New Recruits 1976

Radio Ga Ga

Eamonn Bannons gorgeous flowing sumptuous locks.

Can but pray 2019 recruitment reaction is better than the 76 cup final equivalent. 

Don't really doubt it. Great retro 

12 minutes ago, been here before said:

Eamonn Bannons gorgeous flowing sumptuous locks.

Looking awfy like Neil Warnock :lol:

1 hour ago, It should have been ten said:

Looking awfy like Neil Warnock :lol:

Is Bannon not furthest left? I think guy 3rd in from left looks more like Warnock?

1 minute ago, Walter Bishop said:

Is Bannon not furthest left? I think guy 3rd in from left looks more like Warnock?

He does.

Anyone know if the guy 2nd from the right is Paul Rodger?

I worked with him until about a month ago and know he was on Hearts books when he was younger.

11 minutes ago, Walter Bishop said:

5 minutes ago, Eno said:

Anyone know if the guy 2nd from the right is Paul Rodger?

I worked with him until about a month ago and know he was on Hearts books when he was younger.

It’s Paul Rodger.

I worked with his wee sister a long time ago.

11 minutes ago, Morgan said:

It’s Paul Rodger.

I worked his wee sister a long time ago.

I bet you did !

5 minutes ago, Morgan said:

It’s Paul Rodger.

I worked with his wee sister a long time ago.

Thanks Morgan.

Thought it looked too like him not to be.

Lovely big guy (for a Celtic fan)

Worked with him for around 5 years.

Eamonn Bannon was brilliant in his first spell at the club Pity we lost him for 10 years after that 

3 hours ago, Walter Bishop said:

Aye you're right, never really paid much attention to the others ??‍♂️?

Next to Mr Bannon is Gordon Grandison.  Went to Porty with him, played for Newtongrange Star  after Hearts if I remember correctly 

1 hour ago, sassenach said:

I've never seen that Hearts shirt before. Does anyone have a colour picture?

I think maybe the lighter bits are white and, if memory serves, I'm sure the darker shade was maroon.

Hope this helps  :D

Forever Hearts
1 hour ago, sassenach said:

Thanks for that :)

It just looks strange to me, with more white than maroon. Although I'm old enough, I didn't get into Hearts until the 2000s so I just don't remember it.

I don't remember it either. 

2 hours ago, The Treasurer said:

I think maybe the lighter bits are white and, if memory serves, I'm sure the darker shade was maroon.

Hope this helps  :D

The numbers on the back were yellow 

we only wore it a handful of times, mostly against Aberdeen, and at home v Stirling Albion and Montrose in the 1976 Scottish Cup run

the players are Eamon Bannon , Gordon Grandison, Ken Halley, Gordon Brown Paul Rodger and Ian Paterson

Edited by jbee647

3 minutes ago, jbee647 said:

The numbers on the back were yellow 

we only wore it a handful of times, mostly against Aberdeen, and at home v Stirling Albion and Montrose in the 1976 Scottish Cup run

the players are Eamon Bannon , Gordon Grandison, Ken Halley, Gordon Brown Paul Rodger and Ian Paterson

11 hours ago, dannymack said:

That's a decent top, like the collar. 

IMG_20190610_132731.jpg

IMG_20190610_132835.jpg

If that is Aberdeen game in 76/77 it was 10.11.76 a 2-1 win, or 19.3.77 a 1-1 draw. 

Think it is the Nov 76 game. 

12 hours ago, dannymack said:

IMG_20190610_132835.jpg

Brave goalie...   :o  :runaway:

Did not recognise any (got an excuse for Bannon, he's wearing a wig)

Loved that strip. Cammy Fraser would have debuted that season.

I remember him missing a penalty in that against Montrose at the Gorgie end.

May have been 2-0 down. He was only 17 at the time.

I'm probably talking bollocks, I will check London Hearts

Remember Rodger and Paterson vaguely. None of the others, though.

Paul Rodger played quite a few games in one of the seasons in Div 1

I think Patterson played a handful of games

Bannon was probably the best youngster I’ve ever seen at Tynie if only we could have got another couple of seasons out of him before he left

From what I remember he didn’t want to leave but we were desperate for the money

Gordon Brown was a player Currie Hearts if my memory is correct, same team as Benny Brazil. Cannot remember a Ian Paterson at all.

26 minutes ago, Lfhearts said:

Gordon Brown was a player Currie Hearts if my memory is correct, same team as Benny Brazil. Cannot remember a Ian Paterson at all.

Is that Gordon brown the ex prime minister 

1 hour ago, Crete said:

Is that Gordon brown the ex prime minister 

Nah but it was a hit for The Stranglers

Gordon Brown played the night of the famous League Cup tie in 1977 when we beat Dundee United on penalties in a game that was played in monsoon conditions, 

Ian Paterson also played in that season, our first time in the first division 

He went on to have a decent career in the lower leagues, was a regular goal scorer at  Brechin and possibly Arbroath

1 hour ago, jbee647 said:

Gordon Brown played the night of the famous League Cup tie in 1977 when we beat Dundee United on penalties in a game that was played in monsoon conditions, 

Ian Paterson also played in that season, our first time in the first division 

He went on to have a decent career in the lower leagues, was a regular goal scorer at  Brechin and possibly Arbroath

one of my favourite games

we had lost 3-1 at Tannadice and were in the first division so expected to lose it

from what I remember we had 4 or 5 teenagers in the team including Bannon and Rodger

and a teenage Zico who scored a goal

I think Walter was man of the match that night in the pouring rain

think that was the games big Drew Busby duffed a penalty in the mud and it hardly reached the goal line?

Jingle Bells
11 hours ago, The White Cockade said:

we had lost 3-1 at Tannadice and were in the first division so expected to lose it

from what I remember we had 4 or 5 teenagers in the team including Bannon and Rodger

think that was the games big Drew Busby duffed a penalty in the mud and it hardly reached the goal line?

The divot hit the back of net at a rate of knots though.

Stunned silence that he had actually missed one and then an outburst of laughter thereafter , is what I remember.

11 hours ago, The White Cockade said:

Definitely right about Drew Busby's penalty. Never see a pitch like that now!

On 10/06/2019 at 23:41, dannymack said:

That's a decent top, like the collar. 

IMG_20190610_132731.jpg

IMG_20190610_132835.jpg

Is that the game in which Busby shoulder charged Bobby Clark into the net and claimed a goal? (...it was disallowed.)

On 11/06/2019 at 11:14, Mikey1874 said:

If that is Aberdeen game in 76/77 it was 10.11.76 a 2-1 win, or 19.3.77 a 1-1 draw. 

Think it is the Nov 76 game. 

Was the Nov 76 not a night game?  Seem to remember it was just after Abderdeen won the LC

4 minutes ago, TexasAndy said:

Was the Nov 76 not a night game?  Seem to remember it was just after Abderdeen won the LC

Yes. Just looked it up. Wednesday.