Ratings v Celtic.

No one seems to have bothered so I will

Clark              6.................                         a bit unlucky with the bounce at the first goal

Hill                   8 .................                          Easily his best performance for us

Sibbick             7 .....................                      Solid performance  

Cochrane        7 ......................                    cheating *******s

Devlin              8  .....................                     best game since  the World cup.

Haring             7.........................                    we've missed him badly

Oda                 5..........................                  so inconsistent

Shanks            8............................               worked his socks off but difficult for him after the sending off

MacKay          7............................                see Shankland.

Ginnelly          7..................................          see Shankland.

Kingsley and Kio     6..............................    and uphill battle for both of them playing 10 v 11 but both did well

Over all   played well  and more than matched Celtic in the first half, but we didn't get the breaks, Undoubtedly the sending- off ruined our chances and the game.

Think maybe a bit high for Devlin as his passing wasn’t great and a bit harsh on Oda who was having a good game before the tactical substitution.

Clark 6 , little to do fir a large part of the game

Hill 8 very good

Sibbick 7 solid 

Rowles 7 good

Cochrane 6 doing ok but was caught out for that ridiculous gollum red .

Devlin 6 mixed bag 

Harring 7 decent 

Oda 7 he worried them but needs to improve his decision making

Mackay 6 OK 

Shanks 7 worked hard 

Ginnely 7 as Shanks. 

Subs Kingsley 6 a bit more like Kingsley should be , kio 5 did well.

AC Mallin_51

Clark 6

Hill 8

Sibbick 7

Rowels 7 

Cochrane 6

Haring 7

Devlin 7 ( would’ve been 9 if he could pass)

McKay 7

Oda 6

Shankland 8

Ginnelly 7

Kingsley 6

Kio 5

Grant 3 ( not much time)

Humphreys 3 (not much time)

9 minutes ago, Nobreath said:

Really unfair on Oda, I thought he was very good today. 

He was.

Clark 6 - Thought he could have done a bit better at their 1st. 

Hill 9 motm - Had Maeda then Jota in his back pocket.

Sibbick 7 solid

Rowles 7 Would've been an 8 but lost his man for their 2nd

Cochrane 7 out of 10 until he was cheated off the park. 

Oda 7 Worked his socks off, needs to make better decisions but his pace & movement was a threat. 

Haring 8 Class

Devlin 7 Would've been 8 if he could pass a ball. 

McKay 7 some good moments early on, some not so good but put in a shift.

Shanks 7 Worked hard

Gino 6 Never fell for him today 

Kingsley 6 was solid 

Kio 5 

Humps N/A

Oda was brilliant the day, especially first half.

Clark is a wee bit suspect.

Devlin is not a good footballer.

Toby and Haring were their usual standard - very good.

McKay was a wee bit like his old self.

Hill?  Very good.

Clark - 6 - I thought he was poor at their first. I will rant again about the stupid rules that allow someone to be "offside" in a forward pass that doesn't go to them and gives them a clear advantage when they are set up to finish as that happened twice. That said, Clark could have saved the first IMO

Hill - 8 - MoM. Ironic that he sort of contributed to the Cochrane incident because he put Maeda in his back pocket and forced a switch of wings.

Cochrane - 7 - Justice would see that red card cheating overturned, but it won't be

Sibbick - 6 - Solid performance

Haring - 7 - He had an excellent first half and showed how we pressed the game, constantly shadowing McGregor and forcing mistakes. The rejig with 10 men made him less effective

Rowles - 7 - Unlucky with the volley and defended well

Oda - 7 - Sad to see him sacrificed as he has been a breath of fresh air. Should have done better with his first touch at the cut back which fell to him in the box though

Devlin - 6 - Got stuck in brilliantly then passed it like Brian Hamilton

Shankland - 6 - Worked hard as ever but his effectiveness was minimal with 10 men

Ginnelly - 7 - Was a constant threat to them with his pace

McKay - 6 - Started well but faded when we went 4-4-1

Subs:

Kingsley - 6 - Couple of decent clearances in a sold second half

Kiomourtzoglou - 3 - Decent shift

Humphrys - 1 - Not sure he touched the ball

Grant - 2 - More touches than Humphrys

7 minutes ago, Morgan said:

Hill?  Very good.

Oda defo showing potential but his final product today was very poor. Still young and learning so will 100% improve on that and when he does he could be an excellent player for us. 

