Orient and WWI merged threads

Denny Crane

Cheers for posting that mate. I was thinking of it, as the (OK, not so)Mighty LOFC are my English team. I actually know a coupla lads that have gone over there to pay their respects.

The thing about the Orient boys serving in WW1 hasn't had as much publicity as McCraes Batallion, but I think the LOFC supporters club are now getting their act together to ensure they get the recognition they deserve. I'm doubly proud that BOTH my clubs have the distinction of taking the lead and being the 1st football clubs North/South of the border to sign up.

Good little article this, the bit about Sgt Maj McFadden and his mate being being killed in front of his eyes brings a lump to the throat. All very brave men.

Also like the bit about the mighty Reds being on a par with Ersenal and Spurs pre war. Ahh, what coulda been eh, LOFC could be up there with the best of them if that hadn't kicked off! As it is, it's a a small club, but with a loyal fanbase. Great place to go if you're in London and want to take in a game, always get a warm wlcome there and the supporters club bar is the absolute bizzo. Bout time Baz Hearn dipped his hands in his pockets to get us to the next level (taking on Ersenal in the Champs League lol!). Had a great start last seaz and were top of the league for a while but fell away badly at the end and ended up mid-table.

Anyway, I'm not bovved, being a Hearts man, you get used to underachievement, and going to watch the O's aint much different!! Only a glory hunting old firm style plum goes to see their side for the reason of winning things, and not for the love of their local side. As the last para in the article says:

"Orient may not have had the success of their north London neighbours in the intervening years but perhaps the measure of a club's greatness is not in the trophies it wins but in what it gives to its people. There is no denying Orient's was the ultimate sacrifice."

That's the difference.

most of the players nowadays should hang their heads in shame

Nade can't be bothored getting out of bed in the mornings and you have an entire club that sacrafice themselves for a cause

From memory, I'm sure Jack Alexander has posted that they signed up en masse one month after the players at Tynecastle joined McCrae's.

Anyway, with the public attention both clubs are getting, perhaps someone should approach the British Legion to arrange an annual charity match between us and Orient? There are lots of angles to it too - the two capital cities of England and Scotland by means of two of their football clubs showing their respects to a fallen generation of almost 100 years ago. It could be played pre-season after the Somme commemorations, say.

Rather that than the Festival Cup or nonsense like that.

From memory, I'm sure Jack Alexander has posted that they signed up en masse one month after the players at Tynecastle joined McCrae's.

Anyway, with the public attention both clubs are getting, perhaps someone should approach the British Legion to arrange an annual charity match between us and Orient? There are lots of angles to it too - the two capital cities of England and Scotland by means of two of their football clubs showing their respects to a fallen generation of almost 100 years ago. It could be played pre-season after the Somme commemorations, say.

I think that that is a great idea Geoff.

scots civil war

great little club,great ground....(or it was before the new stands went up)

great old main stand and not unlike our own

a friendly next summer would be great,def summat to go on with the clubs

histories there...........

Dirk Diggler

Fantastic suggestion Geoff.

:Agree:

Great idea. I'd love a trip down to london to see the JTs.

Bit more about the O's - they've been doing trips to pay their respects to the O's lads that signed up since 2006. Started as just a coupla buses but has got a lot bigger recently.

Steve Jenkins, the boy who organised their trip this year has written a book about the O's and WW1 called ?They Took the Lead? a couple of years back which you can find on the LOFC Web site (?9.99). It mentions the fact that the O's lads signed up after they read about the Hearts, which is true.

As for a friendly between HMFC and the East End Super Reds, man, that would be absolutley blinding to see my 2 teams playing each other. Top suggestion there Geoff, quality.

There were always a few of us Hearts boys going to see LOFC, and a coupla boys still have seasons for Brissy Rd. Like I said previously, if you're ever down there, you'll be made to feel more than welcome, and the beer in the supporters club is cheap as!:P

Cheers for posting that mate. I was thinking of it, as the (OK, not so)Mighty LOFC are my English team. I actually know a coupla lads that have gone over there to pay their respects.

