The Metaverse and the Real World

17 minutes ago, the posh bit said:

I can see why the police would want to look into that, tbh. 

The Metaverse isn't a thing. It's just a concept. What Facebook would like you to believe as the Metaverse is something that already exists elsewhere in places like VR Chat or RecRoom for a decade already. And a better version of whatever Facebook has.

That article unsurprisingly is also misleading. Folk will think the girls avatar was somehow bent over and gand raped. In reality a bunch of other people's cartoony avatars will have crowded round her and probably made rude gestures at her. Which I'm sure was distressing for her and should be better controlled by the devs. But I'm not sure most folk reading that will understand what's going on out if context.

The Quest headsets are good though.

Edited by hughesie27

If COD ever ends up with a VR version there's going to be a lot of war crimes to investigate.

Why is being able to do what they did even an option in a game? As above, totally get it being investigated but it does open a can of worms I guess.

Edited by Taffin

Dawnrazor

Wait until the Police find out about all the crimes in Grand Theft Auto😳

8 minutes ago, hughesie27 said:

The Metaverse isn't a thing. It's just a concept. What Facebook would like you to believe as the Metaverse is something that already exists elsewhere in places like VR Chat or RecRoom for a decade already. And a better version of whatever Facebook has.

That article unsurprisingly is also misleading. Folk will think the girls avatar was somehow bent over and gand raped. In reality a bunch of other people's cartoony avatars will have crowded round her and probably made rude gestures at her. Which I'm sure was distressing for her and should be better controlled by the devs. But I'm not sure most folk reading that will understand what's going on out if context.

1 minute ago, Taffin said:

Why is being able to do what they did even an option in a game?

Case in point.

16 minutes ago, hughesie27 said:

I take it the metaverse doesn't have an off button? 

20 minutes ago, hughesie27 said:

Indeed. Rape is a very misleading term to use.

It would be good to see this kind of vile online behaviour towards a child punished regardless though.

With it being so much more immersive in VR I can imagine it being distressing for a kid.

1 minute ago, Ray Gin said:

Indeed. Rape is a very misleading term to use.

It would be good to see this kind of vile online behaviour towards a child punished regardless though.

With it being so much more immersive in VR I can imagine it being distressing for a kid.

Being my usual dickish self but why would you let your kid get into a 'game' of that type or with the potential for that outcome?

19 minutes ago, Taffin said:

If COD ever ends up with a VR version there's going to be a lot of war crimes to investigate.

Why is being able to do what they did even an option in a game? As above, totally get it being investigated but it does open a can of worms I guess.

There is. Contractors. It literally has loads of COD maps via mods. 

I was playing it the other night and there are clearly lots of parents who have ignored the device age limit and got their 6 year old a headset for xmas, who is now learning to drop N and F bombs from toxic American teenagers.

1 minute ago, The Mighty Thor said:

Being my usual dickish self but why would you let your kid get into a 'game' of that type or with the potential for that outcome?

Shit parenting, basically 

3 minutes ago, Ray Gin said:

Do we need state intervention? 

Asking for a friend to avoid 6 pages of self indulgence. 

AlimOzturk

Did the “people” who did this know the girl was a child? What was their intentions and how do you prove that they were the ones playing the game?

As someone who has never been a gamer or into this sort of thing apologies for being so naive. I can how you can be raped in a virtual world. 

I think grooming or sexually inappropriate behaviour could happen but rape is a very physical thing. It can’t be done unless there are two physical people involved. 

13 minutes ago, Ray Gin said:

Exactly.  Why didnt the parent just take the head gear off the daughter. FFS what is happening with society 

10 minutes ago, The Mighty Thor said:

Do we need state intervention? 

Asking for a friend to avoid 6 pages of self indulgence. 

NOPE or polis. Load of absolute bollocks. What next  I dont want to watch tom and jerry as im affected by the violence in it ?

42 minutes ago, hughesie27 said:

Case in point.

Missed your post, sorry 

I must confess I though the meta verse was much as you described but sure there more to it for the police to be involved?

23 minutes ago, Ray Gin said:

There is. Contractors. It literally has loads of COD maps via mods. 

I was playing it the other night and there are clearly lots of parents who have ignored the device age limit and got their 6 year old a headset for xmas, who is now learning to drop N and F bombs from toxic American teenagers.

The swearing and appropriateness for kids is one thing but if we're investigating real life crimes committed in games then the executions in COD alone will tie the courts up for decades 😂

Sooperstar

It's a bit of a misleading story. There is no such crime as virtual rape. Rape is a physical act. As has been said though, there are clear reasons why the police would want to look into the matter with the possibility that such weirdo behaviour can often escalate. 

Thunder and Lightning

OK, I confess to team killing on hard-core COD.

Honestly, the grenade slipped. 

