jack D and coke Posted November 11, 2023 Share Posted November 11, 2023 Aye he’s an ex hibby so **** and all that but I seriously love the guy. Not only is he a proper Scotland man and Scotlands main man he’s a top player too but above all else he’s a tremendous guy. Stuff like this warms my heart. https://x.com/avfcofficial/status/1722268711707717809?s=46&t=xGI6jffHiL6HoyvJ1NzJKw Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
jack D and coke Posted November 11, 2023 Author Share Posted November 11, 2023 Robbie was gonna sign him too apparently. Missed a trick there… Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Unknown user Posted November 11, 2023 Share Posted November 11, 2023 Hey jack, you've got something on the sole of your shoe Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
HMFCBVB51 Posted November 11, 2023 Share Posted November 11, 2023 (edited) Listen mate I don't think your going to get much support here and I think 'love the guy' is a bit much but I agree, great lad, one of Scotland's most important players. I remember my daughter was at riccarton with her school and he was there with the Scotland squad, she had her Hearts top on and she asked him to sign it, he done it whilst also having a laugh and a joke with her so rivalry aside I have nothing but positive words about the lad Edited November 11, 2023 by HMFCBVB51 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
colinmorewasgash Posted November 11, 2023 Share Posted November 11, 2023 1 minute ago, jack D and coke said: Robbie was gonna sign him too apparently. Missed a trick there… Didnt phone him back so went to cabbage. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
jack D and coke Posted November 11, 2023 Author Share Posted November 11, 2023 (edited) 8 minutes ago, HMFCBVB51 said: Listen mate I don't think your going to get much support here and I think 'love the guy' is a bit much but I agree, great lad, one of Scotland's most important players. I remember my daughter was at riccarton with her school and he was there with the Scotland squad, she had her Hearts top on and she asked him to sign it, he done whilst also having a laugh and a joke with her so rivalry aside I have nothing but positive words about the lad Na he’s Scotlands main man these days I’m not ashamed to say I love the guy. He played for Hibs i couldn’t care a ****. My bird and a lot of my best pals are hibbys I don’t get bent out of shape with that sort of thing. I love beating them like you canny believe. But stuff like I’ve just watched makes me like him. He’s a great lad. Edited November 11, 2023 by jack D and coke Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
jack D and coke Posted November 11, 2023 Author Share Posted November 11, 2023 9 minutes ago, colinmorewasgash said: Didnt phone him back so went to cabbage. Apparently aye… Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
JudyJudyJudy Posted November 11, 2023 Share Posted November 11, 2023 (edited) 9 minutes ago, jack D and coke said: Na he’s Scotlands main man these days I’m not ashamed to say I love the guy. He played for Hibs i couldn’t care a ****. My bird and a lot of my best pals are hibbys I don’t get bent out of shape with that sort of thing. I love beating them like you canny believe. But stuff like I’ve just watched makes me like him. He’s a great lad. A lot of my family are Hibbies . My Neice wee one is 11 and it was his first time at Hampden last Saturday and he was all excited . I told him I hoped he would have a great time . Family before football anytime . ps Mc Ginn is a really decent guy and that’s a lovely thoughtful thing he did for his nephew 👍 Edited November 11, 2023 by JudyJudyJudy Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
jack D and coke Posted November 11, 2023 Author Share Posted November 11, 2023 2 minutes ago, JudyJudyJudy said: A lot of my family are Hibbies . My Neice wee one is 11 and it was his first time at Hampden last Saturday and he was all excited . I told him I hoped he would have a great time . Family before football anytime . ps Mc Ginn is a really decent guy and that’s a lovely thoughtful thing he did for his nephew 👍 Isn’t it? I was watching my birds wee guy playing football last week and one wee lad was wearing pretty heavy goggles and I thought at the time how that never happened in my day. he’d have got ripped to shreds…. He was a decent wee player too it made me think that maybe he couldn't play without them or something I don’t know. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
¼½¾ Posted November 11, 2023 Share Posted November 11, 2023 51 minutes ago, jack D and coke said: Robbie was gonna sign him too apparently. Missed a trick there… 🤣 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
jack D and coke Posted November 11, 2023 Author Share Posted November 11, 2023 19 minutes ago, JKB Member C said: 🤣 What’s funny? You think he’s not a player? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
1971fozzy Posted November 11, 2023 Share Posted November 11, 2023 One of the biggest Fek ups in our ever revolving recruitment. He’s a tremendous player Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scott Monument Posted November 11, 2023 Share Posted November 11, 2023 Good on him going to Aston Villa and not taking the easy route going to Celtic and collecting winners medals in an uncompetitive league Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Locky Posted November 11, 2023 Share Posted November 11, 2023 If we did in fact sign John McGinn, he’d probably be playing for Partick Thistle, no Aston Villa, by now. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
DG_HMFC Posted November 11, 2023 Share Posted November 11, 2023 Fantastic player and a very decent bloke. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