The thing about the Orient boys serving in WW1 hasn't had as much publicity as McCraes Batallion, but I think the LOFC supporters club are now getting their act together to ensure they get the recognition they deserve. I'm doubly proud that BOTH my clubs have the distinction of taking the lead and being the 1st football clubs North/South of the border to sign up.

Good little article this, the bit about Sgt Maj McFadden and his mate being being killed in front of his eyes brings a lump to the throat. All very brave men.

Also like the bit about the mighty Reds being on a par with Ersenal and Spurs pre war. Ahh, what coulda been eh, LOFC could be up there with the best of them if that hadn't kicked off! As it is, it's a a small club, but with a loyal fanbase. Great place to go if you're in London and want to take in a game, always get a warm wlcome there and the supporters club bar is the absolute bizzo. Bout time Baz Hearn dipped his hands in his pockets to get us to the next level (taking on Ersenal in the Champs League lol!). Had a great start last seaz and were top of the league for a while but fell away badly at the end and ended up mid-table.

Anyway, I'm not bovved, being a Hearts man, you get used to underachievement, and going to watch the O's aint much different!! Only a glory hunting old firm style plum goes to see their side for the reason of winning things, and not for the love of their local side. As the last para in the article says:

"Orient may not have had the success of their north London neighbours in the intervening years but perhaps the measure of a club's greatness is not in the trophies it wins but in what it gives to its people. There is no denying Orient's was the ultimate sacrifice."

That's the difference.

NT - were you around in 1978, when the Os reached the Cup semi-finals - or was that just before your time?

Last season was weird: Orient signed an entire new team in the summer I believe, but ending up mid-table was respectable enough. I'd love to see you get up to the Championship at some point: Brisbane Road's a fantastic, really unusual ground, and the Os are a cracking club.

Also, just for you (and by way of apology for ****ing you off yesterday!):

http://www.twohundredpercent.co.uk/music/tijuanataxi.mp3

Definately a great idea. I was thinking the same thing.

With the 100th anniversary of the Somme coming up in only 8 years time, I think we should think big and start a releationship from next season.

You could do it in stages like this:

2009: Orient's Youth team invited to Riccarton

2010: Hearts youth team take a trip to London for a game against Orient

2011: Orient youths invited to Riccarton for a match

2012: Hearts U16/U18/Reserves play in London

2013: Orient U16/U18/Reserves come to play in Edinburgh

2014: Orient welcome Hearts for a full pre season game in London

2015: Hearts Welcome Orient for a full pre season friendly at Tynie

2016: A massive game at Wembley to commemorate the players lost by both teams as well as all those who died in the Somme, with a Hearts select and an Orient select playing in the 1st half followed by a Scotland v England Select in the 2nd half to really boost the crowd.

You could have flypasts by the RAF, representatives of all clubs who served in McCrae's Battalion coming along.....

If we could make it happen it would be a great day that would really help to boost the profile of both clubs.

NT - were you around in 1978, when the Os reached the Cup semi-finals - or was that just before your time?

Last season was weird: Orient signed an entire new team in the summer I believe, but ending up mid-table was respectable enough. I'd love to see you get up to the Championship at some point: Brisbane Road's a fantastic, really unusual ground, and the Os are a cracking club.

Also, just for you (and by way of apology for ****ing you off yesterday!):

http://www.twohundredpercent.co.uk/music/tijuanataxi.mp3

Heh heh, not 'before my time' in terms of age, but well before I started going to see them in the flesh in the 90's mate!! Got the proggie though, got beat of the Ersenal at Stamford Bridge.

Yeah, during the pre season half the 1st team left and the rest were punted (take not Shabba/Vlad - it can be done!). At one point we were left wi absolutley nae players at all. Ling had to build a team asap and got boys in fae all over, including John Terry's bruv! Started out the blocks well and were top table/2nd/3rd for ages, but when winter kicked in started to slide and by time the end of seaz finito'd we lost something like 12 of the last 14 games and finished mid table. Still in div 3 (old money div 3) though. Hearn will never dig deep enough to get us up to div 2 (old money), last year was the big chance, if he's bought a coupla players in Jan we coulda done it, but the chance was wasted.

