Crisps!!

Morgan

On 24/04/2022 at 14:25, Morgan said:

Thanks, I will do.  👍

I’m like a wee terrier once I get the bit between my teeth.

A splendid mixing of metaphors, sir. :)

• Replies 536

• Locky

• milky_26

• Carl Fredrickson

Did anyone else as a nipper collect Tudor crisp packets to get "Munch Olympic" medals?

2-x-VINTAGE-TUDOR-CRISPS-1972-MUNCH-OLYM

3 minutes ago, redjambo said:

A splendid mixing of metaphors, sir. :)

Coming from you, mon ami, I take that as a genuine compliment.  😚

2 minutes ago, jonesy said:

Just celebrated our 11th anniversary with afternoon tea in Kelso :) 

Congrats, Jonesy. 👍

2 minutes ago, jonesy said:

Just celebrated our 11th anniversary with afternoon tea in Kelso :) 

Lovely stuff!  Congratulations!

11 years?  You’re just a baby obviously.

1 minute ago, Morgan said:

@jonesy  @redjambo 

It’s starting to look like my Crisps thread should be twinned with the Dating thread!  :oohmatron:

Now that would be an interesting thread. :D Folk describing their experiences of sharing packets of speciality crisps with their Tinder dates.

Just now, redjambo said:

Now that would be an interesting thread. :D Folk describing their experiences of sharing packets of speciality crisps with their Tinder dates.

Oh!  Yes please.

:biglaugh:

On 24/04/2022 at 14:31, Morgan said:

Golden Wonder!

Here, @JamesM48, you’ve got a fellow fan!  😉

😂😂😂 another one with good taste 👍

6 hours ago, redjambo said:

Oh yuck no thanks ! Kissing someone who’s just ate crisps ! Imagine the left over crisp bits still in the gaps in their teeth ? ( if they still have teeth like 😎

8 hours ago, jonesy said:

There's a Cheesy Wotsit gag in their somewhere, but I sure as hell ain't going to make it...

:innocent:

R (3).gif

Jambo_jim2001
20 hours ago, redjambo said:

Did anyone else as a nipper collect Tudor crisp packets to get "Munch Olympic" medals?

2-x-VINTAGE-TUDOR-CRISPS-1972-MUNCH-OLYM

This Tudor gold medalist couldn't take it Tudor stopped making crisps 🤣🤣🤣

2yggin.jpg

• 1 year later...

On a very similar subject……a crisp bread roll or sliced bread sandwich…..pick one…… roll for me.

Edited by highlandjambo3

58 minutes ago, Craig_ said:

Anyone tried these babies? Ludicrously flavoursome!Takis Fuego Corn Chips 180g | Wholesale Sweets

Yes!

We first had these in Barcelona years ago.  Absolutely love them. Takis do a whole range of other flavours too, and they are all good.

I’m pretty sure that Scotmid now stock them.

2 hours ago, highlandjambo3 said:

On a very similar subject……a crisp bread roll or sliced bread sandwich…..pick one…… roll for me.

crisp roll. I treated myself to a  slice of chop pork on a well fired roll. Brought back loads of childhood memories. Delicious. 

Dick Dastardly
2 hours ago, highlandjambo3 said:

I'm sure I've said it before but a coronation chicken roll with Cheese XL crisps is the best crisp roll you'll ever get

2 hours ago, JudyJudyJudy said:

crisp roll. I treated myself to a  slice of chop pork on a well fired roll. Brought back loads of childhood memories. Delicious. 

Chop pork?

Sorry, James, I couldn’t let that spelling error just slip away!  🤭

11 minutes ago, Morgan said:

Chop pork?

Sorry, James, I couldn’t let that spelling error just slip away!  🤭

Ok 😂😂 chopped pork . Tasted delicious . 😂😎

Pans Jambo
On 27/12/2018 at 17:52, Samuel Camazzola said:

This guy kens! 

I can't decide between the above, salt and vinegar or tangy tomato as a favourite so just have a cocktail of the three. 

Mackie's make the best crisps at the moment. 

Mackies are braw!

One of my customers so every time I visit them, I get a huge box of FOC "samples" :lol:

These: image.jpeg.a3b7d14e195d52f872ca42ba136f2d8c.jpeg

Are now These:

image.jpeg.9ff07acb7e5b01cc075d214573f4311e.jpeg

35 minutes ago, Pans Jambo said:

Mackies are braw!

One of my customers so every time I visit them, I get a huge box of FOC "samples" :lol:

These: image.jpeg.a3b7d14e195d52f872ca42ba136f2d8c.jpeg

Are now These:

image.jpeg.9ff07acb7e5b01cc075d214573f4311e.jpeg

Aye. Aldi seem to be shifting the Mackies branded ones on discount. 👍 

14 hours ago, Dick Dastardly said:

I'm sure I've said it before but a coronation chicken roll with Cheese XL crisps is the best crisp roll you'll ever get

Cheese XL crisps are the best crisps ever.  It's a shame you only seem to see them in Dumfries & Galloway.

Dick Dastardly
4 minutes ago, Meathook said:

Cheese XL crisps are the best crisps ever.  It's a shame you only seem to see them in Dumfries & Galloway.

