What does it mean when the spectacular just bores you?

Ulysses

So, I saw that spectacular overhead kick by Garnacho tonight.   BBC described it as one in a million, and it was.  I mean, it genuinely was.

But **** me it was also boring.  Sorry to anyone who cares, but it was.  I mean, it genuinely was.  I couldn't pick Alejandro Garnacho out of a police line-up, and I don't really give a crap about him or about who he's playing for.  I couldn't pick most well-known players in the EPL or the Champions League out of a cop line-up, and I couldn't care less about them or who they play for.

Time was when I could.  Even though it was always mostly about Hearts (and for me a fair bit about Ireland), I knew when other stuff was good, I admired it for what it was, and sometimes it was genuinely thrilling even though it wasn't the football that really mattered to me.

Now?  I'm not so sure.  It's all a bit meh, really.  It's probably just me being a boring old fart, but there's no thrill in it anymore.  They were heroes once, and giants - even the ones who weren't my heroes and giants, I could still see how they were other people's heroes and giants.  Now, they're just entertainment, a circus act.

Bollox.

Possibly arriving at a more genuine understanding of “spectacular”, ‘tho I’d have thought you more than capable of that a long time ago.

Ageing.

Repetition.

Relevance.

Realisations, + a helluva lot more.

Hope that helps. 🙄

22 minutes ago, J.T.F.Robertson said:

Possibly arriving at a more genuine understanding of “spectacular”, ‘tho I’d have thought you more than capable of that a long time ago.

Ageing.

Repetition.

Relevance.

Realisations, + a helluva lot more.

Hope that helps. 🙄

Yep.  If I'm honest, it's been like this for a while.

3 hours ago, Ulysses said:

Yep.  If I'm honest, it's been like this for a while.

How would you feel/felt if say Lawrence Shankland had scored a goal like that?

5 hours ago, Ulysses said:

So, I saw that spectacular overhead kick by Garnacho tonight.   BBC described it as one in a million, and it was.  I mean, it genuinely was.

But **** me it was also boring.  Sorry to anyone who cares, but it was.  I mean, it genuinely was.  I couldn't pick Alejandro Garnacho out of a police line-up, and I don't really give a crap about him or about who he's playing for.  I couldn't pick most well-known players in the EPL or the Champions League out of a cop line-up, and I couldn't care less about them or who they play for.

Time was when I could.  Even though it was always mostly about Hearts (and for me a fair bit about Ireland), I knew when other stuff was good, I admired it for what it was, and sometimes it was genuinely thrilling even though it wasn't the football that really mattered to me.

Now?  I'm not so sure.  It's all a bit meh, really.  It's probably just me being a boring old fart, but there's no thrill in it anymore.  They were heroes once, and giants - even the ones who weren't my heroes and giants, I could still see how they were other people's heroes and giants.  Now, they're just entertainment, a circus act.

Bollox.

I have been there for a good few years now . Only really give a shit about Hearts and Scotland . The polarisation of money to a few competitions has destroyed my interest . The money in football is also finite and it is hoarded by a few clubs and competitions . It has a knock on effect with our game and we are unable to bring in as decent quality because other clubs can always pay more than us . There are few surprises now too as even youth players are all on databases and if we bring through a really good one he will be snapped up by a team who can pay him more before we get to enjoy him in the first team . I still like the Euros and World Cup but even they are not as good as when I was younger because few of the players are a surprise and most have already played in the Champions League or EPL anyway . I quite like to go to a live match somewhere else as a wee change , but I have zero interest in watching the Champions League or EPL on TV . I cringe when I see and hear Scots laddies screaming at the TV in the pub when Manchester play Liverpool

11 minutes ago, Jim_Duncan said:

The only time pronoun use riles me is the aforementioned lads using “we” and “us” to talk about these teams.  