The ground's been done up (i.e. ruined) in the last few years wi new stands, and they knocked down the beloved North Terrace (vandals!!), but it's still a great place to watch yer fitba.

Cheers, C'mon you Reds!

NT

PS, nice 1 - you cant whack a bit of Tijuana Brass!

Guest Dipped Flake
Definately a great idea. I was thinking the same thing.

With the 100th anniversary of the Somme coming up in only 8 years time, I think we should think big and start a releationship from next season.

You could do it in stages like this:

2009: Orient's Youth team invited to Riccarton

2010: Hearts youth team take a trip to London for a game against Orient

2011: Orient youths invited to Riccarton for a match

2012: Hearts U16/U18/Reserves play in London

2013: Orient U16/U18/Reserves come to play in Edinburgh

2014: Orient welcome Hearts for a full pre season game in London

2015: Hearts Welcome Orient for a full pre season friendly at Tynie

2016: A massive game at Wembley to commemorate the players lost by both teams as well as all those who died in the Somme, with a Hearts select and an Orient select playing in the 1st half followed by a Scotland v England Select in the 2nd half to really boost the crowd.

You could have flypasts by the RAF, representatives of all clubs who served in McCrae's Battalion coming along.....

If we could make it happen it would be a great day that would really help to boost the profile of both clubs.

Wow, a lot of thought went into that, cheers. I think it would be a fantastic idea to arrange at least a friendly with LO to commemorate the 2 clubs roles in WW1. Anyone here with contacts in the club who could bring this up???

Been emailing 2 mates who are both Hearts and O's down in The Smoke, here's a bit of what one of them has said:

I approached Steve when he launched the book (and I was a wee bit pished) and harangued him for the the fact that Hearts were the first British club to enrol - he immediately pointed me to his first chapter which gives loads of info on the Hearts. He is big into Macraes Battalion and has become a bit of an expert on this. He is a great bloke and I am sure will be happy to send you the book which is a brilliant read especially the stories about the old club and Richard McFadden who died on the Somme but was Scottish and a bit of a hero* even before he joined the army

Seems Steve Jenkins is well aware of the McCraes story, I can try and get in contact wi him through my mates.

NT

* this bit relates to the story that McFadden jumped in and saved a young boy fae drowning in the river Lea.

Heh heh, not 'before my time' in terms of age, but well before I started going to see them in the flesh in the 90's mate!! Got the proggie though, got beat of the Ersenal at Stamford Bridge.

Yeah, during the pre season half the 1st team left and the rest were punted (take not Shabba/Vlad - it can be done!). At one point we were left wi absolutley nae players at all. Ling had to build a team asap and got boys in fae all over, including John Terry's bruv! Started out the blocks well and were top table/2nd/3rd for ages, but when winter kicked in started to slide and by time the end of seaz finito'd we lost something like 12 of the last 14 games and finished mid table. Still in div 3 (old money div 3) though. Hearn will never dig deep enough to get us up to div 2 (old money), last year was the big chance, if he's bought a coupla players in Jan we coulda done it, but the chance was wasted.

The ground's been done up (i.e. ruined) in the last few years wi new stands, and they knocked down the beloved North Terrace (vandals!!), but it's still a great place to watch yer fitba.

Cheers, C'mon you Reds!

NT

PS, nice 1 - you cant whack a bit of Tijuana Brass!

I've actually got the programme from the 1978 final - when Ipswich (God save us all) won, and Delia Smith was there to support them! :mad: Only reason is because it's the only year Wealdstone, the non-league side I used to follow and have mentioned on here before, reached the third round: QPR knocked us out 4-0, but at least we got as far as Liverpool, who lost a thriller at Stamford Bridge 4-2. Clive Walker starred, and I imagine there's a fair few people on here who can remember it too.