3 minutes ago, Russ1977 said:

Oda defo showing potential but his final product today was very poor. Still young and learning so will 100% improve on that and when he does he could be an excellent player for us. 

Good summarisation, Russ.  👍

soonbe110
1 hour ago, upgotheheads said:

Clark              6.................                         a bit unlucky with the bounce at the first goal

Hill                   8 .................                          Easily his best performance for us

Sibbick             7 .....................                      Solid performance  

Devlin              8  .....................                     best game since  the World cup.

Haring             7.........................                    we've missed him badly

Oda                 5..........................                  so inconsistent

Shanks            8............................               worked his socks off but difficult for him after the sending off

Kingsley and Kio     6..............................    and uphill battle for both of them playing 10 v 11 but both did well

Over all   played well  and more than matched Celtic in the first half, but we didn't get the breaks, Undoubtedly the sending- off ruined our chances and the game.

Devlins inability to find a team mate with a pass cost us again at first goal.  No more than 5/10 for me. Needs to be upgraded by August. 

soonbe110
1 hour ago, upgotheheads said:

Oda was our biggest threat today before being subbed. Been a breath of fresh air last two games. 7/10 minimum for me. 

Clark 7 - Really did nothing wrong

Hill 8 - top performance

Sibbick 8 - still underrated, quick, read the game well

Rowles 7 - Ok, but occasionally seems to lose a bit concentration

Cochrane 7 - was having a smashing game till the appalling VAR intervention

Devlin 7 - Great tackling, won a lot of good balls, but distribution was not up to scratch

Haring 7 - Good for 90 mins despite having to cover more in the 2nd half when we were down to 10.

Oda 7 - Shame, the red card causing him to be subbed, he could have really been on a game.

Mackay 5 - Great for 15 mins, then man doon!

Shankland 8 - His work rate was pphenomenal, played like a leader and was all over the place.

Ginnely 7 Was doing well but service dried up 2nd half.

Subs - Kingsley 5 - Does not the the responsibility he should,

Kio - 5 , did ok in difficult circumstances.

Grant and Humpreys, never really contributed very much.

Management Team - 10. Really got most players getting their work rate up. Good High press in first half.

soonbe110
26 minutes ago, Cruyff said:

Clark 6 - Thought he could have done a bit better at their 1st. 

Hill 9 motm - Had Maeda then Jota in his back pocket.

Sibbick 7 solid

Rowles 7 Would've been an 8 but lost his man for their 2nd

Cochrane 7 out of 10 until he was cheated off the park. 

Oda 7 Worked his socks off, needs to make better decisions but his pace & movement was a threat. 

Haring 8 Class

Devlin 7 Would've been 8 if he could pass a ball. 

McKay 7 some good moments early on, some not so good but put in a shift.

Shanks 7 Worked hard

Gino 6 Never fell for him today 

Kingsley 6 was solid 

Kio 5 

Humps N/A

Rowles and Cochrane both ball watching at their first.  5/10 max for both 

Scott Leitch
52 minutes ago, ToadKiller Dog said:

Clark 6 , little to do fir a large part of the game

Hill 8 very good

Sibbick 7 solid 

Rowles 7 good

Cochrane 6 doing ok but was caught out for that ridiculous gollum red .

Devlin 6 mixed bag 

Harring 7 decent 

Oda 7 he worried them but needs to improve his decision making

Mackay 6 OK 

Shanks 7 worked hard 

Ginnely 7 as Shanks. 

Subs Kingsley 6 a bit more like Kingsley should be , kio 5 did well.

6 for McKay and a 7 for Oda. Behave. Apart from Oda only playing 40 mins. McKay was decent today. Looked dangerous but had to defend more after we went down to 10.

Scott Leitch
9 minutes ago, soonbe110 said:

Devlins inability to find a team mate with a pass cost us again at first goal.  No more than 5/10 for me. Needs to be upgraded by August. 

Yip. I noticed that with Devlin as well. He is a decent enough player but I'm sure we can do better. No composure.

Uncle Buck
7 minutes ago, soonbe110 said:

It wouldn’t have been Cochrane. He’d been sent off.

6 minutes ago, Uncle Buck said:

It wouldn’t have been Cochrane. He’d been sent off.

