk up to a guy that had just lost his father and laugh about it ? Nope , sorry I do not believe that . Nisbets reputation seems to follow him about as well . I would not believe a word the fat faced wee ned says tbqh 

9 minutes ago, Sooks said:

Walk up to a guy that had just lost his father and laugh about it ? Nope , sorry I do not believe that . Nisbets reputation seems to follow him about as well . I would not believe a word the fat faced wee ned says tbqh 

no I don’t believe that for a second. 

Suspect Nisbet is a *****

Suspect Nisbet would be loved if he were our *****

Just now, Lord Beni of Gorgie said:

let’s face it.  Stevie has a brilliant reputation, and has done a huge amount of good outside of football.

nisbet is a thick ned, who caused problems at hibs and now is causing problems at millwall.  

Sooks
6 minutes ago, Lord Beni of Gorgie said:

5 minutes ago, kingantti1874 said:

let’s face it.  Stevie has a brilliant reputation, and has done a huge amount of good outside of football.

nisbet is a thick ned, who caused problems at hibs and now is causing problems at millwall.  

I have met Shanks . An absolute diamond of a bloke . Smart , polite and a good craic . Nisbet appears to be an absolute penis of a man off the pitch , so I have my doubts that he would be different on it 

1 hour ago, Batistuta87 said:

Wouldn't want him here. 

Naismith gave him it tight, that's why he missed his penalty :smuggy:

Sooks

Can you even imagine their dressing room with Porteous , Nosbet and McKirdy in it ? No wonder they have been so shit these last few years

35 minutes ago, hmfc_liam06 said:

Question. Why are folk so keen on Strain when our own player, Atkinson, keeps him out the Australian side?

Fair point! Atkinson also keeps out Lewis Miller, so the degree to which he's called poor is maybe exaggerated.  

But I still can't help but feel we still need an improvement there regardless. 

I'm kind of hoping that if Naismith moves us to a back 3, recruitment for right back becomes infinitely easier - wingback is a specialist position requiring specialist attributes which as we've seen aren't easy to recruit for - we want essentially a winger that is defensively sound and has pace and skill to beat a man. Not easy to find. Whereas at RB, someone solid defensively and can help out in attack when needed is about the crux of whats needed. Maybe someone with a solid cross they can use from deep positions. 

Rick Sanchez
1 minute ago, Ricardo Quaresma said:

Naismith gave him it tight, that's why he missed his penalty :smuggy:

6 minutes ago, kingantti1874 said:

Hypothetically should he sign, his goals would define him. He did of course try to engineer a January move from Hibs which was distasteful.

Not a risk I would be taking, I have trust in those who are making the decisions, and of course the person making those decisions will know exactly what occurred if anything.

Seems pointless debating it. If he scores goals we would forget indiscretions happily

2 minutes ago, Sooks said:

Can you even imagine their dressing room with Porteous , Nosbet and McKirdy in it ? No wonder they have been so shit these last few years

Club legends Hanlon and Stevenson, kept a lid on it.

What now for the Leith club?

CaptainShanks

R

Screenshot_20240509-160906.thumb.png.c1ab0b29c45e457f33f93be3cf3dbc70.png

Cochrane's agent posted this on Twitter. Hopefully we sell in the summer if he isn't signing a new deal. 

1 minute ago, CaptainShanks said:

R

Cochrane's agent posted this on Twitter. Hopefully we sell in the summer if he isn't signing a new deal. 

I hope he's not trying to say signing a left back achieved that :lol: 

The factors around our failure to finish 3rd in previous years are largely centred around poor footballing decisions by the board. The appointment of Levein as manager, the failure to remove Levein as manager, the appointment of Cathro... 

Cochrane has been excellent for us though, and I hope he can be a success story of our player trading! :) 

4 minutes ago, CaptainShanks said:

R

Alexa: Show me the shop window!

CaptainShanks
Just now, OTT said:

I hope he's not trying to say signing a left back achieved that :lol: 

The factors around our failure to finish 3rd in previous years are largely centred around poor footballing decisions by the board. The appointment of Levein as manager, the failure to remove Levein as manager, the appointment of Cathro... 

Cochrane has been excellent for us though, and I hope he can be a success story of our player trading! :) 

Agents will say anything to promote their client 😄 If I was his agent I would have thrown in some defensive stats related to Alex. 