I don't like the way Hearn behaves at times: he's never really pumped much in, yet still wants to bask in the limelight of any success. There was a period where it always seemed like you either just missed the play-offs (Fourth Division, old money ;)) or lost the final. At least you got up in the end, as Orient shouldn't be in the bottom rung of the league. Do you still have that mental stadium announcer who yells "GOOOAAALLL!!!" whenever you score? And I had no idea the stadium'd been renovated: that's awful! Leyton Orient without those old stands is like the East End without pie and mash and jellied eels: I bet it went down like a lead balloon with the fans.

Oh, that song - since I searched for it earlier, I've been playing and humming along to it. What's the story behind it? It's catchy, but bonkers - a bit like the Os really!

Tremendous thread guys and I'll certainly be purchasing the book from the LO website.

I like the idea of LO and Hearts playing annually to recognise the common achievements/sacrifices of our clubs. My only gripe is if it is us fans coming up with the bright ideas, why can't it be the fans that play and let the clubs follow us?

There was lots of interest in the trials when we were setting up a Kickback teeam to take on the weeteam.net in aid of the Sick Kids, I'm sure the chance to take part in something like this each year would generate significantly more interest.

Hearts Heritage

You can read the contemporary reports here

Including lots of letters from the public.

1914112601.jpg

1914120801.jpg

Oh, that song - since I searched for it earlier, I've been playing and humming along to it. What's the story behind it? It's catchy, but bonkers - a bit like the Os really!

I know this is you and NT's conversation but...

Tijuana Taxi is a classic tune by Herb Alpert and the Tijuana Brass. Other "hits" include a song called Bean Bag, which we may be more familiar as the "It's a Knockout" theme tune.

Perhaps Herb's greatest hit is Spanish Flea, but his eponymous theme to the spoof James Bond film "Casino Royale" is also an easy listening fave.

TTFN pop-pickers.

Guest Tynie Bubbles
I've actually got the programme from the 1978 final - when Ipswich (God save us all) won, and Delia Smith was there to support them! :mad: Only reason is because it's the only year Wealdstone, the non-league side I used to follow and have mentioned on here before, reached the third round: QPR knocked us out 4-0, but at least we got as far as Liverpool, who lost a thriller at Stamford Bridge 4-2. Clive Walker starred, and I imagine there's a fair few people on here who can remember it too.

I don't like the way Hearn behaves at times: he's never really pumped much in, yet still wants to bask in the limelight of any success. There was a period where it always seemed like you either just missed the play-offs (Fourth Division, old money ;)) or lost the final. At least you got up in the end, as Orient shouldn't be in the bottom rung of the league. Do you still have that mental stadium announcer who yells "GOOOAAALLL!!!" whenever you score? And I had no idea the stadium'd been renovated: that's awful! Leyton Orient without those old stands is like the East End without pie and mash and jellied eels: I bet it went down like a lead balloon with the fans.

Delia went on Noel Edmond's Multi-Coloured Swap Shop's cup final day special professing to be an Ipswich fan.

I got a FA Cup Final ticket that year because an eldery relative was a referee, I ended up sat in front of Brian Cant from Play School/Play Away at Wembley, he had a Ipswich scarf on and the Londoners around him were amusing themselves calling him a Cant!!!

That 1978 Semi Final at Stamford Bridge was a travesty for Orient, both of Malcolm MacDonald's 'goals' for Arsenal were going wide until they took heavy deflections, but he claimed them both.

Did LOFC have a player called Peter Kitchen? I think their fans had a banner aimed at Arsenal's Pat Rice ... KITCHEN FRIES RICE.

Blimey, if I could remember useful stuff the way I do football trivia I'd be quite clever by now.

The friendly is a brilliant idea, an annual event switching between Brisbane Road and Tynecastle would be great.

Denny Crane

Is the Leyton Orienteer fanzine still on the go? I remember they gave my long-since gone Gorgie View a lovely review.

As for the annual match proposal. An excellent idea. Wonder if their fans would be up for it?

Great idea,

Fantastic suggestion.

Wouldn't it be nice if one of the Hearts employees reading this could pick up on this? :)

Wilmslow Jambo

Manchester Hearts are running a bus to the Somme and Ypres Battlefields leaving tonight. We have been lucky enough to secure the services of Jack Alexander as our tour guide.

I know this is you and NT's conversation but...

