Eastern Europe: Places to visit

jamboj

Planning a trip to Europe in August, thought i'd see what wisdom kickback can provide on places to see.

Got a month to get from Florence to Berlin, via Greece (there's a ferry to Athens from Italy). Aside from the obvious (Rome, Prague, Athens), where would you recommend? I've been told that Croatia and Slovenia are great, anyone been?? Anywhere else down there to get to or avoid?

Cheers

Cat Stevens
Planning a trip to Europe in August, thought i'd see what wisdom kickback can provide on places to see.

Got a month to get from Florence to Berlin, via Greece (there's a ferry to Athens from Italy). Aside from the obvious (Rome, Prague, Athens), where would you recommend? I've been told that Croatia and Slovenia are great, anyone been?? Anywhere else down there to get to or avoid?

Cheers

I travelled to a Scotland game in Slovenia via Berlin, Budapest and Zagreb. Budapest is very nice but quite expensive. I wouldn't be in a rush to go back. We didn't get long enough in Zagreb to form an opinion on the place. I highly reccomend Slovenia though. We had a couple of nights in the capital Ljubljana (sp). I'd definitely go back. Nice scenery and the girls are unbelieveable! I only saw 3 ugly ones while I was there and 2 of them were Scottish!!

conn artist

krakow in poland is excellant, and i echo wat cat says about budapest. the thermal baths in the city park were well worth a visit tho. but its a poor version of paris/berlin.

skotskosparta

Cheers

Some of the small fishing villages in Croatia are superb, follow the coast line up the country and i am sure you would not be disappointed!!

Lake Bled in Slovenia is a special place as well.

Try Krakow and Vienna. I did a bit of europe last summer and these 2 were brilliant. Great scenery, plenty to do, cheap beer, friendly locals and stunning girls.

Budapest was ok, like the previous poster i found it expensive. I would compare it to Paris or Glasgow in that its an absolutely massive multi-cultural city with loads of dodgy folk but if you know where to go and where to avoid your sorted.

I spent one night and day in Bratislava and whilst there was nothing wrong with it, the place seemed pretty dull with not much to do.

I also thought Budapest was like Glasgow, I felt it was similarly industrial looking. Some really nice bits as well, but wasn't a patch on Krakow or Prague. Two absolutely fantastic places.

Stay away from Slovakia! have you seen the movie 'Hostel'? :eek:

the hostel i stayed at in Bratislava sold t shirts saying stuff like "I survived Bratislava" but honestly nothing as exciting as the film seems to happen there

Slovenia is a must. As other poster said go to capital Ljubjana. Nice and quiet place but decent clubs at night and a few cool pubs too. Lake Bled is also cool, I only stopped there but it looks great. Seems a bit touristie but still looks amazing.

If your up for a bit of water adventure/active break for a couple of days try to go to the soca river. Ill try and find a link to the website for you. We stayed there for two nights and did three activities, white water rafting, cycling and canyoning. Amazing time and really sound people that you meet and take you on the activities. Plus if your thirsty straight to the river for water, one of the cleanest in the world. Its reasonable prices aswell and its something you'll never forget. Plus you need to jump off a 8 metre bridge to start off with!

http://www.adrenaline-check.com/index.php

Other places for Europe, we never made it to croatia but its meant to be amazing. Prague, Krakow are a must. Stunning ladies. Even though others havent been too keen on Budapest I thought it was quiet good and there is a decent wee Scottish pub called the Caledonian.

conn artist
Slovenia is a must. As other poster said go to capital Ljubjana. Nice and quiet place but decent clubs at night and a few cool pubs too. Lake Bled is also cool, I only stopped there but it looks great. Seems a bit touristie but still looks amazing.

If your up for a bit of water adventure/active break for a couple of days try to go to the soca river. Ill try and find a link to the website for you. We stayed there for two nights and did three activities, white water rafting, cycling and canyoning. Amazing time and really sound people that you meet and take you on the activities. Plus if your thirsty straight to the river for water, one of the cleanest in the world. Its reasonable prices aswell and its something you'll never forget. Plus you need to jump off a 8 metre bridge to start off with!

http://www.adrenaline-check.com/index.php

Other places for Europe, we never made it to croatia but its meant to be amazing. Prague, Krakow are a must. Stunning ladies. Even though others havent been too keen on Budapest I thought it was quiet good and there is a decent wee Scottish pub called the Caledonian.

the barmaids in there where out of order. they had setanta on thier package but would not turn it over so i could watch a hearts game that was on at the time. even tho i was one of the only folk in there. said they would only show priemership games, plus the full breakfast just about gave me the boak.