Popped in to McCowans on my way home after a match recently and was unfortunate to be next to a table of lads in their early twenties with Edinburgh accents doing this . Cheering when either team scored and slagging others in the group ect. It is such a cringe . Find myself preferring old man boozers after the match nowadays because you dont really get that pish as much

Edited by Sooks

4 minutes ago, Forza Cuore said:

Whatever floats your boat fella 🫡

Brilliant ! They are more comfy around the general scrotal area 😄😳

Edited by Sooks

You are probably over the age of 45, you recognise that football is now a load of over commercialised shit, that FFP is just a mechanism to protect the status quo, the associations are internetly biased.

you are not alone. If not for hearts I wouldn’t watch another second of football

Edited by kingantti1874

36 minutes ago, Sooks said:

Popped in to McCowans on my way home after a match recently and was unfortunate to be next to a table of lads in their early twenties with Edinburgh accents doing this . Cheering when either team scored and slagging others in the group ect. It is such a cringe . Find myself preferring old man boozers after the match nowadays because you dont really get that pish as much

Last season my seat was next to two younger guys, nice enough lads, early 20s ish. Usually had a good crack with them, celebrated our goals with them. But they always left the game with about 5 or 10 minutes to go, I could never get that. Turns out they were rushing away to a boozer to catch whatever EPL match kicked off at 5pm and wanted to make sure they got a seat. I couldn't get my head round leaving a Hearts game early to watch an English match. 

I think the fact that you can see football from everywhere now means that we see the spectacular more often. So one spectacular goal doesn't shine as bright as it would where you could only watch your own team and highlights on Match of the day. Its the same as how you dont really get a player who will turn up at the World cup and blow you away because you have never heard of them or seen them play.

I do find it similar to Messi at his peak, when he was scoring goal and goal. He scored many goals that were incredible, but few will be really remembered because the volume of goals means you cant focus on one.

Know what else is boring? Groundhopping, patronising dullards that go and watch diddy teams whenever Hearts aren't playing and post it all over social media like they're the saviours of football's soul. GTF. 

I watched the game yesterday. Not something I’d normally do but I had a free house and I was at a lose end. Hearts and Scotland apart, I only really watch other football if I’ve got a bet on and even then I’d usually be paying more attention to phone updates on my lines keeping an eye on potential cash outs and freezes (Skybet)

The goal was a momentary WTF moment in a typical EPL game. I barely paid any attention to the game before or after. It was on in the background. Could have been anything that was on. English football is samey and generally boring to watch, the odd game and the odd moment apart. I got bored of it when the money became so huge and disgusting that it took away any serious competition and interest.

What a fecking goal though !! Funnily enough an almost identical goal from some Sunday Amateur league game popped up on my YouTube feed a couple of hours later.

It’s a bit depressing to lose interest in stuff without having other stimulating stuff to replace it. Even masturbation has started to lose its edge unless you do it on the bus or in church or the middle aisle in Lidl 

Edited by JimmyCant

19 minutes ago, whodanny said:

Last season my seat was next to two younger guys, nice enough lads, early 20s ish. Usually had a good crack with them, celebrated our goals with them. But they always left the game with about 5 or 10 minutes to go, I could never get that. Turns out they were rushing away to a boozer to catch whatever EPL match kicked off at 5pm and wanted to make sure they got a seat. I couldn't get my head round leaving a Hearts game early to watch an English match. 

Yeah it is a shame it has come to this 

I don't really enjoy watching the EPL these days. Just seems so soulless apart from the occasional clash. Had the game on in the background but Utd are just full of posers so would've been more enthused had Everton scored that goal (despite them being on the naughty step).

21 minutes ago, JimmyCant said:

It’s a bit depressing to lose interest in stuff without having other stimulating stuff to replace it. Even masturbation has started to lose its edge unless you do it on the bus or in church or the middle aisle in Lidl 

Always knew you were a wrong un🫠

1 hour ago, Sooks said:

I have been there for a good few years now . Only really give a shit about Hearts and Scotland . The polarisation of money to a few competitions has destroyed my interest . The money in football is also finite and it is hoarded by a few clubs and competitions . It has a knock on effect with our game and we are unable to bring in as decent quality because other clubs can always pay more than us . There are few surprises now too as even youth players are all on databases and if we bring through a really good one he will be snapped up by a team who can pay him more before we get to enjoy him in the first team . I still like the Euros and World Cup but even they are not as good as when I was younger because few of the players are a surprise and most have already played in the Champions League or EPL anyway . I quite like to go to a live match somewhere else as a wee change , but I have zero interest in watching the Champions League or EPL on TV . I cringe when I see and hear Scots laddies screaming at the TV in the pub when Manchester play Liverpool

Yep that about sums it up for me. I'm exactly the same and don't even go to our games against rangers or celtic any more - well done to those that can bear it, but after a heart op I'm not interested in gettting angry watching my team lose to teams with a huge financial starting advantage while being shouted at by bigots.

