Dens park think it should be condemned

j1964m

Throwback to the past. Maybe could be a football museum.

Certain parts especially South end are truly historic. 

But not sure I want to travel to their proposed out of town site. 

32 minutes ago, j1964m said:

Dundee fc ground looks more like a building site 

Thats them makin improvements as well..😆

6 minutes ago, Cade said:

An absolute joke that the two stadiums are right next door.

Groundshare makes all kinds of sense in the city of Dundee.

Why is it an absolute joke? Agree it makes sense to an outsider to ground share but I’m pretty sure the fans of both clubs wouldn’t want it in the same way as we wouldn’t want to ground share with H1b5. 

An absolute dump of a place. Anyone know why the main stand is the shape that it is? Ive always thought it was an odd shape with its almost v-shaped set up. 

Just now, Mikey1874 said:

After 

The enclosures aren’t really there anymore as the stand was configured for greyhound racing ( iirc ) about 20 years ago. I think the greyhound racing lasted a couple of years. 

36 minutes ago, Cade said:

An absolute joke that the two stadiums are right next door.

Groundshare makes all kinds of sense in the city of Dundee.

Easy to say when you aren't emotionally invested. 

gordon simpson
1 hour ago, j1964m said:

I can see you have never been on a building site lol

39 minutes ago, jamtartan74 said:

Why is it an absolute joke? Agree it makes sense to an outsider to ground share but I’m pretty sure the fans of both clubs wouldn’t want it in the same way as we wouldn’t want to ground share with H1b5. 

Yeah, it's like an antidote to the sterile soulless corporate world of billionaire owners and homogeneous stadia. A quaint incongruous throwback to another age. 

Edited by Riccarton3

41 minutes ago, Smith's right boot said:

It has character. 

That's what the German Luftwaffe bomb aimers said just before they dropped their bombs and improved the place.

8 minutes ago, Cruyff said:

Both grounds are crumbling shiteholes. A bit like the City tbf. 

Just because you are biased against Dundee 🤣🤣

14 minutes ago, Riccarton3 said:

Yeah, it's like an antidote to the sterile soulless corporate world of billionaire owners and homogeneous stadia. A quaint incongruous throwback to another age. 

You know this is saturday , Game day and the terrace!….absolutely no need for so many big words some on here may struggle with. Those words belong in the shed 🤨

55 minutes ago, thegreatsd said:

An absolute dump of a place. Anyone know why the main stand is the shape that it is? Ive always thought it was an odd shape with its almost v-shaped set up. 

Didn't it have something to do with following the line of the road?

Allowayjambo1874
55 minutes ago, thegreatsd said:

I am sure I read somewhere that at the time of construction Dens was being used for greyhound racing or athletics (or something!) and needed to have an oval track round the park which is why the stand ended up kinked. 

Can’t for the life of me recall where I read it though. 

3 minutes ago, Allowayjambo1874 said:

I am sure I read somewhere that at the time of construction Dens was being used for greyhound racing or athletics (or something!) and needed to have an oval track round the park which is why the stand ended up kinked. 

10 posts further up? 😉

5 minutes ago, Allowayjambo1874 said:

Wikipedia page for Dens Park mentions it.

220px-Dundee_greyhound_racing_track_c.1995.png

20 minutes ago, Wee Mikey said:

Didn't it have something to do with following the line of the road?

Feature of some Archibald Leitch designs. 

It looks like the vibe hasn't change in the last 36.5 years...Should be razed to the ground. N.B. Dungdee, obvs

5 hours ago, j1964m said:

Corporate Hospitality, never got better. 

1 hour ago, Deid Heid said:

It looks like the vibe hasn't change in the last 36.5 years...Should be razed to the ground. N.B. Dungdee, obvs

It's one of the increasingly few grounds that look a bit different. 

5 hours ago, j1964m said:

Actually, more like a demolition site. Whit a shitehole.

4 hours ago, AlphonseCapone said:

Easy to say when you aren't emotionally invested. 

Agree.

Although two clubs who can only muster up 10k at most, pooling together would make sense.

I am in a minority  in that I would have ground shared, but that has sailed now with the investments in Tynecastle and ER.

Too much shit from those tossers also in the recent past, I want their ******* club dead.

I've enjoyed both Dens and Tannadice this season (victories obviously help). 👍 Hope they retain their grounds for a long time more.  Although they've changed since I first went in the early eighties, they're still a million times more interesting than modern cheapo stadiums.

13 hours ago, Hmfc1965 said:

It's one of the increasingly few grounds that look a bit different. 

I actually mean raze the whole city, not just their "architecturally unique" shithole of a ground.

Aplogies for the confusion.

Not a fan of ground sharing in Scotland.

Bad enough going to the same away ground at least twice in a season.

Draw both teams in both cups away and it could be 8 times.

12 minutes ago, Maroon Sailor said:

Not a fan of ground sharing in Scotland.

Bad enough going to the same away ground at least twice in a season.

Draw both teams in both cups away and it could be 8 times.

In this day and age, it's the most sensible way forward for the clubs in Dundee. Demolish both grounds have the pitch 90 degrees as to which both are now. The end nearest Dens Road Dundee's part of stadium, the other end for Dundee United. Nice new stadium for both clubs and the location hasn't altered for both clubs either.

1 hour ago, Deid Heid said:

I actually mean raze the whole city, not just their "architecturally unique" shithole of a ground.

Aplogies for the confusion.

It's looking like your heid is indeed deid. Dundee (as a city) is going through a transformation. Even back in the 80's it had a lot going for it ... if you cared to look.

Now? It's night & day. It clearly still has its problems, but nae need to be so blinkered.

19 hours ago, Mikey1874 said:

After 

I cannot look at that stand without feeling slightly sick. The worst day of my life was spent on that terracing and nothing will ever make that memory go away. Except maybe a bulldozer.

This  is a picture of an access that's not been used for about 25years . Not the photo you would want of your ground but why would any club spend money on an used part of their ground

5 hours ago, Wee Mikey said:

It's looking like your heid is indeed deid. Dundee (as a city) is going through a transformation. Even back in the 80's it had a lot going for it ... if you cared to look.

Now? It's night & day. It clearly still has its problems, but nae need to be so blinkered.

Ahahahaahahah! Nice one, aye right! Youre indeed Wee.