Tynecastle Park - Stand names

Lossiemouth Jambo

1 hour ago, whodanny said:

As an aside, I used to have a great Aunt and uncle who lived in Burton Stone Lane, only a 100 yards or so from the old Botham Crescent ground, I was at a few pre-season frienlies there in the early/mid 70s when visiting the Aunt and Uncle. My Auntie also worked in the Rowntree factory and would come home with big bags of "broken" produce. We were never short of a Kit Kat or two as well as lots of boiled sweets.

1 hour ago, August Landmesser said:

Former St Johnstone keeper Alan Main has bought the naming rights every year, no-one knows why

I must of admit I thought ‘What’ !        🤣🤣

CrawleyJambo

What about the James Anderson stand. It could be our public thank you for all he has put into the club?

Percival King
1 hour ago, Shooter McGavin said:

The Vladimir Romanov stand surely?

You're teasing us......I hope.

will-i-am-a-jambo
6 hours ago, Tokyo Drifter said:

Sponsor's fine by me as long as we don't end up sitting in the Last Stand or the Coat Stand. Couldn't stand that.

I don't think Couldn't is a very good name for a stand. 😉

Mister T
10 hours ago, jim747 said:

Putting Hibs fans in the Wallace Mercer stand would make me :qqb006:

And

:robbo: and :clyay: and :Toby:

Especially if its directly opposite the 19th of May Stand.

jambo mark

Whilst thinking “who really cares” about what the stand name you are sat in, I quite like not being a slave to pound that much! 

very hibs …

The Natural Order
15 hours ago, dannymack said:

Main Stand, School End, Wheatfield and the Gorgie Rd End.  👍

This is the correct answer.

On 07/01/2024 at 10:54, Dunks said:

The main stand has been available for naming rights since completion - it's in the annual advertisers/marketing brochure. I assume there hasn't been any offers or none that meets the Board's requirements.

Yet.

I'll get on to it. The Chong Stand with new edible kiosks and I may include a non-smoking section. 

17 hours ago, dannymack said:

2 hours ago, The Natural Order said:

This is the correct answer.

You could say the natural order! Happy with that. I had The Shed instead of Wheatfield  because I don't recall people talking about standing in the Wheatfield but maybe the terracing opposite the main stand was called that before my time. 

Naming after people would be invidious IMO. There are just so many candidates in  our 150 year history.   

The above list would be recognised and understood by any Hearts fan in over 100 years.

Edited by Francis Albert

Gorgie Garcon

The Rudi Skacel Stand for the Roseburn, so it is printed off on every Hibs ticket... 😆

Smithian

Budge Stand or the Foundation Stand. As much as I think naming it after Budge is ideal, she is not unique in being a local leader who has saved a football club. Hearts being the largest supporter owned club in the United Kingdom is a very unique thing, and naming it after FoH could help celebrate that fact every match. And fifty years from now, when Mrs. Budge may be a distant name, the FoH, or some group like it, is likely to still be around.

Therefore, my vote goes Foundation of Hearts Stand, or "Foundation Stand" for short. It is something truly unique about the club, it will hopefully be a permanent feature, and every Hearts supporter by way of even just once giving to FoH can see them as part of that legacy.

Benny Klack
22 hours ago, dannymack said:

I’d go with this 👍

PortyBeach
On 07/01/2024 at 10:28, Gorgie_Rules said:

Aside from John Robertson there probably isn’t anyone worthy.

You could make a case for Ann Budge for the work done to rebuild the club and give us a solid foundation for the future - however this era probably won’t be appreciated by most unless franked with a trophy.

“Aside from John Robertson there probably isn’t anyone worthy”. 

Don’t you think there’s a number of people who’ve been hugely significant in our club’s history?

Bobby Walker? Tommy Walker? Wallace Mercer? To name but a few…

When I was wee I had to stop and think about which was which, because you stand on the terrace but you sit in the stand. I thought they should be the stand and the sit.

Apart from that, I have nothing to add, call it the LGBTQ+ stand for super lefty yuks and be done.

dannymack

Remember the ticket games... 

Main Stand:

South Stand, Centre Stand, North Stand.

