Donkey Punch

ArmiyaRomanova

A colleague of mine saw this during the film festival and described it as violently misogynystic crap - he said he felt like the filmmaker was vomiting in his face for an hour and a half.

Not being one to shirk a challenge, I saw it this evening. And I can see where he's coming from. Not a good film.

Will be interested to read the reactions of some of the folk on here, if anyone intends going to see it.

What's curious - and utterly disappointing - is that Donkey Punch is the first film to emerge from the relatively new Warp X set-up, who set out their stall to produce distinctive, challenging, state-of-the-art genre films.

So, we're given wobbly camera and a few trendy social realist back-of-the-knee cutaways by way of stylistic innovation - but at a story level the film's truly appalling; unlikeable cardboard cut-out characters, limpingly predictable and frequently implausible plotting, and a fair smattering of obvious continuity errors (I was bored enough to spot them).

So that's Warp X then... laudable claims to begin with, but ultimately they've produced a film which wouldn't look at all out of place in the Vertigo Films catalogue beside Danny Dyer's various efforts for chav/ned teens.

Oh dear.

and just like that, armiya morphs into barry norman

just kidding, is it really that bad? dunno anyone whos seen it yet

ArmiyaRomanova
and just like that, armiya morphs into barry norman

just kidding, is it really that bad? dunno anyone whos seen it yet

Well, I'm definitely not the target audience, let's put it that way.

But I generally appreciate well-made films, even if they're not 'for me'.

Found some of it risible - not sure whether I was supposed to laugh, but I suspect not.

Fancied seeing it but havent yet.

It did raise a question for me tho.

If porn depicting violent sex has been banned and can get you in bother if found on your PC where does this fall in to that catagory?

I personally think the film should be allowed but think it makes a mess of the law which bans porn depicting / acting out violent sex.

A film named after a nasty sex move is misogynistic.

Who'd a thunk it!

hah, for some reason 'Sex move' made me laugh..

Bit like the step over in football, just a wee move or trick that gets the crowd going.

Seen the trailer at the cinema a couple of weeks ago and thought it looked pretty pish.

:thumbs_down:

Nowhere near as good as Kung Fu Panda.

Seen that on Tuesday and thought it was pish.Hardly any funny bits in it at all and easy money for Jackie Chan,i think he spoke 3 words all the movie.