• Marvin

• No Idle Talk

• Maroon Sailor

Jim Cruickshank

Donald Ford

these two carried us for years and 0-7 to the wee team would never have happened if Cruickshank had played on New Year’s Day 1973. Brora Rangers result was shocking this season but the older guys will remember the hell that was living through the 0-7 at the time 

Given the exclusions it would have to be Cameron. I did like McCann on his day though and Levein was the best defender I’ve seen at the club. 

Japan Jambo

Given the exclusions and seeing it's favourite, not best - Gary Mackay

Edited by Japan Jambo

Paul Shark
10 hours ago, No Idle Talk said:

It's really sad that Craig Levein has become a "divisive figure". He was such a good player for Hearts. I wish he had never been Hearts manager and we could all just remember him as the classy centre back he was.

Playing along side Sandy Jardine certainly helped him, but I loved watching Levein, absolute class.

1 hour ago, Dsjambo said:

Jim Cruickshank

Donald Ford

these two carried us for years and 0-7 to the wee team would never have happened if Cruickshank had played on New Year’s Day 1973. Brora Rangers result was shocking this season but the older guys will remember the hell that was living through the 0-7 at the time 

Yup Kenny Garland had a mare that day! 🙈

Sleepystujam
12 hours ago, Rave MacPherson said:

Fitz Hall definitely has the best nickname ever

Ah yes, "One Size" !

Dave McKay.

OK, hands up, he was well before my time, but so many people I know who were Hearts fans during his era tell me he was the best.

So, restricting it to players I actually witnessed playing, I try to strike a balance between ability, longevity and contribution to us actually winning a trophy.  Ford and Cruickie were my original idols, both long serving players, but we won nowt and were in decline as a club.

The four that the OP ruled out would probably be my top four.  I'm left with Hartley or Cameron, both trophy winners with us and very influential players.  I can't sit on the fence so have to go with Hartley.  Anyone who scores a hat-trick in a cup semi-final against the wee team has to be right up there.

professorfate

my favourite player was always Davie Weir a great reader of the game he lacked pace but he made up for it with his game management. I think he played in a uefa cup final when in his forties correct if i am wrong.

Maple Leaf

Top four:

Willie Bauld

Jimmy Wardhaugh

Davie McKay

John Cumming

Put them in any order you want as long as Willie Bauld is first.  

Smith, Jardine, Levein, G McKay, JC, Sandy C and Robbo. 

Will always my magnificent 7.

9 hours ago, Morgan said:

I know.  😀

I was feeding @Marvin

Thanks I did suggest the (ahem) legend just before you 😉

8 hours ago, ri Alban said:

Mr Alban knows his stuff.

95455B8B-5893-4565-872E-A845B57DFB05.jpeg

On 18/05/2021 at 01:42, No Idle Talk said:

Just a few rules for this one.

Yer no allowed to say Robbo or Rudi or Craig Gordon or JC.

Who's yer favourite Hearts player outside of those obvious answers? Robbo is my all time fave but I want to see some different answers.

Sorry if I haven't worded this too well.

Mine's would be Henry Smith. He made some brutal mistakes in big matches but we'd never have made it to the big matches without some great saves fae Henry. I think that gets forgotten. Plus he was always good for a wave. 😁

Neil Pointon cause Dani Behr!!! 

Alex Young personal reasons

Tommy Walker personal reasons

Ones Iv seen play is tough , so many cult heroes. 
Cameron

Baggio

Levein

Mackay

Hartley

When your first year seeing us at Tynie was 86 its inevitable itll be Robbo or JC

Oooft ❤️👌🏻

23 hours ago, HillmanHearts said:

Awfy difficult but here goes :

Runners up :

Boyhood Idol  Donald Ford.

Mr Class act : Sandy Jardine.

Cult hero : Pasquale Bruno.

The Janny : Gary Mackay.

Perfect season : Stevie Fulton.

Joint winners :

Colin Cameron & Paul Hartley.

Sandy Jardine and Bruno were brilliant 

Japan Jambo

giving your age away!! top marks though...

