full english breakfast cooked in slow cooker

milky_26

Stop twatting about and just feckin fry it

I can't imagine how bad a fry up done in a slow cooker would be.

Eggs would be like rubber.

Bacon would be floppy.

Beans would turn to mush.

Onions would taste totally wrong.

Edited by Cade

So you put all that in the slow cooker at night and wake up in the morning with a English breakfast all ready done?

Sounds like it woukd be be dry as ****. Scrambled egg never tastes right without being cooked in a pan imo

Edited by AlimOzturk

Craig Gordons Gloves

That looks like a shite breakfast tbh, tomatoes and mushrooms? WTF is all that about? No fried eggs? Toast? 

Disgraceful IMO.

1 hour ago, Craig Gordons Gloves said:

That looks like a shite breakfast tbh, tomatoes and mushrooms? WTF is all that about? No fried eggs? Toast? 

Disgraceful IMO.

Never seen black pudding or sliced sausage, it looked almost vegetarian.

2 hours ago, Cade said:

Bacon would be floppy.

:what: 

10 minutes ago, Jambof3tornado said:

Scrambled eggs in a full english???

Fried eggs or GTF!!!

I was always fried over scrambled, but I’m now a fully fledged poached ?

3 hours ago, Cade said:

Bacon would be floppy.

Onions? Was your edit just adding that as a troll?

ONIONS?

Craig Gordons Gloves
1 hour ago, superjack said:

Never seen black pudding or sliced sausage, it looked almost vegetarian.

Exactly.  Although it said full English rather than Scottish so i gave them the benefit of the doubt on that.

A proper "full Scottish" should consist of

Bacon

Sausage (Link)

Sausage (Square)

Black Pudding

Tattie Scone

Fried Egg

Beans (optional)

Toast

All of the above would be rank in a slow cooker btw and should only be cooked in frying pans and under the grill. 

Grill all the way for a breakfast, there's no need to fry anything. Poach the eggs. 

Edited by IronJambo

5 hours ago, IronJambo said:

Grill all the way for a breakfast, there's no need to fry anything. Poach the eggs. 

Yes, but a fry taste better than grill. And fried bread is better than toast. 

7 hours ago, IronJambo said:

Boiled eggs are lovely but it's difficult to integrate them in to a full Scottish.

Here's an instruction video of how to make them...

8 hours ago, Craig Gordons Gloves said:

Exactly.  Although it said full English rather than Scottish so i gave them the benefit of the doubt on that.

Bacon

Sausage (Link)

Sausage (Square)

Black Pudding

Tattie Scone

Fried Egg

Beans (optional)

Toast

All of the above would be rank in a slow cooker btw and should only be cooked in frying pans and under the grill. 

Get rid of the eggs and swap that tattie scone for hash browns, add some cooked tomatoes and you have the perfect fry up.

Fitzroy Pointon
2 hours ago, Serge said:

Boiled eggs are lovely but it's difficult to integrate them in to a full Scottish.

Here's an instruction video of how to make them...

:gok: yer fookin Doyle 

2 hours ago, superjack said:

Get rid of the eggs and swap that tattie scone for hash browns, add some cooked tomatoes and you have the perfect fry up.

Hash browns are a tasteless waste of time and as for cooked tomatoes  ?

Sorry, I'm have feckn none of this slow cooker pish.

I am Scottish and as such, the big bloody frying pan comes oot on a Sunday. Its the only way to assist wi the raging hangovers! The end.

Pork Link (or Lorne)

Black Pudding

Tattie Scone

Fried Mushrooms

Fried Eggs

Beans

Buttered Roll

Anything else is just NOT proper!

Edited by Pans Jambo

16 minutes ago, Pans Jambo said:

I am Scottish and as such, the big bloody frying pan comes oot on a Sunday. Its the only way to assist wi the raging hangovers! The end.

Pork Link (or Lorne)

Black Pudding

Tattie Scone

Fried Mushrooms

Fried Eggs

Beans

Buttered Roll

Pans gets it.

:clap:

Only thing i would do is transfer Plum tomatoes in for beans.

Edited by iantjambo

Thanks for this thread, think I will have a full Scottish for my tea tonight. My choice will be

Pork sausages

Square sausage

Black pudding

Fried egg

Fried tattie scone

Fried mushrooms

Hash Browns

Maybe some beans

Buttered roll

Lashings of tomato sauce

Edited by The Frenchman Returns

10 minutes ago, The Frenchman Returns said:

Thanks for this thread, think I will have a full Scottish for my tea tonight. My choice will be

Pork sausages

Square sausage

Black pudding

Fried egg

Fried tattie scone

Fried mushrooms

Hash Browns

Maybe some beans

Buttered roll

Lashings of tomato sauce

BRAW :thumbsup:

7 hours ago, ri Alban said:

Yes, but a fry taste better than grill. And fried bread is better than toast. 

Smoked bacon instead of plain and it negates a need to fry for taste. As for sausages, just buy decent ones. No oil needs to go near anything. 

You can't beat homemade tattie scones, or maybe those from wee bakers.  Far, far better than the cardboard things they sell in supermarkets.  As well as the ordinary ones, my mum used to make tattie scones which had oatmeal in them; I've never seen or heard of them like that elsewhere.