14 minutes ago, soonbe110 said:

Cochrane wasn't even on the park. :lol: Secondly, Rowles was excellent, let's take 3 or 4 marks off players for making two mistakes in 90 minutes against top opposition, aye? 

34 minutes ago, Morgan said:

Hill?  Very good.

Devlin certainly doesn't lack effort and is very industrious. His passing is weak and it really should be an area he's developed if he is to aspire to a move. Hard to imagine him play for a bigger club than us. 

As for Haring, very unlucky with a succession of injuries and often written off by sections of the support. Yet he remains one if our best midfield options. Brings much needed composure to the team, especially in beside Devlin. 

Mr Rabbit

Hill and Shankland were our best players today. Also think the op’s rating for Oda is harsh. He started out great, even think he was our best player for the first 20 minutes, however definitely fizzled out a bit.

Also the rating for Devlin was far too high IMO. His passing today was terrible which is a shame as he broke up play really well. Plus his misplaced pass led to the first goal.

viva hate
2 hours ago, upgotheheads said:

Devlin wasn't good and was especially awful in the second half. 3

Agree with the rest. 

Kennyfragg13
54 minutes ago, soonbe110 said:

All he has to do is find a simple pass, he is not a playmaker really he is a cdm which he does brilliantly ,one off best in lge in my opinion , put a beni in beside him to supply forwards will take the pressure of him to do what he is good at .

1 hour ago, soonbe110 said:

Not a difficult pass to find Kingsley. Just not seeing any improvement in Devlin on the ball. 

Every single player done the fans proud today. Got these mucky ************** out the road. Our final games start now.

IF we can play with that intensity at St Liedown, we won’t have much to worry about there. 

Massive run coming up for us, even more so now!

I think Clark has to get off his line a bit quicker. 
Toby needs to stay with runners. 
Cammy needs to work on his passing. 
They all played well though and we were extremely unlucky not to get something out of the game. 
Nobody likes losing to them but theres a way to play against them and we tried that today. 

2 hours ago, Morgan said:

Hill?  Very good.

Yes Oda very quiet second half 😂

I can't really be bothered with individual ratings but some general observations: 

Oda needs to be selfish. He's got the raw talent to cause teams problems, but he seems too aware of the managers instructions (as ridiculous as that sounds) he's slowing down to find Shankland instead of driving on and letting Shankland find him. Oda has the pace and trickery on the ball to drive at defenders and MAKE them make a decision. With his pace he will cause them to make the wrong decision and draw fouls, bookings and even reds. Do it more and just ****ing go for it. I was initially worried he might be another Amankwaa type, but he's got real quality, he just needs to become greedier on the ball and look to see how HE can influence games, rather than looking to set up Shanks, or Gino. Really excited about what he can do against Aberdeen, St Mirren and Hibs as think we'll see him begin to make his mark soon. I thought Jimmy Sandison had some great advice for him, after doing the skillful technically difficult thing, do something simple after. Be that a pass or whatever. 

Kio looked much better, and Haring is clearly essential to our team. Devlins passing was awful, although he remains without equal at winning the ball back. I really hope Devlin signs an extension this summer and we can look at trying to coach passing into him. McKay wasn't great, but I felt like he was more involved than in other games against the OF, my problem with him under Neilson was that he appeared to coast games, but he worked extremely hard and its a damned shame Collum denied us 10 men, because we were matching them otherwise. 

Hill was very good, defensively sound, but against St Mirren etc. he's going to be expected to attack and contribute more in that sense. Can he do that?

3 hours ago, upgotheheads said:

Devlin 8 🤣🤦🏼

Don't think Oda was great, but apart from giving the ball away, way more often than not, he was indeed very good

Still would have brought Humps on for him after we started flagging a little around 25 minutes in

3 hours ago, OTT said:

I can't really be bothered with individual ratings but some general observations: 

Oda needs to be selfish. He's got the raw talent to cause teams problems, but he seems too aware of the managers instructions (as ridiculous as that sounds) he's slowing down to find Shankland instead of driving on and letting Shankland find him. Oda has the pace and trickery on the ball to drive at defenders and MAKE them make a decision. With his pace he will cause them to make the wrong decision and draw fouls, bookings and even reds. Do it more and just ****ing go for it. I was initially worried he might be another Amankwaa type, but he's got real quality, he just needs to become greedier on the ball and look to see how HE can influence games, rather than looking to set up Shanks, or Gino. Really excited about what he can do against Aberdeen, St Mirren and Hibs as think we'll see him begin to make his mark soon. I thought Jimmy Sandison had some great advice for him, after doing the skillful technically difficult thing, do something simple after. Be that a pass or whatever. 

