Tupe rights

Dick Dastardly

Dick Dastardly

Anyone got any expertise in this area? I found out last week that the business i work for has been more or less sold and could be finalised by the end of the month. My employer hasn't said a word about it to me and I'm not sure where i stand. Cheers in advance 

From what I understand your T&C of employment are protected, but only for a certain time period - if I recall it is something like 12 months minimum. After that point, they could TRY to put you onto new T&C via a new contract that you would have to sign. You could of course reject that contract, which may result in redundancy. 

It purely depends on the attitude of the new owners. 

Dick Dastardly
24 minutes ago, Lord BJ said:

I’m not an expert by any means. 

TUPE is basically there to protect employees rights. Essentially, your new owner will be obliged to honour your existing T&C’s and proviso certain conditions met in terms of business and the employees. 

If it’s just a new owner, nothing is likely to change tbh. A change of ownership, is more often than not just that, as the business remains. 

Are there specific reasons you are concerned? 

Its only a small family run business and, apart from 2 delivery drivers in the morning, I'm the only employee in the shop. If the new owners are prepared to work or have family themselves there might not be a need for me. I know that they are supposed to keep me on, but there isn't really much i can do if they take over and sack me. 

I'm also not sure if they have to keep my shifts as they are or if they can change them to suit themselves

Dick Dastardly
12 minutes ago, cuthy2k said:

From what I understand your T&C of employment are protected, but only for a certain time period - if I recall it is something like 12 months minimum. After that point, they could TRY to put you onto new T&C via a new contract that you would have to sign. You could of course reject that contract, which may result in redundancy.