Can anyone recommend a good pub in Maryhill

Romanov Stole My Pension

I'll shortly be moving into a new flat on Grovepark Street which I believe is just into Maryhill. Is there anyone that knows the area and can recommend a good local?

The missus used to live near that area.

She says your best bet is the west end, something like Byres Road. She will not recommend a pub in Maryhill!

Hope that helps! :)

conn artist

i echo the above post, get down byers road. maryhill pubs seem pretty ropey. tennents on byers road is good for football, russells has some big sceens also. ashton lane is best for drinking and socializin. brel has some decent beers and is great when the suns out. just cut down queen margeret drive should only take ten minutes walk to get to.

Pete Seeger

Don't drink in Maryhill. Go to the west end like he said. We did a bit of central heating work through there and the vans we're getting tanned, neighbours getting their washing set on fire, Young teams hanging about all over the shop. Watch yourself through there and I'm not meaning that patronising.

winchester 73

Yep I'd agree with the above posts. Maryhill is a bit *****ey. Nearest boozer may be Star and Garter (not recommended).

Walk to Great Western road (5 mins) and most of them are alright. Walk a bit further to Gibson St, Woodlands Road and Byres Road and you're spoilt for choice.

I had a friend who moved up to Glasgow from Ayrshire into a flat in Saracen St (Possil). He couldnae go out at night, he was too feart. :eek:

conn artist

republic bier halle on great western road is also good as are some of the other pubs around there. i usually stop in or around there before i head to the glasgow warriors games at firhill. there is also an ace italian there called mancini. as good as the partenope in edinburgh. also try the lansdowne bar on lansdowne crescent i think. real nice food and the last time i was in the bar maids where stunnin. woodlands road also has some nice boozers but may be a bit far from mayhill if all your wanting is a local but worth the walk.

as others have said, dont go out in Maryhill. Gt Western Road and Byers road are much better bets

Just up the road in Possil lovely wee pub called the Saracen Bar ask anyone about there they'll point u in the right direction, lovely salt of the earth sorts.

Like the other posters have said get yourself over to the West End, Ashton Lane.

Romanov Stole My Pension

Thanks people, I've been to quite a lot of the pubs on Byres road (Tennents is great, Russels was better before it changed to the common rooms and PJ champs was good for sports) so I'll probably take your advice when out and just walk closer to the uni for pubs.

Is that area really that bad? The pubs surely aren't that rough. I'll maybe do a wee bit research of the pubs once i move there and just go to Great Western Road if there's no decent ones. Cheers

Pete Seeger
Thanks people, I've been to quite a lot of the pubs on Byres road (Tennents is great, Russels was better before it changed to the common rooms and PJ champs was good for sports) so I'll probably take your advice when out and just walk closer to the uni for pubs.

Is that area really that bad? The pubs surely aren't that rough. I'll maybe do a wee bit research of the pubs once i move there and just go to Great Western Road if there's no decent ones. Cheers

When i went to college one of the guys was from Maryhill. He came away with some stories. I'd just be careful. I don't think he was full of sh*** either because he spent more time in jail than the college.

Is that area really that bad? The pubs surely aren't that rough.

Famous. Last. Words.

Reminds me of the bits in teen horror flicks when the big breasted girl says "i'll just be a minute" never to return............

There aren't that many pubs on Garscube Road these days. Similar ideas to the rest, but there are a few around St George's cross that are OK, and the Caernarvon on St George's road is OK. But if you've gone that far, it's just a Robbie shy to Sauchie St from there.

Famous. Last. Words.

Reminds me of the bits in teen horror flicks when the big breasted girl says "i'll just be a minute" never to return............

What makes a bad pub? If you're not an arsehole or there at 2 in the morning i doubt anything bad will happen.

The Strathmore - free Chili n nacho's on a wednesday and quiz n bingo on a thursday!

Also the guy that starts at one end of Maryhill road, visitting each pub, finishes here so is always plastered and talks pish.:)

From where you are you could either go West like many above have said, or if you go to Charing X there is a quality pub called the Bon Accord. It's been there for decades, and specialises in "proper" beer. Alternatively there is Uisge-Beatha on Woodlands Road if you're a wisky man. A bit closer to home is the Lansdowne, it's on Landowne Cresent, which is between Great Western Road and Maryhill - quality, if maybe a bit too fancy, basement pub. On the other side of Great Western Road there is Park Road where you'll find Bar Bola, right beside the Shish Mahal (a better skite/curry combination you will never find...)

Basically you are sorted. I lived around Great Western Road for four years, you won't go thirsty or hungry...never been drinking in deepest darkest Maryhill mind.