Kio looked much better, and Haring is clearly essential to our team. Devlins passing was awful, although he remains without equal at winning the ball back. I really hope Devlin signs an extension this summer and we can look at trying to coach passing into him. McKay wasn't great, but I felt like he was more involved than in other games against the OF, my problem with him under Neilson was that he appeared to coast games, but he worked extremely hard and its a damned shame Collum denied us 10 men, because we were matching them otherwise. 

Hill was very good, defensively sound, but against St Mirren etc. he's going to be expected to attack and contribute more in that sense. Can he do that?

Devlin just needs to learn to keep it simple, Win the ball back play the simple pass. If he does that he will be a very good player for us. 

davie1980

Devlin is going to be a tough one for Naismith. Off the ball he is precisely what Naismith will be calling for with his aggression and workrate but if he want's players being more adventurous and not playing high percentage passes then Devlins passing clearly isn't going to suit what Naismith wants from our midfield.

14 hours ago, AC Mallin_51 said:

Rowles?

on't know how I missed him out. Solid game. 7

15 hours ago, soonbe110 said:

to be fair the EEN agrees with you.

15 hours ago, soonbe110 said:

Finding Devlins lack of ability on the ball to be quite frustrating too. Against Ross County, I think he did really well but obviously Celtic are a different animal - likewise Rangers, and to a lesser extent, Aberdeen and Hibs too. Thing is, his workrate is 2nd to none. 

I think if he can be coached into just keeping it simple and not trying to ping cross field balls and attempting Hollywood passes, then I think he'd improve a lot. Michael Smith I think is a good example of what Devlin could learn to do, Smith rarely passes the ball forward because he doesn't often do it well so keeps things simple and safe. The benefit of that is that he's probably bottom of the list of players you need to worry about unforced errors from. 

17 hours ago, upgotheheads said:

Oda was way better than a 5 and Devlin less than and 8 imo

34 minutes ago, OTT said:

Finding Devlins lack of ability on the ball to be quite frustrating too. Against Ross County, I think he did really well but obviously Celtic are a different animal - likewise Rangers, and to a lesser extent, Aberdeen and Hibs too. Thing is, his workrate is 2nd to none. 

I think if he can be coached into just keeping it simple and not trying to ping cross field balls and attempting Hollywood passes, then I think he'd improve a lot. Michael Smith I think is a good example of what Devlin could learn to do, Smith rarely passes the ball forward because he doesn't often do it well so keeps things simple and safe. The benefit of that is that he's probably bottom of the list of players you need to worry about unforced errors from. 

You'd think our analysts would have highlighted this weakness before we signed him.

Just now, JamboAl said:

You'd think our analysts would have highlighted this weakness before we signed him.

Probably did and assumed it could be coached into him maybe?

If the coaches can get him to focus on simple balls instead of trying to do anything fancy, he'll probably look a different player. I'm sure there are scores of players playing at a high level that just do simple stuff really well. Its kind of like what Jimmy Sandison was saying about Oda, he does something fantastic in beating a player but then tries to follow it up again with something fantastic and it doesn't work which kind of undoes the brilliant bit of play before. Keep things simple. If he wins the ball back, look for the short easy pass instead of trying to play anyone through etc. If it was Beni, you'd have more confidence in being able to execute the "hollywood" pass at the end, but its just not Cammy's game. 

Folk saying Oda had a great game have just been drawn in by some high energy and willingness to have a go. Don't get me wrong, great attributes, but the end result of each of those moments was awful. I'd say each of his 'moments' genuinely ended in him miskicking the ball...not just making a bad choice or misplacing a pass...actually miskicking the ball. Needs to add a lot more composure to his game. Definitely encouraging signs there though. 

Nessjambo67
19 hours ago, upgotheheads said:

I know it’s all about opinions but I have to question if it’s the same game as I watched ? Devlin was poor his passing was terrible and subbed ? Looks like we started with 10 men according to your team no rowles? 

2 hours ago, BelgeJambo said:

I did t see anything special from Ginnelly.  

I wouldn't go as far as say he played poorly but he certainly had one of his quieter games.