Hmfc1965
2 hours ago, The Mighty Thor said:

Just listened to an item on the radio about this story.

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-12917329/amp/Police-launch-investigation-kind-virtual-rape-metaverse.html

I'm cleary a dinosaur as my first reaction was WTF

Anyway shedders, have at it.

I'm old and not up on this at all but how can the trauma be the same as being physically raped?

We're in for an absolute explosion (Pardon the pun) of PTSD cases if that's the case.

I can imagine folk begging on the streets "homeless and survived 20 tours of "Call of Duty".

1 minute ago, Hmfc1965 said:

We're in for an absolute explosion (Pardon the pun) of PTSD cases if that's the case.

I can imagine folk begging on the streets "homeless and survived 20 tours of "Call of Duty".

Its the snowflake culture nowadays mate. Tragic really. 

1 hour ago, hughesie27 said:

Aye it's mostly just a big pointless GUI for chatrooms and the like as far as I can tell. It sounds like a great thing but who really wants to wear a headset all day and interact with avatars when you could call or email?

Unfortunately, upsetting minors in a chatrooms isn't new either so hopefully there are laws in place.

19 minutes ago, JudyJudyJudy said:

Snowflake I'm not sure buddy.

If people are going for virtual rape like flashing it could escalate.

Also predatory paedophile behaviour is booming on the Internet.

Creeps paying poor children for sex shows.

Simply labelling snowflake is pish patter.

What happened to judge let ye be judged?

😅

Im fekin wi ye oan that Judy .

Hmfc1965
23 minutes ago, JudyJudyJudy said:

Maybe how to deal with it.

Hmfc1965
1 minute ago, Ked said:

Snowflake I'm not sure buddy.

Creeps paying poor children for sex shows.

Simply labelling snowflake is pish patter.

What happened to judge let ye be judged?

😅

Im fekin wi ye oan that Judy .

Predatory paedophile behaviour is one thing.

Equating acts taking place in a video game to real life is a different planet.

I'm not familiar with this stuff but it sounds like online abuse to me and regardless of whether parents are properly exercising their duty of care or not I'd definitely be wanting the police to take a look.  I'd expect them to get involved if they caught somebody with kiddy dolls and would expect them to be interested in this too.  

Just now, Ked said:

Yes agreed that behaviours online can escalate into real life but only if the groomers literraly groom the children. Virtual " rape" isnt in any form " grooming " a child. Its a violent virtual act.  It doesnt in any way form a bond of " trust " etc with a child. etc.  Yes ofcourse i can cause upset to a child but perhaps their parents should be more carefully monitoring what they are up to online? Monitoring and supervision of kids is critical to prevent  grooming behaviours escalating.   My comment about snowflakes was in regards to the escalation in various areas of society where people are offended for the slightest thing. 

7 minutes ago, Hmfc1965 said:

Maybe how to deal with it.

Excellent :)

Just now, Hmfc1965 said:

Predatory paedophile behaviour is one thing.

Equating acts taking place in a video game to real life is a different planet.

True but virtual reality can be a pointer.

I agree it's a new concept but allowing rape in that concept is a worry.

But .

It is a "thought crime " which raises all sorts of shit.

I've played rape games with a previous partner so I suppose it could be viewed similar .

At her suggestion I should add.

I am positive she didn't want raped but I suppose I'm reinforcing your point.

However in no way should paedophile stuff be allowed and without having a clue about the virtual reality scene it's already a problem regards the Internet.

I was being a bit flippant with Judy as I feel a bit bad for another thread .

3 minutes ago, JudyJudyJudy said:

Yes agreed that behaviours online can escalate into real life but only if the groomers literraly groom the children. Virtual " rape" isnt in any form " grooming " a child. Its a violent virtual act.  It doesnt in any way form a bond of " trust " etc with a child. etc.  Yes ofcourse i can cause upset to a child but perhaps their parents should be more carefully monitoring what they are up to online? Monitoring and supervision of kids is critical to prevent  grooming behaviours escalating.   My comment about snowflakes was in regards to the escalation in various areas of society where people are offended for the slightest thing. 

Sorry mate.

I was just (failed) trying to build a bridge for Laughing like fek at the judge post buddy.

Fair made me chuckle.

Hope yer no too pissed at me ya mad gay radge.

7 minutes ago, i wish jj was my dad said:

I'm not familiar with this stuff but it sounds like online abuse to me and regardless of whether parents are properly exercising their duty of care or not I'd definitely be wanting the police to take a look.  I'd expect them to get involved if they caught somebody with kiddy dolls and would expect them to be interested in this too.  

100%

Hmfc1965
Just now, Ked said:

True but virtual reality can be a pointer.

I agree it's a new concept but allowing rape in that concept is a worry.

But .

It is a "thought crime " which raises all sorts of shit.

I've played rape games with a previous partner so I suppose it could be viewed similar .

