United fans fighting at the bottom of the Roseburn

1874robbo

What was that all about just before the penalty?

Did the guy punch or push the steward?

And I assume there were no police on duty in the ground tonight?

Sorry title should have read roseburn not Gorgie!!!

There wasn't much of a barrier separating the two fans (only one dividing banner), and looked like a Dundee Utd fan had gone over and rambled is way through the single GS divider but fell over? The commotion went on for a while though and more folk got involved, then I presume a few got ejected and a steward took down one of their flags/banners.

The boy definitely threw a couple of punches, fair play to the stewards for keeping everything calm.

Bizarre that we don't have a police presence at the stadium.

Didn't look like anyone was thrown out, the guy in the shirt mingled in the crowd before disappearing out the stand.

The stewards were useless. The guy was getting closer and closer to our fans, with one steward hanging onto his legs, one barely holding his arm and another standing watching. This went on for at least 3 minutes, then he pushed a steward to the deck and in the end they let him go and he just wandered back to his seat.

Seems to me that the stewards didn't know what to do without the fall back of having the Police to come and take over the situation. Boy must have thought it was his lucky night.

The stewards were useless. The guy was getting closer and closer to our fans, with one steward hanging onto his legs, one barely holding his arm and another standing watching. This went on for at least 3 minutes, then he pushed a steward to the deck and in the end they let him go and he just wandered back to his seat.

Seems to me that the stewards didn't know what to do without the fall back of having the Police to come and take over the situation. Boy must have thought it was his lucky night.

We have CCTV so hopefully this will be investigated.

The stewards don't get paid to put up with that crap, any police presence at all then that half wit would've been out on his place pretty quickly so where were they?

The stewards aren't paid enough to deal with dickheads like that. For me if there's 16,000 people at an event there should be a police presence. I think the police charging for it is a joke aswell.

Some ned tried to jump over a row of seats but fell down about three, to which the Hearts fans jeered. It tried to charge the divider towards the Hearts fans but was held back by two stewards. After much pushing and punches were thrown at one of the steward it was taken away but somehow allowed to stay in the section. Looked like a typical Buckfast fuelled, dole funded ned tbh.

Some fat, bald United fan at the divider was trying to get it right up the Hearts fans at 1-0 United, seemed to go deadly quiet at 1-1 onwards though.

Some old English guy shouted "Are you even interested?" at the United players, which the Hearts fans in Section N1 jeered. He didn't help himself by giving the fans the middle finger, which just made things worse, he looked absolutely raging.

Some guy had a megaphone that seemed to be on silent ffs.

Peasants. The seemed to know their team will be relegated as a matter of time.

Riddley Walker

If I was getting paid 7 quid an hour I wouldn't be getting properly involved with a steaming drunk arsehole either. Outrageous they had to deal with that without the police.

The stewards don't get paid to put up with that crap, any police presence at all then that half wit would've been out on his place pretty quickly so where were they?

Our matches, other than Celtic (and maybe Aberdeen), are no longer policed.

Which seems crazy as the stewards aren't going to risk a smack, Christ some of them are just wee lassies. Should always be a police presence when you've got thousands of folk at an event IMO

United mups couldn't take the goading back from the solitary Hearts fan after dishing much out themselves beforehand.

I was sitting in upper sec N and when I looked over it looked like the Hearts fan just defended himself and dealt with the erse who spat the dummy and tried to jump the divide.

Am in upper N, i actually felt sorry for the lassie in the bottom row of the hearts end nearest the segregation, she loooked very intimidated when the utd muppet was trying to square go folk, 

Tommiwastheboss

Football is classed as a private event which means policing is now chargeable (same as any large scale event including TITP now)

the police can demand you have them there and the price isn't cheap (?40ph+ for 1 officer) as they can't be taken out of their core hours so your paying for overtime.

They will be outside the stadium doing their usual patrols etc but if it's inside its chargeable so up to us to decide if we think it's required (unless police tell us otherwise) so it's a kind of pick and choose thing for police Scotland

There appeared to be a small number of Utd fans in the lower section who were a bit the worse for wear befor ko. Very animated after we gave them a goal of a start then disappeared at 3-1. Many empty seats. One had a distinctive yellow top on, him and his mate were holding each other up

Stewards are not legally allowed to restrain people.

Two things pissed me off.

The clown himself for goading the support, and also the fact that not one Hearts fan in section L had the balls to stand up to the guy and tell him to shut the **** up.

Am in upper N, i actually felt sorry for the lassie in the bottom row of the hearts end nearest the segregation, she loooked very intimidated when the utd muppet was trying to square go folk,

Away man. If she was that intimidated she had plenty time to move away. I watched the whole thing and did not see anyone looking at all scared

The clown himself for goading the support, and also the fact that not one Hearts fan in section L had the balls to stand up to the guy and tell him to shut the **** up.

Away man. Leave it to the stewards to deal with. Anyone else getting involved is just being an arsehole given that the steward had a hold of him. It would just have been taking liberties and would have got the person needlessly banned from the match.

Edit: not the match. All matches.

