Electric Car home charger install

SecN

Has anyone had a charging point installed at home for an electric vehicle?

Any recommendations on what brand or installer to consider?

I am aware that most of the government grants ceased in March this year. 

I got one put in around 7 years ago....when luckily I got a 100% grant..!

Get in touch with https://energysavingtrust.org.uk/

They were great to deal with, I got a Rolec unit installed by a company in Stirling....Jorro

Installing guys done a good job, very neat [im a spark by trade...]

Cost £595 and I managed to claim all of it back, but those days are gone now....you may get a set sum back - £300 or so..?

The units have came on since I got mine installed obviously.....through apps etc, mine is just a dumb charger

Zappi and wallbox are mentioned a lot on the forums...get in touch with EST and see what they say...

Check with your energy provider, they may well have both an EV tariff and deals on the supply and fit of the charger

I called an edinburgh installer this week. He reckons that if the fuse box/consumer unit and cabling needs upgraded that a 7KwH charger from their preferred brand and install is likely to be around £1400. 

He mentioned Zappi and said that they were stung with quality issues and will not touch them now. 

I was gonnae pay £500 for one, but they said you can't put a cable across a pavement. I'd have put it up over my hedge and down to m car. My hedge is 12 fit high so it would have kept it out the road. Or put down a heavy metal plate. :cheese:

Are all these boxes doing the same thing then or is there benefits to getting a particular brand. 

https://hypervolt.co.uk is what has been recommended. 

Does anyone ITK know if the grants can still be achieved even although we are a week or two passed the end of March?

Unfortunately both the OLEV (£350) and the extra Scottish grant (£250) have ended.

Edited by Max Power

6 minutes ago, SecN said: