Cadbury Mini Eggs

New Town Loafer

What is the deal with these little chumps? 

I can consistently rattle through a family pack of them in a short period of time. Bloody outstanding with a cup of tea and they just never get old. Also a really good thing to bring up with people in the office or the gym when there's any awkward silences. Sometimes I actually bring a packet into the gym.

What's the verdict on here?

image.jpeg.d7b150eb36ece03fd5cfee5ea2791625.jpeg

You know it's Christmas when the Cadbury's eggs appear.... I love these. There's a strange pleasure to be had by letting it melt in the mouth but without cracking the shell  so that when you bite it you get a mouthful of melted chocolate.

Excuse me for a second, just off down the shops.......

New Town Loafer
1 minute ago, Daktari said:

You know it's Christmas when the Cadbury's eggs appear.... I love these. There's a strange pleasure to be had by letting it melt in the mouth but without cracking the shell  so that when you bite it you get a mouthful of melted chocolate.

Excuse me for a second, just off down the shops.......

This is the kind of content this thread needed. For extra decadence, drink a mouthful of hot tea and do this. Then bite into it and the tea and melted chocolate just starts flying about. Superb.

New Town Loafer
Just now, jonesy said:

Your group sessions for bulemic colleagues and gym buddies sound like fun.

If you're the guy who interrupted with a packet of custard creams and a ladle then I'm still not speaking to you.

New Town Loafer
4 minutes ago, jonesy said:

Anyway, back to the Mini Eggs. They're alright, but not a patch on a genuinely good massive easter egg.

Why do easter eggs taste better than bars of chocolate?

Controversially, I think Easter eggs taste shite.

New Town Loafer
Just now, jonesy said:

This is why the phrase 'everyone is entitled to their opinion' is incorrect.

I've let myself down.

17 minutes ago, jonesy said:

Anyway, back to the Mini Eggs. They're alright, but not a patch on a genuinely good massive easter egg.

Why do easter eggs taste better than bars of chocolate?

Probably the larger surface area coupled with a thinner chocolate. Similar to the difference between a block and grated cheese 

57 minutes ago, Sooperstar said:

They're outstanding. The best of the Easter offerings. 

Quite possible. The white Creme Eggs are pretty outstanding too.

22 minutes ago, jonesy said:

Now, take that theory and then imagine a cheese-egg.

Eugh, I laid one of them the day after the cheese museum in Alkmaar. Cheese pregnancy is awful.

1 hour ago, Craig_ said:

Not tried those, but the white chocolate mini eggs are nice.

Portable Badger
2 hours ago, New Town Loafer said:

I can consistently rattle through a family pack of them in a short period of time. Bloody outstanding with a cup of tea and they just never get old. Also a really good thing to bring up with people in the office or the gym when there's any awkward silences. Sometimes I actually bring a packet into the gym.

Not a Mini Egg story but aCadburys Creme Egg one.

I genuinely don’t eat too much chocolate but that said I love Creme Eggs. I am weird though as, for me, they can only be consumed straight from the freezer😱

Sainsburys always have the best deals for them when they first put them on the shelves (about August these days !) so I bought a special offer for 24 Creme Eggs and popped them in the freezer to be consumed over the coming year.

My Father in Law’s health and mind was deteriorating to the point my wife, sister in law and brother in law needed to have a family meeting to discuss what they were going to do with their dad. They decided to come to my house and we’d disappear out with the kids for 4-5 hours. So me and my Sister in laws husband took the respective 5 children off to the park, etc... while had their discussion.

After 6 hours out with the kids we returned to the house. As I was walking through the living room in toward the dining & kitchen areas I could hear my wife screaming to my brother in law “Neil - You’d better leave Portable Badger at least one or he’ll go mental !”

Yep - the three of them had successfully eaten their way through 23 Cadbury’s Creme Eggs !!

Edited by Portable Badger

Japan Jambo
1 hour ago, Craig_ said:

That sounds wrong, but it'd be rude not to give them a shot. 😁

Mini Eggs are delightful. I’m in the ‘let them melt in your mouth a bit, before biting into them’ camp.

In fact, I’m off to the shops to get a bag or two.

Japan Jambo
1 hour ago, Smithee said:

Eugh, I laid one of them the day after the cheese museum in Alkmaar. Cheese pregnancy is awful.

Was it the Toalies fault? 

8 minutes ago, Japan Jambo said:

Was it the Toalies fault? 

Hey, we were together a long time, you can't call her that

7 hours ago, milky_26 said:

Probably the larger surface area coupled with a thinner chocolate. Similar to the difference between a block and grated cheese 

I would think that in terms of price for the amount of chocolate you're getting, Easter eggs are a complete rip-off compared with bars of chocolate.

Still can't stop myself buying them sometimes though. :phface:

3 minutes ago, stirlo said:

I would think that in terms of price for the amount of chocolate you're getting, Easter eggs are a complete rip-off compared with bars of chocolate.

