Chippy broon sauce?

Dawnrazor

Is there anywhere that sells the broon sauce like you get in the chippy?

The wife got a bottle from a shop somewhere but it was pish!!

I kill for a fish supper with salt and SAUCE!!! There must be someone that sells it surley???

Just dilute down some yourself. Add vinegar to brown sauce until you like the consistency.

Edited by Victorian

Just dilute down some yourself. Add vinegar to brown sauce until you like the consistency.

The correct answer.

Never fancied the stuff in old juice bottle's that chippy's sell.

Riddley Walker

I kill for a fish supper with salt and SAUCE!!! There must be someone that sells it surley???

Are you OK?

Do The Dance

This is what the chippys use, ?1 a bottle in morrisons and asda.

And they add water to it.

You'll get a large "bottle" of the gold star stuff already mentioned from Marko probably. It's made in Glasgow, ironically.

126985.jpg?v=6

Any supermarket should sell it.

Aye, big bottles in Farmfoods, broon and rid. Don't use anything else now.

Sent from my SM-A310F using Tapatalk

Edited by Salad Fingers

Adding vinegar to any brown sauce is an absolute myth when it comes to making chippy sauce

Yep. The gold star stuff with a bit water is exactly what the chippy horses on your supper.

How much water though?

Not too much. You can make it too pishy and you've ruined it. I've always got a bit left in one bottle so I'll put some of the new one into the old bottle and pish up the new one a wee bit.

I only put it on chips on there own or on fish and chips. Everything else is daddies or HP. Ketchup is for weirdos.

Some chippies don't water it down. Gorgie Fish Bar for example. Whilst others do... Gino's at Longstone can be particularly watery, which is crap.

Real men demand full concentrate, leave the watery pish to Hibbies and the like.

It's water not vinegar the chippies add. Vinegar makes it lethal if you breath in when your eating your chips.

This!

50/50 water and cash and carry gallon bottles of broon sauce.

Years working in Aldo's in Uphall as a spotty teenager taught me this.

Stephane Grappelli

The Gorgie Fish bar sells bottles of it and they're due back from their holidays any day now.

Aii but it is dear and you can buy it from a supermarket for a quid. They charge about ?2.50. Seen some chippys sell it in milk cartons ffs.

Use a old sauce bottle and mix it up with 50-50 sauce and water.

Or better yet use it straight from the bottle.

Edited by AlimOzturk

Stephane Grappelli

Aii but it is dear and you can buy it from a supermarket for a quid. They charge about ?2.50. Seen some chippys sell it in milk cartons ffs.

Use a old sauce bottle and mix it up with 50-50 sauce and water.

Or better yet use it straight from the bottle.

Cheers. I didn't know what they were charging for it, I just remember spying bottles on the shelf during that awkward wait for them to get my haggis supper ready!

Watered down Broon Chippy Sauce ?

Jesus wept. What's the world coming to ?

Miserable gits.

The chippy sauce you get served in the chippy is the watered down version and has been for decades. Edited by Sooperstar

It's what the Edinburgh chippy has always been renowned for.

I would lick the paper or tray at the end if I spotted a wee pool of it !

When my folks were staying in East Calder, I always got a few bottles of the brown gold from Toninos chippie in mid Calder prior to heading back up to Lewis. Now they're in Blackridge, I still haven't found a chippie close by that sells it. To make matters worse, nowhere up here sells gold star broon sauce so I can't make my own.

Amazon is your friend

Edit to Add I looked on it and couldn't find it.

Edited by AlimOzturk

I am gonna buy a bottle of the stuff and do the watering down bit.

Fish and chips tomorrow and I canny wait....

We've been living in Lancashire for 9 years, a fish supper isnae the same without broon sauce, the wife has been directed to source the sauce asap!!!!

Cheers, a problem solved, gold star + water, magic!!

I am gonna buy a bottle of the stuff and do the watering down bit.

Fish and chips tomorrow and I canny wait....

Just had chips there with watered doon brown sauce. I had always used vinegar however used water after reading this thread and it was just barry!

Amazon is your friend

Edit to Add I looked on it and couldn't find it.

I've been looking on Amazon and eBay with no luck. only supermarkets on lewis is Tesco and coop, no luck in either of them. I'll just need to continue slumming it with mayonnaise on my chips.

Regal Kingston

Not too much. You can make it too pishy and you've ruined it. I've always got a bit left in one bottle so I'll put some of the new one into the old bottle and pish up the new one a wee bit.

I only put it on chips on there own or on fish and chips. Everything else is daddies or HP. Ketchup is for weirdos.

Ketchup has its moments - would you put broon on a burger?

Or a hotdog?

Would i feck no[emoji1] you've got me!

It's mustard and ketchup or relish or whatever!

Feck. I'm Hank Marvin just thinking about it.

Effin tuna salad tonight :muggy:

so tomorrow canny come soon enough.

:

It wasn't the gold star stuff though just some shite from Aldis.

Still was great with a wee bit salt. Feel the weegie chippies who attempt to make brown sauce always get it wrong.

• 3 years later...

There's never been a better time to start watering down yer brown sauce. 

Just done it myself. Wee bit bottled water added to Goldstar, taste and repeat. 

50 minutes ago, Space Pirate said:

There's never been a better time to start watering down yer brown sauce. 

Just done it myself. Wee bit bottled water added to Goldstar, taste and repeat. 

Gold Star👍

On 29/07/2016 at 07:11, superjack said:

They moved from East Cauther to Blackridge?!?!?!? Try Coia's chippy in the main street in Armadale when you are back down.

On 29/07/2016 at 16:10, Regal Kingston said:

Or a hotdog?

giphy.gif

Brown on a burger, mustard on a hot dog. We're not animals.

7 minutes ago, Smithee said:

giphy.gif

Brown on a burger, mustard on a hot dog. We're not animals.

Sake man, that's a whole new thread. 

I'd put chippy sauce on a battered burger on a roll. 

A proper burger roll with cheese, lettuce and onion.. it has to be ketchup. 

Hot dog is mustard and ketchup. 

Edited by Space Pirate

9 minutes ago, Space Pirate said:

Sake man, that's a whole new thread. 

I'd put chippy sauce on a battered burger on a roll. 

A proper burger roll with cheese, lettuce and onion.. it has to be ketchup. 

Hot dog is mustard and ketchup. 

Ketchup's for lassies and bairns.

Red or respect, you can't have both!

2 minutes ago, Smithee said:

Ketchup's for lassies and bairns.

Red or respect, you can't have both!

Nahh. it has it's purposes. 

It's when folk start keeping it in the fridge that it all kicks off. 

51 minutes ago, graygo said:

I bought a bottle of that Gold Star chippy sauce a couple of weeks ago, pretty sick of it now.

As you would be if you used any brown sauce regularly. 

It's the best there is, the best there was and the best there ever will be. 

28 minutes ago, Space Pirate said:

As you would be if you used any brown sauce regularly. 

It's the best there is, the best there was and the best there ever will be. 

I know, it's just cos in tight and it's only got a month shelf life after opening.

1 minute ago, graygo said:

I know, it's just cos in tight and it's only got a month shelf life after opening.

Mate, mine is well over a months old. It's made with vinegar. Calm doon. 

Anyone going for the 50/50 gold star and water, i wouldn't recommend it. 

I think yer looking at about 65/35 and take it from there.