Dry January 2022 thread

Who else is going to attempt the dry January this year?

Probably as good a year as any to do it.

I'm not just going to be giving up the bevvy, but I'll be stopping sweets, chocolate, cheese and takeaways.

Going to Lanzarote in February, so at least I've got a target to aim for

I've had a fairly dry December with all Christmas nights out cancelled so plan to make up for it in January unless Krankie shuts the pubs by then.

6 minutes ago, Nucky Thompson said:

I'm not just going to be giving up the bevvy, but I'll be stopping sweets, chocolate, cheese and takeaways.

No i never do these type of things . However if i haven't had a drink for a couple of weeks I then think ill maube extend it for another week or two , I never plan to do it as such if that makes sense. But I definitely can take a break from it. It usually last around 4 /5 weeks as it really cleans out your system doing that. 

25 minutes ago, Nucky Thompson said:

Are you doing this so your speedos fit you?😏

Dennis Reynolds

I'll be doing it. Need to lose some of my lockdown/Xmas weight. I'm just blaming it on lockdown/Xmas rather than it just being a greedy *******. Will try and cut out sweets/takeaways as well although I think that'll be easier if I'm not hungover every weekend 🤷‍♂️

Couple holidays coming up so something to work towards. Also got a 10k in May so that'll be my big target. 

20 minutes ago, The Real Maroonblood said:

Aye, something like that :biggrin2:

Savage Vince
50 minutes ago, Nucky Thompson said:

I did it last January and felt magic after week 2. Starting today for 30 days. 👍

Edited by Savage Vince

1 hour ago, The Real Maroonblood said:

Obviously.

1 hour ago, JamesM48 said:

No i never do these type of things . However if i haven't had a drink for a couple of weeks I then think ill maube extend it for another week or two , I never plan to do it as such if that makes sense. But I definitely can take a break from it. It usually last around 4 /5 weeks as it really cleans out your system doing that. 

:nojustno:

2 hours ago, Nucky Thompson said:

Good luck, Nucks. 👍

****ed it on the first day.

I never bother with these things. I've done breaks off the bevvy and anyone who says they feel better for it is talking shite.

Cairneyhill Jambo

Haven't had a drink since last June and I've lost just over 3 stone. Still eating the same things.

I miss having a pint or a glass of wine but don't miss the hangovers. 

1 hour ago, ri Alban said:

Good luck, Nucks. 👍

The first week or so is going to be easy ri, I got a wee bit greedy on Hogmanay and I think that I've scunnered myself :biggrin2:

3 hours ago, Locky said:

I never bother with these things. I've done breaks off the bevvy and anyone who says they feel better for it is talking shite.

Same.

A lot of people make it through January without having a drink. Then they cancel it out by going on a massive bender in the first weekend of February. Completely pointless. 
I know that there’ll be people who don’t do this. A lot will though.

15 minutes ago, iantjambo said:

Same.

A lot of people make it through January without having a drink. Then they cancel it out by going on a massive bender in the first weekend of February. Completely pointless. 
I know that there’ll be people who don’t do this. A lot will though.

Don't think I had a drink for about 2 months during the first lockdown and honestly felt no different. A life without drink is boring.

Has the possibility of just having wee drink, sometimes, not become a thought? One or two drinks instead of going for the full session?

Personally, I've never understood the need to intentionally get so drunk I hardly knew what I was doing. I'm not saying it's never happened, but I can't say I've ever gone out with the intention of getting falling down drunk.

Maybe I'm just getting old but I find that I enjoy moderate drinking much more than having more than a few.

No dry January for me. No need really. Just a couple of drinks when the notion arises. Very satisfying.

9 hours ago, Locky said:

Ever thought you may have an alcohol problem then?

8 minutes ago, Jambo 4 Ever said:

Not being cheeky here but have you ever been tested for Asperger’s? 

11 hours ago, Nucky Thompson said:

The first week or so is going to be easy ri, I got a wee bit greedy on Hogmanay and I think that I've scunnered myself :biggrin2:

If only bud. I've just hit that, 'aw naw I'm going struggle with work, again' part of my Christmas Holidays. :( 

And, can I start this on January the 7th, please? :D

Anyway, good luck and enjoy the 🌞 when you get the chance, Nucky. 👍

7 hours ago, Jambo 4 Ever said:

That’s a possibility.

Maybe can’t get enough.

🍺🍷

7 minutes ago, highlandjambo3 said:

I’ve burst the ball already 😢

You posted this at 10 in the morning. Now that's an early start. ;)

1 minute ago, Lord BJ said:

Plus I’ve just started a cut, so I have no spare calories for booze.💪

Sorry for asking, but what does this mean?

15 minutes ago, redjambo said:

Sorry for asking, but what does this mean?

Think its something to do with body building as he's often at the gym. 

8 minutes ago, ri Alban said:

giphy.webp?cid=6c09b952e2b84c5b4a43602d7

4 minutes ago, JamesM48 said:

Think its something to do with body building as he's often at the gym. 

Cheers. :) Not being a frequenter of such establishments, I had no idea.

1 minute ago, Lord BJ said:

@rialban has pretty much nailed, albeit in my dreams I’m built like Arnie. 

I’m basically going on a diet to drop fat and show the abs and muscles off. 😂

People who lift weights, generally have two phases bulking, which is eating more calories than you need to put muscle on. Then a cut happens to loose the fat you put on whilst building bigger muscle, but you eat in a way to retain muscle and reduce fat. 

Ive just started cutting and am eating about 500 cal from my maintenance whilst maintains 2g of protein of body weight. It leaves we very little play room with my calories. 

Probably been easier posting a link. 

Good luck, bud.   :thumbsup:

Just a distant memory for me, these days.

Just now, Lord BJ said:

Cheers it’s never the most enjoyable but the people on the beach will appreciate my efforts.😉 

That you done with lifting completely now? Did you or are you going to see Dorian Yates soon?

Injury has put an end to it. Mostly shoulder and bicep injuries that are preventing me from doing anything. I've tried to go back many times but as soon as I start it's over. 

I'll go again soon, I might try some AS to see if they help.

I went to his seminar last May, it was OK.

I’m back to work on Wednesday so will have a few tonight then with no football games likely I’ll have a bash at a dry month.

if by some miracle we are allowed to attend football then I’ll be in the pub for that pre/post match

Edited by 1971fozzy

8 minutes ago, Awbdy Oot said:

Never say never.

Cfya3s8W8AAdSan.jpg

:D That's the only gym you would ever find me in.

58 minutes ago, Lord BJ said:

@rialban has pretty much nailed, albeit in my dreams I’m built like Arnie. 

I’m basically going on a diet to drop fat and show the abs and muscles off. 😂

People who lift weights, generally have two phases bulking, which is eating more calories than you need to put muscle on. Then a cut happens to loose the fat you put on whilst building bigger muscle, but you eat in a way to retain muscle and reduce fat. 

Ive just started cutting and am eating about 500 cal from my maintenance whilst maintains 2g of protein of body weight. It leaves we very little play room with my calories. 

Probably been easier posting a link. 

Thanks for the explanation, Lord BJ, and all the best with your cut. :thumb: