I, Daniel Blake ... Film

jambo1961

Not the best acting but its really heartbreaking what folks down on their luck have to endure when dealing with the DWP.

Cheers

I find his films patronising as ****! Isn't it awful being poor? No, not really. You tend to have a laugh or you'd go off yer head

Jambo-Jimbo

Only had to deal with them for a few months, patronising barstewards some of them were, told one of them I'd worked for longer than he'd been alive when he was trying to be a patronising smart erse.

Someone I knew told the same snotty little tw*t that she had knickers which were older then him and to stop being a silly wee laddie and just sign the form.

Some of them treated you like scum, fortunately I didn't have to put up with them for long.

Alwayssunnyingorgie

The film is pretty pish, It kind of takes every stereotype of being poor and rolls it up to make Daniel Blake. I've had to deal with the job centre a few times and got the odd snooty ***** but most were fine, They have a difficult job dealing with people who aren't getting dole money for what ever reason so no wonder some may come over as if they can't be arsed if they have had people abusing them all day. There's clear rules when you go on the dole so no point crying if you can't stick to them.

I thought was decent. The bit in the foodbank is heart wrenching. However, I think they made more out of his situation than reality would actually dictate.

Straightfromtheheart

I thought was decent. The bit in the foodbank is heart wrenching. However, I think they made more out of his situation than reality would actually dictate.

i think they got his situation spot on.

Jezza C says it looks blinding on big Ken Loaches home cinema in his 5 mill London townhouse. Champagne is optional.

Champagne Socialism is alive and well!!

Jambo dans les Pyrenees

It doesn't.

If a society is to be measured on how it treats its most vulnerable, we have about one election left before the decline becomes terminal.

That is if you believe in such a thing as society, of course.

It doesn't.

If a society is to be measured on how it treats its most vulnerable, we have about one election left before the decline becomes terminal.

Would you say the Victoriana believed in society?

It doesn't.

Jambo dans les Pyrenees

In my opinion, not really. They had a sense of country and people but not society in a positive cohesive way as I think most today was perceive it.

I think the best intentions for society were between 1945 and 1975. Even the Tories such as McMillan and Heath realised and tried to contribute positively towards that. Not long after that, along came someone who didn't even believe there was something as society...

First hour or so of the movie is fantastic. The rest of the movie is entirely predictable and In keeping with many of his movies.

It's an absolutely sobering perspective into what is happening right now in the UK. Last time I hear there was 3000+ that had died as a result of Tory sanctions.

F#ck me is that a spoiler alert, I have not watched it yet :2thumbsup: