Wembley stadium

Crete

It's hard to believe that Wembley stadium holds the same crowd as hampden park,it looks so much larger.

Wtf about 40,000 of a difference :D

Awful stadium. Awful location. Despite a fortune spent, cheap looking (and feeling) seats  with, incredibly, some with "restricted views", Poor transport links. Few pubs and eating places nearby.

jamtartan74

[emoji23][emoji23][emoji23][emoji23][emoji23] stunning op

Awful stadium. Awful location. Despite a fortune spent, cheap looking (and feeling) seats with, incredibly, some with "restricted views", Poor transport links. Few pubs and eating places nearby.

Couldn't agree more. Tradition gone wrong because the new one feels nothing like the old one.

Cracking op though :rofl:

Awful stadium. Awful location. Despite a fortune spent, cheap looking (and feeling) seats with, incredibly, some with "restricted views", Poor transport links. Few pubs and eating places nearby.

Wind up!! If not, nothing about any stadium would ever please you! The only thing that is correct in your post is your "feeling" but that's only because it's yours!

Awful stadium. Awful location. Despite a fortune spent, cheap looking (and feeling) seats  with, incredibly, some with "restricted views", Poor transport links. Few pubs and eating places nearby.

I really like this post. It makes anything you've said about our new stand sound like rampant glorification.

It's good to recalibrate once in a while.

Wind up!! If not, nothing about any stadium would ever please you! The only thing that is correct in your post is your "feeling" but that's only because it's yours!

tynecastle always pleases me. What are you on about?

Wembley is a complete shit hole. Hated it when I went there occasionally

Find the transport links good.

Always had a great view.

Always found a pub easy enough.

I see nothing wrong with the area.

I enjoyed it in November with the tartan army great atmosphere lovely stadium right of the underground and up Wembley way.

Sent from my SM-G955F using Tapatalk

Went when Scotland played England a few years back and thought it was a fantastic stadium.  Appreciate the cost, but when you think of Wembley, Millenium stadium and we get Hampden!

Lucille's Thirsty

Went when Scotland played England a few years back and thought it was a fantastic stadium. Appreciate the cost, but when you think of Wembley, Millenium stadium and we get Hampden!

Yep.

I went to the Carling Cup final between Cardiff and Liverpool 2012 and the whole stadium just screams class it's an expensive day I'll admit but when is it not going to football stadium outwith your own city.

Hampden :lol:

Are there any plans to "do something" with Hampden? It's a national embarrassment.

LarrysRightFoot

Are there any plans to "do something" with Hampden? It's a national embarrassment.

Talk of Scotland leaving Hampden. Don't know how serious it is.

The 'newest' stadium I'd really fancy visiting having seen the atmosphere for recent Champions League matches is the Juventus stadium. Looks fantastic, crowd right on top of the pitch. Little wonder given the side they have and that support their home record is phenomenal. 

BroughtyJambo

Been to old Wembley and the new one. Have to say new one is far far superior.

Would have been easy to do a 'Hampden' and try and polish a t*rd but they had the guts to put something far better in its place

Find the transport links good.

Always had a great view.

Always found a pub easy enough.

I see nothing wrong with the area.

Pretty much sums it up for me.

Bull's-eye

Epic slaver :rofl:

Independence

If you have the money? If you don't I dony know who does. This is tiny wee Scotland where all football money goes to the glory hunters in Glasgow at Heltic Park!

Independence

Would have been easy to do a 'Hampden' and try and polish a t*rd but they had the guts to put something far better in its place

'Had the guts to' !!! What a laugh! It is all down to money and commercialism backed by Westminster!

Two entirely different budgets and very different times.

Still the SFA did make an erse of Hampden. It is embarrassingly bad and surely the money could have been spent better. It's an awful place to watch football.

Great statement

Annoys me that when the new main stand was designed and built, they made go way past the corners. This eliminates any future chance of re-building both end stands closer to the pitch.

http://goo.gl/images/U0B79t

https://goo.gl/images/U0B79t

Sooperstar

Wembley is a cracking stadium. Been a few times, as recently as last weekend for the League 1 playoff final. Even with 35000 spare seats the fans were still able to create an atmosphere. I was at the other end of the pitch from the Millwall fans and they sounded loud as **** for the 5 minutes after they scored.

