George Burley. Please come back.

onwards and upwards

Had it not been for the shit show of Romanov, that season.  

We'd have pissed that league 😤

First game at Rugby Park, won 4-2

then the Derby, then all the others, first 30 minutes,  we had they games done and dusted. Top of the league 👏  he was undefeated.  

HHGH  Onwards and upwards 🇱🇻

ShortmanRossco

Time moves on, and so should you. Even Neilson was good for a season. A million years ago. Get a grip. 

Beaten by Livingston in the LC though. Bought some time with the win over Rangers then drew with Falkirk and Celtic. Basically Romanov responded to a downturn in form and results like JKB does these days - sack the manager!

onwards and upwards
2 minutes ago, ShortmanRossco said:

Time moves on, and so should you. Even Neilson was good for a season. A million years ago. Get a grip. 

A million  years ago and your telling me to a grip.  Have a shank to your self.  As for league Cup draw, 🥤.  

Don't like him but I'll take Frank Lampard.  

ShortmanRossco
1 minute ago, onwards and upwards said:

A million  years ago and your telling me to a grip.  Have a shank to your self.  As for league Cup draw, 🥤.  

Don't like him but I'll take Frank Lampard.  

2005. In football terms that is a lifetime. 

Also, as if Frank Lampard would come to us when he's just been binned as the manager of Chelsea. Are you unwell? 

onwards and upwards
3 minutes ago, ShortmanRossco said:

2005. In football terms that is a lifetime. 

Also, as if Frank Lampard would come to us when he's just been binned as the manager of Chelsea. Are you unwell? 

You've the brass neck, to ask me if I'm unwell? You've been quoting a million years.  

Gerrard took the chance,  we're the third biggest team in Scotland. 

Why would Frank Lampard not take 🤔 us on? And he gets to take on Gerrard. 

Who do you think Celtic will sign? 

We are the Hearts. 

HHGH

Onwards and upwards 🇱🇻

Bunny Munro

I loved the Burley days but he had a Champions League winner upfront, a Euro Cup winner at left back, and A spine of internationalists.

onwards and upwards
1 minute ago, Bunny Munro said:

I loved the Burley days but he had a Champions League winner upfront, a Euro Cup winner at left back, and A spine of internationalists.

Well give me your thoughts then. 

Negative jkb 

Bunny Munro
5 minutes ago, onwards and upwards said:

Well give me your thoughts then. 

Negative jkb 

My thoughts are we should replace Robbie with someone who's managed more than 2 games in the last 10 years.

onwards and upwards

Frank Lampard.  

Why not, he's a winner and he'd love to take Gerrard on too. Let's get him before the Tic do !

Edited by onwards and upwards

Rudi5kaceldream1ng

Go and have a word with him then. He's at the standy on george st. Been locked in there since lockdown...

Joking aside I loved him when he was manager here but I think he's had his time. He'd have to rebuild his rep somewhere else other than our club if he was ever to return.

Sub4TiddlerMurray
1 hour ago, onwards and upwards said:

then the Derby, then all the others, first 30 minutes,  we had they games done and dusted. Top of the league 👏  he was undefeated.  

Had it not been for Romanov there would have been no show to shit

onwards and upwards
1 minute ago, Sub4TiddlerMurray said:

Had it not been for Romanov there would have been no show to shit

Point taken, S4TM but who says,  someone like a Frank Lampard,  wouldn't take on

the "Heart of Midlothian football club"

We need a proper positive signing/change

We need to make a decision

to  make a positive  statement. 

Out with the Auld

In with the new !

HHGH 

Onwards and upwards 🇱🇻

3 hours ago, onwards and upwards said:

Wants George Burley back!! 

3 posts later arguing for Frank Lampard to be appointed 😂 love JKB sometimes 

7 hours ago, ToqueJambo said:

Beaten by Livingston in the LC though. Bought some time with the win over Rangers then drew with Falkirk and Celtic. Basically Romanov responded to a downturn in form and results like JKB does these days - sack the manager!

Was a reserve team against livi, we were a bit above ourselves back then.

Aye, get Burley back.  Maybe he could persuade Rudi, Bednar, Jankauskis, Fyssas et al to join him again.  

7 hours ago, onwards and upwards said:

Sub4TiddlerMurray
6 hours ago, onwards and upwards said:

Point taken, S4TM but who says,  someone like a Frank Lampard,  wouldn't take on

the "Heart of Midlothian football club"

We need a proper positive signing/change

We need to make a decision

to  make a positive  statement. 

Out with the Auld

In with the new !

