Skyline restaurant

jamborich

Booked in for the first time on Friday evening, I have received an email from the restaurant showing their new November menu which doesn’t really cater much for someone who is gluten free, does anyone who has been before know if they offer alternative options outwith the menu for gluten free customers 

I’ve been a couple of times with my wife who is coeliac. The staff were knowledgeable and able to adapt where possible. We alerted them in advance and you may wish to consider this.

I’d  be interested to hear how you get on as we are booked for a Christmas meal in December. 

1 hour ago, jamborich said:

Booked in for the first time on Friday evening, I have received an email from the restaurant showing their new November menu which doesn’t really cater much for someone who is gluten free, does anyone who has been before know if they offer alternative options outwith the menu for gluten free customers 

I'm coeliac and have been a couple of times. They've got good awareness and will happily tell you what they can do for you.

Last time I was there a month or so ago I never ate an oatcakey thing that came with my pate. I was a bit pissed off that after explaining to them they still put it on the plate. Turned out it was a gluten free oatcakey thing! 

Pretty sure they could do the burger (not the chicken one) with a GF bun and most other dishes were either fine or just needed a wee tweak. 

Edited by Sooperstar

4 minutes ago, Sooperstar said:

I'm coeliac and have been a couple of times. They've got good awareness and will happily tell you what they can do for you.

Last time I was there a month or so ago I never ate an oatcakey thing that came with my pate. I was a bit pissed off that after explaining to them they still put it on the plate. Turned out it was a gluten free oatcakey thing! 

Pretty sure they could do the burger (not the chicken one) with a GF bun and most other dishes were either fine or just needed a wee tweak. 

Actually, it was the salmon I had for the starter and it came with this extra thing which wasn't on the menu. I had specifically chosen the salmon cos it didn't have any allergens then assumed this extra wee thing was gluten containing, but it wasn't. 

I had the cheese for dessert and that came with GF oatcakes. 

On 01/11/2023 at 14:48, Rab Mac52 said:

I’ve been a couple of times with my wife who is coeliac. The staff were knowledgeable and able to adapt where possible. We alerted them in advance and you may wish to consider this.

I’d  be interested to hear how you get on as we are booked for a Christmas meal in December. 

Have to say the experience was very good food excellent however a little bit disappointed with the gluten free issue only one starter and one main was available and both were fish don’t want to be to critical but it’s something they need to look at

5 hours ago, jamborich said:

Have to say the experience was very good food excellent however a little bit disappointed with the gluten free issue only one starter and one main was available and both were fish don’t want to be to critical but it’s something they need to look at

I'm surprised by that. Did you go solely off the allergens noted on the menu or did you ask them what they could do? Always been additional options with minor amendments to dishes when I have asked. 

Ministryofdad

Chefs can cater to all dietary requirements. We always consider allergens due to natasha's law. 

The less allergenic components in a dish equates to being able to cater for all. 

Examples would be eliminating gluten in deserts. 

The addition of gluten free bread as an option when requested. 

Careful consideration is taken when designing a menu. 

It's a legal requirement to list all allergic information on every dish now. 

14 hours ago, Sooperstar said:

I'm surprised by that. Did you go solely off the allergens noted on the menu or did you ask them what they could do? Always been additional options with minor amendments to dishes when I have asked. 

Phoned day before was asked to leave a message which I did they never got back did mention it at the start of the meal but there wasn’t much change on offer as I say don’t want to be critical because what we did have was excellent 

• 2 months later...

From Sunday will be open 7 days a week for Breakfast Lunch and Dinner

2 hours ago, hughesie27 said:

From Sunday will be open 7 days a week for Breakfast Lunch and Dinner

Is it breakfast in bed 

18 minutes ago, FWJ said:

Is it open to non-residents for breakfast?

Flat’s only 10 mins away.  Could nip along for a fry-up

Almost certainly I'd imagine.

Trying this tonight . Looking forward to it 

11 minutes ago, JudyJudyJudy said:

Trying this tonight . Looking forward to it 

You won’t be disappointed, my last visit to start with I had Parma ham and artichoke salad followed by fillet of sea bass…….excellent 👍

18 minutes ago, highlandjambo3 said:

You won’t be disappointed, my last visit to start with I had Parma ham and artichoke salad followed by fillet of sea bass…….excellent 👍

Oooooooo that’s got my salivating .