Over-saturation.

Was talking in the pub with a couple of friends last week and I posed them the question “how many goals do you think you’d seen on TV by the age of seven?”

twenty, maybe thirty.

My boy watches that many everyday before breakfast!!

Just now, scott herbertson said:

Yep that about sums it up for me. I'm exactly the same and don't even go to our games against rangers or celtic any more - well done to those that can bear it, but after a heart op I'm not interested in gettting angry watching my team lose to teams with a huge financial starting advantage while being shouted at by bigots.

Do not blame you mate , take it easy fella

I left after the second goal was given against Celtic . Not something I ever do but I just could not bring myself to sit through that shite any longer . Would love a bigger league where we play them less . I would not miss the fixture 

It's a sure fire sign of aging. Seen goals like this before and will see them again.

Apart from Hearts, and unless Scotland make quarter finals of Euros, then no football match nowadays remains in memory for more than 10 minutes.

It is after all, unless Hearts are playing, just a game 

1 hour ago, GlasgoJambo said:

Over-saturation.

Was talking in the pub with a couple of friends last week and I posed them the question “how many goals do you think you’d seen on TV by the age of seven?”

twenty, maybe thirty.

My boy watches that many everyday before breakfast!!

Definitely the saturation thing. I’m guilty of watching an awful lot of football on TV, to the extent that it’s almost background noise at times. Very rarely does a televised game grab me nowadays. I realise that the remedy for this is in my own hands.

I think the monotony and predictability of the league set-up here gets us all down at times, and maybe it’s worse the older you get - there’s less chance of still being around if and when things do change for the better!

Thankfully I can still get excited at times. I got the usual palpitations as the Cup draw was happening last night. There were bits of last season when it was fantastic to be a Hearts fan. And I’ve been excited to watch the progress of the national team too. 

Chin up, Uly.

4 hours ago, John Findlay said:

How would you feel/felt if say Lawrence Shankland had scored a goal like that?

I think that's the point I'm making.  @J.T.F.Robertson mentioned relevance.  Any Hearts goal, even a scuffed and scrambled one, is relevant. Garnacho's goal, even if spectacular, isn't.

2 minutes ago, Mikey1874 said:

Argentine football is anything but boring. U17s play Germany at 8.30 tomorrow in semi final of World Cup.

Highlights of last game

Until they all end up at the youth academies of Chelsea , Manchester City and Brentford or whatever . That is basically the point for me . The money in the English game and a few others is just killing the rest of the game 

It could be that I've got the olds, but there's lots of other stuff out there that's still new and exciting. I think it is a case of over-saturation, and football always being available "on tap".

31 minutes ago, leginten said:

Chin up, Uly.

I cheered up when I read @JimmyCant's helpful post.

There are TWO Lidl stores close to my house.  :whistling:

1 minute ago, Ulysses said:

It could be that I've got the olds, but there's lots of other stuff out there that's still new and exciting. I think it is a case of over-saturation, and football always being available "on tap".

I cheered up when I read @JimmyCant's helpful post.

There are TWO Lidl stores close to my house.  :whistling:

Just be careful when handling any of the SMEG products.

I really dislike Man United, but if you find the goal boring, suggest your time with football is probably over, as a casual fan at least

7 minutes ago, Ulysses said:

I think that's the point I'm making.  @J.T.F.Robertson mentioned relevance.  Any Hearts goal, even a scuffed and scrambled one, is relevant. Garnacho's goal, even if spectacular, isn't.

