***France v Scotland - Official Match Thread***

Mr Sifter

Just checked and there doesn’t seem to be a thread for tonight yet, so here it is. 

Ken it’s just a friendly but I’d still prefer to see us avoid a heavy defeat tonight. Read somewhere yesterday that there could be up to six changes from the team that took to the field last week in Seville. A start for Zander perhaps? 

• Replies 202

• Luckies1874

• iantjambo

• coatbridgejambo

Scotland have played France 16 times before.

France have won 8.

Scotland have won 8 (not bad for a wee diddy team).

Zero draws.

Tonight is the decider!

I would think Lewis Ferguson should definitely get an opportunity. 

Patterson will be in for Hickey and I suspect Souttar, Gilmour and Armstrong will come into the team.

Possible they change the keepers though Gunn is clearly superior to both Clark and Kelly so really it's a reward for being in the squad rather than on merit. Gordon will presumably be targeting being the back up asap. 

Edited by Luckies1874

9 minutes ago, Luckies1874 said:

I would think Lewis Ferguson should definitely get an opportunity. 

Patterson will be in for Hickey and I suspect Souttar, Gilmour and Armstrong will come into the team.

Possible they change the keepers though Gunn is clearly superior to both Clark and Kelly so really it's a reward for being in the squad rather than on merit. Gordon will presumably be targeting being the back up asap. 

It's maybe Taylor and Patterson at WB I guess. Bit of a downgrade, especially on the left.

1 hour ago, iantjambo said:

Max Johnston, son of Allan ‘Magic’ Johnston, has joined the squad for his first cap. 

Hadn't realised he was Magic's laddie until I read that on the BBC article about his call-up.  Wee interest in the boy now!

15 minutes ago, Footballfirst said:

The U21 game v Malta is being shown live on Youtube just now.

Scotland 1-0 up 

Alex Lowry penalty

11 minutes ago, liam11 said:

Scotland 1-0 up 

Alex Lowry penalty

Soft penalty. But very composed by Lowry after bit of delay. Put keeper wrong way. 

4 minutes ago, Sooperstar said:

Strange one. Seems a total waste of time and a pumping on the cards. 

Just a reminder. UEFA have forced any team not playing a qualifier to play a friendly.

Scotland have to play a game this week.

Fitzroy Pointon
53 minutes ago, AppleTarts said:

Reserves out, Clark on at HT would be nice for him.

Clarke confirm that's happening. 

56 minutes ago, Mikey1874 said:

Just a reminder. UEFA have forced any team not playing a qualifier to play a friendly.

Scotland have to play a game this week.

What's he trying to preserve though? Why not play against a lesser team if he wants to use it to try players out. Not going to learn much playing a second string against a full strength France. 

Andrew Gilbert Wauchope
3 minutes ago, Sooperstar said:

What's he trying to preserve though? Why not play against a lesser team if he wants to use it to try players out. Not going to learn much playing a second string against a full strength France. 

Steve Clarke, in an interview "We'll learn a lot tonight...".

The atmosphere at Wembley is embarrassing. 

Italy winning is not actually great for our chances of finishing best runner up as would bring them into the mix with Austria but that said I still cheered the goal. Anything to get it up these ****ers! 

5 minutes ago, coatbridgejambo said:

Extra security for tonight's game.

Would imagine this is the reason 

Yep read they doubled it after last nights nightmare in Brussels. Think it's only about 100km from Lille and there are obvious concerns in France right now.  

Edited by Luckies1874

Anyone having issues with Fawanews? Was fine on my phone and tablet until last Thursday, then started lagging badly after the disallowed goal and tonight it's sticking at the anthems, just not moving forward from that

Just now, Macros said:

Anyone having issues with Fawanews? Was fine on my phone and tablet until last Thursday, then started lagging badly after the disallowed goal and tonight it's sticking at the anthems, just not moving forward from that

Need to refresh every now and again and then it's fine for a bit again. 

7 minutes ago, Sooperstar said:

Kevin Thomson on co-comms. Great. Monotone sentences of no more than 5 words for 90 minutes. 

Seems to have amended his voice for commentary. Horrendous. 

1 minute ago, iantjambo said:

England penalty

1-1

Dion Dublin:

"Harry Kane keeps getting into these goalscoring positions".

It was a penalty, ffs. 🤪

coatbridgejambo

Clark really has put some squad together.. 2nd string tonight and you wouldn’t no it.  So far