It's Official: Hibs are the 3rd Biggest SPL Club

BigC

You may doubt it, but the stats don't lie.

Today I unearthed Hibs latest claim to greatness.

They are the third biggest SPL Club.......

In terms of hits to their website!!!!!

:107years:

Now, normally you would expect a link to :hobofish:.net to confirm the statement, but it didn't come from there. It came directly from the mouth of a Hibernian Football Club employee.

I work as a Sales and Marketing Manager (in a health club), so I get a lot of calls from people trying to sell advertising and sponsorship, so when my colleague took the call he told me who was calling and asked me if I wanted him to say I was in a meeting.

I figured that any time this dude spends speaking to me instead of someone else who might actually be interested would be time well spent so I asked for the call to be put through (everyone in the office knew who I was talking to).

I told the guy (who was American, which surprised me a little) my budget was limited and he said, "Well there's match programme advertising, matchball sponsorship, or if you wanted to spend a little more you could have a pitchside hoarding. And then we have our website... We're the third biggest SPL club".

At this point I stopped him and for the benefit of my colleagues in the office I repeated what he had just said. "Wow, so your the 3rd biggest club in the SPL? I didn't realise that!"

"Well maybe not in terms of league position" he said, "we're not quite consistent enough to say that, but we're working on it. In terms of website hits we are though".

Again I clarified what he had said out loud, and had to throw a pen at one of my mates to stop him laughing.

Fortunately I don't think he heard the laughter and the poor guy stayed on the phone long enough to ask for my e-mail address so he could forward on some more information.