Having to do things because other people do them?

Has anyone ever thought of just sticking a Christmas tree up when it starts snowing? Like, get the full effect, get the dinner on, get the cheese and crackers in. 

Do you know what i mean?

Instead of this yearly built up to what ultimately ends up in people getting in debt, a lot of ungrateful *******s, and an absolute let down of a 24 hours. 

That's just one example by the way, i could rant all day. 

AlimOzturk

Societal norms are there to be broken. Do what you want as long as it isn’t harming anyone else…why not?

6 minutes ago, Greedy Jambo said:

Has anyone ever thought of just sticking a Christmas tree up when it starts snowing? Like, get the full effect, get the dinner on, get the cheese and crackers in. 

Do you know what i mean?

Instead of this yearly built up to what ultimately ends up in people getting in debt, a lot of ungrateful *******s, and an absolute let down of a 24 hours. 

Know a couple of people who have had full Christmas in June in Australia to make it more authentic.

Where is the snow by the way?

I have glorious memories as kid, being allowed out until 10pm because the whole place was thick with snow, with the street lights on, it was almost like daylight. 

Sooperstar
1 hour ago, hughesie27 said:

Know a couple of people who have had full Christmas in June in Australia to make it more authentic.

More authentic? Are you telling me that Jesus was actually born in June?! 

5 minutes ago, Sooperstar said:

It was June in Australia.

Like shut down the M8 motorway queuing for a box of donuts so you can show people on Facebook?  I know it was years ago but I can't let it go. Muppets, every single one of them.

2 minutes ago, Byyy The Light said:

Like shut down the M8 motorway queuing for a box of donuts so you can show people on Facebook?  I know it was years ago but I can't let it go. Muppets, every single one of them.

****ing shite donuts too. 

10 minutes ago, Sooperstar said:

Was he born in December?

3 minutes ago, Byyy The Light said:

It went on for weeks as well.

5 minutes ago, The Real Maroonblood said:

It went on for weeks as well.

It's the moment we hit rock bottom as a species

5 minutes ago, William H. Bonney said:

Correct

12 minutes ago, Byyy The Light said:

what was worse was if you decided to park up rather than wait in the drive thru lane, you could get in and out quickly especially if you just wanted a basic box. 

10 minutes ago, William H. Bonney said:

stupidly sickly sweet

Mackem Midlothian

Queuing for hours to sign a book of condolence for a rich parasite who wouldn't have given you the time of day. 

1 hour ago, Greedy Jambo said:

Do you know what i mean?

Christmas is the biggest falsehood of the year. 👍

So many more - going on your ‘holidays’ in certain months of the year.

’Celebrating’ the birthday of some arsehole at work that you can’t stand.

Wearing sunglasses, not because it’s sunny, just because all the ‘cool’ folk do it.

Growing a feckin beard.  :vrface: Feck that, looking like a scaff because the ‘guys’ do it.

Being PC, whilst, behind closed doors, you act, and speak, as you used to.

Wearing trousers (usually mustard in colour) that are two or three inches above the ankle.  Must be your wee brothers ones, aye?

Telling lewd jokes to ‘the lads’.

Being ‘one of the lads’.

Getting a tattoo. 

Wearing a silver ring on your thumb.  :rofl: 

Really?

Pans Jambo

Feckin ARSEHOLES from Edinburgh when its sunny

“oh, lets take a nice drive down East Lothian & visit a beach there and get sand all over us. We can clog the roads up tae feck so folk have to wait 20 bloody minutes at a T-junction to get onto the coast road”. 

:raging:

Sooperstar
14 minutes ago, Mackem Midlothian said:

Queuing for hours to sign a book of condolence for a rich parasite who wouldn't have given you the time of day. 

Never saw her wear a watch to be fair. 

Pans Jambo
44 minutes ago, Byyy The Light said:

Anything new that opens:

Pub, Gym, Swimming Pool, Cinema, Restaurant, Chip Shop etc. 

First opening weekend mahoosive queues!!!

Then nobody cares. 

WTF?

Seaside Dave

Our football team didn't have a Christmas dinner and Christmas jumper outing together one year because of COVID. So we had it one July lol some weird looks 🤣🤣

2 minutes ago, Pans Jambo said:

Anything new that opens:

Pub, Gym, Swimming Pool, Cinema, Restaurant, Chip Shop etc. 

