'Miss. Hearts' Gloria Donaldson from the 1974 Centenary Year Celebrations

AndyNic

A woman from my work was clearing out a family members house and stumbled across some old newspaper clippings and photos from the clubs 1974 Centenary Year celebrations. Hearts held a celebration rally at the Usher Hall where they crowned a 'Miss. Hearts'. Does anyone on here recall this? 

20240259__08878.jpg

1 minute ago, AndyNic said:

20240262__62548.jpg

Ken Buchanan in that last photo.

I vaguely recall this. Wasn't at the event though.

26 minutes ago, Spellczech said:

When relatives find your vvank bank stash... and it ends up on the internet.

You'd think you were safe from 50 years ago too! :D 

1 hour ago, AndyNic said:

A woman from my work was clearing out a family members house and stumbled across some old newspaper clippings and photos from the clubs 1974 Centenary Year celebrations. Hearts held a celebration rally at the Usher Hall where they crowned a 'Miss. Hearts'. Does anyone on here recall this? 

20240259__08878.jpg

I recall it, I was there. 

Was at Hampden round about then for a Scotland match and part of the pre match entertainment was Miss Scotland with a girl representing each club. Miss Hearts won much to the delight of me and my friends. I presume it's the same young lady.

3 minutes ago, Lord Beni of Gorgie said:

Amazing how times change, the row that would kick off over such a thing now

Exactly🤣

Although Eva would stroll it anyway.

41 minutes ago, davemclaren said:

Gloria? 😳

Eh, naw. But I did get my photo taken with her, my wee sister and Donald Ford. 

Edited by Paris 84

WorldChampions1902
22 minutes ago, jbee647 said:

Gloria will probably be in her 70s now 

72 years old it would seem. From Kirkliston. The Rally venue was the Usher Hall.

FullSizeRender.jpeg

PhoenixHearts
1 hour ago, Lord Beni of Gorgie said:

Amazing how times change, the row that would kick off over such a thing now

Beauty pageants are still very much a thing. Miss World is still a thing, as are thousands of spin-offs. There's no "row" or controversy. Nobody cares.

3 hours ago, scott herbertson said:

Ken Buchanan in that last photo.

I vaguely recall this. Wasn't at the event though.

I always thought Ken was a Hobbo, what with him being a Leither.

4 minutes ago, JudyJudyJudy said:

This would probably be miss hearts today , times have changed 

😎

IMG_5468.webp

Absolutely would. They all look the same from the back mate...

1 hour ago, WorldChampions1902 said:

72 years old it would seem. From Kirkliston. The Rally venue was the Usher Hall.

FullSizeRender.jpeg

Brilliant. How was the head tennis @Paris 84? Can you remember or were you reeking? 

30 minutes ago, PhoenixHearts said:

Beauty pageants are still very much a thing. Miss World is still a thing, as are thousands of spin-offs. There's no "row" or controversy. Nobody cares.

I've never been invited to "compete" :kirklol:

7 minutes ago, AndyNic said:

Absolutely would. They all look the same from the back mate...

4 minutes ago, Jim Panzee said:

image.jpeg.21f684ee7371e6c007129c2103b3911c.jpeg

image-23-10-21-07-07-8.jpeg

12 minutes ago, AndyNic said:

Brilliant. How was the head tennis @Paris 84? Can you remember or were you reeking? 

Yes it would be good to hear about the night.  Probably was a great night actually. Despite the embarrassing beauty contest? What was that about ? 

WorldChampions1902
29 minutes ago, JudyJudyJudy said:

Yes it would be good to hear about the night.  Probably was a great night actually. Despite the embarrassing beauty contest? What was that about ? 

The remainder of that’s night programme. Looked as dull as dishwater TBH, but probably a whole lot better than the dirge that was on the gogglebox. Simpler times.

FullSizeRender.jpeg

IMG_2023-08-24-154848.jpeg

50 minutes ago, AndyNic said:

To be honest the only thing I can remember was singing the Hearts song at the end. 

9 minutes ago, WorldChampions1902 said:

The remainder of that’s night programme. Looked as dull as dishwater TBH, but probably a whole lot better than the dirge that was on the gogglebox. Simpler times.

FullSizeRender.jpeg

IMG_2023-08-24-154848.jpeg

I liked Johnnie Beattie. He seemed a decent guy. I note that Iris Williams sang too. She became a well kent face on tv  as well. But as you rightly say it was probably a greater night that watching the dirge we have now on tv. 

I was at that. Don't remember much about the 'entertainment' but do remember a very enthusiastic rendition of Hurrah, Hurrah When we go Marching through Gorgie, from the stage, with the words being substituted to the usual terracing version by the audience. 

1 hour ago, JudyJudyJudy said:

I liked Johnnie Beattie. He seemed a decent guy. I note that Iris Williams sang too. She became a well kent face on tv  as well. But as you rightly say it was probably a greater night that watching the dirge we have now on tv. 

I grew up getting taken to see Johnny Beattie.

I'm sure I remember Stu Williams too.

1 minute ago, Hmfc1965 said:

I grew up getting taken to see Johnny Beattie.

I'm sure I remember Stu Williams too.

Aye recognise his face too . Johnny Beattie was brilliant . Very talented man . Him Stanley Baxter and Riki Fulton 

2 hours ago, JudyJudyJudy said:

before my time, 

Edited by Harry Potter

13 minutes ago, JudyJudyJudy said:

Aye recognise his face too . Johnny Beattie was brilliant . Very talented man . Him Stanley Baxter and Riki Fulton 

It'd be interesting to hear him now though.

Not all that stuff ages well.

14 minutes ago, Harry Potter said:

before my time, 

Aye right ! 😂

6 minutes ago, Hmfc1965 said:

It'd be interesting to hear him now though.

Not all that stuff ages well.

Yea it was a different time