Was Robbie Neilson a better manager than Neil Lennon?

They had similar careers in Edinburgh, comparing their achievements makes interesting reading. Lennon had the edge in cups but it's clear that Neilson was a far more successful league manager.

Robbie Neilson

First season. Championship winners, 91 points (league record), main challengers Hibs and Rangers

Second season. 3rd in Premiership, 65 points, qualified for Europe

Third season. Left midseason in 2nd place.

Europe. One second round exit.

Scottish Cup. One fifth round exit, one fourth round exit.

League Cup. One quarter final, one third round exit, one second round exit.

Neil Lennon

First season. Championship winners, 71 points, main challengers Falkirk and Dundee United

Second season. 4th in Premiership, 67 points, qualified for Europe

Third season. Left midseason in 8th place.

Europe. One third round exit, one second round exit.

Scottish Cup. One semi final, one fifth round exit.

League Cup. One semi final, one quarter final, one second round exit.

The stats speak for themselves.

In their respective times in Edinburgh, Robbie Neilson's Hearts romped the hardest Championship in living memory and Neil Lennon's Hibernian drew their way to the Championship title.

We measure our success differently to hibs.

We have a higher expectation.

If Robbie could have fixed our away form he would be remembered better.

Also, sadly, many couldn't forgive that hibs result.

His performances in cups were poor but theres no doubt he was a success in the league.

He was better than Lennon though.

Hibs cheated to win the championship.

Well that's how deluded net would have been like if Hearts signed Commons on loan from Celtic to win the league.

Their time in England says a lot as well. In the Championship, Lennon saved Bolton from relegation but was sacked after a year and a half with the club in last place and a 22.8% win rate. In League One, Neilson saved MK Dons from relegation, but was sacked just over a year later with the club in the relegation zone and a 37.9% win rate. Both quite poor, but Neilson's is better.

Neilson's win rate at Hearts was 58.5%. Lennon's at Hibs so far has been 48%. The evidence is with Robbie on this one.

Last season I'd have said it was pretty even (although Robbie definitely wins it in the championship) but we were competing for 2nd when Robbie left and Lennon is leaving hibs in 8th. 

Lennon is on the way down but at his peak he was better than Neilson IMO. Not by much though I'll say as we played some great stuff at Hearts, Lennon did a good job at Celtic. And I don't subscribe to the anyone could have won things idea, if the players didn't rate him they wouldn't have played for him.

Robbie was better for us than Lennon is/ was for Hibs. 

Overall, Lennon has had the better and more prestigious career and is the better manager overall atm. 

Robbie got sacked from mkdons, let's not forget. 

Robbie is also  only 4 years in. 

We just ignoring Lennon's achievements with Celtic aye? :lol:

As far as the above stats go at comparable levels, Robbie wins hand down.

2 minutes ago, Homme said:

We just ignoring Lennon's achievements with Celtic aye? :lol:

As far as the above stats go at comparable levels, Robbie wins hand down.

Minus one CL campaign he didn’t really do anything he wouldn’t have been expected to. I mean Ronnie fecking Deila won the league with Celtic

4 minutes ago, boag1874 said:

Also worth pointing out Lennon had a bigger budget than we did under Robbie

and lennon had his "special" relationship with celtic to get a load of their players on loan

PeterintheRain
36 minutes ago, MoncurMacdonaldMercer said:

neilson won hibs the Scottish cup something Lennon couldn't do

Craig Thomson won hibs the cup when he failed to send of bartley when we were 2 nil up.

Celtic won hibs the cup when they blew the semi-final.  

Sevco won hibs the cup when they couldn't defend their lead for 5 minutes.  

Just **** of with your lies.  Remind me how well your little phoodle campaign went, and your stunt with the plane.

PeterintheRain
8 minutes ago, Olly Lee's left boot said:

Overall, Lennon has had the better and more prestigious career and is the better manager overall atm. 

Lennon has been sacked by h1b5.  That's a pretty low bar to overcome.   And Neilson could have been a celtic player and won loads of trophies.  Plenty of our best players are or were better than their's but end up with nothing just because of who they are playing for and the corruption of our officials.   

It isn’t even a debate I don’t think.

Robbie smashed the Chamionship breaking all records when Rangers and Hibs were in it.

Hibs stumbled out of it with one point more than Stubbs got before he made a run for it.

Neilson left us in a healthy position in the league consolidating our position potentially improving it. Lennon has had no left Hibs in the shit far from consolidating in them second season up.

No. Debate. At. All.

6 minutes ago, PeterintheRain said:

Lennon has been sacked by h1b5.  That's a pretty low bar to overcome.   And Neilson could have been a celtic player and won loads of trophies.  Plenty of our best players are or were better than their's but end up with nothing just because of who they are playing for and the corruption of our officials.   

No one outside of Hearts would compare Lennon and Robbies overall mgt carer and conclude that Robbies is better. 

I was accused as being a Robbie fan boy as well. 

Robbie was better for us than Lennon has been for Hibs, no doubt- but atm Lennon has had the more prestigious and more successful management career. That is simply a fact.

It does appear that Robbie could be on the way up while Lennon could be finished, but that's for the future. 

58 minutes ago, Phil Dunphy said:

The stats speak for themselves.

In their respective times in Edinburgh, Robbie Neilson's Hearts romped the hardest Championship in living memory and Neil Lennon's Hibernian drew their way to the Championship title.