( not a pretty site ) 😂

1 hour ago, JudyJudyJudy said:

Oooooooo that’s got my salivating .

( not a pretty site ) 😂

Mind and take pics of your food like a knob. 

I want to see if it's worth going. 

17 hours ago, Greedy Jambo said:

Mind and take pics of your food like a knob. 

I want to see if it's worth going. 

Here’s the pics ! I like food porn 

Starter was 

Chicken and black pudding terrine 

Main

fresh haddock in beer batter 

Dessert 

Apple , pear and hazelnut tart 

it was all delicious . Not  just saying that cause it’s a Jambo plaice ( get it ?) 

service was excellent . Not much of a skyline view though as weather was shit and most of the curtains were closed ! I assume they are opened in spring/ summer 

plus you get 10% off if season ticket holder 

IMG_7681.jpeg

IMG_7682.jpeg

IMG_7683.jpeg

One five
9 minutes ago, JudyJudyJudy said:

Starter was 

Main

Dessert 

it was all delicious . Not  just saying that cause it’s a Jambo plaice ( get it ?) 

service was excellent . Not much of a skyline view though as weather was shit and most of the curtains were closed ! I assume they are opened in spring/ summer 

IMG_7681.jpeg

IMG_7682.jpeg

IMG_7683.jpeg

Looks delicious, I’m there on Saturday night and a night in the hotel looking forward to it 👍

9 minutes ago, One five said:

Looks delicious, I’m there on Saturday night and a night in the hotel looking forward to it 👍

I’m sure u will enjoy . We did . Have a nice weekend 

Always think serving battered fish on top of the chips is shite, chips just end up steamed/soggy.

Going by the photo there's plenty room for improvement with that particular dish!

Jim_Duncan

Starter was 

Main

Dessert 

IMG_7681.jpeg

IMG_7682.jpeg

IMG_7683.jpeg

Someone accidentally spilled ketchup on your fish. I hope they brought you a new one.

The only criticism I would have is the fish has a fair bit of salt on top of it . Same with chips . I think it should up to the diner to decide this . It’s too much over seasoning . Too much salt is not good for you . It wasn’t that big a deal i just scraped it off . I’ve noticed this is a feature in quite a few restaurants . 

4 minutes ago, Jim_Duncan said:

Someone accidentally spilled ketchup on your fish. I hope they brought you a new one.

Oddly enough I never really eat ketchup at all or any sauces . Too much gunk / unhealthy shit in them but I just took a daft turn and decided what the heck . The fish didn’t need it . 

2 hours ago, JudyJudyJudy said:

Starter was 

Main

Dessert 

IMG_7681.jpeg

IMG_7682.jpeg

IMG_7683.jpeg

Looks good.  I do like fish and chips but I’ve got a couple of favourite places which have never disappointed so I tend to only order from there, not suggesting the skyline fish and chips are not good, I just prefer to try the other items.  My two favourite fish and chip places are at the Jacobite cruise centre based at Dochgarroch lock just outside inverness on the way to lochness and the seafood shack at Ullapool with a haddock wrap (see picture) no chips though…..the haddock went all the way to the bottom of that wrapper.

IMG_0093.jpeg

9 minutes ago, highlandjambo3 said:

Looks good.  I do like fish and chips but I’ve got a couple of favourite places which have never disappointed so I tend to only order from there, not suggesting the skyline fish and chips are not good, I just prefer to try the other items.  My two favourite fish and chip places are at the Jacobite cruise centre based at Dochgarroch lock just outside inverness on the way to lochness and the seafood shack at Ullapool with a haddock wrap (see picture) no chips though…..the haddock went all the way to the bottom of that wrapper.

IMG_0093.jpeg

Yes can understand that . I would have had all the main dishes to be honest but that might have been a tad greedy 😂 I’ll go through the menu bit by bit 😎that fish looks superb 

Jim_Duncan
33 minutes ago, JudyJudyJudy said:

Oddly enough I never really eat ketchup at all or any sauces . Too much gunk / unhealthy shit in them but I just took a daft turn and decided what the heck . The fish didn’t need it . 

It's 2024. You can be openly-ketchup. It's cool. Don't hide it.