No. Only Hearts goals to me have been relevant most of my life. Since say 1970. When I started to get an understanding of what football is about, I have seen many fantastic goals scored by many deemed fantastic players. However with the exception of Hearts and Scotland goals none have had a relevance to me personally.

Scotland wise Joe Jordan at Hampden in September 1973 was the first most important Scotland goal for me, as it was the winner against then Czechoslovakia and meant we qualified for the World Cup finals held in West Germany 1974. The first time Scotland had qualified in my lifetime.

Important Hearts goals was the Four we scored against Hibs on the Eighth of September 1973. As this was the first time I had witnessed Hearts beat them in the flesh since attending my first Edinburgh Derby at Tynecastle in 1967.

I can still admire a fantastic goal, but unless it's Hearts or Scotland it has no relevance to me. This is something I've had all my Hearts and Scotland supporting life. 

2 hours ago, JimmyCant said:

I watched the game yesterday. Not something I’d normally do but I had a free house and I was at a lose end. Hearts and Scotland apart, I only really watch other football if I’ve got a bet on and even then I’d usually be paying more attention to phone updates on my lines keeping an eye on potential cash outs and freezes (Skybet)

The goal was a momentary WTF moment in a typical EPL game. I barely paid any attention to the game before or after. It was on in the background. Could have been anything that was on. English football is samey and generally boring to watch, the odd game and the odd moment apart. I got bored of it when the money became so huge and disgusting that it took away any serious competition and interest.

What a fecking goal though !! Funnily enough an almost identical goal from some Sunday Amateur league game popped up on my YouTube feed a couple of hours later.

Didnt know you had it in you James :)

2 hours ago, JimmyCant said:

Didn't know you were in the Met. 🥸

5 minutes ago, Lord Beni of Gorgie said:

Didnt know you had it in you James :)

He doesnt any more , but anyone eating the assorted nuts opposite the middle aisle in Lidl will

Edited by Sooks

1 minute ago, Sooks said:

He doesnt any more , but anyone eating the assorted nuts opposite the middle aisle in Lidl will now 

Certainly more assorted nuts than previously advertised

:sadrobbo:

15 minutes ago, John Findlay said:

No. Only Hearts goals to me have been relevant most of my life. Since say 1970. When I started to get an understanding of what football is about, I have seen many fantastic goals scored by many deemed fantastic players. However with the exception of Hearts and Scotland goals none have had a relevance to me personally.

Scotland wise Joe Jordan at Hampden in September 1973 was the first most important Scotland goal for me, as it was the winner against then Czechoslovakia and meant we qualified for the World Cup finals held in West Germany 1974. The first time Scotland had qualified in my lifetime.

Important Hearts goals was the Four we scored against Hibs on the Eighth of September 1973. As this was the first time I had witnessed Hearts beat them in the flesh since attending my first Edinburgh Derby at Tynecastle in 1967.

I can still admire a fantastic goal, but unless it's Hearts or Scotland it has no relevance to me. This is something I've had all my Hearts and Scotland supporting life. 

All down the years, I've been able to take delight out of good football, even when it wasn't relevant to me.

Holland '74, Maradona '86, the late 80s edition of AC Milan, the early years of the EPL, France 98/2000, Spain 08-12.  It was nothing personal, but it was great to see.  And a lot of others would say the same.

I catch the occasional League of Ireland game or highlights show on the box here.  They can be pretty enjoyable, though none of the teams really matter to me, and the standard isn't within a million miles of the EPL and the like. It's years since I sat and watched an EPL game on the TV, and I doubt I'll be doing it again any time soon.

I was at the Everton game yesterday, probably the beat goal ive seen live. I don't care much for everton or man united but it was far from boring.

In the early days of BSB (or whatever it was called) I'd watch anything they served up.

FA Cup, 1st round proper, Kidderminster Harriers vs. Cheshunt...literally anything.

Not now.

I gave up watching Champions League games long before ITV lost the rights. I mean, how many times can you watch Man U play Galatasaray and stay interested?