They are very popular in Cumbria as well. It's strange that they are such a regional thing though as they are made by Golden Wonder. The £1 bags are the best snack ever. 

Mahoosive bag o crisps, I had to stop buying them in the end, can't stop once opened, even at 450g :jiggy:

maxi bag.png

Dick Dastardly
1 hour ago, jim747 said:

Mahoosive bag o crisps, I had to stop buying them in the end, can't stop once opened, even at 450g :jiggy:

maxi bag.png

450g?!? Ffs where do you get them? And how much? 

55 minutes ago, Americana said:

Remember old school Brannigans Ham and Mustard in the paper foil bag. That was a crisp.

Often do I mourn the passing of Brannigans crisps.

The Roast Beef & Mustard were to die for!

3 hours ago, Dick Dastardly said:

450g?!? Ffs where do you get them? And how much? 

Live in Sweden, so most supermarkets, and that maxi bag is about £3.50 ish, lethal as they are moreish as hell.

PortyJambo
48 minutes ago, Morgan said:

EB95643C-CFD9-4A9F-85B3-CE0878C0ABC6.jpeg

I tried them a couple of months ago, thinking no way are you going to get a crisp that tastes like a fried egg....but, yes they do.

Not sure I would buy again though, nice enough novelty crisp...but still a bit weird!

Dick Dastardly
1 hour ago, jim747 said:

Live in Sweden, so most supermarkets, and that maxi bag is about £3.50 ish, lethal as they are moreish as hell.

Sounds like a bargain! I'm moving 

1 hour ago, Morgan said:

EB95643C-CFD9-4A9F-85B3-CE0878C0ABC6.jpeg

I like them. Like Porty, I was surprised how much they tasted like fried eggs. They reminded me a wee bit of the English Breakfast flavoured crisps Walkers did a while back, they had a bit of an eggy taste to them.

1 hour ago, PortyJambo said:

I tried them a couple of months ago, thinking no way are you going to get a crisp that tastes like a fried egg....but, yes they do.

Not sure I would buy again though, nice enough novelty crisp...but still a bit weird!

34 minutes ago, Meathook said:

I like them. Like Porty, I was surprised how much they tasted like fried eggs. They reminded me a wee bit of the English Breakfast flavoured crisps Walkers did a while back, they had a bit of an eggy taste to them.

We had them for the very first time in Spain back in March.  We weren’t sure if they would actually taste of fried eggs, but they certainly did!

Loved the first few handfuls, then quite honestly, we got the boak a bit!

I’d probably give them another bash but my wife definitely wouldn’t.

• 2 months later...
2 hours ago, neilnunb said:

Just heaven.

They seem to be even better than when they were Mackies.

😍

po_40g.png

The packaging design changed but not 1 other thing did.

19 minutes ago, Pans Jambo said:

The packaging design changed but not 1 other thing did.

I dunno, they just seem tastier. 😁

Wish to feck they'd hurry up and change their ice cream packaging as that's twice now they've not shown up in my home delivery. 😡

24 minutes ago, neilnunb said:

I dunno, they just seem tastier. 😁

Wish to feck they'd hurry up and change their ice cream packaging as that's twice now they've not shown up in my home delivery. 😡

Lol. The Mackie's Ice Cream company now has nothing to do with the crisp manufacturer.

16 minutes ago, Pans Jambo said:

Lol. The Mackie's Ice Cream company now has nothing to do with the crisp manufacturer.

Really? So its just my useless supermarket then. Bloody raging...the ice cream is the thing I put in my basket first! 🤣

2 minutes ago, neilnunb said:

Really? So its just my useless supermarket then. Bloody raging...the ice cream is the thing I put in my basket first! 🤣

Yeah Taylors & Mackies started Mackies crisps together but Taylors bought out their shares (in the snack company) earlier this year. 

Edited by Pans Jambo

• 7 months later...

Sweet and Spicy Flaming Hot Giant Wotsits, an absolute smash fest. 

Edited by Greedy Jambo

20 minutes ago, Greedy Jambo said:

Sweet and Spicy Flaming Hot Giant Wotsits, an absolute smash fest. 

Bought a bag of these yesterday….will give them a go later…big thumbs up👍

IMG_6107.jpeg

3 minutes ago, highlandjambo3 said:

IMG_6107.jpeg

Yaaaas

Put the knitting to one side though, cos they get all over your fingers, and you're not wanting a spicy orange jumper. 

Bonnie Prince Charlie

Broccoli crisps from Morrisons are guid

47 minutes ago, highlandjambo3 said:

IMG_6107.jpeg

Cut your nails ya mank.

Edit. Unless you're a left handed guitarist.

Edited by il Duce McTarkin

18 minutes ago, il Duce McTarkin said:

Cut your nails ya mank.

Edit. Unless you're a left handed guitarist.

I need them for knitting………….and playing the guitar.

Edited by highlandjambo3

22 minutes ago, highlandjambo3 said:

29 minutes ago, highlandjambo3 said:

And slashing up the buttons on the sky remote. 

Welcome to the jungle.