13 hours ago, professorfate said:

my favourite player was always Davie Weir a great reader of the game he lacked pace but he made up for it with his game management. I think he played in a uefa cup final when in his forties correct if i am wrong.

Yeah think he was 40 when played in the Uefa cup final. a late bloomer with him coming back from the USA I think he was about 22 before he started playing pro in Scotland. 

On 18/05/2021 at 08:49, Rave MacPherson said:

He always seemed to fall over when his mazy run took him near the half way line though😂😂

Absolutely terrifying at times😀 You had no idea whether it was going to end well or no.

10 minutes ago, Rave MacPherson said:

😂 😂 😂 

Giraffe that suddenly thinks it’s Messi! God I loved him though😀

Edited by Big Slim Stylee

Bobby Walker is the only Hearts player to be the World's best so that closes one argument.

Tommy Walker and Dave Mackay can be included in the same argument, and I saw Dave on TV with Spurs and Derby at least.

I grew up with Cruickshank, Anderson and Ford as my heroes BUT the best I have ever seen playing for Hearts were Willie Hamilton and Knicksen. As much as I've enjoyed Robbo, Levein, Rudi and others, no one comes close to Willie Hamilton at his best. Spindly legs and a beer belly could not stop him embarrassing so many opponents. Sad his career was so short

Rudiscoresagain

Cruikie and Jensen. 
Never understood why anyone would play Kenny Garland when Cruikie was available

On 18/05/2021 at 16:50, HillmanHearts said:

Awfy difficult but here goes :

Runners up :

Boyhood Idol  Donald Ford.

Mr Class act : Sandy Jardine.

Cult hero : Pasquale Bruno.

The Janny : Gary Mackay.

Perfect season : Stevie Fulton.

Joint winners :

Colin Cameron & Paul Hartley.

All good 👍🏽

Just a few rules for this one.

Who's yer favourite Hearts player outside of those obvious answers? Robbo is my all time fave but I want to see some different 

13 hours ago, JamboAl1965 said:

robbo or JC for me, its like asking to choose your favourite kid, so I will John every time

10 hours ago, JTJ said:

… Dave Mackay can be included in the same argument, and I saw Dave on TV with Spurs and Derby at least.

I remember Dave Mackay as a tv pundit for a Derby County v Spurs game (many years ago when Derby were in the Premiership!). The anchor said, “So, Dave, Derby v Spurs. Which is your team today?” Mr Mackay just leaned towards the anchor and said, “I’m a Hearts fan, son.”

Churchill Barrier
1 hour ago, cosanostra said:

Top 3 would be Robbo, Skacel, and then Cameron.

Agree with your choice. 

Probably Gordon close 3 rd first time superb, second time still got it.

Top three Jim Cruikshank ,Donald Ford and Sandy Jardine the man was a Rolls Royce of a player.

JamboAl1965
4 hours ago, been here before said:

Rules are there to be broken and you assume the John I refer to is one of them😂 

No Idle Talk
4 hours ago, Cruyff said:

I think Neil McCann excited me more than any player I've seen at Hearts. He was ****ing brilliant. 

His performance in the League Cup final against Hun FC was one of the best I have seen in the flesh. It felt like he was dribbling through half their team at times. Very cruel that he was on the losing side that day.

maroon hills remembered
On 19/05/2021 at 04:28, Maple Leaf said:

Top four:

Willie Bauld

Jimmy Wardhaugh

Davie McKay

John Cumming

Put them in any order you want as long as Willie Bauld is first.  

I'll go with that plus Willie Hamilton

SidewaysFitba

Paul Hartley then.

FERRY HEARTS

Kenny Black and Scott Crabbe always put on a shift for the team 

and Cruicky  Henry and Antonne sure saved our arse at times and of course Big Gilles 

Cut The Crap
7 hours ago, No Idle Talk said:

His performance in the League Cup final against Hun FC was one of the best I have seen in the flesh. It felt like he was dribbling through half their team at times. Very cruel that he was on the losing side that day.

He was brilliant that day. Won himself a mountain bike as I recall. 😀