Tijuana Taxi is a classic tune by Herb Alpert and the Tijuana Brass. Other "hits" include a song called Bean Bag, which we may be more familiar as the "It's a Knockout" theme tune.

Perhaps Herb's greatest hit is Spanish Flea, but his eponymous theme to the spoof James Bond film "Casino Royale" is also an easy listening fave.

TTFN pop-pickers.

Cheers Boris. Serious question: how do you know all this? You are an encyclopaedia of knowledge: and unlike my sad case, it's actually useful knowledge too!

I know a few guys on the Os trip and have been tempted to go on their next trip.As for a friendly next year well bring it on especially as the supporters club bar at brissy road is one of the best in the country.

Is the Leyton Orienteer fanzine still on the go? I remember they gave my long-since gone Gorgie View a lovely review.

As for the annual match proposal. An excellent idea. Wonder if their fans would be up for it?

Fantastic fanzine, that! It was one of the first, I believe - along with Heartbeat (anyone remember that?), Wealdstone's The Elmslie Ender, the Chelsea Independent, King of the Kippax, and Bradford's magnificent City Gent ("ow doo from Bratfud!"). I think it is still going too. But none of them could hold a candle to the incomparable Gillingham fanzine, Brian Moore's Head (Looks Uncannily Like The London Planetarium). :)

Delia went on Noel Edmond's Multi-Coloured Swap Shop's cup final day special professing to be an Ipswich fan.

I got a FA Cup Final ticket that year because an eldery relative was a referee, I ended up sat in front of Brian Cant from Play School/Play Away at Wembley, he had a Ipswich scarf on and the Londoners around him were amusing themselves calling him a Cant!!!

That 1978 Semi Final at Stamford Bridge was a travesty for Orient, both of Malcolm MacDonald's 'goals' for Arsenal were going wide until they took heavy deflections, but he claimed them both.

Did LOFC have a player called Peter Kitchen? I think their fans had a banner aimed at Arsenal's Pat Rice ... KITCHEN FRIES RICE.

Blimey, if I could remember useful stuff the way I do football trivia I'd be quite clever by now.

The friendly is a brilliant idea, an annual event switching between Brisbane Road and Tynecastle would be great.

I know! She and her cardboard cutout of a husband still live in Stowmarket (ie. south of the border) even now. :mad: And she has turned down flat Peter Cullum's offer of a ?20m cash injection into Norwich - because who wants to play in the Premier League when you can make useless loan signings and give Gary Doherty a nice new contract eh? Grrr... You don't have to be based in Lithuania or even male to be a football club dictator - and Delia the Ipswich spy has grown rather fond of her toy, and won't be giving it up anytime soon, it would appear. :mad::mad:

Brian Cant, eh? I used to love Play Away when I was growing up - and Trumpton and Chigley were the dog's. Remember the six o'clock whistle? :) Strange choice of football club though, I have to say... Incidentally, I've dug out my copy of the 1978 Rothmans Football Yearbook, which reports that Orient (as they were then) did indeed have a player called Peter Kitchen, who was their top scorer that season - and rather delightfully, a forward by the name of Joe Mayo too. A godsend for the headline writers, those two! Orient finished 14th in the 2nd Division (old money) - but actually had to win on the last day to stay up, and send Blackpool down instead, with just one point separating positions 13-20 as the campaign ended.

Rick Grimes

fantastic idea. i suggest you email this to the club.

Cheers Boris. Serious question: how do you know all this? You are an encyclopaedia of knowledge: and unlike my sad case, it's actually useful knowledge too!

