My low

weemarky

I know for lots of you tonight is another night of derby defeat. Painful yes but not the end of the world. Those of much greater years than I have no doubt experienced more disappointment at the hands of our football club but for me, tonight was probably my low point as hearts fan.

For well over 20 years now I have supported the famous through thick and thin. I remember crying my eyes out at Hampden as an 8 year old boy after the 5-1 cup final defeat against Rangers and, although I now have a son coming up on that age I can't remember feeling as disappointed, as angry, as let down by a hearts team on the pitch as I do tonight.

I have been there when fighting relegation, needing results to avoid playoffs and just the general losing games we shouldn't be losing. The latter is part and parcel of being a Hearts fan. We have always lost games against teams that we "should" be beating. If that didn't happen we would have been much more successful! I was there through the off field turmoil of the Pieman and Romanov years but tonight, on the pitch, we as fans were massively let down.

One aspect of why tonight was such a let down is because, for once, our off-field affairs have never been better! We are in a good place financially, new stand, FOH, well run, respectable institution etc. Because of this success off the park we, as fans then expect to see parallel improvement on the park! This is difficult to achieve obviously as football is not an exact science and we as fans understand that.