Travel money card

Stewie Griffin

Stewie Griffin

Looking for a bit of advice on which is the best pre paid travel card to use. In previous years we’ve always just taken euros for spending on holiday however last year I noticed a lot of places were happy to accept card payment. So this year I’m planning on taking some cash but want to take the rest on a pre paid card but don’t know which one is best. 

magic roundabout

Maybe look at wise they have an excellent exchange rate. Card accepted everywhere etc 

I use them to transfer money abroad and never had an issue

https://wise.com/

5 minutes ago, magic roundabout said:

Maybe look at wise they have an excellent exchange rate. Card accepted everywhere etc 

I use them to transfer money abroad and never had an issue

https://wise.com/

I was going to post exactly the above.  I've been using Wise for about 4 years now, and I'd recommend it.  Excellent exchange rate, very quick and seamless transfers of money from my bank account into Wise, instant conversions from one currency to another, and a contactless card that's accepted everywhere.  Also useful for multiple currencies, not just GBP and EUR.

We use a Virgin Money credit abroad now, take very little cash. No transaction fees plus the exchange has always worked out very good when paying in local currency. 

I use Revolut. Not sure if they still do it, but if you refer a friend and they sign up you get £30 (maybe £40 now?).

periodictabledancer

What happens to the unused funds - I used one , once. The cost of cashing in unused dollars was extortion. I just use my Chase debit card now - there's no fees for foreign transactions. 

hughesie27

Revolut too. On the app it shows you which ATM machines will work for withdrawing cash.

Important thing to remember when using card abroad is they will ask you if you want to pay in local currency or £. Always choose the local currency.

Edited by hughesie27

Footballfirst