The stats also tell you that Lennon got more points in the Premiership than Neilson.  It’s not cut and dry at all.  You could use the stats to back either way to be honest.

MoncurMacdonaldMercer
15 minutes ago, PeterintheRain said:

Craig Thomson won hibs the cup when he failed to send of bartley when we were 2 nil up.

Just **** of with your lies.  Remind me how well your little phoodle campaign went, and your stunt with the plane.

touched a nerve there by the looks of it - we should still be keeping it civil tho wet peter

40 minutes ago, Hungry hippo said:

Pretty obvious it's Neilson. Especially as he had to compete with Rangers and  and Hibs in The Championship.

How did they compare in the Premiership though?  Lennon wins that one as Hibs got more points than Neilson plus it was a much tougher league as they had both Hearts and Rangers back in the league whereas Neilson didn’t have Rangers or Hibs in it in his only full season.

Neilson did better in the Championship though by about 20 points.

Plus we seem to be ignoring Lennon’s achievements at Celtic.

And it’s far too early in Neilson’s managerial career to really be comparing the two.

Dunno, you have to factor how pish Neilson was at MK Dons when he didn't have Levein pulling strings for him. His team cannot even manage point vs a side Auchinleck Talbot gubbed. 

1 hour ago, MoncurMacdonaldMercer said:

Image result for behave gif

1 hour ago, Olly Lee's left boot said:

No one outside of Hearts would compare Lennon and Robbies overall mgt carer and conclude that Robbies is better. 

I was accused as being a Robbie fan boy as well. 

Robbie was better for us than Lennon has been for Hibs, no doubt- but atm Lennon has had the more prestigious and more successful management career. That is simply a fact.

It does appear that Robbie could be on the way up while Lennon could be finished, but that's for the future. 

The vast gulf in finance, even greater when Lennon was at Celtic and his last 2 years he had no Rangers against him, losing the league to the defunct Rangers in 2010-11.

Sure Celtic beat Barcelona while he was a manager, but we beat Bayern Munich with only pennies even then compared to the OF.

Playing career, no argument but as a manager it's not just a case of the titles.

Robbie failed at MK Dons and Lennon failed at Bolton.

Robbie for me. Our Championship season was stellar.

2 hours ago, Olly Lee's left boot said:

And Lennon was sacked by Bolton 

25 minutes ago, colinmaroon said:

The vast gulf in finance, even greater when Lennon was at Celtic and his last 2 years he had no Rangers against him, losing the league to the defunct Rangers in 2010-11.

Sure Celtic beat Barcelona while he was a manager, but we beat Bayern Munich with only pennies even then compared to the OF.

Playing career, no argument but as a manager it's not just a case of the titles.

Robbie failed at MK Dons and Lennon failed at Bolton.

Robbie for me. Our Championship season was stellar.

When you compare  their mgt  careers together, Lennon has had the more successful and prestigious management career. 

Yes Lennon had a chance with Celtic, but that's just how it works, it's like saying Pep Guardiola is shite because he's only ever won things with the best teams in the league. 

That's the way it works sometimes unfortunately. 

I'm not even debating that, any neutral football person would agree, Lennon has had the overall more prestigious and successful career. 

Hearts v hibs time, I'd go with Robbie. 

In terms of thier current stock, I'd say Robbie is slightly on the rise although time well tell, Lennons is arguably coming to an end, at least a break you would think. 

Anyway, **** Lennon, he's a greetin faced hibs, celtic that threatens women. 

I'm not arguing for him against Robbie, I liked Robbie, wish he'd never left we were progressing very nicely under him, but taking a step back his overall mgt career is less successful and prestigious than lennons, to date. 

Edited by Olly Lee's left boot

3 hours ago, MoncurMacdonaldMercer said:

Dry yer eyes you absolute slaver 

3 hours ago, PeterintheRain said:

100% this 

3 hours ago, OTT said:

Still don't get that phoodle thing. Where does the name come from?

Made up by a vile little cretin - Dean Owens. A poster on here previously said it's because Robbie apparently looks like a poodle and the Phoodle is to liken him to the Phressley crap.

MoncurMacdonaldMercer
2 hours ago, It should have been ten said:

Dry yer eyes you absolute slaver 

try and keep it civil

neilson very much part of the hibs cup winning story - ask some hibs fans they love him

1 hour ago, MoncurMacdonaldMercer said:

try and keep it civil

neilson very much part of the hibs cup winning story - ask some hibs fans they love him

They’re slavers too so I’ll give that a miss cheers.

Hibs played Dundee Utd then the Rangers after us to win the cup but let’s just ignore that and blame Robbie Neilson.

Jesus wept ??‍♂️

Edited by It should have been ten

At Hearts Robbie has to build his squad from scratch, although CL undoubtedly helped him here.

Lennons best players at Hibs were signed by Stubbs or Celtic cast offs.

Lennon has never been a good manager, his achievements at Celtic  failed to win  the league the only time he came up against RAngers, didn’t win a treble despite the weakest top flight ever, his entire tenure at Celtic was held together by a win against barca. He went to Bolton and failed miserably, turned up at hibs with the help of Alan stubbs team and some loans from Celtic scraped through the championship, last season with alan stubbs team managed to blow a second place finish and this season now hes had to build his own team he got them to 8th in the league, he’s an imposter

Edited by Rudy T