Starter was 

Main

Dessert 

IMG_7681.jpeg

IMG_7682.jpeg

IMG_7683.jpeg

Cheers 👍

The fish does look huge.

1 hour ago, Jim_Duncan said:

I’m pretty sure that Jude has had far worse than just ketchup spilled on his fish.

Jim_Duncan
1 minute ago, Morgan said:

I’m pretty sure that Jude has had far worse than just ketchup spilled on his fish.

Daddie's sauce?

One five

I’m sure u will enjoy . We did . Have a nice weekend 

Cheers 👍

11 minutes ago, Jim_Duncan said:

Daddie's sauce?

You’re leading me someplace that I don’t want to visit.

25 minutes ago, Morgan said:

23 minutes ago, Jim_Duncan said:

Daddie's sauce?

IMG_2983.jpeg

IMG_3083.gif

39 minutes ago, Greedy Jambo said:

Cheers 👍

The fish does look huge.

It was a good portion 

Jim_Duncan
20 minutes ago, Morgan said:

You’re leading me someplace that I don’t want to visit.

Look, Morgan. Just type 'a few squirts of salad cream' and we can both move on.

It was a good portion 

The bigger the better, Jude.  :thumb:

1 hour ago, Jim_Duncan said:

Look, Morgan. Just type 'a few squirts of salad cream' and we can both move on.

Heinz Salad Cream on top of ones' fish is actually pretty good.

The squirting sounds jolly good fun too, like.  :biggrin:

Jim_Duncan
13 minutes ago, Morgan said:

Heinz Salad Cream on top of ones' fish is actually pretty good.

The squirting sounds jolly good fun too, like.  :biggrin:

🤨

PaddysBar

Been twice. Excellent both times. 

I particularly liked the sage advice I received from the master Sommelier when I asked if the rose wine was dry. 

‘Naw son, it’s wet’ she cackled😂

Jim_Duncan
1 minute ago, PaddysBar said:

Been twice. Excellent both times. 

I particularly liked the sage advice I received from the master Sommelier when I asked if the rose wine was dry. 

‘Naw son, it’s wet’ she cackled😂

Have also been twice. Both times were good, but wouldn’t go as daft as excellent. Service patchy. Food good. 

PaddysBar
Just now, Jim_Duncan said:

Have also been twice. Both times were good, but wouldn’t go as daft as excellent. Service patchy. Food good. 

That’s up to you and your personal experience Jimbo. 

Service and food were excellent both times I’ve been 👍

Jim_Duncan
25 minutes ago, PaddysBar said:

That’s up to you and your personal experience Jimbo. 

Service and food were excellent both times I’ve been 👍

Meant to type 'far', not 'daft'!

Would happily go again, mind, if only to funnel funds towards Shanks. In fact, all tips should go towards his new contract.

Actually me and my friend noticed it was old folks eating !!  ( like over 50s) 😂😂 a young couple came in with a toddler though . We were the only two men sitting together . Oh and there was quite a pissed woman who spilled her drink over her table . Oh the drama 

PaddysBar
55 minutes ago, Jim_Duncan said:

Meant to type 'far', not 'daft'!

Would happily go again, mind, if only to funnel funds towards Shanks. In fact, all tips should go towards his new contract.

👍 Giving money to Hearts is very rewarding. 

henrysmithsgloves

Looks good 😋😎

Bet your glad Joel Pereira wasn't your waiter 😂

13 hours ago, JudyJudyJudy said:

😂😂Oh the drama queen 🤣

1 hour ago, John Findlay said:

😂😂 Ken how dare she take the spotlight from me ! I was on my near behaviour . Only had one pint of morretti 

I’ve been 3 times now, the first time after our meal, the floor manager took our group (me my daughter her partner and both my grandkids) down through the main stand, through the changing rooms, down through the tunnel and out onto the park, then a sit down in the dugout on the managers chair…..nice touch, I’ve got some great pics.

henrysmithsgloves
17 hours ago, JudyJudyJudy said:

Actually me and my friend noticed it was old folks eating !!  ( like over 50s) 😂😂 a young couple came in with a toddler though . We were the only two men sitting together . Oh and there was quite a pissed woman who spilled her drink over her table . Oh the drama 

Mammy budge?