I don't have access to live EPL, Scottish Premier or Scotland games at home and I don't care. There's no way I'd watch Brighton vs. Wolves or Old Firm away games even if Sky and Viaplay came gift wrapped free for Christmas.

I've no interest in the upcoming Aberdeen/Rangers League Cup final either. It's a foregone conclusion.

Even if Aberdeen play out of their sheepskins and Rangers are abysmal they simply will not be allowed to win it. The officials will intervene.

Why would I want to be hooked up for that farce?

Football apathy isn't something that just happens. It's something that's inflicted upon you by the goons who run it.

It's an old cliche, but if it wasn't for Hearts...

4 hours ago, Jim_Duncan said:

I met Garnacho once. Seemed a nice kid, so I’m pleased for him. 

As to the OP - I’m far more impressed by the view from a Munro, the taste of a new dish, or the company of a good friend than someone kicking a football these days. Not only is football now a 7 days a week sport, but you can watch the highlights anytime you like. It’s too available. 

I agree, and think thats the biggest culprit in what @Ulysses is describing.  Wall-to-wall football video coverage of teams right across the spectrum of fame, from household names to obscure nonentities.   

Its why I now hardly watch anything that doesn't involve Hearts (apart from the odd Euros or World Cup Finals  game). 

The old saying "less is more" applies to football too, imo. 

7 minutes ago, martoon said:

In the early days of BSB (or whatever it was called) I'd watch anything they served up.

FA Cup, 1st round proper, Kidderminster Harriers vs. Cheshunt...literally anything.

Not now.

I gave up watching Champions League games long before ITV lost the rights. I mean, how many times can you watch Man U play Galatasaray and stay interested?

I don't have access to live EPL, Scottish Premier or Scotland games at home and I don't care. There's no way I'd watch Brighton vs. Wolves or Old Firm away games even if Sky and Viaplay came gift wrapped free for Christmas.

I've no interest in the upcoming Aberdeen/Rangers League Cup final either. It's a foregone conclusion.

Even if Aberdeen play out of their sheepskins and Rangers are abysmal they simply will not be allowed to win it. The officials will intervene.

Football apathy isn't something that just happens. It's something that's inflicted upon you by the goons who run it.

Excellent post.  👍

Both Garnacho and Rooney were acrobatic but slightly fortunate as the ball came off their shin. 
As for the rest, a lot of things seem mundane when you’ve seen them multiple times, fireworks for example, or the uglies winning a trophy, even their own fans barely celebrate as we do. 

1 hour ago, martoon said:

Not now.

nail on head. The authorities both in Scotland and further afield have taken football and completely killed everything which made it magic.

sold out to the highest bidder, squeezed the life out of smaller clubs and leagues and it is borderline corrupt

My 21yo told me yesterday that Man Utd had scored the best goal ever!!

Seen it this morning and thought  "yes, decent"

But as other posters have said about Hearts relevance.

Simms in SF - oo ya ****er, YAAAAS

Kingsley in SF  - Wowwwwww, What a ****ing goal.

If i had seen Ozturk's last minute equaliser at ER live, I would have literally pissed ma pants.

Wasn't at the game or on TV

11 hours ago, Ulysses said:

Bollox.

6 hours ago, Sooks said:

100% where I'm at.  And I'd go one further and say anyone who ever complains about the standard of Scottish football, or even Hearts or our national team, but watches, admires, buy merch or generally has any interest in the EPL or Champions League should be castrated.

Just now, Tommy Brown said:

My 21yo told me yesterday that Man Utd had scored the best goal ever!!

Seen it this morning and thought  "yes, decent"

But as other posters have said about Hearts relevance.

Simms in SF - oo ya ****er, YAAAAS

Kingsley in SF  - Wowwwwww, What a ****ing goal.

If i had seen Ozturk's last minute equaliser at ER live, I would have literally pissed ma pants.

Wasn't at the game or on TV

Oooooft! Now you’re talking. Moments as good as any there have been. Dancing around embracing total strangers. Proof positive that it all still means something.

5 hours ago, whodanny said:

Even worse given that the English late kick off on a Saturday is always 5:30pm.

Plenty of time for both.