First opening weekend mahoosive queues!!!

Then nobody cares. 

WTF?

A new sandwich/coffee shop opened in Stockbridge in August last year.

First morning, the queue was enormous.

Subsequent six or seven weeks, the place was empty.

Being seen!

19 minutes ago, Morgan said:

Christmas is the biggest falsehood of the year. 👍

So many more - going on your ‘holidays’ in certain months of the year.

’Celebrating’ the birthday of some arsehole at work that you can’t stand.

Wearing sunglasses, not because it’s sunny, just because all the ‘cool’ folk do it.

Growing a feckin beard.  :vrface: Feck that, looking like a scaff because the ‘guys’ do it.

Being PC, whilst, behind closed doors, you act, and speak, as you used to.

Wearing trousers (usually mustard in colour) that are two or three inches above the ankle.  Must be your wee brothers ones, aye?

Telling lewd jokes to ‘the lads’.

Being ‘one of the lads’.

Getting a tattoo. 

Wearing a silver ring on your thumb.  :rofl: 

Really?

Is it ok if you get more than one tattoo? Does that cancel out the arseholery? 

21 minutes ago, Mackem Midlothian said:

You could have picked a better target than the Queen.

2 minutes ago, Tazio said:

Is it ok if you get more than one tattoo? Does that cancel out the arseholery? 

Doubles or trebles it!

:biggrin2:

Pans Jambo
28 minutes ago, Morgan said:

A new sandwich/coffee shop opened in Stockbridge in August last year.

First morning, the queue was enormous.

Subsequent six or seven weeks, the place was empty.

Being seen!

Aye the selfie & ‘check-in’ hoors on pussbook brigade!

‘Look at meeee’!!!

I think the first morning queue outside a coffee and sandwich place was probably more down to them doing an opening day special offer. 

PaddysBar

I’m with you on Christmas (and New Year). 

Both a total load of commercial, forced bollocks. 

2 hours ago, Byyy The Light said:

And on that note .. 

https://www.inverness-courier.co.uk/news/watch-woman-waits-9-hours-outside-invernesss-new-krispy-kr-339367/

Two hours north on the bus …  

12 hours ago, Pans Jambo said:

Feckin ARSEHOLES from Edinburgh when its sunny

“oh, lets take a nice drive down East Lothian & visit a beach there and get sand all over us. We can clog the roads up tae feck so folk have to wait 20 bloody minutes at a T-junction to get onto the coast road”. 

:raging:

:greggy:

11 hours ago, Tazio said:

I think the first morning queue outside a coffee and sandwich place was probably more down to them doing an opening day special offer. 

Yeah, nothing wrong with taking advantage of soft open offers, remember me and a mate managing to get a table at dishoom on their soft open weekend, 50% off all food and their waiting staff managed to forget to add 50 or 60 quids worth of drinks onto the bill, pished and well fed for about 20 quid each!

15 hours ago, Pans Jambo said:

Aye the selfie & ‘check-in’ hoors on pussbook brigade!

‘Look at meeee’!!!

Aye, that too.  :thumb:

15 hours ago, Tazio said:

Bugger. 

There are, of course, exceptions!  👍

Mackem Midlothian
16 hours ago, Sooperstar said:

Never saw her wear a watch to be fair. 

16 hours ago, Morgan said:

You could have picked a better target than the Queen.

How so? And what made you think I was talking about her?

Jim_Duncan
1 hour ago, Mackem Midlothian said:

Exactly. Could have been Margaret Thatcher or Ewa Braun. 

Mackem Midlothian
12 minutes ago, Jim_Duncan said:

Exactly. Could have been Margaret Thatcher or Ewa Braun. 

Or the candle in the wind lassie, or that old boy who walked round his garden during lockdown.

1 hour ago, Mackem Midlothian said:

Another poster who quoted you seemed to be under the impression that you meant the Queen as well.

Ask him.  :thumb:

5 minutes ago, Mackem Midlothian said:

Or the candle in the wind lassie, or that old boy who walked round his garden during lockdown.

And now, you are clutching at straws!

Mackem Midlothian
15 minutes ago, Morgan said:

Another poster who quoted you seemed to be under the impression that you meant the Queen as well.

Ask him.  :thumb:

And now, you are clutching at straws!

You are the only person who mentioned the Queen.