HHGH 

Onwards and upwards 🇱🇻

i think it’s a bit over ambitious to think Lampard would come to Hearts. We cannot afford the eye-watering money he’s used to. And, he’ll most likely have other EPL or Championship offers in his pocket.

IMHO we already have our own former EPL star on our payroll that appears to have every budding managerial asset that Lampard and Gerrard had before they started: experience, awareness, communication skills and an insatiable desire to win. 

Why look elsewhere when he’s already in our midst?

Guys not managed since 2011 or something when he was binned after 2 games in charge of Apollon Limassol 😄

Great times but no. 

Smoked-Glass
9 hours ago, ToqueJambo said:

The Falkirk game was due to a doubl whammy,  penalty and red card.   Then we scored an own goal. 

Still game back to draw which the current team woulndt be able to do 

We all enjoyed the burley team but, CG aside for obvious reasons   the only player from that team we could afford now would be Robbie Neilson.

The vast majority of the other players would be earning north of 20k per week and some of them a hell of a lot more than that.

I very much doubt we’d enjoy it as much with players three levels lower.

Forever Hearts
2 hours ago, Jamie Walker Tash said:

Christ almighty.

We've more chance of getting him than Frank Lampard. 

David Black
11 hours ago, ToqueJambo said:

I don't think it was due to results he was sacked. 

wheatfieldtosheffield

quick check of wikipedia - and I'm amazed to find Burley had more games in charge of Scotland (14) than Hearts (12)

MarkDevriesScores4
11 hours ago, onwards and upwards said:

If it had not been for Romanov, we wouldnt have had that team with the players (we couldn’t afford) that took us to a second place finish. 

what a daft statement 

MarkDevriesScores4

Lampard? 

Gerrard was promised a budget to compete with Celtic and was provided with such.

hearts couldn’t offer lampard anything except a half time pie.

Got to love the delusion created on JKB. 

12 hours ago, ShortmanRossco said:

Neilson was good for over 2 seasons. About 5 years ago. 

12 hours ago, onwards and upwards said:

Don't think he was undefeated in the league. 

I'd take Lampard, he cant do any worse than what we've endured. Even though there's no chance he will come to Tynie. Its a nice thought and who knows in a parallel universe he might want to test himself against Gerrard.   

Edited by Marvin

ShortmanRossco
9 minutes ago, Smith's right boot said:

Neilson was good for over 2 seasons. About 5 years ago. 

I don't disagree but if anything that just highlights my point given everyone now thinks he's a dud. Football moves on. 

7 minutes ago, ShortmanRossco said:

I don't disagree but if anything that just highlights my point given everyone now thinks he's a dud. Football moves on. 

Just putting your 1 season and a million years ago into some context. 

Any manager we appoint will have failed somewhere else, does that mean we are replacing our dud with someone else's dud if Neilson goes?

Assuming that this season is viewed as a failure by all like you say. 

46 minutes ago, MarkDevriesScores4 said:

Lampard? 

Gerrard was promised a budget to compete with Celtic and was provided with such.

hearts couldn’t offer lampard anything except a half time pie.

Got to love the delusion created on JKB. 

The half time pie might not be on offer either since they probably don't employ caterers when there are no fans. :rofl:

What is this pish about Lampard, I mean seriously?  The guy will be one of the first in line for the next EPL vacancy.

MarkDevriesScores4
Just now, frankblack said:

What is this pish about Lampard, I mean seriously?  The guy will be one of the first in line for the next EPL vacancy.

Exactly. Zoomers on here with their heads in the clouds 

HartleyLegend3

A want a manager who will play fast entertaining attacking football.. 

Everything the current set up at Hearts is not. 

ShortmanRossco
7 minutes ago, Smith's right boot said:

Just putting your 1 season and a million years ago into some context. 

Any manager we appoint will have failed somewhere else, does that mean we are replacing our dud with someone else's dud if Neilson goes?

Assuming that this season is viewed as a failure by all like you say. 

Not necessarily. We could go potentially down the route of appointing someone with fresh ideas looking to cut their teeth in management. Which to be honest I wouldn't go for personally because that's what we did with Cathro. 

My point is that sometimes things are better left in the past. Neilson did make a good job of it last time but nearly 90% of Kickbackers now want him out (according to the latest poll). 

In terms of employing "someone else's dud" that's possibly true but I don't think that many Hearts fans disagree our current set up isn't working and we need fresh ideas. 

Forever Hearts
31 minutes ago, Smith's right boot said:

Don't think he was undefeated in the league. 

Who beat us in the league? 

ShortmanRossco
2 minutes ago, Forever Hearts said:

Who beat us in the league? 

Nobody. Which goes against my other points I've made within this thread but we were absolutely undefeated in the SPL just for the record before he left 👍