Still can't stop myself buying them sometimes though. :phface:

they are, i've just checked and in morrisons a twirl easter egg (198g) with one bar costs £1.64 per 100g yet if you buy a 4 pack of twirls it costs 99p per 100g

10 minutes ago, milky_26 said:

they are, i've just checked and in morrisons a twirl easter egg (198g) with one bar costs £1.64 per 100g yet if you buy a 4 pack of twirls it costs 99p per 100g

It's genius marketing - for around 2 months in the run up to Easter their profit margins must go through the roof.

Fitzroy Pointon

Found a big £3 bag in Asda Kilmarnock last week. Bought it and finished them in two days. Everywhere else seems to have the wee pissy £1.25 bags. 

New Town Loafer
4 minutes ago, Cade said:

Are they not just big Smarties?

Pretty disrespectful comment.

59 minutes ago, Cade said:

Are they not just big Smarties?

Basically, yes.  👍

54 minutes ago, New Town Loafer said:

Pretty disrespectful comment.

Cade is right though.

• 3 weeks later...
Mac_fae_Gillie
On 17/03/2023 at 11:26, theshed said:

Used to love them but since I’m in my 50s now they aren’t the best on my teeth anymore 🥲

Take your teeth out before eating them.

Fitzroy Pointon
On 17/03/2023 at 20:36, Salad Fingers said:

Found a big £3 bag in Asda Kilmarnock last week. Bought it and finished them in two days. Everywhere else seems to have the wee pissy £1.25 bags. 

Just an update as I know you were all waiting with bated breath. Kilmarnock Asda now no longer have the big bags. Easter is ruined. 

On 17/03/2023 at 20:09, stirlo said:

It's genius marketing - for around 2 months in the run up to Easter their profit margins must go through the roof.

Aye but see there week after Easter?

:robboyas:

We bought one of the 1kg bags of them on Amazon for around a tenner. 

It lasted 2 days :lol:

New Town Loafer
On 07/04/2023 at 18:17, Salad Fingers said:

Just an update as I know you were all waiting with bated breath. Kilmarnock Asda now no longer have the big bags. Easter is ruined. 

Everywhere in central and west Edinburgh I used to get the big bags is no longer stocking them ffs.

Melted some mini eggs in the microwave last night. Over-rated way of eating them. Better sticking to their natural form. 

On 17/03/2023 at 13:19, Portable Badger said:

Yep - the three of them had successfully eaten their way through 23 Cadbury’s Creme Eggs !!

Wtf. :lol:

Are they obese or was this a completely unprecedented act of gluttony?

Portable Badger
3 hours ago, Ray Gin said:

Wtf. :lol:

Are they obese or was this a completely unprecedented act of gluttony?

They are insanely slim but they are all absolute chocoholics (including my late father-in-Law who was diabetic !!)

Japan Jambo

Wife just bought me tons of discounted creme eggs, pretty sure it's a cunning plan to give herself more opportunity to berate me for eating too much chocolate. Cannae win.

On 12/04/2023 at 15:32, C Moon said:

These cream eggs are dreadful.

3 hours ago, The Hogfather said:

Crème Eggs are elite. Rather have a couple of those than a bag of Mini Eggs. 

Funny how opinions differ!  😀

For me, it’s creme eggs every time.

New Town Loafer
On 12/04/2023 at 15:20, Sooperstar said:

Melted some mini eggs in the microwave last night. Over-rated way of eating them. Better sticking to their natural form. 

Agreed, better as they come. I do quite want to make a milkshake out of them at some point, though.

On 17/03/2023 at 11:10, New Town Loafer said:

I have to eat the whole bag.

New Town Loafer
1 minute ago, Harry Potter said:

I have to eat the whole bag.

There’s no other way, Potter.

On 17/03/2023 at 11:44, jonesy said:

🤮 and, er... 🤮

The Bourbons and the laxatives were not a good combo, either, TBF.

You can stick the bourbons up your jacksie, those little barstewards put me in hospital 

• 7 months later...
New Town Loafer

Shamelessly hijacking this thread with another festive fenomeno.

image.jpeg.ac2092f6446bfcbe785802d603f301a1.jpeg

Picked up one of these and had it with a cup of tea just now. Sublime.

26 minutes ago, New Town Loafer said:

Shamelessly hijacking this thread with another festive fenomeno.

image.jpeg.ac2092f6446bfcbe785802d603f301a1.jpeg

Picked up one of these and had it with a cup of tea just now. Sublime.

Is it new? What is it?

New Town Loafer
1 minute ago, hughesie27 said:

Is it new? What is it?

I believe it is new. 

Bite through the classic, creamy taste of Cadbury Dairy Milk chocolate to reveal a rich truffle centre, filled with hazelnut pieces and rice crisps.”

Great stuff.

I always scrutinise price of chocolate, sad ****.

Aim for £1/100g at worst.

Lindor advent calender  £4.50/100g GTF

Bought a big bag of Cadbury mis shapes

700g for £4. Taste fine but they always have that white look to them.

Like Cadbury dairy milk orange crisp, get it in Tesco for £3.50