They offered to let us stay for a night so I was happy with them. We turned it down as we had booked a hotel after a treck over the river after seeing the hostel we were meant to be staying in. Plus pints of Best and scotch broth followed by haggis for your dinner is no bad in Budapest. Plus Oor Wullie wallpaper in the toilets aswell!

What were you doing in Budapest and missing a Hearts game anyway!

conn artist
They offered to let us stay for a night so I was happy with them. We turned it down as we had booked a hotel after a treck over the river after seeing the hostel we were meant to be staying in. Plus pints of Best and scotch broth followed by haggis for your dinner is no bad in Budapest. Plus Oor Wullie wallpaper in the toilets aswell!

What were you doing in Budapest and missing a Hearts game anyway!

touche!, nah being harsh really. its a decent bar one of the better expat bars. the orr wullie was funny but the photo of gary caldwell was a shock to the system. he is an ugly f******.

Try Krakow and Vienna. I did a bit of europe last summer and these 2 were brilliant. Great scenery, plenty to do, cheap beer, friendly locals and stunning girls.

Budapest was ok, like the previous poster i found it expensive. I would compare it to Paris or Glasgow in that its an absolutely massive multi-cultural city with loads of dodgy folk but if you know where to go and where to avoid your sorted.

I spent one night and day in Bratislava and whilst there was nothing wrong with it, the place seemed pretty dull with not much to do.

Have to say I disagree about Bratislava. Was there a few years ago and loved it. It is a bit of a weekend place as it seemed to suddenly go very quiet on the Sunday night, but was heaving the other nights. Plus it was just after They humped Celtic in the Champions league so we got on well with the locals!!

Hmm, i think it was a monday/tuesday that i spent there. Went to several cheap pubs and got some nice grub. Kind of place i wouldnt mind living but there just didnt seem to be that much going on.

Maybe i wasnt as well researched on Bratislava as the other cities so didnt get the full experience

Plus pints of Best and scotch broth followed by haggis for your dinner is no bad in Budapest. Plus Oor Wullie wallpaper in the toilets aswell!

If I wanted all of that I'd go to Forfar on my holidays. I thought the reason for foreign travel was to experience different cultures.

We were about half-way through a 5 week tour so it was nice to have some home comforts. The barmaids were local, friendly and we sampled some of the hungarian beverages. Nasty stuff!

It was also a good way to meet people that knew what was worth doing, the owner (from Edinburgh), told us the best restaurants locally and the spa/baths to go to. We also met an irish couple who took us to a local kare-oke night club. Madness.

and we sampled some of the hungarian beverages. Nasty stuff!

I hope you avoided that Zwack Unicum stuff. Like evil benylin cough medicine.

Boaby Ewing

Dubrovnik.

Btw, if you're sailing from Bari to Athens/Croatia, be sure and check the ferry times first.

Having done a month long trip with very similar start and end points to what your planning, I can safely say the only ****** day we had was sitting in feckin' Bari from 6 a.m. (when we arrived on the overnight train from Rome) to 10 p.m. (when the only ferry of the day departed).

It's a horrific wee town.

I hope you avoided that Zwack Unicum stuff. Like evil benylin cough medicine.

Unfortunetly we never. It was lethal. We were downing it as any Scotsman would be however you are meant to sip it. Different cultures eh!

Riga is pretty pish. I'd avoid it.

If you are going, go during the week. At the weekend it fills up with Stag Do's and the locals resent anyone who speaks English.

Riga is pretty pish. I'd avoid it.

If you are going, go during the week. At the weekend it fills up with Stag Do's and the locals resent anyone who speaks English.

Riga is great. I would hit it for sure. I guess it depends what you like, I've never had a bad time there.

Albania would be the 1st choice stop, then Bosnia, then Latvia

If you've got time to head off the main roads then Cesky Krumlov in southern Czech Republic is something out of medieval times. It's amazing.

skotskosparta
If you've got time to head off the main roads then Cesky Krumlov in southern Czech Republic is something out of medieval times. It's amazing.

Going there in 2weeks, also Karlovy Vary is a great wee spa town and was where Casino Royale was filmed, it is also a favorite Russian holiday destination and most street signs are in Russian!

If you make it to Krakow, head to the salt mines and to Auschwitz, both are a must!