FERRY HEARTS Posted November 11, 2023 Share Posted November 11, 2023 40 minutes ago, Rick James said: If we did in fact sign John McGinn, he’d probably be playing for Partick Thistle, no Aston Villa, by now. Made me laugh Rick and probably true Wish we had a player of his calibre in middle of park for us at present Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
¼½¾ Posted November 11, 2023 Share Posted November 11, 2023 5 hours ago, jack D and coke said: What’s funny? You think he’s not a player? Nah,he's a cracking player. It was meant to be a reply to Smithee's post. Sorry, must have been the drink.🙃 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
i8hibsh Posted November 11, 2023 Share Posted November 11, 2023 Looks like the Banjo kid but he is a good ***** and I am very glad he is Scottish, as lets be frank....we don't have too much of his quality. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
i8hibsh Posted November 11, 2023 Share Posted November 11, 2023 1 hour ago, Rick James said: If we did in fact sign John McGinn, he’d probably be playing for Partick Thistle, no Aston Villa, by now. I laugh but I know it is true Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ford donald Posted November 11, 2023 Share Posted November 11, 2023 7 hours ago, jack D and coke said: Apparently aye… Fact.. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sarah O Posted November 11, 2023 Share Posted November 11, 2023 Nothing wrong with the meatball. Seems like a good egg. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
manaliveits105 Posted November 11, 2023 Share Posted November 11, 2023 1 hour ago, Rick James said: If we did in fact sign John McGinn, he’d probably be playing for Partick Thistle, no Aston Villa, by now. No he would be due back in training from another long term injury Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
i8hibsh Posted November 11, 2023 Share Posted November 11, 2023 If we had signed him we would probably have called him belting nicknames like: John Mcglynn John Mahe John Mcdud Wage thief Mcginn Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mr fox Posted November 11, 2023 Share Posted November 11, 2023 Really has developed into a top footballer. Didn't think he would tbh Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thunder and Lightning Posted November 11, 2023 Share Posted November 11, 2023 If we signed him he would have been injured for most of the time. Or played as a right back. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bull's-eye Posted November 11, 2023 Share Posted November 11, 2023 11 minutes ago, Thunder and Lightning said: If we signed him he would have been injured for most of the time. Or played as a right back. Or be heid coach lolz Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thunder and Lightning Posted November 11, 2023 Share Posted November 11, 2023 2 minutes ago, Bull's-eye said: Or be heid coach lolz Might as well, everyone else is getting a shot. 😂 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
jimbojambo Posted November 11, 2023 Share Posted November 11, 2023 Were the subtitles really required? I appreciate that in Birmingham their vernacular is on occasions undecipheral but slowed down Weegie has cut glass clarity in comparison. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
vegas-voss Posted November 11, 2023 Share Posted November 11, 2023 7 hours ago, 1971fozzy said: One of the biggest Fek ups in our ever revolving recruitment. He’s a tremendous player We don't seem to have a clue when it comes to signing midfielders.Every season despite signing midfielders it's always the same after the window we need to sign midfielders 🤣 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rudy T Posted November 11, 2023 Share Posted November 11, 2023 15 minutes ago, vegas-voss said: We don't seem to have a clue when it comes to signing midfielders.Every season despite signing midfielders it's always the same after the window we need to sign midfielders 🤣 He came from Paisley that’s just not exotic enough a location for the used car sales man to sign players from, Japan, South America and Australia are the markets he deals in. As for McGinn I can’t bring myself to like him, but fair play for the celebration and there’s no doubt he’s a cracking player, but he’ll always be Hibs in my eyes! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robbo-Jambo Posted November 11, 2023 Share Posted November 11, 2023 Great player and seems a decent guy as well. Never seen anybody use their arse as well since Kenny Dalglish. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Finlay James Posted November 11, 2023 Share Posted November 11, 2023 I used to work at Birmingham children’s hospital and the Villa team would regularly visit. Terry, Agbonlahor, Grealish etc ponsed about like they were royalty but McGinn was the opposite and a good lad. We missed the boat big time not signing him. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gundermann Posted November 11, 2023 Share Posted November 11, 2023 9 hours ago, jack D and coke said: Robbie was gonna sign him too apparently. Missed a trick there… I did hear that he would've preferred Hearts over Hibs but we weren't interested or too slow. Sad if true. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
ford donald Posted November 11, 2023 Share Posted November 11, 2023 I would agree with that,good person,seemingly stays back after villa games and signs autographs and speaks to the supporters,does it off his own back,down ro earth person,to think he could easily been a Hearts player,makes you sick. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