The correct fry up is this

Bacon 

Square 

Link (good quality steak ones or go without)

Black pudding  

Tattie scone 

Mushrooms 

Fried egg 

Tinned tomatoes 

2  buttered rolls. 1 for a bacon roll and 1 for mopping up duties. 

Beans don't moisten the tattie scones and black pudding enough.

"Slow cooker enthusiast" hahahaha WTF???  That should be changed to "The lazy English bint"

Edited by Armageddon

1 hour ago, been here before said:

No-one else fire a bit haggis into a cooked breakfast then?

Definitely. Not a full Scottish breakfast without lorne sausage, tattie scone and haggis IMHO.

Craig Gordons Gloves

I'm very concerned by the penchant for tomatoes with a fry up, and mushrooms.  THAT'S JUST NOT OK!

Nothing that could be classed as a vegetable/fruit should be allowed near a fry up. That's the rules, let's stick to them and stop with the nonsense. 

30 minutes ago, Craig Gordons Gloves said:

Nothing that could be classed as a vegetable/fruit should be allowed near a fry up. That's the rules, let's stick to them and stop with the nonsense. 

Ramsay-of-Carluke-fruit-pudding-sliced-300x300.jpg.1345618545434947f30d443a12f094cb.jpg

5 hours ago, Pans Jambo said:

Pork Link (or Lorne)

Black Pudding

Tattie Scone

Fried Mushrooms

Fried Eggs

Beans

Buttered Roll

Mushrooms are for deviants. 

2 hours ago, IronJambo said:

Smoked bacon instead of plain and it negates a need to fry for taste. As for sausages, just buy decent ones. No oil needs to go near anything. 

I do like a grilled version, but with poached eggs and waffles. 

55 minutes ago, Craig Gordons Gloves said:

I'm very concerned by the penchant for tomatoes with a fry up, and mushrooms.  THAT'S JUST NOT OK!

16 hours ago, Craig Gordons Gloves said:

Bacon

Sausage (Link)

Sausage (Square)

Black Pudding

Tattie Scone

Fried Egg

Beans (optional)

Toast

But seeds are acceptable?

Edited by iantjambo

12 minutes ago, ri Alban said:

I do like a grilled version, but with poached eggs and waffles. 

Oooft that's a whole different game. Two waffles with two link sausages (cut in the middle so they sit flat on the bottom waffle), 3 smoked bacon rashers on top of the sausages, then the other waffle on top. Drizzled with a very hot sauce with a poached egg on top and you have yourself a Waffle Razzler. It's the dugs danglies. 

2 hours ago, been here before said:

No-one else fire a bit haggis into a cooked breakfast then?

How could I forget the haggis?

28 minutes ago, IronJambo said:

Oooft that's a whole different game. Two waffles with two link sausages (cut in the middle so they sit flat on the bottom waffle), 3 smoked bacon rashers on top of the sausages, then the other waffle on top. Drizzled with a very hot sauce with a poached egg on top and you have yourself a Waffle Razzler. It's the dugs danglies. 

You're a professional at this game. More suggestions please. :D

I'm starving now after reading this thread again. 

1 hour ago, ri Alban said:

You're a professional at this game. More suggestions please. :D

I'm starving now after reading this thread again. 

You could melt cheese on top instead of putting an egg on. 

Very simple, but another favourite is to put bacon and egg in pitta rather than a roll. Again, hot sauce is a great addition. Best with a runny yolk, as then you get the pleasant burn of the sauce before the yolk cools it. 

Square Sausage

Haggis

Tattie Scone

Crispy Bacon

Fried Dumpling

Tomato

Fried Egg

Toast and Butter

Pot of Tea

21 minutes ago, BarneyBattles said:

You were doing really well until you mentioned tomato sauce. The spunk of Satan. 

Daddies or perhaps HP but leave the ketchup for the bairns chicken dippers!

As for waffles in a cooked breakfast, those folk should be on a closely monitored register. 

Having beans AND broon sauce is the act of an utter deviant. There should be laws against that sort of nonsense. 

26 minutes ago, Lemongrab said:

Having beans AND broon sauce is the act of an utter deviant. There should be laws against that sort of nonsense. 

Away and boil yer heid. Broon is the only sauce for a full breakfast, especially when beans are involved.

Only weirdos have beans for breakfast. 

And sauce of any kind just shows the actual ingredients aren't good/tasty so you have to mask their taste with sauce.

There's nothing wrong with lorne sausage in a roll, but it shouldn't be part of a proper full breakfast.

Best bacon, link sausage (pork), black pudding, tatty scone and an egg or two the way you prefer, (poached for me) plus some cherry tomatoes and mushrooms to get some of your 5-a-day in early. Have some haggis and/or dumpling/fruit pudding as well if you want. Plenty of toast and tea or coffee. 

Sets you up for the week!

WTF is it with all this food lark?

Unless you have a pressing appointment in front of the magistrate beakfast should look like this.

4A259B5E00000578-5494483-image-m-3_1520939542044.jpg