Football is classed as a private event which means policing is now chargeable (same as any large scale event including TITP now)

the police can demand you have them there and the price isn't cheap (?40ph+ for 1 officer) as they can't be taken out of their core hours so your paying for overtime.

They will be outside the stadium doing their usual patrols etc but if it's inside its chargeable so up to us to decide if we think it's required (unless police tell us otherwise) so it's a kind of pick and choose thing for police Scotland

This has always been my understanding.

The cops state the policing numbers required and charge the club accordingly. If the club disagree then the match doesn't go ahead on public safety grounds.

Was that big baldy fud with the orange jacket on, giving out all the abuse under the sun and went in a huff after the equaliser.

Wasn't him fighting but he appeared to be the root cause.

3-2. :verysmug:

one Hearts fan hit him with a punch and the guy fell back, that's what made him go mental and started on the steward who was trying calm him down, seen the united fan at Haymarket with  a few neds , fighting sleep came to mind, hope the Hearts fan does'nt get done by the hot line fanatics    

From my view at the back of the gorgie stand it looked like the hearts fan caught him square in the face when he tried to get into the hearts end. The Utd guy disappeared behind the advertising boards clearly laid out by the hit. Then got up and went mental. Pushed one of the stewards then more Utd fans tried to join in.

The segregation was very poor. A sold out game at this time of year in the evening means plenty of alcohol will be consumed and with Utd being bottom of the league it doesn't take much for their fans to get pissed off especially if we're rubbing it in.

If the game had turned nasty there was the potential for a lot of trouble and what could the stewards do abut it? They're pretty much hopeless in these circumstances. A police presence is required at the segregation.

The segregation was very poor. A sold out game at this time of year in the evening means plenty of alcohol will be consumed and with Utd being bottom of the league it doesn't take much for their fans to get pissed off especially if we're rubbing it in.

If the game had turned nasty there was the potential for a lot of trouble and what could the stewards do abut it? They're pretty much hopeless in these circumstances. A police presence is required at the segregation.

When is there ever much trouble at a Hearts Dundee Utd match?

I often rub shoulders with away fans because I walk along Russell Rd. Utd fans are generally among the friendliest. Mind you, most people are friendly, I find.

When is there ever much trouble at a Hearts Dundee Utd match?

I often rub shoulders with away fans because I walk along Russell Rd. Utd fans are generally among the friendliest. Mind you, most people are friendly, I find.

Iv seen them fight in the centre of Dundee, iv seen what I can only call hearts ushering young Dundee casuals with a police escort back to Haymarket onto a train and a couple punches thrown at the station.

Which ever government agreed that a football match being a private event should be dragged over hot coals.

It's not a bloody house party where you will get the occasional rift, its thousands of tax payers attending a volatile

environment.

If it kicks off on the park you can guarantee there will be goading and increased tensions, we complain at times about

the PC environment we are living in, but Jesus can you imagine the destruction and unrest if there was no police presence in the

70's/80's at a football ground.

In terms of priority surely public safety is above the public purse, ach there's my last naive statement of 2015.

How much is it to hire a horse for an hour btw, may have someone interested.

Coppers were in McLeod Street and were happy with how G4S were dealing with things. All the idiots were being tracked on CCTV

Amoruso_lets_it_run

I've worked as a steward at football matches (including tynecastle) and you aren't given any training or instruction about how to deal with these types of incidents

The boy in the green chequed shirt got put on his erse by a Hearts fan after pathetically trying to rush them.

Quite funny tbh and our fans laughing at him was making his worse.

Shouldn't drink if you can't handle it.

I've worked as a steward at football matches (including tynecastle) and you aren't given any training or instruction about how to deal with these types of incidents

Tbh I thought the stewards handled it pretty well, it looked to me like they stopped the original United fan from getting across & then created a bigger barrier as a few of his mates tried to back him up. Seemed like they managed to keep a lid on it when it was in danger of escalating.

Afaik, stewards are part-time, minimum wage, and are there mainly to help people to their seats etc. I'd be reluctant to get in the way of a drunken angry Ned in that situation.

heartsdaft101

Idiots.

Do you want to hear a 'fun' fact?

After watching hardman Danny Dyer on the TV years ago I got the most valuable knowledge that Dundee FC and Dundee United FC share a 'firm'.

Delightful stuff, folks.

There appeared to be a small number of Utd fans in the lower section who were a bit the worse for wear befor ko. Very animated after we gave them a goal of a start then disappeared at 3-1. Many empty seats. One had a distinctive yellow top on, him and his mate were holding each other up

If it was a bright yellow stone island jacket then i know who that is, one of my mates is a big utd fan and goes in a group of 20-30 and they posted a video dancing around in a pub at about 5pm singing about how much they hate Dundee. (FC obv)

Idiots.

Do you want to hear a 'fun' fact?

After watching hardman Danny Dyer on the TV years ago I got the most valuable knowledge that Dundee FC and Dundee United FC share a 'firm'.

Delightful stuff, folks.

Dundee Utility, still very "active".

Son Of Anarchy

Just watching highlights. Ned takes a swing as he's being held by two stewards so jambo gives him a wee uppercut. Take that ya wee fud.