At her suggestion I should add.

I am positive she didn't want raped but I suppose I'm reinforcing your point.

However in no way should paedophile stuff be allowed and without having a clue about the virtual reality scene it's already a problem regards the Internet.

I was being a bit flippant with Judy as I feel a bit bad for another thread .

You'd like to think folk are monitored in some way and potential concerns are highlighted.

As I said I'm old, my day was the Megadrive, but every game has always been based on something you don't or can't do in real life.

Granted they're more graphic now and VR adds another dimension but otherwise what's the point?

I think as a father to two men I'd be concerned .

Especially the wee one if he's getting off on that.

There is already too much porn available to younger laddies.

Not being ked Whitehouse but some of the widely available stuff is gross.

Too much anal and abusive stuff.

Yes.

I.

Have browsed but honestly not in any way wank material.

And I wouldn't want my daughters treated like that.

3 minutes ago, Hmfc1965 said:

You'd like to think folk are monitored in some way and potential concerns are highlighted.

As I said I'm old, my day was the Megadrive, but every game has always been based on something you don't or can't do in real life.

Granted they're more graphic now and VR adds another dimension but otherwise what's the point?

I got where you came from nate.

And like you I'm older.

We were exposed to porn but it seemed a bit more respectful ...I know that seems daft.

But most of it just seems abusive .

I'm not sure if I'm right but most of the online porn is from 3 or 4 sources that's mainstream.

Lassies are either spitroasted gang banged or have their anus opened and stretched.

Total boak on tge last one and unnatural.

AlimOzturk
44 minutes ago, JudyJudyJudy said:

I would hardly call reporting deviant sexual behaviour online a sign of snowflake culture. 

I would rather this be seen as a real threat if this VR reality world is to take off. 

Edit to add …. Seen your posts after this which you have explained what you meant. Cheers. 

Edited by AlimOzturk

6 minutes ago, AlimOzturk said:

I would hardly call reporting deviant sexual behaviour online a sign of snowflake culture. 

I would rather this be seen as a real threat if this VR reality world is to take off. 

Edit to add …. Seen your posts after this which you have explained what you meant. Cheers. 

👍👍

16 minutes ago, Ked said:

Sorry mate.

I was just (failed) trying to build a bridge for Laughing like fek at the judge post buddy.

Fair made me chuckle.

Hope yer no too pissed at me ya mad gay radge.

You do make me laugh 😆 😂

8 minutes ago, Ked said:

Lassies are either spitroasted gang banged or have their anus opened and stretched.

Sadly a high percentage of porn have women in these situations and it’s Having a really negative impact of lads who view it . It’s degrading women . 

Hmfc1965
19 minutes ago, Ked said:

I got where you came from nate.

And like you I'm older.

We were exposed to porn but it seemed a bit more respectful ...I know that seems daft.

But most of it just seems abusive .

I'm not sure if I'm right but most of the online porn is from 3 or 4 sources that's mainstream.

Total boak on tge last one and unnatural.

I agree on the porn.

What you can get on mainstream sites is disgusting (I'm told.)

Hmfc1965
11 minutes ago, JudyJudyJudy said:

Sadly a high percentage of porn have women in these situations and it’s Having a really negative impact of lads who view it . It’s degrading women . 

It's bound to.

26 minutes ago, JudyJudyJudy said:

Studies back this post up.

If there’s one thing I’ve learned from twitter it is that a lot of total weirdos on here define themselves as gamers. 

BlueRiver
2 hours ago, Taffin said:

The swearing and appropriateness for kids is one thing but if we're investigating real life crimes committed in games then the executions in COD alone will tie the courts up for decades 😂

See you in The Hague, pal. 

2 hours ago, Thunder and Lightning said:

OK, I confess to team killing on hard-core COD.

Honestly, the grenade slipped. 

My main concern too 😂 the shotgun just went off I swear...

BlueRiver
59 minutes ago, Hmfc1965 said:

I agree on the porn.

What you can get on mainstream sites is disgusting (I'm told.)

I agree it sounds awful. What are these sites so I can make sure my ISP blocks them so I'm never subjected to this filth?

1 hour ago, Ked said:

Studies back this post up.

Yep. 

Hmfc1965
36 minutes ago, BlueRiver said:

I agree it sounds awful. What are these sites so I can make sure my ISP blocks them so I'm never subjected to this filth?

I think you can Google them.

the posh bit
2 hours ago, Ked said:

Not being ked Whitehouse but some of the widely available stuff is gross.

Too much anal and abusive stuff.

Yes.

I.

Have browsed but honestly not in any way wank material.

Not being Ked Whitehouse, being Ked Townshend? 

Lovecraft

Sounds like lawyers looking to make money to me.

Virtual rape eh?  That sounds new and complicated...  £4000 a day.