South Enclosure, North Enclosure (later to be family enclosure)

Ground: 

Enter by McLeod Street 

Enter by Wheatfield Road

Enter by Gorgie Road

john thomas
8 minutes ago, ǝǝɥʇᴉɯS said:

When I was wee I had to stop and think about which was which, because you stand on the terrace but you sit in the stand. I thought they should be the stand and the sit.

Apart from that, I have nothing to add, call it the LGBTQ+ stand for super lefty yuks and be done.

So being gay , lesbian etc is a left wing thing ?

More baffled than ever now

Maiden Gorgie
On 07/01/2024 at 17:23, August Landmesser said:

Former St Johnstone keeper Alan Main has bought the naming rights every year, no-one knows why

Took me a minute but 😂

jager man
1 hour ago, john thomas said:

Oh here we go. This could get interesting. 

2 hours ago, john thomas said:

koiMueD.gif

As another naming aside, I just found out that NAC Breda's full name is;

Nooit opgeven altijd doorzetten,

Aangenaam door vermaak en nuttig door ontspanning,

Combinatie,

Breda

They're the result of two teams merging, NOAD and ADVENDO, which were already abbreviations.

NOAD suggested NO from one and AD from the other :laugh2:

Edited by ǝǝɥʇᴉɯS

dannymack
On 07/01/2024 at 21:44, gjcc said:

Big money sponsorship from Tesco for the new main stand would be my choice. 

IMG_8229.jpeg

FB_IMG_1486055305355.jpg.0d77f8d1c091cb9fb4c8c7c78d80bd28.jpg

FB_IMG_1486158281433.jpg.7da43358b15f6d93d878b902fa360350.jpg

PortyBeach
8 hours ago, dannymack said:

FB_IMG_1486055305355.jpg.0d77f8d1c091cb9fb4c8c7c78d80bd28.jpg

FB_IMG_1486158281433.jpg.7da43358b15f6d93d878b902fa360350.jpg

Considering the pain Hearts have inflicted on them over the decades, it’s perhaps understandable they were desperate for this to come to pass. 
Nae luck, boys and girls 🤣

Percival King
On 07/01/2024 at 17:23, August Landmesser said:

So which one's going to be the Alan stand? Presumably it's locked and unlocked using an Alan key.

Andrew Gilbert Wauchope
On 07/01/2024 at 09:18, Daktari said:

Personally, I like it how it is. There are many players, managers and figures who are worthy of recognition in this way, but which ones? There could be a fans poll, but could it be infiltrated in a 'Boaty McBoatface' fashion? There could be a committee set up to make the choices, but it won't please everybody either. I'd rather continue to recognise and remember these key figures through a collective remembrance and the museum etc. That said, it's free money to call it 'The Heinz Beans' main stand because we'd all still call it 'the main stand' anyway. That's as far as I'd take it though, and even then that's a stretch for me!

Mind you, calling Roseburn 'The 5-1 Stand' might be fun on derby day.....😈

Winding them up a wee bit more with "The Famous 5-1 Stand", maybe?

1 minute ago, Andrew Gilbert Wauchope said:

Poetic..... :) 

Andrew Gilbert Wauchope
On 07/01/2024 at 14:11, Tokyo Drifter said:

Sponsor's fine by me as long as we don't end up sitting in the Last Stand or the Coat Stand. Couldn't stand that.

Named for most of us at New Year?

Lossiemouth Jambo
1 hour ago, Andrew Gilbert Wauchope said:

This would just turn into a tit-for-tat contest where they name a stand after a result from over 50 years ago 

Andrew Gilbert Wauchope
27 minutes ago, Lossiemouth Jambo said:

This would just turn into a tit-for-tat contest where they name a stand after a result from over 50 years ago 

Aye, maybe - but we started it. 😁

York Ninja
On 07/01/2024 at 09:38, **** the SPFL said:

Yep I remember York calling their stadium Kit Kat Crescent presumably because Rowntree factory is based in York

Yes they did,

Their mascot was also called Yorkie.  He once got bored during a match and this happened...

1 hour ago, York Ninja said:

Yes they did,

Their mascot was also called Yorkie.  He once got bored during a match and this happened...

Brilliant 

2 hours ago, York Ninja said:

Yes they did,

Yorkie, the chunky chocolate champions