For whatever reasons, I have a Herb Alpert playlist on my iPod...:o

Guest Tynie Bubbles
I know! She and her cardboard cutout of a husband still live in Stowmarket (ie. south of the border) even now. :mad: And she has turned down flat Peter Cullum's offer of a ?20m cash injection into Norwich - because who wants to play in the Premier League when you can make useless loan signings and give Gary Doherty a nice new contract eh? Grrr... You don't have to be based in Lithuania or even male to be a football club dictator - and Delia the Ipswich spy has grown rather fond of her toy, and won't be giving it up anytime soon, it would appear. :mad::mad:

Brian Cant, eh? I used to love Play Away when I was growing up - and Trumpton and Chigley were the dog's. Remember the six o'clock whistle? :) Strange choice of football club though, I have to say... Incidentally, I've dug out my copy of the 1978 Rothmans Football Yearbook, which reports that Orient (as they were then) did indeed have a player called Peter Kitchen, who was their top scorer that season - and rather delightfully, a forward by the name of Joe Mayo too. A godsend for the headline writers, those two! Orient finished 14th in the 2nd Division (old money) - but actually had to win on the last day to stay up, and send Blackpool down instead, with just one point separating positions 13-20 as the campaign ended.

Brian Cant was a lightweight. Derek Griffiths carried him ;)

Imagine Roman Romanov "Doing a Delia" on live TV spurring the crowd on under the influence to be the twelfth man "Come on lets have ya!!!"

What an embarrasment to herself that woman is.

I'm struggling to recall the six o'clock whistle tbh, but have fond memories of Cabbages and Kings.

Imagine Roman Romanov "Doing a Delia" on live TV spurring the crowd on under the influence to be the twelfth man "Come on lets have ya!!!"

What an embarrasment to herself that woman is.

I'm struggling to recall the six o'clock whistle tbh, but have fond memories of Cabbages and Kings.

Rodney doing a Delia? The mind boggles... :wacko:

As for the six o'clock whistle, it went off at the end of each day in the Chigley biscuit factory (which I used to think must be so cool to work in). At which point, all the workmen filed out and did this:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Oe-nlpa9Az0

Were they Hibs fans, I wonder? :)

Guest Tynie Bubbles
Fantastic fanzine, that! It was one of the first, I believe - along with Heartbeat (anyone remember that?), Wealdstone's The Elmslie Ender, the Chelsea Independent, King of the Kippax, and Bradford's magnificent City Gent ("ow doo from Bratfud!"). I think it is still going too. But none of them could hold a candle to the incomparable Gillingham fanzine, Brian Moore's Head (Looks Uncannily Like The London Planetarium). :)

Brian Moore's Head Looks Uncannily Like London Planetarium was immortalised in a Half Man Half Biscuit song.

They seem to keep cropping up on a few Hearts forums of late.

Maybe a few friendly Jambos should 'invade' the Leyton Orient message boards spreading goodly vibes and helping to ignite the blue touch paper for this idea.

One of VR's rare appearances last season was at the Haymarket Memorial Service, so people could probably do a lot worse than push the idea under his nose ... surely there are people connected with this forum who have the ear of people at the club and vice versa.

Jeremy Irons on Playaway anyone?

I bought my laddie the whole trumptonshire box-set. Class!

Guest Tynie Bubbles
Rodney doing a Delia? The mind boggles... :wacko:

As for the six o'clock whistle, it went off at the end of each day in the Chigley biscuit factory (which I used to think must be so cool to work in). At which point, all the workmen filed out and did this:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Oe-nlpa9Az0

Were they Hibs fans, I wonder? :)

Ahh, that Six O'Clock whistle.

TBH, I lived near a windmill back in those days and thus have a much better recollection of the real hero of Watch With Mother, Mr Windy Miller.

How on earth did he ever walk in and out of that door so frequently without ever losing as much as an ear??? Those sails were never to scale.

Health and Safety fascists would outlaw them in this day and age.

Oh well, off to my night shift now. Looking forward to the 6AM whistle ;)

Jeremy Irons on Playaway anyone?

I bought my laddie the whole trumptonshire box-set. Class!

Here is a clock.

The Trumpton clock.

Telling the time,

Steadily, sensibly,

Never too quickly,

Never too slowly.

Telling the time,

For Trumpton!

They don't make 'em like they used to, Boris. Meanwhile, a Youtube correspondent points out that glorious workers dancing with maidens, red scarves and red flags in Chigley look like May Day in a Soviet village. No wonder you were a fan! :)

Here is a clock.

The Trumpton clock.