It is a bit of a stretch to attribute our higher league finishes to him 😂 As good and consistent as he has been. 

If there is interest I reckon it will be from the Championship/Serie A and us selling for 2/3 million. 

Blackburn were interested in Cochrane previously 

39 minutes ago, OTT said:

Fair point! Atkinson also keeps out Lewis Miller, so the degree to which he's called poor is maybe exaggerated.  

I'm kind of hoping that if Naismith moves us to a back 3, recruitment for right back becomes infinitely easier - wingback is a specialist position requiring specialist attributes which as we've seen aren't easy to recruit for - we want essentially a winger that is defensively sound and has pace and skill to beat a man. Not easy to find. Whereas at RB, someone solid defensively and can help out in attack when needed is about the crux of whats needed. Maybe someone with a solid cross they can use from deep positions. 

We definitely need a new RB, that’s a given. But Atkinson > Strain.

Posted (edited)

Cochrane's agent 👇

Spoiler

shameless-header.jpg?ar=16:9&fit=crop&cr

Edited by Ricardo Quaresma

ShedBoy
40 minutes ago, CaptainShanks said:

R

Spoke to Alex up vogrie park walking his dugs. Absolutely loves it here.

36 minutes ago, CaptainShanks said:

Agents will say anything to promote their client 😄 If I was his agent I would have thrown in some defensive stats related to Alex. 

It is a bit of a stretch to attribute our higher league finishes to him 😂 As good and consistent as he has been. 

If there is interest I reckon it will be from the Championship/Serie A and us selling for 2/3 million. 

I’m not sure he has many defensive stats worth mentioning, sent off quite a few times, gave away lots of penalties. He has had a good few assists though. 

MattyK82
1 hour ago, hmfc_liam06 said:

He seems more suited to the Scottish top flight than Atkinson. Think it's that simple. 

1 minute ago, MattyK82 said:

He seems more suited to the Scottish top flight than Atkinson. Think it's that simple. 

Is he? I honestly can’t say I’ve even noticed the boy any time we’ve played them.

At best it’s a sideways move, we need better than both Atkinson and Strain.

56 minutes ago, OTT said:

I think it’s more to do with Miller and Strain not being any good. 
Nobody grows up wanting to be a RWB, as you say it’s wingers, midfielders or central defenders not good/big enough and i can’t think of one who is both a great defender and great attacker. 
Having said all that I think we will recruit a proper RB and use Spittall as RWB on the rare occasions we use one. 

1 minute ago, hmfc_liam06 said:

Is he? I honestly can’t say I’ve even noticed the boy any time we’ve played them.

Spot on

Batistuta87
Posted (edited)
2 hours ago, Sooks said:

Aye Naismith could also be a total prick to his opponents on the pitch though haha. And he would probably admit that himself. Not saying he did or didn't say anything of course - I've absolutely no idea. Seems too far even for the football pitch and as you say he is a decent human. 

Edited by Batistuta87

Batistuta87
Posted (edited)
2 hours ago, hmfc_liam06 said:

Exactly. He'd only ever be backup here for the same reason he's not the main man for the Aussies. 

Edited by Batistuta87

Gundermann
1 hour ago, Sooks said:

I have met Shanks . An absolute diamond of a bloke . Smart , polite and a good craic . Nisbet appears to be an absolute penis of a man off the pitch , so I have my doubts that he would be different on it 

Millwall seem to agree and have 'erected' a statue of him. The Millwall scarf is a nice touch.

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSp_vv7EAgKCkPykmhgLtd

soonbe110
42 minutes ago, Pasquale for King said:

I think it’s more to do with Miller and Strain not being any good. 
Nobody grows up wanting to be a RWB, as you say it’s wingers, midfielders or central defenders not good/big enough and i can’t think of one who is both a great defender and great attacker. 
Having said all that I think we will recruit a proper RB and use Spittall as RWB on the rare occasions we use one. 

Gethin Jones has been picked ahead of all of them in a couple of games recently. 

MattyK82
1 hour ago, hmfc_liam06 said:

I just mean from a physicality point of view. But whether he's better than Atkinson or not isn't the barometer the club should be using

I agree we can do better than both and hope we do.

• davemclaren changed the title to Summer 24 Transfers - Beni signs 2 year deal