AlphonseCapone Posted November 11, 2023 Share Posted November 11, 2023 I'm on the McGinn is a gid ***** train too tbh. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lone Striker Posted November 11, 2023 Share Posted November 11, 2023 On the topic of injuries, has McGinn ever had a long-term injury ? Or even a spate of short-term ones ? I've never paid much attention to him until recently, but agree he's an outstanding footballer with loads of talent. Its just annoying that Hibs will earn a fortune when Villa eventually sell him. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
JudyJudyJudy Posted November 11, 2023 Share Posted November 11, 2023 9 hours ago, jack D and coke said: Isn’t it? I was watching my birds wee guy playing football last week and one wee lad was wearing pretty heavy goggles and I thought at the time how that never happened in my day. he’d have got ripped to shreds…. He was a decent wee player too it made me think that maybe he couldn't play without them or something I don’t know. 👍 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Norm Posted November 11, 2023 Share Posted November 11, 2023 He's an ugly Hibs ******* when he's shite. Other than that, he's a quality player and a good guy. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
lou Posted November 11, 2023 Share Posted November 11, 2023 9 minutes ago, Lone Striker said: On the topic of injuries, has McGinn ever had a long-term injury ? Or even a spate of short-term ones ? I've never paid much attention to him until recently, but agree he's an outstanding footballer with loads of talent. Its just annoying that Hibs will earn a fortune when Villa eventually sell him. Not sure that will happen now, will probably run his contact down in the next 3/4 years and move on to a smaller club down south or back up here to end his career with Celtic Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
jack D and coke Posted November 11, 2023 Author Share Posted November 11, 2023 3 hours ago, i8hibsh said: If we had signed him we would probably have called him belting nicknames like: John Mcglynn John Mahe John Mcdud Wage thief Mcginn facts. We’d have ruined him I’m in no doubt about that though. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nookie Bear Posted November 11, 2023 Share Posted November 11, 2023 Can’t wait for the “Frank McGarvey - Nice Guy” thread tomorrow. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spellczech Posted November 11, 2023 Share Posted November 11, 2023 10 hours ago, 1971fozzy said: One of the biggest Fek ups in our ever revolving recruitment. He’s a tremendous player There is no way JJ would have let him slip by for sure... I don't know if the story is true or just another stick to bash Neilson with, however, I do remember the times when we were always first in line to get the cream of upcoming talent in Scotland whilst the OF were looking abroad, or just buying good Scottish players to prevent other teams having them... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
sirwalter Posted November 11, 2023 Share Posted November 11, 2023 11 hours ago, jack D and coke said: Isn’t it? I was watching my birds wee guy playing football last week and one wee lad was wearing pretty heavy goggles and I thought at the time how that never happened in my day. he’d have got ripped to shreds…. He was a decent wee player too it made me think that maybe he couldn't play without them or something I don’t know. Might be the new Denis Law... Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
hmfc_liam06 Posted November 11, 2023 Share Posted November 11, 2023 11 hours ago, jack D and coke said: Isn’t it? I was watching my birds wee guy playing football last week and one wee lad was wearing pretty heavy goggles and I thought at the time how that never happened in my day. he’d have got ripped to shreds…. He was a decent wee player too it made me think that maybe he couldn't play without them or something I don’t know. Goggles are a great thing and I wish they had them when I was young. My options were don’t wear glasses or don’t play. My sight is terrible so I struggled through matches before jacking it in. Now, I was never making it, but you wonder how many genuinely talented kids were lost due to not being allowed to play with glasses on. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
rudi must stay Posted November 11, 2023 Share Posted November 11, 2023 (edited) Thank god he moved. I've never been more scared than in the 0-0 game in the cup. What a player Edited November 11, 2023 by rudi must stay Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Morgan Posted November 11, 2023 Share Posted November 11, 2023 3 hours ago, Nookie Bear said: Can’t wait for the “Frank McGarvey - Nice Guy” thread tomorrow. A step too far, Nooks. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nookie Bear Posted November 11, 2023 Share Posted November 11, 2023 4 minutes ago, Morgan said: A step too far, Nooks. Had to check, didn’t realise he had passed away this year. My mistake Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Morgan Posted November 11, 2023 Share Posted November 11, 2023 Just now, Nookie Bear said: Had to check, didn’t realise he had passed away this year. My mistake No no, I didn’t even think you’d meant anything like that. I was just having a wee joke with regard to your proposed thread title! No harm done. 👍 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nookie Bear Posted November 11, 2023 Share Posted November 11, 2023 Just now, Morgan said: No no, I didn’t even think you’d meant anything like that. I was just having a wee joke with regard to your proposed thread title! No harm done. 👍 Ah good ✌️ It’s back on then! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Morgan Posted November 11, 2023 Share Posted November 11, 2023 4 minutes ago, Nookie Bear said: Ah good ✌️ It’s back on then! For sure. Bags I get to write the first negative post! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...