Toe Bash

What has happened to the auld  fashioned " tae bash when shooting?

I once played a five a side game where  I said I would toe bash every shot. scored about 6 out of our 12 or so goals. you hit the target nearly every time.

A toe bash with your weaker foot is also effective. IMO too many players when shooting just don't hit it, too many try to get back on their stronger foot and then the chance is  gone- answer- TAE BASH  it.

A under used weapon in todays  game  of technique and strategy or is it like child labour ( in the UK  at least), good that its gone and  should never return?

I thought this was going to be a  thread about a potential signing.

Disappointing.

Alexis Sanchez scored a naughty toe-bash last night against Germany.

I love a good toe punt when playing. If I don't know where it's going to go, the keeper will be equally confused! Growing up, toe punting seemed to be considered cheap shot where as the side of your foot was considered deliberate and tasteful. I don't care though, toe punting is good for taking it early when un-compose and should be encouraged. Modern balls make toe punts even more unpredictable - embrace the element of luck.

For older contributors..... Hot shot Hamish, from the Scorcher comic always scored toe pokes goals. His manager Ian McWhacker. :)

Carrick1874

What has happened to the auld fashioned " tae bash when shooting?

I once played a five a side game where I said I would toe bash every shot. scored about 6 out of our 12 or so goals. you hit the target nearly every time.

A toe bash with your weaker foot is also effective. IMO too many players when shooting just don't hit it, too many try to get back on their stronger foot and then the chance is gone- answer- TAE BASH it.

A under used weapon in todays game of technique and strategy or is it like child labour ( in the UK at least), good that its gone and should never return?

Made David Narey famous in 1982 but his was more a toe poke

Used to always hit my penalties with a TB. Unpredictable and usually impossible to save if on target.

Todays fitba boots have pretty much removed a real toe bash from the game.

Romario made a career out of toe bashing. Maybe more of a toe poke man. I think he's still Brazil national side top scorer. But get it right it's a taegay

Do The Dance

Suarez used the toe poke to superb effect at Liverpool. I'd imagine he still does it now, but I don't watch as much.

A toe "poke" meant somthin' different from where I grew up.

Tae bash was teh terminology!

Toe bash? Mibbe in Eton. In Gilmerton it's always been known as a TAE PUNT!

It's a toe poke down here :thumbsup:

Never heard of a toe bash in the football sense tbh.

Toe poke is and will always be the preferred method.

Athletes Feet

This thread raises some proper intellectually stimulating points..... is it toe bash, poke or punt? Or, is there a subtle difference between the 3...

******* hurts when you bash the big one off a door in the hoose.

45846ca44b501b11b419b431f1816d05.gif

Cruyff Turn

Tae punts were seen as a sign of someone with no technique or someone who simply couldn't play fitbaw. Big no no.

Only time a tae punt was allowed was in a game of sting.

Worthing Jambo

Even worse at the airport when off to Thailand John!

Todays fitba boots have pretty much removed a real toe bash from the game.

This is my thoughts. A toe punt in a heavy pair of black leather Diadora's would be like a rocket, couldn't see it in the shiny slippy flimsy things players wear these days

Even worse at the airport when off to Thailand John!

No comment:-0). If you are away on holiday there with the good lady. Enjoy.

Aye, my mother used to say hit the other toe one for luck.....sadist?

Tae punts were seen as a sign of someone with no technique or someone who simply couldn't play fitbaw. Big no no.

tae bash +mould master = not sitting for a week.

Yip, but are they under used now as a result?

Especially when players struggle to do anything with their weaker foot, just tae bash it if it lands on your wrong foot? A tae bash will hit the target 99/100. Any tae bash within 25 yards is causing trouble.

If not, you'll skelp and opponent and take him down! win- win.

Cruyff Turn

Yip, but are they under used now as a result?

Especially when players struggle to do anything with their weaker foot, just tae bash it if it lands on your wrong foot? A tae bash will hit the target 99/100. Any tae bash within 25 yards is causing trouble.

If not, you'll skelp and opponent and take him down! win- win.

Yeah, nowadays I think it's more acceptable with the flight on the ball, a tae punt from 25 yards and it could end up a screamer.

Remember Ronaldinho's tae punt against Chelsea for Barca in the CL?

maybe it's a Scottish thing. We were always told hit it wi the laces.

Cruyff Turn

tae bash +mould master = not sitting for a week.

Indeed. It's a Classic, I wonder if kids now still play records or sting.

Yeah, nowadays I think it's more acceptable with the flight on the ball, a tae punt from 25 yards and it could end up a screamer.

Remember Ronaldinho's tae punt against Chelsea for Barca in the CL?

maybe it's a Scottish thing. We were always told hit it wi the laces.

On that , I think we have found out why our game hasn't developed. The decline in our game is in correlation to the decline of the use in Scotland of the toe bash due to bad publicity. Other nations embrace it.

Time to open up a toe bash academy.

proof

Dec12_2016_Getty_Oakozhan_BusinessGraphD

Bars show decline of our European standing the past 30 years

Arrow shows the decline of the toe bash.

Coincidence?

Fitzroy Pointon

Most effective in "long bangers'. :)

Pretty good in Granny as well.

Sent from my SM-A310F using Tapatalk

Fitzroy Pointon

We had a game when we were wee where whenever we seen a phone box we had to run and boot it while shouting "TB TO THE BT".

Well......we found it funny.....

Toe poke is so very middle England. For me, it's a tae bash at goal or tae punt if it's a goal kick or a strike requiring distance more than accuracy.

Totally agree with OP, bring it back!

I scored a toe at fives last night actually, it's the preference for shite folk with no technique but in certain situations it has to be done.

Also pissed off the Brazil team he should've saved it for the last minute.

For reference it was a Toe banger up my way or a Toby for short

I miss the old classic winger instead of this new prolific winger cut inside and shoot all the time pish.

HamishMcGonagall

Tattie punt for me when I was younger.

Always made better by shoutin "TAAAAAATTTTIIIEEEE" as you hit it.

Wonder if Sanchez shouted that the other night..

Fraggle1990

'Tobys dinny count'

The war cry during a game of knockout.

Toe bash? Mibbe in Eton. In Gilmerton it's always been known as a TAE PUNT!

Tollcross too,  as in tae-punt yer erse oot the windae.

TASE BASH in Ferniehill ...posh bit of Gilmerton

As a proud Gilmertonian...I cannot disagree with your assessment of Fernie ;-)

Pretty good in Granny as well.

Aye :)