Telling the time,

Steadily, sensibly,

Never too quickly,

Never too slowly.

Telling the time,

For Trumpton!

They don't make 'em like they used to, Boris. Meanwhile, a Youtube correspondent points out that glorious workers dancing with maidens, red scarves and red flags in Chigley look like May Day in a Soviet village. No wonder you were a fan! :)

However in retrospect it is bourgeoise paternalism at its best! One of the best bits is when Windy Miller won't "grass" to PC McGarrey about kids fishing illegally. Oh, and when Windy Miller gets bevvied on his home brew cider.

(apologies to everyone else for this thread going off topic...):o

Denny Crane

Liverpool's "Throught the wind and rain" was of similar quality too - especially their "Manc watch" section which highlighted the fourth estate's sycophantic attitude towards Man Utd.

Newcastle's "The Mag" was good until Keegan arrived (1st round) at which point the team started to play well which took the sting out of the writers' bite.

Orienteer though was a class act. Premier league fanzine as for the team.... damn that West Ham!

Liverpool's "Throught the wind and rain" was of similar quality too - especially their "Manc watch" section which highlighted the fourth estate's sycophantic attitude towards Man Utd.

Newcastle's "The Mag" was good until Keegan arrived (1st round) at which point the team started to play well which took the sting out of the writers' bite.

Orienteer though was a class act. Premier league fanzine as for the team.... damn that West Ham!

Of course, messageboards have led to the demise of most fanzines now, which is a shame. I used to love NIT: its 1998 Cup winners' special was superb! Tell you what's still going strong though: The Mag's rival, True Faith. It's excellent - mainly because it has regularly updated online editorials as well as new issues being released every couple of months or so.

I loved NIT, a youthful bighusref also made a wee appearance in said fanzine FWIW! I also liked ATB and the Gorgie Wave. There were others, I cannot think of them off the top of my head. I used to have loads of them, still do at the old dears I think.

As a writer - or on some European trip somewhere? I liked ATB too - but most of the time, especially earlier on, I thought NIT was better. And to its eternal credit, it also had the sense to query the SMG deal in strong terms: Deans apart, pity there wasn't similar foresight in the boardroom, eh?

As a writer. Just the once, they rejected all the ones that were wrote in crayon.

I remember seeing a Herts fanzine called "Suspect Device" a couple of times. That was pretty good iirc.

NIT was better than ATB imho. Never quite took to ATB.

Denny Crane

NIT

The Jam Piece

Heartbeat

Gorgie Wave

Always the Bridesmaid

Still musn't grumble

Gorgie View

Dead Ball

Trophy Please (which subsequently had a spin-off whose name I forget)

Plus there was the one-off charity special "Five Jam Parts" in which five Hearts fanzines on the go circa 93/94 combined to produce it - one highlight being Karl Marx's problem page (not that I'm blowing my trumpet in any form here...ahem).

NIT

The Jam Piece

Heartbeat

Gorgie Wave

Always the Bridesmaid

Still musn't grumble

Gorgie View

Dead Ball

Trophy Please (which subsequently had a spin-off whose name I forget)

Plus there was the one-off charity special "Five Jam Parts" in which five Hearts fanzines on the go circa 93/94 combined to produce it - one highlight being Karl Marx's problem page (not that I'm blowing my trumpet in any form here...ahem).

Cool.

I am certain I still have the "Five Jam Parts" one, plus copies of most if not all of the above. IIRC, Heartbeat was A4?

Cool.

I am certain I still have the "Five Jam Parts" one, plus copies of most if not all of the above. IIRC, Heartbeat was A4?

It was. The only bits of Heartbeat I've got are from a huge compilation of early fanzines called 'El Tel Was A Space Alien'. Other than that, I've got tons of NITs and ATBs between around 1996 and 2001 - and a one-off one called 'Big On Tynie' that was a bit rubbish, and obviously didn't catch on (probably because they stuffed up the printing so badly that my copy featured at least three front and back covers! :confused:

I think I only have one copy of Heartbeat tbh. I may have had more but last I looked I remember the A4 one. One singular heart outline with Heartbeat in the middle per chance?