Tube out there was a doddle from Leicester Square and we were back in the centre of London within half an hour or so after the match finishing.

Independence

Two entirely different budgets and very different times.

Still the SFA did make an erse of Hampden. It is embarrassingly bad and surely the money could have been spent better. It's an awful place to watch football.

..but they only had the money they had and it was the best they could deliver. There was no golden wand!

I'm sure there were alternatives. Your not telling me that was the only way to redevelop with the money available?

PeterintheRain

The were given ?50,000,000.   The Welsh built their sporting palace for ?72,000,000.   The GFA chose to build the cheapest, nastiest, most pointless stadium in World Sport.  The only neutral stadium where clubs have their own ends. 

Go back to 1991 when the SRU announced their plans for the rebuilding of Murrayfield.   Michael Forsyth MP as Secretary for Sport stated that the government would provide help funding the project.   Before the echoes had died down every Glasgow bigot and their followers had swamped the media with the same rants about the evil tories trying to close down Hampden and force the GFA to share with the SRU.

And it worked.  There was no government funding to help rebuild the National Stadium (Edinburgh)  just one single ?5 Million grant from the Lottery Fund.   Which resulted in Scottish Rugby spending 20 years in poverty and not being able to support the game while it changed to professionalism.   20 lost years thanks to the Glasgow mafia.. 

Thatcher was nothing to do with it.  Hampden is a giant toilet bowl. Always has been and always will be.   The only solution is to blow the place to Hell and put up a memorial to the criminals who used to run Scottish football while starting a new association based in The Capital and with anybody linked to celtic or sevco banned for life.

The were given ?50,000,000.   The Welsh built their sporting palace for ?72,000,000.   The GFA chose to build the cheapest, nastiest, most pointless stadium in World Sport.  The only neutral stadium where clubs have their own ends. 

Go back to 1991 when the SRU announced their plans for the rebuilding of Murrayfield.   Michael Forsyth MP as Secretary for Sport stated that the government would provide help funding the project.   Before the echoes had died down every Glasgow bigot and their followers had swamped the media with the same rants about the evil tories trying to close down Hampden and force the GFA to share with the SRU.

And it worked.  There was no government funding to help rebuild the National Stadium (Edinburgh)  just one single ?5 Million grant from the Lottery Fund.   Which resulted in Scottish Rugby spending 20 years in poverty and not being able to support the game while it changed to professionalism.   20 lost years thanks to the Glasgow mafia.. 

Thatcher was nothing to do with it.  Hampden is a giant toilet bowl. Always has been and always will be.   The only solution is to blow the place to Hell and put up a memorial to the criminals who used to run Scottish football while starting a new association based in The Capital and with anybody linked to celtic or sevco banned for life.

excellent post on multiple points!

Scottish Football was given short shrift from the government of the day and as a result we did not get the ability to build a much better stadium.

Hampden with proper funding could be an excellent stadium based on the newer stand model

It will almost certainly never happen as public funding is far more of a hot potato than in previous decades

Do you know why SRU only got ?5 million - the WRU got over ?40 million towards the costs for Cardiff. 

Thanks for your post - very interesting. 

Do you know why SRU only got ?5 million - the WRU got over ?40 million towards the costs for Cardiff. 

Thanks for your post - very interesting. 

Despite the claims of a stadium built for ?72 million the cost was far higher and there was funding made available which was not done for Scotland

'The total construction cost of the stadium was ?121 million,[3] of which the Millennium Commission funded ?46 million.[7]'

At the cost of ?1b+

Hampden cost around ?55m

Guts, money?

It was a joke that they never moved away from that ridiculous location when they had the chance. I can still remember Farry blowing on about Glasgow being the hub of Scottish football when we could have had a purpose built stadium in an accessible central location.

That worked out well.

Lucille's Thirsty

The fact that our national stadium is in that shitehole makes it even more trampy,the outside of Hampden is a disgrace the facade of the stadium it screams "oh well that'll do"